(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

rabbit41,
I drink every 2 days think since Day 5. My SS on day 4-5 was only 20-30ml. The result wasn't so significant until Day 10, maybe also the ducts are unblocked then.. With fenugreek and soup, I can pump much more with almost 1/2 the time.

can I check how long does it take for our milk supply to establish? Currently, i am pumping every three hours. but with CNY coming i forsee that i will have less time to pump. very worried that my supply will be affected if i dont have enough time to pump every 3 hrs. yesteday went for my BIL's wedding dinner food tasting n in the end, i have to tahan about 5hrs of not pumping, when i came home, it took me almost an hr to clear both my breasts (i use twin pump).

My gal is 4 week old nw and she is drinking about 600ml per day while i can pump out abt 1000ml per day. Yes, I am one of those mummies who decide to pump instead of latching, partly becos i will be going back to work in march.

oh yes, when can i switch to pumping every 4 hrs instead?? its indeed quite tiring to pump n give EBM and looking after my gal myself for the past one mth. hoping to stretch the pumping hours but at the same time not affecting the supply.

Icy, ic. Cos my mil hardly cook fish. So I sneak out to buy fishbones to cook myself, or tea break I asked my maid to buy fish for me. I will steam myself to eat. Now one more week to go to end my confinement, then I shall go market to buy fishbones to cook for myself.

Shannonbaby, during CNY you can just let your baby latch on instead of pump.

Shannonbaby, you can just give your baby latch on when you are around with her. While going to work then bottle feed. This is what I did when bf my 2nd son.

*shock* shannonbaby can pump out 1000ml????? And your baby drinking 600ml? You mean by 4 weeks they drink that much? Haha... half a litre of milk?! I think I better switch to formula then...

My gal has this habit these 2 days. Latch on for 10 mins, go to sleep. I ahve to spend like another 10-15 mins waking her up to latch on the other side. Sometimes, she'll latch on, sometimes she doesn't. I get really tired and I just pump out the other side. Less than an hour later, she'll want to latch on again.

Another scenario is, she drank one side 15mins, refuse to take the other side. 1 hour later, hungry so latch on the other side. But she latch on for like 30s, spit it out. latch on for 30s, spit it out. Howww? my arms are aching coz she wriggles soooooooo much! Keep arching her back such that her body is close to my body but her head is so far away from my breast. Really tiring. In the end, I just express it out for her. Only 20ml...she finished it and went to sleep.

So, I was thinking, if I just do pumping out, like icy, will my already low ss drop?

Been TBF for the past 2 or 3 days and veryyyyyyy tired from coaxing her to wake up. She's such a worm!

by the way, nipple is not supposed to change shape after BF? Im starting not to feel so much pain as first few days.. but i noticed nipple a bit out of shape at times. Meaning my latch is wrong?

How to contact sister kang from Mt. A? Feel like going over to let her see whether i'm latching correctly or not and whether my gal's "problem" is a problem or not.

Feel like giving up already....

wa, 1000 ml, I also shocked that bbs can drink so much. I have been latching her so far. She will latch for 15 minutes each side if I dont unlactch her, she will continue to feed until she falls asleep. Sometimes, she unlatches, I thought she slept, burp her, put my clothes back on and put her back to bed, she wakes up and roots again, then I got to feed her again.

Last night, she feed once every hour for 1 hour, then after that slept for 3 hours, before pooing and then lao gai, then i got to sayang her for about half hour.

Think I will start to pump a little bit also to keep, so my mum or CL can feed her from the stringe in the afternoon when I catch my sleep, since she is drinking so much.

Going to see the PD today, my ger got slight jaundice supposed to sun her, but its been raining so much these few days. She got pimples on her backside somemore.

Mcfluffy, dont give up k. I also not feeling much pain, but nipple also bit out of shape, Tahan and hang in there k. Frankly speaking, I prefer to latch her then to sterilize bottles.

hi mommies

how do u deal with cranky baby in the middle of the night? danelle had been very cranky and fussy at night... and is disturbing my DH's sleep. he feels very irritated by her...

hi mummies..

anyone know where to get those plastic caps to screw the glass bottles... when discharge , i requested for the glass bottles but they have no cap & the pharamcy at TMC have no stock,,,,

Can i check , my 10 days gal drnks abt 80 ml a feed ( 7-8 per day ) is it too little>

I would listen to Zachary's cries. If it's cries for hunger, will let him latch on. If his cries is pitched high and sounds like in pain, will give him colic drops abd rub Ruyi oil on his tummy. Sometimes, it's because of stomach wind, leading his cranky behaviour.

