(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i wanna cry, i spill my BM of 130ml this morning, after pumping for 1 hr already.. reason being the valve of my pump broke and I knock off the bottle when I examine the valve. That is my BB 1.5x feed!

I am going to have my full mth celebration this sat. Already had like 100+ guests.. faint ah.

Icy,
Sounds like 10 tables. How did you manage to fit everyone? When I had mine last weekend, there were 50 guests and I couldn't even talk to everyone. With 100 wow, it must be very tiring.

Can I ask a very silly question....
Does nursing rooms provide facilities for us to pump? Reason why I ask is coz I dun latch bb on but pump, so was wondering if I went out with bb and I need to pump, where I should go.

Angelsky,
I think in future when bringing baby out, make sure she is full and settled first before going out so that driving will be a breeze. I’ve brought baby out for PD checkups and to my MIL’s house so far, everytime I make sure I feed her and she falls asleep before we drive to our destination.

Mon2nat,
Hehe I think you must speak explicitly to your maid. “BOIL THE WATER NOW!!”

Maureen,
How long does your boy latch on for a side? What is the interval of his next feed? My output is uneven. Left side produce more than right side so right side usually cannot satisfy my gal. Die die must wake her up otherwise she’ll wake up in 1hr time.

Babe,
My gal feeds every 2 hours if I manage to latch her on both sides, 10mins each. Sometimes I will pump out after latching on, but always very scared that by the next feed, not enough milk will be produced. Coz total feed is about 45-60mins. By then, only left 1 hr to rest and produce milk. Everyday I worry about whether I’m giving enough or not.

Kitsune,
My hubby also loves the TV!!!!! I was thinking to myself yesterday.. I’m going to ban TVs in my future house when my house comes. So irritating… his eyes always glued to the TV… geez. Anyway, you can use one hand to pump both sides at the same time. Put the left bottle between your left elbow crook and hold the right bottle in your left hand. Your right hand will be free to read a magazine or do something else! Not so tiring on both hands!

Icy,
I treat every drop of my EBM as gold so I understand how you feel!! Anyway, you pump for 1 hour? I’m very lazy, usually pump for 10mins only.

hi,,,

my bb 2 weeks plus drink 100 ml every 3 hourly. ( 6-7 times a days)..
is it too much.?..

how do you stock upthe ebm.... normally i feed ebm onlylatch 2-3 time s day.. i find that when she latch, omly can last 2 hourly,,, anyone also same?...

babe,
i'm oso using Avent Uno borrowed fm my fren. i find the motor not v gd too. when i use it, i pressed on the button, den it will light up orange to yellow. Once the yellow light is established, i squeeze the manual pump 10x accordingly to the speed i want, den press the button again. it will start pumping with yellow light on.

Jacelyn/ steph77
i read fm a bb book dat HONEY should not be introduced to bbs below 1 or 2yrs old. like wat babe said, their body is too tiny to break down the bacteria in HONEY.

re: Gripe Water
I've been feeding my gal gripe water ever since we brot her back fm hospital. we spoonfeed in very small dosage n feed wif 1 or 2 spoons of water.

Maureen,
my gal oso got choked whilst feeding, i always remind her to drink slowly cos no one is rushing her n milk will always b there for her... i realised when i lie down to feed her, it's betta. she doesn't get choked n i can lie on the bed to rest too.

mcfluffy,
i tink guys will b guys.. my hb oso.. dat day asked for my permission to go gamble wif his frenz.. i don't mind he go lah cos he stay at home oso boring mah.. (now i'm doing confinement in my mom's place). den he went to East side and stay over at my place for 2days, today den back to my mom's place. Machiam like Dont miss his daughter!!! anyway, i oso got my mom to help out, if not i tink i'll be damn stressed looking after n taking care of bb alone!

blackbatz,
I going to have 2 sessions of buffets and then divide the guests into 4 timings. I wonder how to squeeze everyone into the small HDB flat. But then it is troublesome to hold it for 2 days.

