(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

re: going out wif bb

wendyg, today me & hubby tried to bring bb out to IMM for the first time. I am not bfing so dun have to stuck in nursing room but we also struggle with bulky diaper bag, Maclaren Techno XT & cranky bb. Worse still, my son fussed when we were abt to drive off from IMM carpark so i quickly chk & his diaper was wet so i changed him in the car! Messy!! After he doze off to la la land, we went for dinner at a japanese restaurant - buffet style. Guess what? Well, someone from another table cough loudly & startled my boy who is sleeping soundly in his stroller. My son cried so loud & we couldn't calm him down at all. He cried until no voice lo
heatpain...& till he vomitted milk too. So in the end, we call for bill & left without even having my main course!

Poor Steph, never even had your main course, how much was the meal? :p I just used my Maclern Techno XT too. We couldn't even remember how to open and close the pram, so "shi4 bai4" but there was no instruction manual. Keep fiddling with all movable parts until we got it. :p

windy
babe was b4 u

steph
so did u stare daggers at the coughing diner.

re: going out with bb
>> I'm most confident bringing bb out when i sling him. Dun hv to bother with pram. Aiyo when #1 was still small, i went to SGH with him in pram. i reached an overhead bridge. I could go up the escalator with him in the pram. But the other side, only staircase going down! Means i'd hv to carry him with 1 hand, fold pram with the other, navigate 2 long flights of stairs while carrying BOTH bb & pram... *pengz*
Thank God some kind hearted gentleman helped me to carry my pram down while i walked down with babe in arms. O'wise may hv tumbled down the stairs!
but the problm with sling at this stage is that bb will sleep sleep sleep. His routine all out of whack. When older, bb can stay awake & look around, but he'd be too heavy to sling! *my poor back*

any mommies attempt to bring ur bb out alone??? till now, i still dun have the courage to do so. dun think i will be able to handle the pram, diaper bag and bb all at the same time.
so no choice... im always stuck at home during weekdays.

kitsune

if you think tat u guys are "shi4 bai4" then wat abt me??? i wanted to bring my bb out for her BCG jab last friday. me and my SUPER ATTITUE maid were trying to figure out how to fold the FERRARI pram for almost 30mins. trying to figure out using the manual but no use... dun really understand. in the end, i carried bb and took a cab to kinder clinic @ paragon to register 1st (cos alot of ppl and my pd is only there in the AM session) then walk to ck tangs to buy another pram. my bb was crying very loudly as its time for MILK... one hand carrying the crying bb and the other trying to prepare the milk so i asked my maid to learn how to open and close the pram (need to rush back to the clinic as they close at 1pm)... then u know wat? asked her if she knows it, she said YES. everything was alright till i was queueing for taxi @ the taka taxi stand to go home, she couldn't close the fxxxing pram. in my heart, i was cursing and swearing lor... the queue for the taxi was so long and i waited almost 20mins! then i got no choice but to walk into taka bb dept to ask for HELP! they dun carry the brand "capella" but the staff were sweet enuf to teach me how to use it. called my hubby to come pick me as i didn't wanna queue for the taxi.

my hubby and i decided to go for high-tea dim sum @ Goodwood park hotel today... of cos i brought bb danelle along. fed her @ 230pm b4 we go out. we reach there ard 4pm.. danelle was sleeping soundly in the pram until we were abt to finish the food... she was started crying loudly. carried her and tried to coax her. fed her water but she was quite reluctant to drink and showed me one kind of face... the next thing she merlion out literally everything. this is the 1st time i see her MERLION so much cos the whole face cloth, her clothes and a huge part of the swaddle were damped. luckily never kenna my clothes... hubby was saying tat we also need to bring a set of spare clothings and leave it in the car (in case of emergency).

Re: 6 in 1 Jab
Brought baby Ian for his 1st 6 in 1 jab yesterday and also had his 1st dosage of rotavirus. Doc gave us some fever medicine in case he kenna fever and true enough, he got slightly feverish and also cranky. So heartpain seeing him like this, only carrying him will make him feel better, sometimes, he even cried in his sleep. Yesterday he managed to have a feed at 8pm and slept all the way till 2.30am. Not bad hor? He's 2 months old and 5.4kg now. Is it okay? Doc said he's 61cm long.

miracle, I am ok with the date but what if our babies are sleeping during that hour? How huh? Thanks so much for arranging..so excited to meet up with mommies again..

