(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Brought my boy to see PD again this morning. It's his 3rd visit in 2 weeks...he's got a runny nose and slight cough. No wonder he was so cranky yesterday and didn't finish his milk during most feeds. Last night hubby and me took turns to cuddle him to sleep. He slept on our tummy...think his blocked nose causing him discomfort...my poor boy. Now he's sleeping soundly after I gave him the nose drops. PD said it could be due to the haze becos she's seeing an increased no. of patients with asthma attacks, etc due to haze and weather. Me and hubby both have sensitive nose, guess my boy can't be spared either.

I really like this PD at Hougang Mall. She shared with me her own experience with her 3 yr old boy who had very bad colic. She said colic is so called the "100 day cry"...haha. She understands the stress I'm facing and she won't tell me what other PDs say "aiyah, all babies are like that, like to cry"...arrrgh! so unsympathetic!

Anyone staying in Hougang/Sengkang can consider going to see her especially since waiting time is short.

my bb also 7 wks...been latching n tried give bottle recently n he took only 80ml. The remaining 10-15ml he didn't want n I tried giving him an hr later which he took after awhile. Put him sleep n after 30min cry..It's only 2h after last feed...how come? so I latch ...dunno izzit hungry or comfort..suckle awhile sleepy eye

Wendy, Blackbatz,this bb is I first time using the sling. I only carried him lay down. So just lift one side to bf.

Wendy, normally I latch on only when I pump half way he wakes up then I carry him to latch on the other side.

Pump really makes my hands ache too.

My son refused to talk when he is 2 yrs old. But he knows how to call us.

Fishia, at first he loves to use baby language. Then PD saw his face with stratches so he asked us to bring him to speeech therapy.

Blackbatz, everytime I took half an hour to pump both side of the milk. To make sure the breasts are emptied, and get more letdown. Normally is about 4 letdown. This morning is the most that I have pump out 7 oz. I hope I can get this type of amount.

So far I am using lucky baby cooler bag. Buy a medium size ice block. It can last me from morning 7 am to 6pm.

Yesterday brought my boy to Kidslink for his 1st 6in1 jab & given liquid panadol in case fever more than 37.5deg. Paid $158+ incl consultation. The 2nd jab will be schedule 1st wk of May, 4mths later. Now, we are monitoring his temp & milk intake. After the jab yesterday, his milk intake seem to decrease alittle, from 110ml to 90ml or sometimes 60ml. If he's drinking 90ml, he'll wake up & cry for milk in abt 2.5 to 3hourly. If he only manage to drink 60ml, he'll cry for milk in 1.5 to 2hourly. Also needed more time to coax him to sleep too.

<font color="0077aa">babe, has Abel taken his 1st 6in1 jab ? How is he doing now ?</font>

steph, abel taking 5in1. ok after hepB jab...more sleepy than usual..

Girls, I think my bb is the smallest here. As of 7 wks, he's only 4kg. Looks like I have to start supplementing soon...

WendyG, yup yup, should be breast shield not nipple shield. Today, I so sleepy and concussed that I took the silicone protector for the breast shield and fitted it to the Avent ISIS pump, pump for so long also never see any milk flowing down, somemore, the milk got trapped between the funnel and the silicone. Only realised something is wrong after 15mins and fitted the correct silicone cover. Haha.

Fern, I think fenugreek does work, I take 6 a day cos nowadays if I don't pump at all after going to bed, the engorgement will be so painful that I'll wake up to pump automatically. Last time can sleep until 9+am. :p

Sassy, that's good. Then I'll leave ILs to figure that one out. Hee.

RE: Baby Milk Intake
mmm My BB 5 weeks, drink around 100ml EBM.. he is a fast drinker, suck fast from the bottle. Can finished in 10 mins. Then he will appear very tired and breathless, need to close eyes and rest one.. then refuse to burp.

He will go hungry ard 2.5-3hrs in day time.. night time, will be ard 3-5hrs.

nexyanne
Thanks for the feedback, think I might want to get it. :p Must go and see and hold it to test test the weight first.

Anyone went on holidays but leave baby behind for MIL to look after?
Hubby n I are thinking of going for holiday in Sept. Dunno whether should we go or postpone till baby is older then bring her along.