mcfluffy,
yeap, I treat it like gold. HB try to comfort me like saying there is still extra EBM in the fridge, and still milk in my breasts!! He dun understand it will not be the same 130ml, BB forever miss that 130ml.. haiz. I had to pump 1 hr every sessions ard every 4 hrly.. I always try to reach my "target" before I stop pumping. I use manual pump, fingers had been aching since day 1.

beckycat,
Not sure if ur baby drink too much. Mine 3 weeks only drinks 80ml, last him between 2.5-3hrs. I stocked in fridge, over 2 days then I have to transfer in freezer. So far, my supply havent go to the freezer stage. :p I seldom latch now, unless at night, where he sleep longer.

mcfluffy,
i'm oso getting lazier... i pump for 15mins each side in the past but now i pump for abt 5 to 10mins to get out some milk w/o emptying it. cos Wendyg said don't empty the milk cos it'll tell the brain to stop producing. so i jus pump for abt 10mins on each side.

one thing v funny, nw my breasts will feel full but not really engorged liao. why ah? is it dat my ss is dropping? after latching or pumping, in a hr's time, i'll start to feel my breasts pain abit here n there n need to be "so". Do u all feel the way like i feel?

back to hb subj:
fm birth until now, my hb actuallyy v lucky. he nvr feed my gal b4. he only burp her (which i ask him to cos v tired fm latching) and he could slp thruout the nite cos my gal slps wif my mom n when she fuss, he can't hear... His duty is only to play wif her n talk to her. like so lucky rite?

icy,
i oso headache cos my relatives v v v big.. only my relatives alone i calculated abt 50pax. i oso have abt 100pax n i'm splitting into 3sessions. 1st session, my frenz, 2nd session (mid afternoon) = relatives, 3rd session = hubby's frenz. but the buffet i dunno how to organise leh. i tot jus order everything come at one time and last all the way til nite. cos if i split into 2 sessions sure not enuf, cos my relatives will stay till nite - den end up they will eat 2x, i.e. lunch n dnr!

Godsent and maureen, uno I on is green light, then I press handle a few times then press botton for auto mode n it lights orange. The suction like not v good. Wonder is it coz I use the old flat valve. Anyone can advice?

Ur breast full but not engorged is right coz body stabilise ss liao. Mine us feel empty then scary..

Icy, I use avent manual hand pump till ache...how u tahan pump 1h?

Anyone bb poo like toothpaste come out? Pasty yellow mustard colour for tbf? Izzit my bb not enuf milk?
Mcflurry, I also scare pump after feed not enough for him do din pump but dunno ss izzit low.

babe,
oic, so now my breasts feel full is normal for bf. but how abt feeling abit piercing pain here n there? is dat normal too or the pain will go off after this stage?

my bb's poo is yellow mustard colour wif small pcs of stools. she nw poos abt 5 - 8x a day n she is 21days old. sometimes when she farts, her poo oso follow suit wif foam. tink she still got lotsa wind in her tummy.

Avent uno: mine is orange blinking light den it'll illuminates yellow light n it's ready for electric pumping.

wendy .... we should call the bengawan solo branch to ask them prepare it or what?

kitsune ... me using iss ... $10 per pax ... hope it will be good i oso alot of relatives and frds .... cos a bomb!

btw do u all gg to shave baby hair? I dun wanna shave but my hubby's grandma say 4 mths have to shave her hair I give her face leh i say NO! .... i hack care .... i dun wanna shave my baby hair! my husband oso dun want anyone knows why must we shave baby's hair? Hair n eyebrown must shave! shit!

hi mommies

got a bit of time, so logging in. Hardly have time to read every posting, but at a glance, everyone seems to be having problems with their babies...crying, rooting, etc. Me too, now super worry cos my bb seems to be having reflux problem. 2nights ago, after i bf her, she pooed, so i bring her to the changing table to change her, jus aft i put her down, she vomit ALOT out forcefully. It's not regurgitation, u all know those drinking water fountain? The milk came out from her mouth like dat ok! Like at its own will, just spurt spurt spurt out. So scary i cried and cried. Have tried everything still like dat. My PD never say anything, jus ask me to jus keep feeding her RidWind. Sigh. Other than vomitting, she's quite ok. And dunno why her vomitting seems to worsen at night. After one feed, she can vomit like 4 times! But during the day, she's quite ok. Sometimes, i can change her clothes at night up to 6times. So much so, i am so tired sometimes, just dont change liao. We have resorted to putting a bib around her all the time at night.

