(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Actually I haven't tbf my baby yet. Sometimes I will give him FM. Drinking S26 Gold. Today I give him Gripe water. See how it goes. Maybe I didn't take fruits too that why the BM didn't help much. Yesterday just drink a cup of papaya milk shake.

wendy,
i don swaddle my baby, just switch off the light then close door. he will fall asleep aft awhile.according to my cl, don talk or look at bb during the last feed.

ahcapp,
i find it easier to feed my baby by not waking him up during the dream feed. he will just drink, his usual is abt 120ml but during the dream feed , he can drink up to 180ml, so according to gina ford, it can last him through the nite eventually.
if he wakes up at 6am then you try to drag a bit longer even half an hour is gd enough. everyday u try to drag a bit till 7am. a few of my friends tried her method and managed to succeed, baby sleeps thru the nite. most of them toke ard 2wks+ to train their bbs.
it take me around 1 week+ to put him in this routine. it started with him waking up at 3+ then i stretch to 4+ then now 5+.what u can do to stretch him is by patting him or putiing him on tummy.

wendy,
oic,i don swaddle him in the day as well, i just put him in his cot, cover him with a nappy cloth then put his favourite toy or mirror next to him and play his favourite music then i will leave the room, usually he will talk to his bear or mirror for a while and shortly aft doze off and ZZZZZZZ liao. sometimes he will cry but i will take a peek then leave the room.

wendyg

get my baby to sleep? Sometimes, giving him a top-up of about 20ml is already enough to send him off to la-la land. But sometimes, I still have to resort to carry him for a while. If carry him doesn't work, I will give him extra milk.

miracle

Wow, your baby can at so much during the last feed ah? I have difficulty in waking him up to suck his last feed last night. So he just drunk his usual 100ml.

For night time feeding, my CL also told me not to talk. I practised this during the night feeding.

Btw, how about those day time feeding? Is your baby feeding on demand or u feed him on schedule as per Gina Ford said? I am reading her book, but a bit confused. My baby currently doesn't really sleep much in the morning, until after his morning bath. He will then wake up about 11am+ for another feed, after which will he longest nap (same like Gina Ford said). The problem I have is the evening. Gina Ford said he is supposed to sleep from evening till his last feed at 11pm. But my bb will not sleep once he wake up at about 5pm+. He will still eat but will kick fuss till about 9pm+. Maybe it's because I have not introduced the 2nd bath time in the evening, so I am not able to get him to sleep yet.

Do u have the same problem for evening time?

sassy,
i also don't know why the last min notice but now we're suspecting she's choosing place to work. She requested to go back to my inlaws place where she has more freedom. I'm at home most of the time, she has no chance to chit chat on the phone which she do that at my inlaws place all the time. She also goes marketing alone thus able to go out walk walk at least once a week. When she's with me, she requested a few times to go buy lunch where it'll normally takes her 1 hr to and fro my place. So our guess is, she felt restricted and bored. When she asked for a raise, she even told us that she understand with taking care of baby, she can't request to go out as and when she wants and she can't chit chat on the phone. So much for being nice.hiaz.

AhCapp,
i only bathe baby in the morning and wipe down for her at night. Think night time not good to bathe her cos scare she gets a chill.

miracle and ah capp, do u follow strictly GF? What if bb wakes up b4 3h n cry badly? Night time to stretch feed, juz let bb cry if do everything also can't get him keep quiet?

miracle, ur bb so good, leave there can sleep. Did u let him cry out initially? If sleep beyond time how to wake if bb still sleepy? do u tbf?

Luvv, have you spoken to the agency. Get the agency to talk to her. That time my maid also the same. Want to ask for transfer. We told her everywhere is the same, will have old people at home get scolding. The reason she wants to transfer because my mil scolds her when we are not at home. Reason because she is slow and always forget. After the agency talk to her she got no choice. Everywhere are the same.

AhCapp, I also did the same like Luvv. Only when baby is about 6 months old onward then I will start evening bath for him.

babe
jussnow tobey outlasted me. I let him cry 10min he still dun stop wor. then i went in the room he looked at me so poor thing. When i carried him he became silent & didn't demand to latch on. After a while he zombie & zzz. But naptime delayed apt 30min due to the whole cycle. sianz.

mspiglet, blackbatz and windy,
So Monday how? Meeting? Or you prefer to self collect at my house? Can collect any time any day, as long as someone is home. Grumpus will be collecting at my house.