Icy, saw the BP, I'm considering too but wondering if ear thermometer will be accurate. I think pointing to different part of the ear will lead to different temp reading leh and I'm not experienced. A KK nurse told me more accurate to use normal thermometer and take temp under armpit for small babies.

Babyshannon, I'm thinking of bring BB for holiday in June or Dec too. If june, probably won't bring BB along unless it's very near. If Dec, will probably bring her along cos she'll be nearly 1 year old liao.

babe,
i think Abel is doing fine. Try to give FM at nite to boost his weigh then EBM/latch during the day.
Zander weigh 4.7kg as of 25thFeb. At 7wks, he only weigh 4.1kg, dun worry cos they catch up very fast...growth spurt ya!

icy,
that's is a very gd BP deal.
i bought a different brand 2wks ago cos i find Braun too ex in retail &amp; no discount avail.
Mine is CADI T560 for $96 at KidsMall IMM.
http://www.cadi.com.sg/products03d.htm
Not bad, user friendly &amp; no lens filter is required thus savings on replacement cost

icy,
the thermometer is cheap, get it. I ordered from another BP $98 and it's been a long time, the shipment yet to arrive.

hi all, how's all mummies have been?

Last Sunday, i went to this shop, BabyBreeze at Square 2(Next to Novena Square) recommended by Mt E CL. They have quite a no. of classes going on and i would like to check is there any of you interested in Mum and Baby Yoga? 8sessions of 1hour each @ $260. Own classes and timing can be set up with 4mummies and babies.

Interested mummies also can visit their website: www.babybreeze.biz

now they also have a new programme call Positive Programme for 0-6mths infants. Its combine gentle yoga play, careful sensory stimulation ideas, massage and los of musical moments, expressive communication and its a program that engages young infants, creates and strengthens neural pathways and aids of their growth. All these whole accompanying parents develop the skills of positive parening through guided parent forums. 8sessions of 45mins each @ $214

they also have a baby cafe where we can hold our gathering there.

Steph and Luvv,
Thanks for the info, Then think I am getting it. :D BB going to have a series of jobs, think having 1 is useful.

kitsune_sg,
I think u can check with PD the themperature, PD told me before if measured at armpit then above 37.3 is fever.. Cant remember abt ear thermometer, think it is lower. I think ear thermometer is good for long term bah.

Joyce,
Miracle
is organising the Baby Yoga Trial, We already have 4-5 mummies who expressed their interest. It would be on the 4th March.

Miracle, any update? Any specific instructions? like Attire?

Refer to her post here: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus.cgi?pg=next&amp;topic=578191&amp;page=1262236#POST4352441

shannonbaby

yes... initially. but i really need a break. if not i will go bonkers. u going for short trip rite? i think its alright la.

steph, coz my boy was not born small. At birth, 3.19kg. Dun if all this seeing LC get me more worried...how did u count ur 7 wks? thot 25feb is 7wks for u?

Confirm Attending Babybreeze yoga
1) Miracle
2)Angelsky
3) Windy

babe, icy n mcfluffy,
are you joining us ? need 4 mummies to start a class! anyway, we can try out 1 lesson if we can't cope with our bbs or simply don like just pay for the trial lesson, no need to sign up.

getting very forgetful, someone asked if c-sect mum can join in the mum+baby yoga, i was told by babybreeze, c-sect mum has to wait at least 6mths to start yoga but if you feel you are healing well, you might want to check with your gynae to get the green light .

miracle,
the c-sect thing i ask one. aiya cannot do yoga for 6 mths, then i better don't take the risk. Got to give it a pass..Thanks for asking! My gynae told me 6 months no exercise but she mentioned a few that i can do but i forgot what! memory very bad nowadays.

hi mommies!!

me back again!!! finally have some breather cos bb sleep and i have done MOST of the packing...still got some to go.

Was reading wat some of u are doing...dream feeding...wat is dat?? How to dreamfeed? And angelsky got good question...how about the diaper change?