Any babies here perspire alot at the head area? Mine does...another worry again. My fren said cos babies loses heat alot at their heads. Dunno true or not.

For the past 10days, at least got hubby by my side, feed oredi at night, he will help me take over and burp baby and put her back to sleep and ask me to sleep. But today, again, he's flying back to HK liao, will only return during the weekends until baby's visa is approved from HK side. Having some anxiety attack again on how i'm going to cope at night taking care of bb alone on my own.
My mom also super stressed out at being left on our own cos she's very tired cannot afford to carry bb walk around the house when bb fuss. Hubby has been doing that when he's here. So i have to reassure my mom i will do the taking care of bb. But secretly, i am also freaking out on how i'm going to handle bb at night alone in the room.

For mommies whose babies seem to be eyes big-big during the day, perhaps your babies are adjusting their body clock? Good wat!

angelsky
I bought the Medela PIS Advanced as well. Was using it last time before latching on 100% now. Will prob start pumping again only after i go back HK cos now dunno wat to do with the EBM if i pump. Can i ask u when u pump, do u have to also squeeze your breasts? Or u jus hold the suction cup funnel to your breasts and let the pump do the works? Me have to squeeze my breasts one leh to get the letdown. So tiring.

mcfluffy
i had the same dilemma as u. Feeding so frequently dat i gave up pumping and jus latch on 100% cos if i pump aft feeding, so tired cos by the time finish pumping, time for next feed liao. Also dunno wat to do with the EBM, cos if feed EBM, dat would mean i "lose out" on one feeding session to latch bb...cant freeze it cos moving to HK soon. So end up, i jus latch only. Now trying to train bb to feed 3 hourly instead so can hve more rest time in between.

Godsent
Pain is normal cos i read when your breasts produce milk, it can sometimes send sharp shooting pain. I experience it as well.

mylife thanks!

btw my baby oso vomit is liek water fountain too that day she vomit till her own face cover with milk ... so scary i oso cry .... wanna bring her see PD but hubby say no need just keep monitor it see is it she not suitable for Friso gold Now i let her drink that she use to drink similac but ok with that

QQ,
According to my cousins (younger folks). Sometimes shave cos BB's hair will drop by itself. So got lobang here and there, not so nice. If by 4 mth, no lobang here and there. Maybe can persuade your hubby's grandma not to cut.
I can't bear to cut my son's hair cos it was very smooth and full. My mum only trim his hair a little at the end of the mth just to symbolise "mum yue".

Mylife,
Happy New Year. Long time no hear.
As for your girl's vomitting, maybe ridwind is not workking. Perhaps can try other brand or if vommitting persists, send her to the PD for chkup.

I'm sure you and your mum can manage when your hubby goes back to HK. Have you mastered how to use the sling yet? Perhaps daytime, can carry your daughter in the sling and walk around the house.

Babe, when he was sleeping I pump, half way he wakes up then I carried him latch on one side and pump the other side.

Mcfluffy, my left side produce more than right side. Sometimes he latch on for 10 mins and let go and fall asleep. No matter how he just doesn't want to open the mouth. When I put him on the bed, his mouth starts to move. Then got no choice get EBM to feed him.

Godsent, ya always got choke even bottle feed. Cos he was drinking while sleeping. How do you find the Avent Uno pump? I found that the suction is slow and not strong. Ended I used it as manual.

