(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

I also let my gal drink water in between feed. I realised tat at first she doesnt really like water too. but nw she is ok with it, taking little sip at times.

Anyone interested to buy my tin of Enfalac A+? Selling at $25. used 3 times only. Brought in 10 Jan 08.

I am wondering if I shld follow what LC says and top up 40ml after I latch. Would it end up my supply go down since he's going to last longer before his next feed? Now I feeling more filled up at least and see him put on 200g last week was good. But he's also sleeping alot more. Like eat and sleep. I can feed and leave him lie on bed and go down get my pump and when I'm back up, he's already dopey. I tried the top up and it juz knocks him out.

So good u all can latch 1 side. Mine I still try to do 20min each so total each session 40 min but usually after 10min on 1 side he starts to doze off.

Mylife, good to hear from u. JUz relax and feed and I am sure ur gal will be v well. Packing can wait..heehee...I now also can rest rest..dun do too much housework at all. So can imagine the mess and laundry not folded.

Avent cups
Do we reuse more than 4 times to store ebm or muz discard or use for other purposes after that? How to keep count of number of uses?

babe
i asked an Avent saleslady before, she said it's ok to use more than four times.. but to discard once it's out of shape. Makes sense also, coz when it's out of shape means can't close properly.
U can keep count by counting how many markings u've made on the cup. Normally u'll indicate the date & qty on the cup right?

babe,

I think Avent cups can only be used at most 4 times to store ebm. after that cannot be use to store ebm already. but can be used to store other stuffs.

Hi Mylife,
Good to hear from you. Give yourself sometime to settle down.

Wendgy,
You very "eh sai"!! Stand and feed. Were you wearing nursing clothes?

blackbatz
for sure. whenever i'm out with bb i'll be in my nursing top & bra. Also carry spare diaper, wipes, changing mat.. blah blah.
i had to stand and bf #1 2 years back, coz the nursing room cubicles were occupied and my boy couldn't wait anymore. Buay tahan those who feed formula and lock themselves in the cubicle. For what?!?!?! scared people to see them bottle feed?!

wendy n shannon, what kind of pen u used to do markings? I scare those pen ink no good for bb..paste sticker end yp peel off leave glue behind also dunno good or not...how u all do it?

Wendytg,
Jude simply refuses to latch when I change side. If I force him, he'll latch for 1 min and let go or just let the nipple stay in his mouth and eyes roll around. If I force him further, he'll kick and make noise!! These few nights very tiring. He'll drink from one side, sleep and i can never wake him up! 2-3 hours later, want milk again. Think my ss drop liao since he's drinking so little now..

Kitsune,
i bought infacol already. yeah. he's okay with it. but it's quite difficult to get 0.2ml with the dropper isn't it. btw, do you give your bb wind drop during every feed?

mylife,
my #1 had this vomit problem too. after 5-10mins of feeding, i'll burp and let him rest on tilted big pillow for abt 5mins, then resume again. The whole feeding cycle takes very long. some people said i over feed him hence he's throwing up. Is Rylee very chubby? mine was at that point in time.. When he was on solid, he vomitted at times too. I have to be careful that I don't overfeed him cos till now at 2, he may still vomit.

babe
i use marker. the marker ink not gonna touch the bm.. why worri?

fishia
try bottle feed? maybe can 'guan' him a lot a lot.

My boy's colic and reflux is coming on and off...this morning started fussing at 11am and finally managed to put him donw to sleep at 3pm. But he should be waking up for milk soon...sigh! I'm really worried that I'll get depression...he cries and cries and doesn't stop but yesterday he was an angel at my mum's place. Really think he's just bullying me...sigh!

I see so many of you started putting baby on a bedtime routine...really envy you gals! My boy's colic is quite bad at night and sometimes even during the day...can't even try to put him on a routine. These few nights he also started to wake up in the middle of the night to fuss and cry...sleeping through is mission impossible for me?!

babe
the exposed part is covered by bb's head. only u and baby can see. and someone who's looking @ bb's face from over your shoulder. So just make sure there's no one behind u except maybe your husband?

so far for this boy i've bf'd in the following places (ie excluding nursing rooms)
- Metro staff storeroom
- ICA counter while registering bb's name
- church canteen
i think that's all.. my memory very bad nowadays.

to all mummies who deliver...

can u all advise me how much cash u all pay overall aft deducting medisave ? including baby pkg...

wendy but when wash wont the ink also be affected?