Lately Rylee keep throwing up again...not forcefully, bt almost every feed, she will regurgitates...i have to keep telling myself it's no big deal, cos she's gaining weight healthily, but being a mommy, it's really hard. I am jus praying this will all go away when she's 4-5months old.

Wahhh...organising meet-ups oredi? why wait until i left??
Jus kidding la...post lots of pics here yah!

i think i have spoiled my baby...last time my mom keep using the rocker to rock her to sleep, now i think she got problem falling asleep on her own. She either needs rocking or even worse, i also suspect she is starting to use me as human pacifier...cos i give her pacifier, she doesnt seem to know how to suck it..cry cry cry. Do the rooting motion, tot she wans to eat, latch her on, less than 10mins, she fall asleep
how how how??

Yippie, we have 4 mums already, so what are the instructions?
. I am keen to try the positive infant too, will ask more questions on tuesday when we go. At least something to bring bb out and look forward to other than staying home.

So what is the attire? What must we bring?

I so excited, hopefully baby gwyneth will be a good girl when mama bring her jalan jalan. Was telling my hubbie I bring girl girl out, he was laughing.

babe,

Zander born 7th - 13th Jan 1st wk
14th - 20th Jan 2nd wk
21st - 27th Jan 3rd wk
28th - 3rd Feb 4th wk
4th - 10th Feb 5th wk
11th - 17th Feb 6th wk
18th - 24th Feb 7th wk
25th Feb 8th wk right ?
For the month of January, Zander is on EBM/latch.
February onwards, he is solely on FM Friso &amp; he poo once a day.

joyce,
i managed to get a 10% discount, so we will be paying $234 instead of $260.

icy,
just wear something comfortable, maybe nursing wear just in case our bb get hungry during or after yoga can latch on!

mylife, i totally understand what you mean, my girl also so used to being carried by her grandparents, they simply adore her, but they dont know that over carrying her will result in her being so used to being carried, that now, every night after 10, she wants to be carried and rock to sleep. peng. else she will not sleep. I also dont know how. my mum say baby must sayang, cannot just let them cry, carry them and they will feel love. But poor mama here already look like panda. Like just now, she was sucking and putting her hands to her face and then she started crying, I thought she hungry, so pick her up and latch. She was sucking and swallowing wo, after like 15 minutes, not right le, then I unlatch her, realised she must have took me as human pacifier, coz she slept so soundly. Sigh.

really trying to read her actions and body language, but sometimes really difficult.

when i tell my hubbie over the phone, he kept saying so cute so cute.

Yoga class - i think i will bring my EBM also, just in case, I latch she not enough, then got milk to stand by.

4th march at what time?
where do we meet? Babies should wear long sleeves and pants and socks in case cold.

Attire, can we change there? Or wear the attire to go?

Re: bringing baby out
I brought my bb out a few times already. i guess i'm one of the lucky ones as she's quite well behaved either looking around or sleeping in her pram. only thing is if she's awake have to keep moving, she gets bored looking at the same thing i think!!

but each trip out needs careful planning man, what time is her feed, need to pack what etc. today i went out on my own, strapped her in her car seat and drove to orchard to meet my family for lunch :D halfway through she started fussing for milk and i bought some time by giving her the pacifier until we finished lunch then fed her.

Re: car seat
my bb also hates to be strapped in the car seat if she's awake, but the moving car soothes her, only when stop at traffic light then she start to fuss. hubby and i have a strict rule abt no carrying when the car is moving, so we talk to her or someone sits at the back to soothe her. if i'm alone, my trusty pacifier does the job! hehe...

btw, the book "confident baby care" by Jo Frost (aka super nanny) actually advocates the use of pacifier for young babies as babies suck for comfort and also helps to calm them as they are easily overstimulated due to their young age

babe
i use scotch tape and marker to label my bottles. use those 3M type tape and write on the tape with permanent marker. b4 washing just peel off the tape. won't leave glue mark behind unlike sticker.

angelsky
the massage lady that did my post natal massage also does normal massage. She charges $40 only and her massage oils are specially formulated for her by her uncle, outside cannot buy one. she is very good, my bb is 6 wks and i'm already back to wearing all my pre pregnancy pants and clothes :D
pls PM me if u want the number.