Re: bringing baby out

So far i enjoy bringing my girl out although sometimes she can fuss alot too. My husband n I brought her to Marina Square last Sat for some shopping. We will having our lunch when she started crying for her milk too. In the end, I had to stop n feed her while hubby finished his food fast so tat he can take over n continue to feed her while i eat.

My fave hangout nw is T3 food court, no carpark queue, less people in the food court. My husband n I went there for dinner at least once a week on weekdays. usually he will call me when he is about to reach home, and i will pack n bring my girl downstairs n wait for his car.

I think I am one of those who keep bringing my baby out as I cant stand staying at home..hehe. even a trip to food court for dinner also satisfied me.

Re: car seat
Anyone baby hates to be placed in the car seat? My gal hates it when she is awake. In the end, I had to carry her quite often during the car journey.

Morning ladies

My Tate has not pooed for past 2 days. Today is the 3rd day
Hopefully he can poo all out today !!!

Anybody residing in AMK ? I'm putting up at my mum's place - AMK and the only PD here is Singapore Baby & Child Clinic. Any other PD around this area ?

Verene
Friso comfort ? It's not commonly found in the mkt leh. I will try to look for it at ntuc later.

i just realised that my girl poo is greenish in colour this morning. she is on TBF, is it normal? all these while her poo is always in mustard yellow colour le. dunno what happen? should i bring her to the PD??

Verene
Guardian has it ? Good ! I'll look for it. Do I mix it with my Friso 1 or juz give Friso comfort for the time being ? Thks !

Shannonbaby
My boy's poo is a mixture of green and mustard. My mum says green meaning he is frightened wor.

violetice

Mdm Rokiah no. is 92716091. Her webbie is:

traditional-holistic-postnatal.blogspot.com

But pls note that she has stopped giving massages as of yesterday. Now, only her staff will be sent out for appointments. But she did reassured me that all her staff are trained by her, fully time and not young unreliable ones. So there is no need for customers like us to be scare. N she welcome any feedback on her staff.

U can still contact her to make arragements for appointments.

Before I sign up with the Mother & Baby yoga, I got some questions to ask.

1) What if during the session, my baby wants to drink milk?! She sometimes takes like an hour to drink lor. Then the yoga how?

2) What if she just drank her milk and is her zzzzing time? Usually must cuddle her until she is in deeeep sleep then can put her down. So, again, the yoga how?

Heh...

mcfluffy

no panic. drink before class can?
i read yoga suppose to aid digestion and all.. maybe good for celeste since she no can burp.. might solve ur drink-1-hour problem.

miracle,
I mean if my mil can see our lessons. :p else very paiseh that she wait outside doing nothing. Else on that day then i ask the person in charge. :p

ahcapp & those on total EBM,
have u bring ur baby out yet? How are u going to feed ur baby? I thinking how to bring out the EBM in the fridge or we have to express fresh one out and bring out.

chaye

danelle's poo is also a mixture of green & mustard color. u sure green means frightened?? i thot green represents heaty & dehydrated.

Windy,
can... BUT, usually after drinking, must carry her to zzzzz. She's one troublesome baby!

icy,
use cooler bag to bring out EBM. or, for lazy mums like me, bring FM. Cool EBM still must warm up.. my gal will not give face, she will scream her lungs out if she wants milk.

hi icy

Long time no see you here. =)

Like McFluffy said, I used a cooler bag to bring EBM out. But so far, the furthest I have brought my baby out is my parents' place. So no problem with requesting for hot water.

My baby also like McFluffy's baby. If he wants milk, he wants it NOW! I am trying to figure out how to heat out EBM when I go out too. My colleague told me that there is a heater which u can connect it to the car to heat up the EBM, but sad to say, it takes 15 to 20min I heard. =(

RE:cooler bag
Thanks mcfluffy, what brand for cooler bag is good? How long can EBM be stored inside? Those in the fridge one or must be fresh EBM?

Daytime sleeping/ napping...

My baby is nearly 6 weeks today. Noticed that he sleeps lesser in the day than before. As much as I don't want him to oversleep in the day, I don't want him to undersleep and become cranky. Do u keep track of how much your baby sleep in the day? If so, how do I know how much is enough?

Sassy

I'm not sure abt that and it's wat my mum says. I believe it's old wives tale ba.