Fishia, mine keeps sleeping...cry wanna feed him, he juz sleeps after 10 min...how????

Yvonne & Wendyg,
my 8-year-old nephew some days still wake up middle of nite and walk into his parents room, say got nitemare, scared.. now i see a good point of having #2... they can accompany each other and free the parents from nite duty??

hey, you have a lot of nursing wear? thought of improvise it myself. cut 2 slits on camisole and wear it as inner piece. at least my "3 layer fats" won't be exposed...

Hi Wendyg,
Is it too late to get another pump? Use Avent to pump until hand pain. Trying to build up my frozen milk so that I can go holidays in May.

babe,
use wet hanky/cotton ball to clean his face.. if still cannot, use cold water.. sure wake up one. hahaha! mine worse, don't want to drink wor.. how??

my fridge has limited space so i'm not pumping. I can feel ss dropping cos not so engorged liao after few days of such pattern from him...

fishia, I tried even changing diapers n wipe bottom with wet wipes. Wake up for that moment n by time I throw diapers n back, he's dozey again on the changing mat. Now I trying to pump out n c how much I have. Can't b that 5-10min on each side is enough from that initial guzzle. If he drinks so little like 45ml based on LC's assessment then how to grow..

Urs dun drink but sleep or not?

babe, my girl dont wanna sleep, only wanna drink. If only our babies can sleep at the right time and also drink at the right time. Best. Mummies can also sleep enough. I starting to look like panda already.

don't sleep wor. Eyes open big big looking around. force him he gets angry...

use wet hanky. eveytime he gets sleepy, you have hanky on hand to touch his face or neck. I did that before and it works for my boy.

Are you guyz back into shape already ? My tummy is still big & flabby leh. 7 wks after delivery...
Even after massage and those traditional binder. Anybody is so lucky that tummy is flat now ? :p

Re: Massage

AhCapp, I called Mdm Rokiah, like you've mentioned she said she's no longer doing so recommended her staff but quite expensive, one session $88. Some more must wait 2 months or so. Anyone else has good massage lady to recommend? Anyone can see effect??

babe
the ink will fade la.. but after wash will sterilise.. i dun c why u're worried abt the ink, but if it's any consolation to u, isaac turned out just fine...

fishia
no i dun hv a lot of nursing wear. For the 10m that i was bfg isaac, i only wore 2 nursing tops.. one for saturday & one for sunday. muahahahaha. This time i bought 2 more, but only 1 is wearable for the moment. The 2nd new piece still too tight across the tummy, so see how la.
If your improvised nursing wear works, can consider setting up online portal to fight with MIM. haha.

blackbatz
if u considering #3 then buy lor. o'wise, buy 2nd hand.. not so ex? If u want another ISIS, i dun mind lend u my spare one. It's the new model where funnel & neck are joined together, not so many parts.

chaye
my tummy still flabby but weight went under liao

hey i just thought of an instant & painless way to lose weight.. get a haircut! muahahahaha.

hey anyone goes to Ikea Tampines for makan? We go every saturday morning for b'fast, and sometimes Sunday early afternoon for lunch. So reluctant to dine elsewhere when we're used to Ikea's family friendly environment.

I was going to suggest a gathering venue @ Changi T3 since shannonbaby enjoys her meals there so much. And if all our babies cry together, at least the place is HUGE & wun drive everyone crazy?? muahahaha. Weekday afternoon? Shall it be just us.. mums & babes?

Wendyg

My weight is ok. In fact my overall is ok except the tummy !!! I cant fit into my pants, bermudas & jeans ! Still wearing my maternity pants & jeans leh

Ya I'm gg for a haircut soon juz to lazy to go down town :p

Should we have a gathering soon before some of us went back to work?

Wendyg,
I used to frequent Ikea Tampines too. for weekend breakfast. havent been there since i gave birth. Changi T3 is a great place for gathering but may be too far for those who dont stay in the east.

Chaye, I can wear into selective pants but when I get new ones, some I need to get a size bigger now, when my massage lady came to massage me, she say m y backside bigger now after childbirth
So sad.