Re: cooler bag
i'm using this cooler bag bought from kiddy palace (dunno what brand) just nice to fit 2 200ml bottles inside plus one slab ice block. I fill one "feeding" bottle with enuff EBM for one feed and the other "storage" bottle I fill to the brim then what i do for subsequent feeds is transfer enuff into the "feeding" bottle then warm up. This way i can stay outside for at least 5-6 hrs. If I didn't finish the EBM, I go back and put back in the fridge

grumpus, maybe i hiao
. I can wear most of my pre pregnancy pants and tops, just that if slimmer lagi better. kekeke. Especially the flabby tummy, think if do sit up and yoga will work, but need to sweat it out.

but confirm backside bigger. my massage lady say after we give birth, the below (i assume, she meant womb) is heavy, so when we walk and sit, keep your legs together k. Else the hips will remain big. Coz she say now after we give birth this month, our bones and body soft like baby also. she recommend that i do the indo coin slimming but i "bu fang xin" my baby at home, need to ask my mum if she is ok to baby sit for a while if i need to go out.

happy birthday to all the mommies whose bday is in Feb!!

Question for all BF mommies
are there anything u all avoiding in your food? So far i have heard the following:

To avoid wind/gas
brocolli
cauliflower
Cabbage
Beans

To avoid dropping of milk ss
Pig liver
Cucumber
bitter gourd
Gao chai (hanyu pinyin)

pls share your knowledge...seems like the list going longer...i am so fearful of milk ss dropping...so got to be careful of wat i eat..

wah grumpus...envy envy..6wks able to wear ALL yr pre pregnancy pants &amp; clothes!!Wow...yr massage lady very effective in helping u to slim tum tum ah?Did u put on binder? How much weight did u put on during pregnancy?
Me now at 7/8wks, still got 3kg to shed but i still can't fit in most of my tight fitting pants/jeans/clothes
cannot zip!! I think my butt, hips &amp; thighs expanded due to natural birth...all the pushing!!! My friends &amp; aunty say it will take some time...say 6mths (if lucky) otherwise longer period to go back to pre preggy shape/size wor.

yeh!can start the already!
i attended the free trial for positive infant and i kinda like it but the class clash with my schedule so not joining. maybe on tuesday can asked them to conduct another free trial for

Icy, true, didn't think of all the jabs she'll be having. Maybe, I should buy one too. But cannot use my vouchers, very sian. Anyone still have John Little vouchers from last shopping spree? I still have about $200 worth, nowadays with BB never go town, don't know when I can use them liao. :p

Steph, same problem for me. My tummy has gone down since week 2 of delivery but can't wear my pants cos the the hips &amp; butt area. :p

<font color="0077aa">mylife,
Ur baby still young, you can still train her. Fortunately my fil and hb not ard already, else they also always carry Xavier when he fuss a little. Seemed like only women, mil and me are more strict with him.. I also quite lazy, will let him cry until loud loud then carry. :p

I think throwing up is normal as long as it is not a lot. Xavier also throw up after every feed.. maybe because he refuse to burp.. but burp already also will throw up 1-2 mouthful.. then he will feel better and go sleep.

For pacifier, also need time to get use. My BB dropped pacifier every few seconds.. then cry until desperate then know how to suck.

I think cannot eat beanspouts (tou gei) too, also too liang.

Angelsky,
Me same as you,should be bring EBM, First of all must go get a cooler bag first. I am looking ard for classes, at least have something to do hor.. Else 24/7 face BB, feed, pump and sleep.. really boring.

grumpus,
How old is ur baby? I also wanna bring my baby out alone but no courage. Baby have to sit behind using baby carseat, so worry what if BB cried during the journey. My bb would dropped pacifier every now and then.. then will cry.

miracle,
Great I also interested in Baby Massage. :p Anyway BB so young, very little classes to join hor.

