(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Maureen,
my fren who gave birth on 3rd Feb bought the Medela Electric Dual Pump is pumping 100ml every 3 hours now. I'm also using the Avent Manual pump, seems like the amount did not increase after so many weeks.

Yvonne,
how is the baby rock sling like? how much is it? my girl also don't like the MIM sling, keep struggling in it.

Since my girl celebrated her full month, she had been very cranky at night, fed her, change her, she still cry, headache! Hard time trying to get her to sleep soundly.

angelsky,
sometimes my girl also like that, she will drink halfway then poo, then reject the milk and keep crying until i change her, then after changing, she'll cry for milk again.

Luvv, sometimes can be rather tiring. Got to be patient and wait for them to finish drinking then half way through poo got to change and then continue.

I brought my gal to the OPD at TMC today for her blood test, purposely feed her milk before going out so she will be full. Then after that in the hospital she poo poo, I got to change her and then after that she lao gai already. I just left house 30 minutes and then going back from hospital, she hungry again. Pengz. I got to latch her in the car while my hubby drive back and yet be discrete about not exposing myself. Really got to go get a nursing cover. Dont feed her and wait till go back, she cry until her face all puff up.

Last night after her feed at 1 am, my parents carry her for a while and then wanna put her to sleep, her eyes big big stare at them. Just now also the same, after milk ask my hubby to put her down to sleep, she also lao gai, wanna be carry.

Pump, I use Pump in style, really like it. I dont regret getting it. I am a SAHM so initially I was not prepared to pay so much for a pump since I was going to latch all the time. But having it is really useful, becoz can pump quite a fair bit le. Also can pump and watch Tv at the same time

angelsky
My boy oso same leh, suckle, sleep, put down, wake up... I think last night I only slept 3 hours ah! Sigh... I wonder how my CL does it to make him sleep and calm him down.

Babe
How do you cope with 2 kids? I find I totally have no time for #1.

mom2nat, I also no time for #1 but I try to spend some time with her. Hb handling #1 most of the time. I can when #2 sleeping, will shower #1, talk to her while I bf #2, try to put her to sleep if I finish bf #2 by then if not then I sit and watch her sleep. Tough managing two actually. Thankfully #2 now on some kind of routine and from time to time will fall asleep himself if I leave him in the cot eventhough he is a frequent feeder.

Babe
My Cl not here these few days v siong, I hardly get the sleep at night, so day time I try to nap here and there.
How frequently does your #2 feed? Does he sleep in a long stretch? Cos mine sleep, but eyes flickering kind, dunno sleeping or not leh.

hi Yvonne,

my mil started giving baby Zander gripe water yesterday. 5ml dilute with water. Zander is 5wks old. We suspect he have colic & he has been crying non-stop (fussing & cranky) even after feeding, burp & change diaper.
My MIL also feed baby with water & honey water! Sigh

Steph,

I am also feeding my son with honey water cos he is having constipation. Dunno is it due to the FM (Similac) he is taking too heaty. By the way wad FM did u feed ur son?

#2 can feed 1.5-2hly and the longest stretch of sleep he has is 3-3.5hrs in the night. Usually for nights after feeding he will go back to sleep now. Initially, there were periods he just don't want to sleep. CNY has been quite disruptive too coz alot of ppl visit and carry and stretch his bedtime. It's normal that their eyes flicker but I realised for mine after awhile, he will fall asleep himself in the cot. Like today, he woke up about 7plus, latch him, went down I have breakfast and he left in bouncer, he doze off. After I am done, brought him up to cot. Woke at 9am, latch one side then shower him. 10am latch the other side and he slept till 12noon. Latch again and slept till 1.30pm. Latch again and slept till 3pm. Latch, change diapers and now still sleeping. Not sure if I am just the kind who stuff the breast once he wakes up crying. I took an hr nap too while he slept at 1.30pm. Noticed when he latched this afternoon, then didn't suckle long. Like 10-15min and I change over coz he fussed at breast for another 10min. Not sure if I'm not feeding him enough so he only last 1.5h. At night his last feed about 10pm, next feed 1-2am, then 3-4am, then 6-7am. So essentially I still don't get long stretches of sleep but broken bits here and there.

Btw, do u gals entertain your little one when he's awake. I like finish feeding put him in cot liao. At most during feeding or when he awake, talk to him abit.

Maureen, why bb lips white and peeling after feeding? Suckle too hard coz my flow is slow? Noticed he very impatient when latch on.

Steph, do u give bb some massage after shower or wipe down? Apply some ru yi oil. Make sure burp bb after feed (v impt). I noticed doing all these makes my baby better.