Just now I went to westmall. While at Tom & Stef, he wakes up want to drink milk. I used the sarong sling and went to the fitting room to adjust the bra to let him latch on. Then he latch on while I do my shopping at Shop and save till go home. Almost one hour on the left side.

Icy, that day I also the same. I used half an hour to pump 80ml and when transferring to the storage bottle, I spill out left with 20ml. So heartpain.

Already one month liao, my baby face still looks abit yellow. Sometimes see is ok sometimes look yellow.

angelsky;
i think we have the same problem!
my boy keep rooting for me from evening all the way till dawn...i can surrender
give him pacifier he reject. he suckle a bit then spit out because he knows its not my nipple. i cannot offer him my nipple because it is very sore. so i always give EBM. daytime he takes the EBM well from bottle, but at night he just roots like crazy.
1st nite, me and my hubby "hardened" our hearts and let him cry all the way. very heart pain...
2nd night i let him latch. daytime pump. at least my nipples can rest during the day.
nowadays, daytime he oso keep rooting. i cannot hold him for long because he will smell me and keep rooting. cry and feed him, put him to bed, open eyes big big. finally sleep a bit then will cry for my nipple again, tongue stick out. i really dunno what to do oso...

Soon I will be cutting down on latch on in the afternoon. I am going back to work next month. Will only latch on at nite and weekends. If not he doesn't want bottle feed then my mil will complain.

mylife and QQ,
my baby vomitted just now too...
Could be due to the excessive crying earlier on and all the hiccups. She has been cranky since noon, feeding every hour and not sleeping.
hai......... my mood is terrible now.

Maureen
Wah piang, your son root for 1 hour, your nipple pain or not?

Pixie
I oso zombie from night to dawn. By am, I losing my patience liao. Tmrw afternoon my CL coming back, I think I must try to sleep as much while she is back. HOw I survived 5 days without her!!

qq,
wat i heard fm my old folks abt shaving head is that "Man Yue" has to cleanse the bb. The hair at the head is supposedly "dirty" cos bb came fm ur below, i.e. birth canal. so when Man Yue - gotta keep clean, go pray, etc, etc.. dat's y must shave head n some to the extend of shaving eyebrow too... dis is tradition n v PanTang ppl beliefs.. for my case, NO NO NO, i'm not gonna shave my gal's hair.. she has changed her features n looking more like a boy boy now.. if i shaved her head, ppl will mistaken her as boy!!! Plus i'm c-sect - so technically, bb din pass thru my below so not dirty lor.

Maureen,
Yup, i find the Avent Uno electric pump quite slow leh.. my cousin passed me the Avent Manual pump but i've yet to try it... wa, u v gd leh.. can shop n latch wif no fuss... wat's the sling like huh? i'm wondering how i'm going out after my bb's full mth as i'm tbf most of the time! it seems like i can't go out leh... so troublesome - gotta bring along so many things - diapers, bb wipes, cream, extra clothings, etc etc...

mylife,
yup, when i pump (even it's electric pump), i still gotta press on my breasts to get the milk flow betta.. the Avent pump is not dependable! i pressed until my fingers' centre knuckles aching.

for those of ur babies who had vomitted milk, does the milk flowed out through bb's nose as well? when my boy vomit alot of milk, it flowed out from his nose too...worried and scared when I see that.

anyone knows which clinic sells milk powder and ear thermometer...preferably near Sengkang.

pixiepixel, I damn stress
. My bb also keeping rooting, the thing is, I feed her for 1 hour, then after that she cry and my CL say she is really hungry, but I so very pek chek becoz I already feed 1 hour, so how come stil hungry. Then my CL gave her milk from bottle (EBM), she really drank another 1 oz then she fell asleep. My CL say, some bb, if drink not full, just short of 100 ml also will fuss one. But I was like telling my CL, 1 hour still not enough meh
. Sob Sob, when I pump, sometimes I can pump 100 ml both sides, so even if that is not enough I really dont know how. Today I so fustrated, I told my hubbie maybe should just give FM. Dont want BF already. Work so hard, but bb still cry. She cry I also heart pain, becoz she will not stop one. Even when I change side to burp her, she will cry and kick and lose her temper with me. Only bully me and not anyone else. Arghhhh.