Maureen,
the worse thing is, my mil wants her back as her new maid cannot make it, agent say it's our internal affairs so can't help but offer to do the paperwork for her at a norminal fee. My hubby now wants her to pay back the transfer fee/security bond/insurance as a lesson for her. She choosing place of work due to the level of freedom she can enjoy.

wendy,
i'm at rivervale, she normally pack lunch at rivervale mall. actually don't need to take that long, i don't take that long to walk there myself, only about 20 mins to and fro. I always close one eye as i thought this is the chance for her to take a breather, as long as she finish her work, i don't really bother.

Wendy,
so you bath your boy twice a day or only bath him in the evenings? I always have to fight my girl's scream when i wake her up for her bath in the morning, her waking hours are normally in the afternoon.

luvv

ya la... she got not much chance to be out and chat on the phone when working for u. i believe she has got alot of friends around so wanna meet up and chit chat lor. how old is she??? not the young young kind rite?

miracle, wendy, ah capp,
how do u all know bb is full for nap? when do u put him in the rm to nap? I so far see him yawn carry till dopey eye then put down n pat.

Today abel slept 20min then woke crying, tried to carry calm him can't so thot hungry latch. 5 min later he like sleep.

wendyg/luvv

i bath my gal in the afternoon ard 3plus 4 before her next feeding. sometimes it can be early evening ard 6plus 7... any issues huh? i see alot of mommies bath for the bb in the morning.

sassy

no issues over what time to bathe baby ah..
my pref is bathe morning cos whole night of anyhow wipe butt cos mother sleepy, so morning bathe to keep bottom clean. up to individuals i guess

windy
you la! so excited...

babe
tobey is not supposed to eat b4 nap time. He makan when he wake up from nap, and his next makan will be 3hr later. He only stays awake abt 1.5hr, and nap 1hr. So 3 hourly. I can't figure how to stretch his awake time longer. I tried changing activity, change position etc... but after 1.5hr, he will start to complain and bo pian hv to get him to nap liao.

wendy, if he make noise, u put him nap, carry pat n refuse how? still dun feed? sorry i very bad wif distinguishing cry...dunno wat is hungry or tired..

btw, can u all make it to put bb in bed at 7 pm? Dinner time..

windy
yeah i like the aerosmith song too... but my *jaded* applies to babies rather than Toto... which i dun buy in the first place. muahahaha

sassy,
she's 34 going to be 35 this yr. Yes she has a lot of friends, within 1 week of working for me, she's made friends with maids even from my opposite block and she can even tell me how long they're working here. So i guess at my inlaws place, even more friends cos she goes marketing.

babe
tobey wants to latch on in order to sleep. i'm his human pacifier. But if papa carry, no smell so it's ok.
sometimes he goes down before 7pm. but from then until abt 9-10pm, every 15-30min he will wake up crying & i gotto carry, latch blah blah. Getting tougher to settle him. All the bad associations coming into play! how how how how

Windy,
Not me leh, if me sure now not here posting, will have already collected my money and out celebrating somewhere!

wendy/sassy,
didn't know can bath in the afternoon/evening..don't know what's the complication of that also, i just follow what the elders told me, to bathe baby in the morning early.

re washing of bottles/teats/pump

do u ladies use dishwashing soup or baby soup for cleaning bottles or just plain water?

Luvv

aiyah why not u.. if u then we can have 10-course dinner gathering liao.. kekeke..

i use pigeon bottle cleanser to clean baby stuff. quite good leh.. biodegradable ingredients all..