Pls don't give bb honey till after 1yr coz their system not matured enough and may not be able to handle the bacteria in them. I know old folks did give us that but now dr. will say no.

Re: Nepia diapers
anyone using that? the cutting seems to be smaller, now my girl's thighs shows red marks and the diaper seems to be getting shorter. Anyone upgrading the size of diaper to M size already? I have 2 packs of S nepia left, think will upgrade and change upon my next order now.

babe,
do u apply ru yi oil a few times a day? or only after bath and wipe down at night?

I suspect my girl is having colic as well, intending to give her the gripe water later after her next feed.

Jacelyn,

my mil give honey water b'cos she say baby got phlegm...to rid of the phlegm? can meh? i also not sure. They seek advise from our ah ma generation instead of listening to doc/PD's advise. What to do...i no eyes see. As long as baby is doing well, nothing else matters la, water or honey water shld be no harm bah.
I am feeding my son Friso Gold.
Today, my in laws are installing the Yao Lan...they say baby light sleeper...little bit of noise will wake him up so they suggest putting him in Yao Lan loh
All methods introduced...i wonder what's next?

Babe
You feed quite frequently, like me now, when CL not ard to handle him. Cos when he cries, I feed, he keeps quiet. But I know sometimes he is not hungry, cos can tell he din cry for milk, more like wake up cry lor. I oso dunno wake up cry how, to feed, to carry or talk to him! So I feed, or else he yell the whole house down.

Last night I woke up fed him, put him down, he eyes big big. Those times he fall back asleep, he start to make eh eh sounds like every 15 min to half an hr. Then his poo got onto his clothes, I change him. Feed. then later he burp out milk, I gotta change his clothes again!!! So tiring leh.

Do you sleep with #1 and #2 tog? Now I sleep with #2 since CL not ard, #1 sleep with hb. ONce CL goes back, I dunno how oso, to stick to this or wat. I can't really sleep in the other room, but if move bb into my room, too noisy for #1. Aiyo...

Steph,

Wow!!! Ur in laws power wor! For me the stuns still have not shown so much yet. But from wad i knw honey will cause phelgm. Dun let BB drink so much. How much is Friso Gold? Does ur boy suffer from any constipation drinking this FM?

babe,
yes, we apply ru yi oil after shower daily. Rub a few tiny drops of ru yi oil in our palms then massage ard bb's stomach. We also burp bb for 10mins aft every feed but sometimes he still vomit milk from his mouth leh.

Can i check with u mummies...
Do u keep the balance FM that bb not able to finish in the warmer for his next feed? Meaning...i prepare 80ml FM but baby only managed to drink 50ml, the balance 30ml keep in the warmer & feed bb te balance if he crys for milk less than half an hour. Or do we throw away the balance milk?

steph,
i normally throw away the balance IF it's more then an hour, for those less then an hour, i still keep and try to feed within the hour.

Jacelyn,

i bought Friso Gold (900g) from NTUC for $28.00
So far, no constipation yet. Poo not as watery but still poo 2 to 3 times daily. How much is Similac?

From what I understand,newborns too young to be given gripe water right? My massage lady recommends giving wind drops instead.

Massage:
Oh btw, I did get Hardial for massage in the end. She's not too bad, very friendly and gives a lot of advice for me and for baby. :eek:)

Anyone using avent uno? I bought a 2nd hand motor n tried using it with my manual pump with flat valve like suction not v good n not much milk comes out. Can chk if I got it right? when pumping in auto the light is it orange?

Mom2nat, we all sleep in 1 rm coz no space. I dunno if it's coz I supply low so I juz latch. Breasts not engorged nor full at all at all times.. Mine poo like once every few days..

Luvv I only apply twice a day

babe,
i think my gal is like your boy leh. latch on 10mins (on good days, it'll be 15min) then she'll fall asleep. I try to wake her up for like 20min but fail at times. so she continues sleeping. I pump the other side out. Sometimes, the moment I finish pumping, she wakes up and fusses for more milk! *faint*

Very confused by her. My breasts also not engorged already (once only initially) nor feel extremely full type. I think my supply is the low type too.

