(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

miracle, I also keep doing that. Muz pump after latch for how long then ss will incr? How u measure the increase? Oh 150ml is no latch but thot u said u pump after feed at 7.30am? Heehee, muz learn from u how to incr ss. How long ur bb suckle n on both breasts?

angelsky, ur bb during wake time will play herself or will cry carry? btw, ur bb can last v long for feed. How long does she sleeps at night?

Windy, yup very unlady like, sometimes she breathe also very loud. kekeke. Play mahjong, I wish man
, but with so many babies how to concentrate.

Babe, wake up, she will lie in her bed and look at us lo. Then after a while, max give her 10 minutes, she will get very pek chek becoz no one wanna talk or play with her, then got to carry lo, else she will cry until her whole face red and refuse to stop crying. I leave her in the room to sleep, she will move her eyes and head to look at me leave the room, then she will also look out to see if I will open the door, coz when I come in, I will see her looking at the door, her head is actually facing away from the door, so she will have to tilt her head to look at the door.

I also "na ta mei ban fa". My girl not even 1 month old yet. Stress me already. This 3 days, quite jia lat, she drink last feed at 12, got to coax her sleep about half hour, then she will wake up at 2, wanna feed, then coax her sleep, then 3 wanna feed, 4 also wanna feed, then sleep then 6 wake up.

babe,
oh ya, in the morning also abt 120-150ml aft latch but mayb it is accumulation thru the nite. cos it used to be 80 then 100 then 120 n now 150. i noticed if i drink a lot of red date tea, milo, nuring mother tea n cereal, my ss is better. mrs wong fr tmc parentcraft
said red date helps in ss, i oso read somewhere cereal helps too! so i hantam all!
i am using medela pis , so usually pump abt 20mins for both sides. bb usually latch on at least 15min fr each side.there is this book, call baby whisperer, i borrowed fr library, mentioned abt bb lactching on, milk quality during the 1st 5, 10 n 15 min. pretty interesting. she also suggested fixing a schedule for bb, she has a spreadsheet in the book which i copied and add a few more columns, i find it pretty useful in recording, don kn why very forgetful so better note down bb's activity. like there r columnn on hw lg bb latch on n on wh side, left or rite, what time he drinks, peen n poo! etc

just received email fr diapers.com, the goon promo will be ending 29th feb so still have time to try out their sample before buying.
any mummies tried their free sample?

sassy
who say cannot use mama lemon? wat if i no $$ to buy pigeon cleanser how?

red rose
my boy's jabs will b done @ GP. Save $. #1 went to PD for all jabs. This time pok-gai liao

icy

Yes, I compare the left and the right breast. The left one feels like harder than the right breast even though I have pumped or massage. It's soft, but not soft enough. Decided to get the massage lady to drop by for a session as I also hate the achiness in between the pumping sessions. Don't know if the ache is related to the lump/ hardness or not.

mircle

I delivered at Mt Alvernia. I did hear from the massage lady that sometimes, a block will happen. =( Quite sian leh.

I just finished feeding the baby. Will give him a bath later on. Will give him a feed and get him to sleep from 7pm+ to 10pm+ before his last feed. Really want to get him settle during this period of time as we have been struggling with this since he was borned.

angelsky

My baby like old man. Makes noises when he sleeps. Initially I will sleep with him. But his noises keep me awake. So now, I go back to bed with my hb. let him wake me up when he 'eh eh eh' lor. =)

washing detergent...

I did read in the baby book that it's ok to use normal detergent to wash baby stuff. Don't need to use baby detergent actually.

miracle

i recd the GOO.N sample last week. tried on danelle the very next day. seems quite alright. the material is slightly softer than nepia and the absorption level is almost the same.

angelsky, ur bb naturally will wake n lie in bed look ard or train? Do u all let bb cry to sleep so now can leave bb in rm n she goes to sleep on her own?