Green rep heaty and dehydrated ? Did the PD says that ah ? I think I must give my boy more water then !

cake vouchers

Forgot to ask.. can I give cake vouchers to those who didn't manage to come to my baby's full month party? Is it ok?

I am finally back!

Here's proud to present my darling Elias pic at one month old weighing 4.4kg at his last Saturday check up

Fern

mcfluffy,
i oso donno leh! anyway, wen my fren n i went for the positive infant class, we feed our bb before going and our bb were zzzing when we arrived at the place but the momment we put our bbs down on the yoga mat and with the teachers singing, they woke up. my fren's bb was crying n teacher asked her to carry bb n calm bb down . teacher asked her to do the exercise on bb while carrying her. after bb stopped crying n calm down then put him down and he enjoyed the rest of the lessons. maybe positive infant class n mum+baby yoga is diff. this is also my 1st time trying. anyway, after the positive infant class, our bb were hungry so we let our bb latch on in the nursing room.

icy,
i guess if yr mil wants to sit in should be ok cos they seemed pretty flexible. i thot yr mil will be more comfortable in the resting area , sitting on the sofa, sipping coffee/tea and reading mag rather than watching us and sitting down on the floor for 1hr.btw, she can go shopping too! when i was there with my fren, she brght her maid so she asked her maid to go window shopping while we were attending the class.

mircle,

Give gifts and ang pows for the full month or when u just give birth? As long as give ang pows or gifts can give cake vouchers right?

I am still struggling to keep my baby on schedule here. Aiya, tiring man. So far, the only thing I suceed is his bedtime routine which will start at about 7pm. Yes, i am slower than Gina Ford, but really no choice. Do u follow her schedule strictly or u modify a bit yourself?

ahcapp,
ya, i gv cake vouchers as long as they gv gifts or ang pow.
no lah, i din follow strictly , did modify and fine-tune because every bb is different.

Avent VIA cups
Anyone using these cups? Do u find them oily when u first take them out to use. I tried washing with detergent but still feels oily. Mine was bought 2 yrs back when I had my gal but never open to use. Is it ok?

Went to parentcraft to chk on my bb wt gain today. Last wk he put on 200g. Not too bad but they asked me to supplement with pumped out bm after each latching so that he could catch up on wt. Looks like I gonna be having hard work for this guy. But somehow he's sleeping more rather than less. Normal?

icy,

i bought my Medela PIS adv from the first few years @ Paragon lvl 5. so far, thats the cheapest place to buy n it cost $629. it include cooler bag too.
Im willing to spend so much on a pump becos milk powder cost $30 each tin. so 1 mth also need to spend abt $100. which means 6 mth is abt $600 too. plus spending so much on the pump makes me determine to continue to bf, cos i will feel heart pain if i fail in bf..hehe

chaye

danelle dun like to drink water...
when do u feed ur bb water? how many times a day?

fern

u forget to attach the pic is it?

babe,
great! gain 200g/wk, u are on the rite track!jiayou!
i was like you, bb low birth weight, so cl advised to latch on then express while she bottle-feed bb with ebm. luckily by the time she left, bb 's weight had increased ,afterwhich i just latch on and express.

Sassy,
Try giving her sips of water using a small teaspoon after she wakes up. After a few days, she will get used to the plain water taste. No need to start with huge amount of plain water. She needs time to get used to it.

Positive infants, I also thinking of bringing my girl for the class too, at least got chance to get out of the house and for us to do something. But same concern, my girl when she wants to drink means its NOW, no waiting, she will cry at the top of her voice.

shanonbaby, you mean, you brought your pump out to pump? Not heavy mah?

For mums who latch their baby, when I can use the bottle to feed my girl? Currently for bottle feeding, its done by others, after 1 month can I do it also? It wont confuse her anymore right? Coz if go outside, sometimes better to feed her, so she will not be hungry and then after that then latch. Else to find a place to latch her on the spot may be quite ma fan. Especially with a cranky baby.

Anyone's baby drink halfway, will get pek chek? On bottle? Sometimes my girl, drink half way, will kick her leg and then very frustrated. Is the milk flow too slow?

Cooler bag, I use the one from my PIS, but I have another cooler bag, I just put ice packs inside. But, got to bring hot water flask to heat up and can take quite a while.