But my gal poos about 5 times daily (maybe more) so don't know if she's really taking in enough or not.

anyway, quite pissed off with silly hubby. cny period, i cannot go out but i let him go bai nian. he told me he won't be long, but he's gone for 4hrs already. so i called him and he said, "okok, lemme finish the last round." he said he's playing mahjong! very good lor.. leave me alone at home like that!

yest went to my in laws house. brought the baby along too. the entire day he brought the baby to "show off" to relatives when baby woke up, after that throw back to me while he continued to entertain ppl. DUH........ shouldn't have gone to my inlaws place. should have just stayed at home to rest.

so irritated n0wwww...

on top of that, i find that my hubby don't seem to be as caring towards the baby... when baby cries, my mum and i will rush to attend to baby, but he? he will just continue doing his work.
quite disappointed with him..... .............

Babe
Your boy fully breastfed? Then should poo a few times a day I think. Mine poo abt 5 to 8 times a day i think, sometimes the poo a bit sometimes a lot.

Mcfluffy / Babe
I think when ss is well established, the breasts won't be v engorged liao. My gynae say breastfeeding is "When you think of bf, the milk comes"... so no need to engorged every few hours to wait for baby. But I think when too many hours no feed or pump, breasts still will be a bit engorged.

mcfluffy
Dun be upset. I find myself emotional during preg and after birth oso. Well, CNY period just let your hb enjoy lor. Is this your #1 ah? Maybe your hb still haven't gotten used to life being a daddy. When I had #1, I had no help, my hb still can go play golf often, sometimes even take leave to play!! End up I was so upset and told him, he say why dun tell him earlier. Hahaha... then he spend more time helping out and only play golf in the wee hours of the morning when we are still asleep.

Luvv, that why I am thinking of getting Ameda dual pump from my friend.

Babe, I have the avent Uno pump. The suction damn slow ended I used the manual pump. I also don't know why the skin peel on the lip. Mine often get choke when he latch on on the left side. The flow is fast and he also drinks fast.

Mcfluffy, my baby also the same. Latch on about 10 mins fall asleep. No matter how I tickler him he just continued to sleep. Half way the pumping, he cries for milk.

maureen, can u help me chk out the light colour when on and when pumping. Wondering if I kena con. I tried b4 n suction was quite strong...dunno y this motor like that or izzit I use manual pump set with flat valve instead of duckbill one. thks

Mom2nat, yes fully breastfed. Called clinic n read somewhere bb abt 4 wks or more can dun poo everyday even if bf.

Erm...if I dun feed n I pump, also small amt. That's y I wonder if ss low. Anyway my boy now 5 wks old n put on only like 800g. Dunno too little or not..hear some put on 1kg plus..

Hb
Muz tell them our needs..if not they think we stay at hm good life...

mon2nat,
yah.. #1. I think he still thinks he's a single or something. ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH... i'm glad i have my mum around to support and help me. otherwise, i think on ocassions baby gets cranky, i might just throw her on the floor.........................................

maureen, then how like that? your baby how many weeks already?

babe, I latch her during the day, then up to about 12 plus at night I cannot tahan then I will go sleep, from then to about 8 in the morning those times she wake up to feed, my CL will bottle feed my EBM. I not sure if I doing correctly, but during the day, after she latches, I will pump out somemore using the pump. Approx I do it about 2 times a day. Or when I feel breasts still quite heavy after she finishes, I will pump also. I still cant quite catch how much she is drinking becoz I can latch her for 25 minutes on each side, burp her and then she will still stick her tongue out and then put her down, she will cry. My CL says still not full, I will go latch her again for another 15 minutes, end up sometimes she will either start to slow down on sucking and then I stop on one side and then after that I will pump out milk from the side she did not latch on. Other times, I feed her until I pek chek, I will scold her and then ask my hubbie to take over. Half the time, I still cant quite understand she not full or she want my breast to soothe her. DUH.

I will play with her a while after she finish latching or my parents or my hubbie will talk to her a while. My CL says try to play a while then quickly let them sleep especially at night, else they will have the habit of always wanting to play wo. But my mum say bb need to sayang one, she end up she always carry her to sleep.

Steph, my ger also got a lot of phlegm
I so worried, coz when I feed her or when she cry, wa all the mucus from the nose ah, then her eyes also got a lot of yellow green mucus, then you hear so much sound coming from her nose and her wind pipe. I also heart pain. But only till monday then going to see PD for her jaundice. Hope its ok.

Poo poo, my ger only poo like 4 times a day le, though she on breast milk.

mcfluffy, I also same, I stay at home during CNY, coz all the relatives say I cant go out to visit them. Duh. But i told my hubbie to go. Then end up today, he woke up, we went to TMC to take blood test for bb, come back, my CL say not enough vinegar need to go buy, so I ask hubbie to go buy, then he gave me the "tired" look, say he slept very late last night and then this morning not enough sleep, then also he wanna watch some program on TV. So I so fedup, I change, and I went to buy myself. So angry with him. Then when I left, I heard my ger crying, I also heck care, leave him settle her, then he understand how I feel when I handle her alone. He was also telling me, how he miss playing golf, about a few weeks never play already. Then I told him, next time, he wont be able to play so often, coz weekend he need to keep me company and look after bb, so I can take a breather since I am with her 24/7. Then he say I can take a few hours off. Sick.