Tummy, now also like jelly, although I left about 3 kg more before I go back to my original weight. But maybe coz I BF, so I feel hungry all the time. Also cannot diet, becoz need the calories to produce milk. Sian.

Outing, sounds really good. Weekday sounds good, I am going literally mad staying at home, but my confinement officially over on Sun only. I dont mind meeting up with bb and us, have lunch and they cry at least got support since so many of us
. Build up courage next time I dare to venture out, since my hubbie not ard, I am on my own. Unless my mother tags along, but of coz she not free.

hi chaye,

I din mix the formula. I gave friso comfort alone. but I alternate the feeds. like 1 feed similac, 1 feed friso comfort. friso comfort needs hot water to mix with it so it take a long time to prepare. my impatient boy cant wait...so i alternate the feeds lor.

I would love to join. Haven't brought my baby to see outside world yet..

I used the Le Sportsac bag to hold everything fm EBM, diaper clutch bag, extra clothes, nappy cloth, hot water flask, etc.

If run out of hot water, I always go Macdonald's to ask them for some.

water

So give water or not give water to our babies? The weather very hot recently. Besides EBM, I didn't give my baby water. I worry if I am doing it correct.

angelsky

The $88 is for Mdm Rokiah or her staff?

chaye

I have not lost weight yet. Don't know if it's because I am still eating quite a bit due to the fact that I am still producing milk. Quite sian when I can't fit into my clothings =(

wendyg,
meaning you go church only with that 2 nursing tops?? hahahaha!! my improvised one is only for myself lah. If desperate when out, can just lift up my shirt anytime..

T3 very far leh. If we're meeting on weekday afternoon, I guess most places will be pretty ok??

chaye,
my waist is thick and tummy is flabby. Haven't work on getting weight down yet. I'm still eating and eating at home... I love to eat.. heh..

windy,
i'm using my nike gym bag as a diaper bag..very roomy and nice looking.

re waist
my waist is flabby and ugly with stretch marks also, any idea how long does the stretch marks take to fade?

Today brought my 2nd child for the speech therapy. Also brought my baby along.

Wendy, I am also lazy to pump. Cos need to spend 30mins exercise my hands. Now just waiting to collect my ameda pump this fri. I rather latch on.

I don't bring EBM out. Just latch on. If really need, I just bring FM. Cos sometimes baby hungry they can't wait to get the ebm to be warmed.

Normally when I am outside with baby, I wear either nursing tops or bigger size mini polo.

get a diaper bag that daddy wouldn't mind carrying.

fishia
erm, 1 top has sleeves, 1 top sleeveless. I went to church for 10 months wearing the SAME purple nursing top. can u beat that?!?!
eh, u lift up shirt means cannot bf in front of people means gotto scramble for nursing room/ fitting room/ toilet etc. Nursing top means just sit down and latch. Latch when standing also ok!

re: eat
ya, now then i realise i can eat eat eat and still lose weight due to bf. Imagine if i DON'T eat.. i'll hv Pamela Anderson's figure in no time! *hiak* betta dun let husband know o'wise he'll lock me up and only give me water...

re: location
>> any other suggestion for meetup besides T3 ?
FOC place where a bunch of moms & babes can just hang. What abt T2? heh heh heh

Maureen,
How old is your 2nd child? Where did you go for speeh therapy? Does it help? My 2yo still can't talk. Will be bringing him to child development specialist in KKH next mth...

i've also never brought ebm out. the only ebm that sees the outside world are those that i express in offc & bring home. haha.

maureen
how come your #2 need speech therapy?
and how come 30min? i thought u latch 1 side pump 1 side.
actually i'm ok with the ISIS pumping motion.. my hands dun feel tired ley.

Fishia, my 2nd child is about 32 mths old. Actually he does speak at home, just that outside, he doesn't want to open the mouth. When for a few rounds in kkh speech therapy, he still refused to talk there. Most probably is the environment and strangers. He is shy that why. They suggested to give him go school or playgroup or mixed with more kids like gathering to let him interact with them.

I used the sling to bf. Today even in the mrt. Just don't care what people say. My baby wants milk. They see like never see before furthermore are ladies about 20 plus year old.