Sassy

My boy poo le ! Initial ones are little hard n green. the later one are mustard and mushy.

1. Every morning after bath I will let him drink 20ml water mixed with grip water.

2. I let him sip little water after every feed to wash mouth.

3. Sometimes he will wake up when it's not time for next feed I will give some water too. He can drink abt 30ml.

4. Sometimes he may be awake for an hour or so for playtime, we'll give some water before we put him back to his dreamland. Not much tho say abt 20ml depending whether he suckle or not.

miracle, but LC still ask me top up his feed with 40ml each time so that he can catch up on wt gain. Wonder if that would mean less stimulation on breast. sometimes I wonder if the assessment at clinic is acurrate coz at parentcraft, my boy always v pek chek when drinking n me let down even worse...guess haf to b hardworking...was still thinking of bringing him out more often.. now still haf to latch n express n feed topup..tiring

Wendyg,
bought using voucher then don't feel so heart pain. I pay cash wor... so find it wasteful lor.

sassy,
did you scold your maid? i can imagine how mad you are. I'll be totally pissed off too. you're no longer bfg?

Steph,
you didn't negotiate with the manager to come back another day or charge you less ah? sian rite. can't even enjoy a good dinner...

Fern,
no pix leh...

babe,
great to know Abel is growing well! you're such a good mommy. you've been trying so hard to tbf. must be very tiring for you... is ss better now?

Oh ya Verene
I mgt to get a tin of Friso Comfort le ! I've called Friso to chk. The lady ask me to substitute of scoop of comfort whenever I make milk.

sassy
if clinic @ Paragon how come din buy pram @ Paragon..?
yes it's good practise to be prepared for the worst and pack a backup set of everything. Until now my elder boy 2.5yo i'm still bringing extra set of clothes for him. U never know when he decides to throw up, play with water and get himself wet, diaper soak thru shorts etc.

angelsky
when outside, latch on is faster than heating up ebm. Find a place to sit down & dun bother abt others, concentrate on getting bb to latch. Best is to anticipate his need to feed... maybe u watch his signals, or watch the clock. Feed him b4 he demands it to avoid the crankiness. Calm baby less stressful to latch on

friday i was at compasspoint Metro kids section & my boy woke up & wanted to drink. The nursing room so far away.. nowhere to sit down... argh. I was unhooking my bra & prepared to breastfeed standing up. Just in time a staff approached me and ushered me into their staff area (those that said "NO ENTRY, STAFF ACCESS ONLY), brought me a chair so that i could bf more comfortably. ahhhh, good service is like that lor..

babe
yes a bit smooth hor, inside the cup. i rinse it a bit then sterilise b4 use.

wendgy, i think i lack the patience, coz she can latch very long and then always want cuddle. indeed the service very good at metro. i think for me sure garang gabo, if she cries.

these 2 days my girl alot of wind in her stomach, she every now and then will make argh and want to shit, then when shit always alot of bubbles in the shit.

angelsky,
I usually feed in car when going out even though he's not due for next feed yet. Then when i reach the place, i will check out where is the nursing room. Before bb gets cranky get to the room first. If there's no nursing room and it's a shopping centre, I'll request to use their fitting room. So far no one turns me down.. I don't bring ebm.

can i check for those latching on, how long do you latch now? my boy is like on milk strike. Latch on only for 10-15mins, unlatch himself and refuse to drink anymore... don't know what's wrong leh. Then 2hour later cry for milk.. and he's been waking up more at nite for milk too

me back in HK now! Thanks for all the msg. Still relatively cold here so i dressed up Rylee in bundles.
My shipment of stuffs also arrived today..so will be busy UNpacking now..so tiring cos think she's going thru ANOTHER growth spurt now, feeding very often...plus she got vomit problem, so mid feed, after feed, gotta burp and hold upright, all in all, PLUS growth spurt, i'm perpetually sitting on bed and feed feed feed..HOW TO UNPACK?? Aaarrrrgghh!

Later!

fishia
in the car my boy will zzz.. and when he zzz he dowan to eat. so your method wun work for him.. =(

tobey drinks most in the mornings, just nice coz that's when i'm engorged. 1 side 20min is enuf for him to turn it from hard to soft. Still can express after he's finished, but not much.
Most other feeds he's done after 15min each side. He may doze off as the first breast drains, then i change sides and let him drink another 15min. But if he's not interested then done lor.