ahcapp,
just finished bathing and feeding bb.
i try not to wake him up during the last feed,just pick him up fr his cot while he is still in his lalaland then feed him,mayb tats why they call it dream feed. it takes us almost an hour to feed him 90ml when he is awake but 30min to dream feed him 150ml while he is asleep. very funny when i put the teat into his mouth while he is sleepinng,he will just suckle non-stop!my friend said bb has this natural reflex to suckle!but not eveerytime successful lah! like last nite,he woke up at 10.30pm n drank only 100ml aft 45min then refused any more milk. so hb put him down then let him drift to lalalsnd and continue the remaining dream feed of 80ml at 12.30am!
initially, i tried to follow gina ford's method, by putting him on a schedule but he always cried till face red red like so mpoor thing so hb n i always gv in then it become feed on demand but we realised it is very disruptive to him n us. so aft hb n i discussed we decided to follow gina's method and heng xia xin chang n let him cry! so when he cries, sometimes i will pat or carry him for a short while then put him back in cot and at times when i c he cannot tahan so long i will put him on his tummy which is the most effective, it usually stretch him for at least 30-45min but that is provided if i am available to watch him. if not i will sling him n usually he will fall asleep pretty fast.sometimes when i let him cry, my maid will keep running to me n said "bb is crying" as if i can't hear! it is gd to have a baby monitor, so we can leave him in his room and still able to monitor him.
rite now, his schedule is more or less fixed, 7.30am, 10.30am, 1.30pm, 4.30pm, 7.30pm , 10.30pm n 5am(hopefully can remove this last feed soon), the schedule is +- 15mins.
in order to put him on this schedule, u must be able to tahan him crying initially!

i will sponge him around 7.15pm then change into his pj before his 7.30pm feed. aft feed, i will put him back into his cot and close the door.

i have no schedule for my bb... how how how? she is ruling over us now! think i should go read that gina ford book you guys talking about. what's the title?

babyship,
ya, i am on tbf but hb will do the last feed on ebm. cl said must train bb to self-entertain, so everyday i will put a toy next to him but initially also very tough lah, must tahan him crying. i found putting mirror next to him very effective, he always find the mirror very fascinating,he still doesn't know who is in the mirror so always talking to his own reflection and laughing. it din happen overnite, it was aft a few days of crying.

miracle, so it's ok for bb to cry till face red red then they'll fall asleep even if hungry? I tbf so dunno how much bb takes. U bottle feed ebm or fm? How long did the crying last for the longest? I stay wif IL n my #1 sleeps in same rm. We all in 1 rm coz space constraint. U put him on tum while he still crying or calm down already?

My 7 wk bb recently in sleeping mode. From noon will start eat n sleep. sometimes cry dunno is hungry or wat. If unsuccessful with carry, pat, sing, will latch. But he suckles awhile at times n sleep off.

windy,
no choice leh, cos feeding on demand is very disruptive to him too! he was not sleeping well so more cranky , not feeding well thus poor weight gain! since he is on the fixed schedule, i also can better plan his activity! like last mon, i am able to bring him for a trial class on positive infant which teaches yoga play, song n dance. he is able to enjoy himself throughout the whole 30min, not cranky at all.

miracle, my bb will only self entertain awhile with his bedside toy. So u let him cry to prolong his ability to self entertain? how long to cry n when u end to him? btw, when do u pump? ur supply good? I scare i not feeding bb enuf coz he small as i might haf low ms. So if he wakes b4 times up, u let him cry also ah? till he sleeps or u respond after some time?

miraclebaby

wah!! u bring baby to positive infant class!! sounds interesting leh.. can tell me where? i shall call them to enquire. my MIL sure say i siao.

Sassy
Exactly, last time when I go BKK, can come back with more trunkloads of stuffs. Guessed there're still things but maybe not so attractive/suitable for me anymore.

Luvv
I visited the one in Central World. Their boutique looks like those LV boutiques lor. Classy and crowded. Btw, heard Vivo now opened a Naraya too, is it true?

babe,
i will put him on his tummy while he is still crying and he will still continue to cry till face red red but usually dooze off in abt 5min.so u mus be able to tahan lor. initially i also very heart pain leh! but no choice!
i guess hw long to let yr bb cry is at yr own discretion cos evry bb is diff.
i also find putting him on a sling is more effective than carrying!
now i only pump in the morning aft his 7.30am feed and at nite ard 11pm.my hb will feed him on ebm during the last feed. no fm at all. initially i pump everytime aft he latch on but now ss more or less established so i stop doing that liao. initially ss was low , so very stress, took fenugreek but doesnt seem to work on me so i tried the nursing mother tea from mim and it seem better but not fantastic lah. i was very worried abt my bb not getting enuf fr latch on too cos my bb was pre-term at 2.3kg only.now he is 4.8kg at 8wk.my pd said as long as yr bb has at least 3 poo poo n 6 pee pee is very good already.