Mylife, I only squeeze when I feed my ger and really very hard, until now blue black some more at the spots I press, but I still get lumps near the armpit area. When I pump sometimes I squeeze, becoz very lazy. I noticed also, now that I dont latch at night becoz CL feed by bottle, I also dont pump at night, morning I will leak like crazy and then all the rock hard feeling comes back.

Re: Going out, I cannot imagine how to go out alone with her, I dont know how to manage man. If BF, got to find place to latch her. If bottle feed, got to bring bottle and then milk and then cup to pour hot water in to heat up the milk. Sigh. I also salute those parents who can manage the stroller up and down the escalator. I see also scared.

Windy,
I just bought Infacol Wind Drops for my boy earlier today. You can get it from Guardian Pharmacy. I added in his milk for 2 feeds already. Not sure how effective it is but my boy has been sleeping since his feed at 7.45pm. Hopefully he will not have another "crying episode" tonight.

Good luck to you too! We must stay strong and tell ourselves that colic will be over soon!

Mom2nat, so far ok. He is better than my 2nd son. At least I didn't get sore nipples.

Godsent,I am using MIM sarong sling that why my hands are not that tired. Depends where I go. I try not to go out too long.

blackbatz
my PD simply tells me if bb is gaining weight healthily and ask me to jus "tong" until she outgrows it possibly 4-5 months. But i read from the website, reflux babies can last up to 1yr old! Personally, i jus find it a tad too cruel to watch her arch and writhe, choke and wheeze like dat...

As for managing without hubby, well, have to lo..jus dat feel very panicky cos i also dont wish to stress my mom any further...i cannot be weak in front of her else she gets more panic than me, so anything, i have to act brave in front of her then cry alone in my room during the night. Like i said before, mom is light sleeper so during the night, i cant allow bb to cry too much or my mom cant sleep in the next room...so once my bb cries, i have to act quickly, and dat adds on to my stress. It's different when hubby with me, at least got one more pair of hands. Alone, i feel so stressed.

Oh yes, Happy New Year to u too.
Thanks for "listening"

hi yvonne

i bought dentinox infant drops, gave her 1/2 teaspn after her feed at 7pm... next feed coming soon...

whole day from 8am, on cot cry, carry sleep, put down cry. repeat. wahlao.. until afternoon me n hubby fed up, brought her out. in car she slept so soundly!!! ERGH!

May the good Lord be with us tonite...

QQ, mcfluffy
yah, must monitor carefully. Usually reflux in babies starts around 2-3 weeks.

angelsky
Babies sometimes even not hungry also they will drink the milk one, at most they will spit it out later. They might jus want to suck for comfort. Plus when u latch her, u have to pay attention if she's really actively sucking or jus doing the comfort sucking motion. Dont give up BF if u can. It's really good for ur bb. Tots of giving up crossed my mind as well but hv to persevere lo. Of cos if u think u really cant take it anymore, there's also no right or wrong. Jus do wat u feel most comfy with. Dont stress urself too much, so much so u said u squeeze until blue black??? Perhaps u're so stressed up that u got no letdown, hence ur gal feed 1hour will still fuss. Try to relax. I know easier said than done..BF is supp to be enjoyable, as a bonding time for bb and u..so they said...but i can truly understand ur frustration, cos it happens to the best of us too (for me, it's the midnite shift i get very frustrated when my bb is obviously hungry but she fights with me with her two little hands when i try to latch her on...bo pian...reflux babies are like this)