Sometimes, we just need to blow off some steam. I already thinking how am I going to bring ger out next time alone, I think its going to be a challenge. I cant imagine hanlding the stroller and her and then she cry need to breast feed, cant find nursing room or when drive, she fuss. SIAO LEOW.

Mom2nat, can understand, sometimes I get really fustrated. Is it really my milk flow slow or what?
Coz the prob with direct latching is that we can never see how much we are producing. Sometimes when I pump I can also tell pump for 5 minutes also nothing, then after that milk then come out. So I also wonder if really all the time my ger sucking is always got milk or sometimes will stop.

QQ, I am buying the cake vouchers from bengawan solo to give out.

Has been a really long time since I logged on. First of all, happy lunar new year to all. I delivered my baby boy on 30 Jan 08 and had been busy since then as my mum was unwell and we had to find a CL last minute. Luckily everything turned out ok in the end.

QQ,
I am thinking of buying bengawan cake vouchers for my colleagues. You have lobang? :p

Steph/ Jacelyn
I only give my boy breastmilk once a day (about 90ml) as I have low supply and got to use hands to manually express out. The rest of his feedings come from formula milk- Similac. About $34/tin. So far he is ok with this brand- perhaps because he had been drinking this brand since day 1.

Steph
I throw away the balance of the FM- I din noe we can keep for next feed?

mcfluffy
Yes, it takes sometime for daddy to get used to his new role. My hb say he no time for golf, for computer games blah blah... only at nights he go cycling or swimming, like 9pm then go. Lucky you have your mom ard with you. My mom lives with me, but she works.
Sigh, I just threw my temper at my maid. Ask her how come she so late then boil the water for me to clean myself, she just stare at the pot, then I repeated myself, she just ignored me. I speak loudly then she look at me. You say pek chek or not. Then nvm, #1 fussy, now everything want daddy to do. Sigh...

Babe
Oh, their poo will be lesser ah? Forgot liao, heee... cos my #1 when breastfed oso poo a lot and often. I always tot she lao sai.

Angelsky
You are gg to be SAHM right? V siong, but rewarding. Now I think abt bathing baby every day, feeding, changing, I oso worry.

Babe, the light is orange colour. You can use the duckbill too for the manual.

Mcfluffy, my baby is 4 weeks old. Coming Mon will be one mth old. My mother said he still have jaundice from the look of his face. Next fri going for injection. Might check on the jaundice again.

I have start taking fenugreek at 430pm. Just pump out 70ml of milk from left side. Did increase. My bb latch on the right side.

now i knw my son is normal... last week my boy is cranky at nite, feed liao put him to slp but dun wan, he cry n cry... really duno wat to do...

now he cranky at day time.. feed liao 1 hr later start to cry, den we carry... i think he wan attention... my son is 2 weeks old...

re: bengawan solo cake vouchers
>> fyi, 10% disc upon spending certain amt.. forgot how much. I spent over $500. In addition, bring along your NTUC card to collect link points. U can phone the Dial-A-Cake hotline to place your order first, then go to the outlet for collection. Coz when i bought my vchrs @ Compasspoint branch, i spent 30min waiting for them to prepare the vouchers. But on phone, hv to pay in advance via cr cd.. n dunno abt the link points.

I think my baby really got colic. Just now 7.45pm fed him and he was sleepy already but after I put him down, he started to scream and cry so loudly. No matter what we do also cannot pacify him but he burped a few more times after my hubby pat him on his back. Continue to cry until we feed him again at 8.45pm. Finally thought he fell asleep after I rocked and sing to him but the moment I put him down...started to scream and cry again. Whole cycle repeat again and I called my mum for help, she also say give him gripe water. Then finally make him another feed at 9.30pm but I diluted the feed slightly. After the feed, he is now sleeping...but not sleeping soundly...dunno what time he will wake up to cry again...sigh! Really very tired and really dunno what to do...just now I cried while making his formula...really feel so helpless when he's crying.

maureen and angelsky, u v fortunate, only latch one side and can pump the other side to store or get someone feed. Me feeding both side and if pump after feed like nothing much. Worse my boy feeds so frequently like 1.5-2h. Where got time to pump in between, rest also not enough time. Wonder what I should do. Want to get someone feed ebm also can't..How long do u all latch if latch only 1 side?