Kitsune,
Vouchers can be put to good use, I use them to buy wet tissues, diapers..and daily needs for baby.. even thro more ex at times but with vouchers, it is consider free. :p</font>

icy, me also same as you, looking around for classes, tues we can ask about the positive infant one, i dont mind bring gwyneth for the class. i also think we should find something to do, else 24/7 face baby, really boring.

angelsky/icy,
me not bored cos i got work to do but i think baby face me whole day at home nothing to do will be bored...haha..i don't mind joining the positive infant class, looks interesting.

luvv
my doc said i can start with brisk walking, then jogging. But from my prev bf experience, i hv problems with my heavy boobs when jogging, even after i expressed, even when i wear sports bra.

steph

Me taking Jarell for his 1st jab of 6-in-1 tmrw morning. I very worry about the possibility of him having a fever. Btw, during the consultation with Dr Heng, I can ask him any questions regarding the growth of Jarell right? The last time I seen a PD was when Jarell was only a week old.

mircle

For my bedtime routine, I have not really gone into the stage when I can leave my baby alone and let him cry to sleep. I too soft hearted. He will cry, and the most I let him cry is about 5 to 10min. I did try the 'pat pat and shhh shhhh' method which u did. But like just now, not working. So i carry him and let him sleep on my chest. He immediately stops crying and slowly fall asleep. Perhaps I am not suitable for Gina Ford afterall, too soft hearted.

<font color="0000ff">AhCapp,</font>

Dr Heng say the 1st 6in1 jab possibility of having a fever is only 5%, very unlikely so don't worry ya. MIL gave Zander some water with "Pao Shen" abt 10ml so that he will not be heaty due to the jab. Dr Heng is very friendly, u can ask him any questions u have doubts on. There is no limit on the consultation time...make full use! I asked him questions on colic, baby snoring, vomit, phelgm, milk intake, weight gain etc...u name it!haha...KS mum
I even video the process of Zander having his jab by Dr Heng! So poor thing &amp; heatpain to c him wailed so loudly when the needle poke his thigh!Ouch!!!

Steph

Thanks for your feedback. I better start to write down my list of questions first.

Bedtime

What time do your babies sleep at night? Do u put your babies to bed at the same time each night?

angelsky, steph,

maybe cos to begin with my pre pregnancy clothes all not really the tight fitting kind..keke
i also hiao, want to lose more weight than what i put on during pregnancy, btw i put on 10kg during pregnancy, now i'm abt 2kg lighter than pre pregnancy..hahaha...i guess i'm one of those fortunate one, hips and butt never really expand so once tummy go down can wear back old clothes liao...
but yes my massage lady is very effective, her method is to use hot charcoal under a stool and then wrap u up in a thick blanket, sit inside there and sauna for 20mins...then she use hot stone to apply on tummy, very effective for clearing out the wind and lochia! then massage, she use 2 kinds of massage oil, one specially for tummy and the other for the rest of the body, finally apply jamu and wrap up in the binder...

icy, my baby is 6 wks old. my hubby is always traveling so i have no choice but to travel alone with the bb, in fact my mum and mil all offer to come over and help but i insist i have to try myself cannot always rely on them....start slow lor, beginning only drive to mum's hse which is only 10mins away...bb cry no choice have to tahan lor, keep talking to her lor...

<font color="0000ff">next week.. anyone game to venture to T3 weekday afternoon?</font> it'll be our little adventure..

ahcapp
i aim for the bedtime routine to start between 5.45pm to 6.30pm. According to the book, bb is supposed to sleep 7pm then wake for last feed 10pm right? Well my boy will wake 8pm to eat again, sometimes hard to put back down. That's the tough time, coz my elder boy will be back at home and i gotto start his bedtime routine also! Once baby woke &amp; crying in cot but i was halfway bathing #1 no one else at home. Bo pian leave him to cry for a bit while i quickly finished with #1. It's a juggle...

grumpus
sounds like v intensive treatment! Good price?
my clothes all along also stretchy type, can accomodate when i'm non-preg, early preg, post preg.

Some of the preg clothing i bought can wear post preg, i so happy. Coz the material is good la. From Old Navy. There's a skirt, during final trimester i wore it under belly. Now i can wear at waist level and can't tell it's maternity wear =)

Grumpus
How much weight did you gain for pregnancy? So good of you to be able to get back into pre pregnancy clothes. I gained 23kg and only managed to lose 12kg so far. Is your massage lady that good? Can I have her contact?