As for going out, dont fret. Actually if u master BF, the best way is to bf when going out. No need to specifically find a nursing room. Of cos when u're new (as i am now) i will still find a nursing room. But try buying a nursing cover and voila, can nurse anywhere. Spore still quite ok, but think Jakarta is a bit tough for u next time. For EBM, it's a bit ma huan la, but do-able. For first timers like us, it's probably sound like very tedious but i tell myself, jus got to get used to it lo. Over the CNY period, i've already venture out with hubby to Paragon, Marina Square to test our strollers and nurse in public. From wat i rem, u also bought the Maclaren techno XT right? It's a good stroller, but damn heavy. Up the escalator, still ok, but if going down, abit tough if u're alone cos quite heavy. Must hold firmly. Better take the lift if available when u're alone.

hi mummies! how's life so far? been mia for so long cos' very hard to go online when at home cos my #1 sticky to me.

a...if u come across baby sale somewhere, pls let me know. tks!

oh btw, mummies, where can i get a checklist for child care??

Yvonne & Windy,
Infacol Wind Drops & Dentinox Infant Drops are recommended by PD ? Need any PD/doc's prescription to buy from pharmacy ? I also suspect my boy having colic. Tomolo bringing my boy for his 2nd dose HepB jab so will chk wif PD abt his colic problem.

Verene,
my boy just vomitted milk thru his nose, like merlion
Yup, i'm worried & scared too. Maybe due to colic cos when we tap his tummy, got pok pok sound, traps alot of wind but my boy fart frequently too.
Today, i bought a Cadi T560 Ear & Forehead Thermometer from kids mall IMM for $96.00
Why wanna buy milk powder & thermometer from clinic? cheaper?

can chk anyone still drinking red dates tea aft 28days confinement ? i am still drinking it until 40days (ending this Friday) but now feeling sore throat, wonder if it's too heaty??

mylife ok will try to monitor ...

godsent i oso show face to grandma jus now i told her i wont shave her ... i hack care ... is my daughter loh if they insists ok fine i wont bring my baby back to in laws plc next time

steph
there is a kids mall at IMM? big anot? alot of things to see ah? i wanna go if there's such a mall... hee... i love baby shopping now. haha. wu ah boh things also buy. esp love looking at bottles and teats.

Re: Avent teats

Anyone using avent teats? Currently still using newborn teats 0m+ (1 hole) for my boy although he is 5wks old. Do i need to change to 1m+ (2 holes) teats now ? His milk intake only 60 to 80ml per feed, i wonder if he is having enuff & by changing the teat to 2 holes, scare later he choke due to the quick flow. Mummies, any advise? How much shld a 6 weeks old baby drinking?

Windy
Haha...same-same, me too cant stop buying, dat day go Marina Square went to Mothercare and check out their 15% sales. See all girl-girl stuffs very very tempted to buy. Already bought 2 sets of sleepsuits for Rylee cos when she moves over to HK, will still be cold.

i think whole night i will be parked at this forum. cos colicky baby, so i've decided to be on standby, the husband needs to work tmr. grrrr... anyone in the same predicament? misery loves company.

Windy,
Kids Mall at IMM is like Jurong point Kiddy Palace...they sell toys, clothes, strollers, car seats, bottles, teats, cot, mattress, sarong slings, carriers etc...to me, yup alot of things to see. Can go there jalan jalan, somemore 1st 3hrs is FREE parking!

steph,

wow... but... but.. bishan to IMM or jurong point is like need to bring passport....... i say only lah.. this weekend i will surely find myself n baby there wan! hahahahaha

Windy
I think all mothercare bah....cos i recd their notification card, say got new range for their Spring designs...so got 15% discount on certain designs, not all products la.

Windy,
How u tahan whole nite no sleep ah? My boy can demand feeding at 1am, 3am, 5am...there was once, i feed him till the teat aiming at his nose!!!hahaha....i am so tired after each feeding, change diaper, burp, carry if he cranky/fussy/cry....tonite he is with my in laws' place so taking a breather now....Zzzz going to bed soon....to catch my dreams.

mylife

ok i will go the douby guat wan.. damn the name of the shopping complex eludes me now...wassename ah...... erm......plaza sing! wahlao.. my goldfish memory.

u gg to sleep soon!?!? noooo.. don't leave me alone with my colicky baby.................