Me now pump after feeds only get 20-30ml even in morn..only once 50ml. Will try it out those food stuff..juz boiled red date tea today

wendyg

ya man.. so ex for the jab, boh lui liao. somemore i can only claim fr company if it's fr GP, at least save $$

maureen,
oopz! it's soap not soup :p

Wendy,
i was using mama lemon previously but realise that the smell of the soap stays on, especially in the rubber portion of the pump and teats. Now i'm only using tap water. Do u have the same problem?

<font color="0000ff">AhCapp,</font>

the block on yr left breast, izit due to block ducts? or lumpy thingy? Gd to ask Mdm to help cos sometimes, these blocks can cause aches, sharp pain or even trigger fever.

I am interested in the book mentioned by some of u, "The Contented Baby's First Year by Gina Ford", u borrowed this bk from NLB ? It has been grandfather years since i last visit the library, how many books (max) can we borrow? Using our IC to borrow or need to sign up as NLB member to borrow? Sua ku me:p

miracle

ya... its v siong to use pampers for day and night. unless ur bb's butt is sensitive to cheaper diapers then no choice gotta use the expensive ones.
i apply alotsa desitin cream on her butt as well... so far i have tried PAMPERS, NEPIA, HUGGIES ULTRA, GOON, DRYPERS and KAO MERRIES (my frd bought it from Japan). i find tat Kao Merries is the best but too bad they dun sell it in SG.

re: washing of bottles/teats/pump

Luvv, i use kodomo for cleansing. If lazy, i use tap water too
For mama lemon, dun squeeze too much, a little on the teats will do &amp; rub using fingers under running water to ensure no soap smell.

steph

It's like a lump at the top of my left breast. Bottom is jelly soft, but top is hard. When I compare with my right breast, right breast not so hard leh. It's the ache and the sharp pain which makes me uneasy. So that's why getting Mdm to drop by tmrw for a session if she is free. She will update me with a slot later.

I borrowed the contented little baby book from Jurong East library. But mine is an older version. The newer version is already reserved. We can borrow up to 4 books with our IC. Sometimes they will have promotion which we can borrow more books.

AhCapp, thks
wah...the book so hotcake ah? If on waiting list for the newer version, i wonder how long. Mm...when free next wk, will dropby JE library.
miracle, thks for info
okie dokie.

mircle

Just finished bathing baby and now feeding him. Will get him into his bedtime routine after that. I am crossing my fingers and toes that he will sleep well till 10 to 11pm for his last feed.

Steph

It's a good idea to check out the availability of the book as suggested by miracle. It will also tell u when it will be available again, but not sure if it will tell u how many people has reserved it.

I also didn't know about this book until someone mentioned it at another thread. My CL told me about this book too as she practised some of the things from the book too.

Btw, is Kodomo cheaper than Pigeon detergent? I find baby baby detergent very siong in the long run, just like diapers. Use n use.

sassy,
i am using cloth nappy in the day and pampers at nite so not so bad. heard it is better to let boys wear cloth nappy so it will not affect their fertility in future due to the heat. don kn hw true is it lah!

re: Disposable diapers

Sassy, you have tried so many brands- how is it?

So far, I have not used any cloth nappy for my boy... have been using Pampers brand day and night- siong man. Am thinking of switching to a cheaper brand

AhCapp,

Kodomo (2000ml) cost $15.50 Refill cost $7plus. I think Pigeon is cheaper. I think when baby is older, we can use normal detergent that we adult use bah. For diapers, i like mamypoko &amp; goon, gd absorbant &amp; value for $. Mdm Rokiah recommended NTUC brand of diapers, value for $ but i have yet to try out cos so far, i only see M &amp; L size available.

steph
NTUC diapers small cutting ley. it's good when baby is in between sizes.. too large for S but too small for M. then buy NTUC M size and it'll fit just nice. But hor, i dun like it coz not v absorbent. Still can see my boy's backside wet during diaper change.

re: cloth diaper better for sperm?!
>> ahem.. long way more before my boys reach puberty, get married &amp; hv their own kids. But when that time comes, i'll sure remember u, miracle!

