(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi Jeslyn,
same here, dun noe y my bb keep crying while breastfeed her. let her latch on, she drink a bit, then stuggle, then my milk leaking like no body biz, her & my clothes all get wet by my milk... really frustrated, dun noe what she want. any experienced mum can enlighten us?

mspiglet,
my bb also same problem as her. she's obviously hungry but latch on already, 30secs later she will spit out the nipple and cry.

babe my baby like gek sai think friso really make her discomfort ..... now i change back to similac hope is ok ...

Is nepia good?

Anyone give jin feng shan to reduce frighting for babies under one year old? I read for the instuction the dosage is start from one year old. Never say for babies under one how much should give.Then my MIL heard from the shop keeper that is safe for babies under one to eat. My son only one month old scare eat got side effect. Wanna ask you all is it safe to eat or not?

my mom also wan to give the jin feng shan for my bb, say jus wipe across the lips since she so colicky...think it's the TCM treatment for colicky...hehe..i oso refraining from giving...scared la

sagittaurius,
Personally I will not give my baby jin feng shan. Don't really know what's inside these things and baby is too young to digest any "weird" substances. Just my opinion lah.

Angelsky, Piglet, Jeslyn, Mcfluffy, same problem with my gal. Close her eyes, cry and cry when the nipple is already in her mouth. Takes many cycles to get her to suckle on and off for at least 20mins but don't know how much milk she's actually drinking or is it just comfort sucking. :p

Today, my breasts like always pain then will leak but it's not engorged, only the areola felt hard. Decided to pump instead of latching on so that I know how much BM I have. But very sad leh, only get about 70-80ml so far. BB always drink not enough, after that still need to supplement with FM. Asked CL to make the green papaya soup for me again.Don't know whether to go back to latch on and continue to pump 3 hourly. :p

WendyG, Drypers also leaked today leh, stained BB's swaddle. CL said it's because BB likes to lie on her side so the poo came out from the side gathers. :p

Mylife, I understand your predicament. I also always need hubby around. I used to keep asking him "when are you coming back?" when BB first came home. Nowadays, settling into a routine with CL around so not so bad. But once CL leaves, I think I'll start asking him the question everyday again. ;P

re: drinking vs sucking for fun
>> listen... do u hear baby swallowing? Dat's de difference. I unlatch once my boy stops swallowing. If he wants to latch on, he better be drinking. If not then unlatch again.

maureen
do u hv CDA for your #2? Did u deposit the entire $6K into the account at 1 shot, & how long does the $-for-$ matching contribution come about.. is it immed or by month end etc? Do u get a statement of account?

qq

nepia is value for money. im now using the 3rd pack of NB so far so good. i ordered the GOO.N samples to try, supposed to be softer, better absorption and slightly cheaper than nepia.

wendy
yah, i know dats wat the book and lactation consultants advised. But hor, when unlatch and baby start wailing away and nothing can calm him/her but your nipple for comfort, then how??? I also let my bb comfort suck a few times, cos give pacifier she doesnt wan, only wan the nipple...bo pian...

kitsune
thanks for understanding. Yup, me and hubby have decided to go ahead and move over on 23rd. keeping fingers crossed that by then the weather wont be so cold liao

violetice
check out platinum shopping centre. there r some shops selling baby clothes strewn all over fr 2nd-4th flr. i went last nov, bought lotsa bb clothes. some are carters, ON, gap, oshkosh. the others r not popular brands but material is gd, design not bad n price cheap cheap.

WendyG, I seldom hear my BB swallowing leh, can only hear her heavy breathing. :/ But when I unlatch her, I can see milk flowing out of her mouth and I can see her area below her chin moving. Does that mean she's drinking? And she got a lot of poo poo leh, easily 8 times a day.

QQ, agree with Sassy, nepia is not bad. I got 1 pack of nepia NB, CL said cutting is bigger so I intend to use more of that after my BB outgrows Drypers NB. I just lazy to order online cos heard Nepia NB & S hard to find in supermarket.

Mylife, I'm sure things will work out. Jia you jia you!

Oh ya, had second session with Grace today. She said I don't need binder liao cos stomach shrink already. Hee.
She said she also does regular massage but she'll be increasing her prices soon ($45-50) and will start charging transport fee for faraway places like Tampines.

