(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wendyg,
how much fenugreek did you take? i take as per according to the instructions. mine is 2 capsules, 3 times daily, preferably with food. I just follow instructions. What is the "correct" dosage?

godsent,
use milk bags lor. freeze them can last you for months! and you don't need to worry when you go back to work. your baby so lucky!

my CL just left my home...suddenly i feel so alone and lost

wendyg,
thks for your tips. ok, fm now on, i shall pump up to my comfortable level...

blackbatz,
medela really gd ah? now i'm using uno electric Avent pump borrowed fm my gf as well as hand expressed out. don't intend to bf for so long so will not invest in a pump.. not working, bo lui lah...

mcflurry, wat brand of fenugreek u buy? I bought gnc n it says 1-2 caps a day.

wendy, what is correct dosage for fenugreek?

mom2nat...i like u, try to pump after feed only 20 ml n if feed 1 side 40ml combined..sad hor..I still latchin but think he on me more than 12 times a day!!

Last time I used to take greenlife fenugreek. I found that it is better than GNC.

My mil just told me tomorrow she won't be cooking for me liao. Anyway just four days more to 1 month.

re: dosage for fenugreek
i can't remember which mummy.. was it michelle? She said 6 caps, 3 times a day or smthg like that. I think fishia said her doc assured her can take up to 10 caps a day.

kitsune
did u buy Nan or Nan HA? the HA is more ex a bit.

steph
no curry?? oops, i just ate prata for lunch... with lotsa curry!

verene
dat's Jin Tai Tang, aka Ren Tai Tang.. they've got branches all over the island. Cheap FM & diapers too. Discount if buy in bulk.

Re: Fenugeek
Is fenugeek meant for early stage of pregnancy? If after BF-ing for 4 mths and there's a drop in SS, can we still take fenugeek to increase SS?

Godsent,
What Wendyg says is true, don't pump until empty. After a few days, milk production will be adjusted.

I am so proud of myself for change and wash bedsheets wash new yr clothes, clean my gal's toys on my bb's full mth!!!! abit bachache liao...nice sunny day for laundry..

MIA these few days, becoz my gal high jaundice, so she was admitted, but glad that she is now back home with us

It was really very tiring, I was like a cow, pump at night every 3 hour and then after morning go drop milk, go back pump again, at night go drop milk. Really tiring.
Milk Supply
Envy those mummy with lots of supply le. I also find it hard to monitor how much my ger is drinking since I latch her all the time. Only after when she is away these few days I have been pumping to keep my supply going. They fed her FM, hopefully she will not reject latching now that she is back home. Else all my effort will go to waste man.

I ask my CL to feed my ger using the stringe just now, coz I was going to have my lunch after bringing her back from hospital and she had not eaten for 3 plus hours, my CL kept insisting that I use bottle, becoz she say since my ger can suck and swallow, she will feed better from bottle. Then I was tying to explain to my CL that I dont want her on bottle till after 1 month, coz I dont want her get nipple confusion. But my CL say, she never hear of such thing. Feed by stringe, lagi make her choke and puke out the BM, so I told her to feed her slowly. Am I right?

Pampers
I use Mamypoko, which I find quite good le, absorption good until sometimes I need to smell the diapers to check that she really urine. kekeke. But I also use pampers, becoz I bought a lot of pampers for NB. So frantically trying to finish everything before she outgrows them.

Pump Milk
I use Pump in style, really glad that I bought it. Its quite ex so I hesitated initially becoz I wanted to latch my ger, but in the end I bought it. Good thing, it really helps when you need to express the milk especially when feeling engorged.

After I latch and feed my ger, can I still pump out some milk? I thought to keep reserve, else at the 3 hour latch, I wonder in between got milk to pump meh?

Also when we bring bb out, we bring the EBM in the cooler bag? Or just normal? Then after that how do we feed? Must warm it? But no warmer le?

<font color="aa00aa">HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR mummies!...my first one not at home now...she went out for reunion dinner...only mi and #2 at home...</font>

Angelsky,
Put EBM in a the cooler bag with ice pack. Before feeding, put bottle in a cup of warm water if you do not have a warmer.

hi mommies

finally brought danelle to see the pd this morning. she is suffering from reflux and slight heartburn therefore resulting her to be cranky and vomiting... pd recommended FRISO 1 COMFORT, this is a special formula milk for vomiting, colicky and constipation babies. the formula is blend to be much thicker than normal FM so tat it will settle in the bb's stomach hence reduces the frequency of vomiting.

GONG HEI FATT CHOY to all mommies and your loved ones!!! May the year of RAT bring you abundance of wealth, health and prosperity!

wishing all GONG XI FA CAI! Wish the Rat year bring wealth and prosperity

ive been bz bf, these few days bb getting cranky as she's having blocked nose
my eyes really like panda...