I'm using nappy for my girl in the day &amp; drypers at night.

Initially, I'm against nappy cloth too. Think that it is too troublesome to wash. But after doing confinement at my mum's place, my mum shows me that by using nappy cloth, the baby's buttock has chance to be aired. If all day &amp; night use diapers, it is tough to get rid of nappy rash no matter how much cream you put.

About feeding baby at 11pm &amp; hoping that they will sleep until 5 or 6am...

This does not work for me leh. If I feed my girl at 12am... (at 5 weeks, she drinks 120ml), she will still wake up at 3am for the next feed...

I dare not give her more.... scared I overfed her... even if I give her 120ml now, she will start crying for milk 2 hours later... she seems like demanding milk all the time. But I tried to keep to 3 hrs interval. Will only feed her water (with glucose or rose syrup) in between.

i also use clothe for my girl during day, but she quite particular, if she poo or pee, she must change else she cant sleep, so sometimes in order to get her to sleep, i will use diapers. i bought bumwear, but her bavkside still small, so will use next time. night i use pampers or mammy poko.

night feed, my girl 22 days, but she already taking about 100 ml per feed. sometimes dont give she wont sleep.

krystle, rose syrup? your gal on fm?

Re: disposable diapers- HUGGIES
Any mummy here used Huggies brand before? What is the difference between Huggies Ultra (most ex) as compared to Huggies Dry and Huggies Dry Comfort???

angelsky,

It is called Delrosa Rosehip Syrup. My mum gets it from Chinese Medicine Hall. Just put a little bit into plain water. My girl hates just plain water but she drinks this combo loh. One day can only put twice I think. It contains Vitamin C &amp; helps baby to have smoother poo poo.

Yap, my girl on FM. Coz my SS never kicks in &amp; I gave up liao...

krystle,

My boy is on total FM too. What brand your gal taking? Mine is taking Similac. Also looking around to see which places selling cheaper.

red rose

Go to Mdm Rokiah's website at:

traditional-holistic-postnatal.blogspot.com

She is very good! *2 thumbs up* Both Steph and I engaged her for our post natal massage. I think she charges more than others but I think it's worth every cent. Besides the massage, she gives me advices on BFing too. She doesn't take phone calls during the massage. If u msg her, she will reply u for sure. She is very professional. She is very popular, so try to book her in advance if u can.

She will be dropping by tmrw for 1 session with me as I have blockage/ lump in my left breast.

cloth diaper

If use cloth diaper, does it mean that even a little bit of urine or poo poo also must change? I am wondering if I should change to cloth diaper in the day for my son since u all highly recommend it.

Cloth diaper:
I bought 2 dozens of cloth nappy. but only use them as blanket. had bought the liners too. 200 pcs. still havent open.

AhCapp,
u can change the liner only if the pee and poo din kena the cloth nappy.

Itok,

My girl drinks Similac too. So far, I bought from Guardian since I have Parkway Shenton card which gives 5% discount.

Then I also trying to see if got other lobang...

parkway shenton card got disc @ guardian? for all purchases ah? issit the same card that u produce at clinic?

verene
same here.. my cloth nappies used to swaddle my boys

ahcapp,
ya, my boy will cry whenever he pee or poo in the cloth nappy. so far din leak cos i use the pigeon diaper cloth cover to wrap over the nappy.

i will not use cloth nappy if i don have a maid cos it is quite mafan. can change up to 10 nappies a day, sometimes the poo poo kena the nappy then mus use hot water to soak 1st then can get rid of the stain.

krystle,

So far, my hubby said that Sheng Siong supermarket sells $33.20

I bought from TMC is $33.95

The chinese medical hall near my place sells $35!

wendyg,

yup, 5% discount for all items at Guardian but exclude things like magazines, newspapers etc I think.

No minimum purchases.

$32.80 for Similac is cheap.

The price for 1 tin at $36. So after 5% discount around $34.50.

Yes, it is the Parkway Shenton card when you present for visiting clinic.