Mom2nat, thanks. i will continue bf my bb.

Sassy and Windy, ya 200pax cos just my hubby ex-colleagues, colleagues and friends already 100pax. Ya very siong..

sagittaurius, my mum gave jin feng san to my boy who is less than 1mth. just give a little bit, rub on the gum and on the tongue will do.

Windy - we are orderin busy baby wraps for dec07 mums for nursin cover.

Qqing - nepia dun give sample since mid last year.

BTW, am orderin goo.n diapers for mums stayin in east. If any1 interested, can let me know via pm. Meetin place most likely Bedok, Parkway n Tampines.

Kelly,
Platinum is near where? They are wholesaler or? What are the price ranges like? Did you managed to buy a lot? I heard from friends the babies' clothes there are cheap and comfy so looking forward to shopping for my baby.

Any of you girls want me to buy too?

morning everyone, will bb poo alot after taking dentinox?

i think my boy having flu. his breathing is hard and can hear that he have blocked nose and have phelgm. his voice have changed too. should i bring my bb to see pd?

hi qq
my bb also drinking friso gold, sometime she look v uncomfortable too when she 'gek sai', her whole face turned v red .

does similac gives this prob? how is ur bb reacting to similac?

mom2nat,
i wanted to do it at Far East Plaza, #2 (can't remember the shop's name) but scared too far den my breasts will not tahan again. my fren recommended the salon at Downtown East, not bad cos i did last may. Only abt $150 or 160.

Just had blocked duct n had trouble clearing it, causing severe headache. Can we take panadol whilst bf? it was so pain, i took 2tab.

iaatchy,
i did my massage on my 3rd wk, 21st day for 7days. i find that my tummy doesn't go back to shape as much as natural birth mummies. is it dat C-sect cases are more diff to go back to shape den natural birth?

May i know how many more kgs to lose for mummies (natural & c-sect)? i still have abt 5.5kg to go leh n my bb's full mth is dis sun! so headache... tummy so lose..

Wendy, I didn't put one shot 6k. You can put any amount in. Once you deposit, they will deposit the same amount. I remember I received a letter saying by age of 6 or what(can't remember clearly), either you take out all in cash or you transfer to another account to continue for his studies and if not wrong government will still top up until you hit 6k.

CDA can be used for polyclinic 6 in 1 or 5 in 1 injection too.

Godsent, it needs to take time to lose all the weight. Me already 4 weeks plus, still got 4 kg to go too.

By the way anyone still taking fish oil capsules? Eating tuna can also increase supply too.

Godsent
Do you have msn? Oh, btw, do you live at blk 195?
Yes, can take panadol while bf.
I wanna do at Taka, you wanna do tog? We can take cab there! Hee... I go DTE to do my nails at Scratch Nails. For hair salon, I not sure. I think whitesands have a few salons, you can try there. I go Taka cos I always go to this stylist and I like the way he cut my hair lor.
I lost 10kg liao, preg only put on 8kg. So lost more than I put on. But to start with, I fat, so actually still have a lot to lose.

Sasssy
Tks for the number.
The price for nepia and mamy poko about 5 cents per piece. $15.80 for 48 pieces of S for mamy poko. Is Nepia tat good?
Reds at taka is at B2. No close down lah, biz v good leh. I call to make appt liao.

Hi all mums,

I delivered my boy on 21st Jan 2008. Can anyone advise if we can put our baby in sarongs now? My boy wants to be carried all the time to sleep... very tiring...

mom2nat

i find tat nepia is good but then agn it depends on individual baby as well. the cutting, senstivity etc. i think there's alot of changes at B2, lots of old tenants moved out and new tenants moved in, i thot REDS is one of them.

mom2nat..ur boy can last so long? i tbf but gotta feed like 2-3hly...sometimes 1h wan suckle..congrats lost so much...i still got 8kg more...how u lose so fast?

sassy
opps i better call them to check again.

babe
My boy hor, will wanna suckle oso, can be every 30min, suck put on bed, cry, wan to suck... but my CL will say feed him full full, then can sleep longer. So we try to feed, then usually can dong 3 hours. Last time 1st week he come home, can dong 5 hours, from Pasir ris go PD at Paragon, then wait, walk ard, then come home, he still sound asleep kind.