Babe
Aiya, mine oso on my boobs so often. Initially come back from hosp, sleep 4 to 5 hours in a row until I worry ss drop. Now he light sleeper, every hour wake up!! I so tired ah. My Cl went back for CNY, will be back on MOn. So these few days I v siong liao.

Hi Mummies and all Babies,

Happy lunar new year
. Great to be home for the CNY with our dears.

Blackbatz, you mean you bring food warmer out? Battery operated? So even if go out, need to bring bottles, cooler bag and the EBM. I was just telling my hubbie, go out with bb, so many barang barang.

Feeding, my CL say if not enough sleep at night, milk supply will drop. So she ask me to sleep at night and she bottle feed my ger ger with my EBM. Day time, then I latch her and then after that I pump out more milk for her to feed my ger with at night. She say if I so stress and tired, milk supply will drop. Now is the time to build up my supply and get rest, so when she leaves, my supply will be good and bb will sleep better at night when she is more well fed. Now she cries so much at night, becoz she hungry and yet have to suck to drink milk. Going to listen to my CL and hope its not a big major mistake. Coz I know we not supposed to intro bottle till after first month, but well for my ger ger's sake, I will listen.

Pillow, can we let our bb sleep on those bb pillows that is sunken in at the centre of the pillow? Or no?

<font color="ff0000">Hihi, mummies! Happy Lunar New Year!!!

WendyG, oh ya, hubby bought NanHA I think, the one with a gold cover. So that one more exp ah, thanks I feel better now. Hee. :p

Steph77, my CL don't let me eat duck and drink cold drinks too, even packet Yeo's drinks (not cold) also cannot, keep asking me to drink red date tea. I only drank some water previously when taking med. Nowadays hardly drink water also. But stomach always have a lot of wind plus loose stools don't know why. is it the confinement food (finger) getting rid of the wind out? :p

Babe, Wa, you so hardworking? I don't do anything in the house except being a round the clock cow. Hee hee. But my CL helped me change and wash bedsheet today.

Angelsky, my CL also ask me to rest at night, she'll feed with EBM or FM because she knows I always feel unwell next day when not enough sleep. But sometimes if I happen to wake up when BB is crying, I'll still get up to feed or pump cos scared SS drop. :p

hi mommies
Happy Lunar New Year to everyone too!

Been MIA a while...so many posting to keep up with.

Babe
me nowadays dare not even pump anymore cos jus reassured that bb has enough to drink. But headache as to how i shud manage when i wan to switch to EBM so i can go out next time

prataqueen
u said u do total latch on, and only EBM when u go shopping ah? How u do it? For me, i scared if i pump out to go run errands etc, i miss one feeding session, resulting in droppg of ss leh. Not easy to establish my ss only.

Sassy
so danelle now not throwing up anymore? For Rylee, we had to resort to let her sleep in the rocker, very sim tia, see her sleep in such a confined space. My PD jus told me to contd giving her ridwind, but never really diagnosed her as GER (reflux) problem.

Yesterday and today me and hubby keh kiang bring Rylee out to town. Yday went Paragon to see a hand/wrist surgeon for my wrist injury. I told hubby i wan to experience bringing Rylee out and nursing her in public to build up my confidence by practicing it more, plus i'm going crazy BF-ing 24/7 at home. When it was time to feed i jus pop my nursing cover and feed. But as she's getting heavier, finding it hard to carry her...troublesome also to use sling AND cover at the same time. Today also brought her out to Raffles Place to settle some banking stuffs. She's well behaved during the day mainly cos she's fast asleep.
Any of your babies here have managed to reverse their body clock and normalise to sleep at night and wake during daytime?

Yday whole nite no sleep again from 4am onwards, think my bb is too used to comfort suck, until now midnite from 4am onwards, she can keep crying and crying for my breasts. I can never tell when it's actual hunger and when is jus for comfort. Going crazy! Give pacifier also she kept refusing. Suck awhile and spit it out.

So today hubby and i decided to start "training" her for 3hourly interval to minimise total feeding time. I read that aft 3 weeks, we can start to train them to stretch their feeding interval to a longer period. I recommend mommies to read the "What To Expect - The First Year"...got a lot of useful infos inside.

YAWN....must go sleep now.

can i ask experienced mommies, AFTER our milk ss established, will it drop again? i'm worried now when i go HK and start the pumping ritual, will i have enough or not..

angelsky
feeding your girl ebm at night will caused u to miss the feeding sessions at night wor..wouldnt that cause ur ss to drop too? But u prob one of those of can pump AND latch as well, so ss quite ok, no need to worry bah...for me, i had to choose pump OR latch, cos like babe, if i latch, pump out ebm si beh pathetic.

re : pillow
my PD told me DO NOT give bb to sleep on pillows, not even those with holes in center ones, can cause bb to have flat heads. On my bb 1st mth checkup, he commented my bb must have kept tilting her head to left side, so he advised us to tilt bb head to right side now and support it with a bolster.

mylife, kitsune, what I do now is at night she feeds her EBM via bottle, but I still wake up to pump at night every 3 hours. Then day time I latch, hopefully supply will not drop.

pillow, hmmm ok, my ger also starting to tilt her head to one side.