Angelsky & Mcfluffy, I think all hubbies are like that, if we don't make noise they think everything is under control so bo chap. Hubby doesn't play golf or mahjong but he loves to watch tv. Plus he's writing his next book so very busy. :p Everytime, I BF, I got backache & headache (from looking down to see if BB is sucking). And if she falls asleep, end up I still got to pump, got to hold the 2 bottles to my breast, elbows got no support. Very tiring. One night, I'm so tired & pek chek, I asked hubby to hold the 2 bottles for me. After he did, he knows that I have uneven flow (left side not productive) and that's why I have to pump very long so that there'll be let down and get more BM combined. Today, managed to pump 110ml but 70ml came from right side, left side only 40ml. Now he understands better when I tell him very tiring to BF, both latching on and pumping. So when BB falls asleep at my breast, he'll take over and be the bad guy to wake her up while I rest my eyes and stretch.

QQ, Itok, I'm still deciding between Melrose or Bengawan solo cake vouchers. Both prices about the same, but cake vouchers is definitely more convenient but I feel guilty for being such a lazy mummy when it's only no. 1.

Yvonne,
You baby is exhibiting colicky behaviour. Go to the pharmacy to buy Ridwind or Dentinox Infant Colic drops. Give it to him around evening time before the next "attack".

finally I get a breather, going to konk out soon.

Feed my girl at from 930 to 1010, she fall asleep, so I put her to bed, then my mum talk, and she wake up, root again, tongue stick out, so I fed her again from 1015 to 1030, then she poo poo and then lost the latch and fell asleep. DUH. So my mum changed her diapers and cuddle her for 1 hour. I really think, true to a certain extend that when she root, she is hungry but she also want to cuddle. Coz I read that bb will have rooting reflexes for a few weeks and that when they cry, sometimes they want attention and cuddle and not to suck. I cant believe that every time she root, she is really hungry lo. Since it happens so frequently.

babe, it depends, sometimes I feed her both sides and then after 30 minutes or 1 hour, I will pump if I feel heavy, but will need to pump like 25 minutes to get about 2 oz from both sides. Else, sometimes if she only latch one side, I will pump the other side for about 15 minutes. So far, I can get about 1 oz min each time I pump from 1 side. Unless its morning, when I go the whole night without latching or pumping since my CL feeds her EBM at night, this morning I woke up leaking boobs and super heavy and pain, quickly pump, I got about 200ml in total.

Kistune, I also used to hold, until very tired. So I will clip the breast pump into my nursing bra. Abit improvise one, but you need to check if it sticks well and that you dont leak any milk, else very sayang.

i ordered sweetest moment for my relatives and frds on the actual day of my baby full mth

co. committee members i buying them bengawan solo vouchers

my dad side those grassroot ppl i ordering melrose to deliver to them on the following wed cos they have meeting there

alot of money!

Wa, angelsky, you very good leh, can clip breast pump to nursing bra? You using Medela PIS right? I'm also using that. I haven't worn my cheapo nursing bra yet, hee cos don't like to wear bra at home. Got leaking breasts all the time so I'll change my shirt after 2 times of leaking since got Cl to wash or use tissue paper to blot. What do you use to clip ah? Can teach me?

QQ, ya lor, I agree, a lot of $$$. For hubby's colleagues, we are definitely using Melrose cos he has to give everyone, and Melrose has those cheaper tartlet sets at just $5. For myself, I thought of sweetest moments too but realised it's too ex if I use that for all colleagues who contributed to the angpow. :p

I'm going to do full month celebration for relatives & friends in the end cos MIL wants to do. ILs offer to pay for everything but hubby don't want them to 'po fei'. The good thing is I'm doing at ILs place so cleaning up won't be so much an issue. But guest list already exceed 65 pax cos I got a lot of relatives, and I'm using Fu Hwee which is charging $15 per pax cos CNY. Anyone used Fu Hwee before, can advise on how many pax to order if my RSVP is about 65pax? :/

kitsune, yup I using PIS. I just slot it into my nursing bra, arrange and make sure its secure and milk will not drip. Wanted to buy those specially to help pump hands free, but seems quite ex, so one day I just tried with my normal nursing bra, it works
so I just stick with using this method.

Today, after I latch my girl, then I pump milk, become not balance, 1 side got milk, the other side pump for 15 mins also nothing come out.

Morning, I woke up with super leaking breast. Like some melting ice cream, quickly go pick up my latch and nurse her.