Sigh, the flow on my left breast seems too fast for my gal. She has been struggling non-stop and crying in frustration whenever she feeds on that breast. Try very hard to latch on, when she succeeds, she sucks a while, chokes and coughs or pulls out with a mouthful of milk. End up with milk all on her face and milk leaking out from my nipple. Everywhere wet. I BF on the bed somemore. Think my bed is going to be filled with ants soon.

any ideas how to make suckling on that side of the breast an enjoyable one for her and me?? Will expressing out a little by pump before feeding her help to decrease the flow?

RE: Massage,

I have done 2 sessions of my post natal massage- it is done by chinese lady, with chinese herbs. So far very good coz the lady will do for 1 full hour (at least) and she will perspire a lot after the massage to get rid of the wind in our body. I find it more like "tui na" when we go chinese sinseh.. rather than "spa massage".

and after that, she will wrap 3 cloths around our tummy to wrap the chinese herbs.

One less favourable point is that you will have the chinese herb smell for a while.. so not suitable for those who cannot tahan chinese medicine smell.

Interested parties please contact me and I can provide you the number. It was recommended through my CL's agent.

Windy,
I tried that. Only works when Celeste is in half sleep mode or not totally awake.

This morning she was so awake and alert, a little noise she'll look around and probably cannot swallow in time. End up in a mess and I expressed what was left in my breast. Miserable 15ml for her to drink, which wasn't enough. Had to heat up refrigerated EBM for her. Of course by then, she was tired from all the struggling and crying. She fell asleep soon after downing 10ml.

mylife
if i unlatch and he cries, i'll let him latch on again, but only if he drinks. If he doesn't drink (ie not swallowing), i'll give ebm via bottle then burp him then he'll zzzzzz, but not on my breast lor.

kitsune
bb swallow sounds same as when u swallow saliva, or u're gulping a large glass of water. Her ears shld move. If only under the chin moving, it's just her tongue. she's sucking but not swallowing. dat's why u still c the milk in her mouth.

Hi c-sec mummies

Anyone done their massage and manage to bring down the tummy? I tried one recommended by colleague but does not seem to help. Tummy still big and cannot wear my pants at all. Help...

Sassy,
she charged me $55 per sessions on the condition that I paid all in advanced.

violetice,
I tried 1 session by Helen (sassy's recommendation), also using chinese medicine.. She is quite good. effect wise, me not sure yet, cos just 1 session.

Sians...my bb been napping only for 20min today...duuno wat's wrong..not full or wat..end up i juz feed her though think she can tong longer...

Btw, do ur bb feed already straight away sleep or have some play time before settle down?

Icy

Let me know if you feel any effect, if so will get her too. Heard Mdm Rokiah is also quite good, think Steph had her and lost weight. Intend to start after my BKK trip.

sassy
Reds still there... hee...

babe
I oso can't pump much leh. worse my boy dun wanna drink from bottle. So ah, I told my Cl to "dong", try to feed him and pat him to sleep until I come back.

mcfluffy,

same problem for me too..but since yesterday I try pumping out my milk before feeding her..cos i believe maybe flow and letdown too fast, that causes our baby not in time to swallow...if we make our breast more softer and flow slower..they will be able to handle the flow rate..each time i can pump out at least 100ml per breast within 10mins...then my girl manage to latch on without any spill..or choking..just trial for a day..so far so good...

btw, any mums know how long will engorement last...I seem to feel my breast still very full and hard if i dun pump regularly..fyi i given birth since 1 feb

Hi red.rose,

How long did you start your massage after your C-sect?

Had anyone tried Melrose Bakehouse Catering? Good? Pls advise as looking for caterer for my boy baby shower soon...need to have one round of hi-tea and one round of dinner buffet....

jeslyn,
wow.. you're a cow leh. 100ml per side?! On the side that is faster,the output is only about 60-70ml.
how much milk u pump out before letting ur bb feed? coz mine is so little, im aalso worried that after pumping out, nothing much left for her and she'll fuss again!