Gong Xi Fa Cai to all!!!

mom2nat i no engorgement at all!

steph i started to drink dom liao wor ... one capful everyday ..... but sometimes i dun feel like drinking heehee .... cold drink i started to drink liao wor .... 1st is prune juice cos cant PS and lata one sip of lemon barley from my husband. then now i drink mug liao ... kekeke .... and some fruit juice

Hello mummies, I’m back again
Happy CNY to all of us!

Mylife, yes, I do total latch-on. I tink 1 feeding session of EBM won’t affect supply very much lah.

I’m not blessed with bountiful supply, but I have enuf to feed baby Tricia. However, at night, baby feeds less frequently so end up my t-shirt and bedsheet will be wet from leaking breasts.

blackbatz
u mean to ask if Fenu is meant for early stage of bfg, not pregnancy..
i guess whenever u want to increase supply then pop pills is fine?

mylife
of course supply can drop again.. o'wise how to wean off breasts..
if u want to maintain supply, then latch latch latch. or pump on schedule. it's actually your brain telling your boobs how much milk is needed. more demand = more supply. So if u keep your boobs empty by latching or pumping, v soon your brain will send signal to produce more milk to match the demand.

qq
drink HOT fluids b4 latching or pumping. milo, red dates tea, soups.

i m from feb mum to be.. My EDD is on 8th feb, but i have poped on the 26th jan. BB born with natural w/epidural &amp; weight 2985kg. Its a bb boy ;)

qq: i also drink cold drinks eg coke, ..now CNY, V depressin to eat same food everyday while my hubby n mil feasting...

me v tired fr breastfeeding, here trying hard to feed bb but she onli suckles 5 or 10mins, sleep liao.
yet at night, hubby feed formula milk, she can drink once 100ml every 3hrs...
so discouraging...

so tired n sleepy ..

kel .....heehee me oso drink ... cant resist cold drinks hahaha me oso eat pineapple tarts, almond cookies, bak kwa ... basically i bo chup only too liang food i no eat i had kfc for dinner yesterday hahaha

wendy i think i give up liao lah ... sianz ... see the milk i pump out everytime so depressing

hello all!!
happy chinese new year!!

i see a lot of mummies able to express 80-120ml per session, wah, a lot leh. i pump every 3 hours, at most get 60ml. but its enuff for my boy so i never hiam the output. fyi, i pump 15-20 mins to obtain this amt.
but my left side can only pump out 20-25ml, while the other side can pump put 25ml or more, dont know why both breast not equal output?

yesterday my boy got diahorrea...after every feed he will output wind and "boo loop boo loop" some runny stools. i have changed his diapers 6 times in the night. really heartpain.
any advice on what to do?
i have changed from giving him ebm via bottle to latching, so that the milk is fresh and not from fridge. scared that i didnt warm up the milk properly that why he got diahorrea. somemore latch one side per feed (usually he is full after 1 breast) per 2 hours instead of his standard 3 hour feed to hydrate him.
heart pain leh...

pixelpixel,
mine also uneven amounts of output. Anyway, think our total amounts about the same.. i gave birth earlier than you so now got slightly more..

kel,
my gal also suckle for like 10mins then fall asleep. if i don't try to wake her up to suckle the other side, she'll automatically wake up in an hours time. haizzz... think it's not good for her. like some kind of sleepiness sickness like that!

Hi mommies, I turning into panda soon. My CL went back for CNY, only back on MOn. My baby latch liao zzz, then put him down, eye big big. I wan to nap oso difficult. At night v siong oso. He is tired, just dun wan to sleep! Arghhh.....

QQ
Hmmm... no engorgement, so weird.

mylife
My baby opposite leh. New born sleep and sleep, now 2 weeks liao, eyes big big...

any recommended brand on the breast pump? I m thkg to get an electronic one.. need some advice here. Thks

Pixiepixel, me too. When seeing people expressing that amount and myself only 60-70ml so depressing. Think this Sat going to get Fenugreek liao.

QQ, don't give up. Last time when I am feeding my 2nd son, each time I can only express 100-120ml only. And I managed to bf him nearly to 2 yrs old.

My friend told me it needs to take 6-8 weeks to build up the supply.

anyone know where to get non wired bra for wearing spagetti tops/ tubs?...

so far all detachable straps all are wired....

thx

mcfluffy/kel,
I've the same problem as you... i can latch her one side and she gets so comfy n fall aslp. tried to wake her for another side after burping her but she simply refused to wake up, end up my other side become so so so full. This is her 3rd wk n i heard they are experiencing growth spurt on 3rd wk so she wakes every hr to feed. i dunno whether it's bcos she only takes one side each time or due to growth spurt!