Will carry him outside the vroom to pacify bb

becky cat

you can get it from kiddy palace or robinsons. the brand is nuk and it fits the glass bottles from hospital. the plastic caps come in 2 pcs/packet selling at $4

hi sassy & maureen..

thx

other than Nuk, any one comes in big packaging? cos the nurse told me TMC sell it in a box but i haven seen it...

got al least 10 glass bottles = $20 justfor caps,,

Becky_cat
If I'm not wrong, you can try Mt Alvernia hospital pharmacy. Then there's another shop at People's Park Market, Seng Choon (not sure the exact name). MTB in Feb 08 purchased from this shop. Perhaps you can check with them or search the past threads

Becky_cat

Here's the actual name :
<font color="ff0000">the store is cheong choon, Blk 34 #03-132 Upper Cross Street.Tel: 65323855</font>

Becky_cat,
Mt. A pharmacy has it. 10 caps for $7.40 only.

Am waiting for baby to wake up now. She drank milk at 11.25am. I expressed at 12.30pm. Now at 2.05pm, don't know to wake her up to latch on (so she gets her proper meals) or wait for her to wake up...

Always in a dilemma.

mommies

any recommendation on baby carrier? my shoulders and arms are aching like hell... when aunty helen massage for me, she can feel the tight knots on my shoulders.

mcfluffy

i dun wake my gal up for feeds. they are very smart and will definately cry when stomach feeling empty. (just my 2cents worth opinion)

jaundiced bbs need to be woken for feeds coz they're v sleepy, can sleep 6-7hr at a stretch. That happened with my elder son.. we let him sleep until he shiok.. then discovered he din pee, din poo... coz din drink milk ma. Then his jaundice shot up &amp; had to be re-admitted to hosp.
Newborn shld not go beyond 3hr without makan.

mcfluffy
bb arching back... someone said it's due to stomach wind. try burping her or applying ru-yi oil.

becky
if u can send someone to pickup fr punggol, i can spare u 3 screw caps &amp; discs at $1. Bought fr TMC. Brand new. Bought too many.

hi mommies
reporting here after MIA awhile. Like everyone here, tackling a newborn bb really taking its toil on me...

same old story, latch, fall asleep, put to cot, cry or vomit, poo/pee, change diaper, hungry again...and the cycle goes on. Today went for her PD 1st mth checkup and vaccination, am very very happy to know she has gained weight healthily, and growing well. She's now 4.6kg!! Hehe...for the past 1 month, like everyone here, i have been grappling with BF-ing issues. Me doing total latch on cos whenever i pump, amount not ideal. So i jus gotta trust the advices that <font color="ff0000">"a baby's latching/suckling is AT LEAST TWICE as powerful as any pumps in the world"</font> Against my mom's, CL's doubts, i latch, latch and latch, persevering even when she was going thru the crazy "growth spurts" ie latching for 30mins, rest 10-15mins, latch again! Must admit, thots of giving up crossed my mind SEVERAL times! Add on to it, she kept having this reflux problem, throwing up copious amount of milk, an unhygienic CL, me alone without hubby = MAJOR postnatal blues. Been crying daily
But this morning, everything seemed worth it when doctor commented she's growing very well (despite the reflux problem) and i can feel myself beaming from ear to ear

So to all new mommmies here STILL grasping with BF issues, pls persevere if u can. Trust Mother Nature that your breasts are built to feed your bb. Just latch if u're too tired to pump and do all the sterilisation of bottles, equipments etc. For me, i think i will only do the pumping and EBM when bb is at least 3mths old...when i wan to slowly get my life back (go paktor with hubby, run errands, do facial) when i'm more stabilised in HK. For now, i'm still on total latching, bought all the nursing cover to practice nursing in public!
For mommies returning to work after 3mth, latch now, but start pumping a few weeks prior to returning to work. I think taking fenugreek also helps in my ss, and of cos drinking papaya fish soup. But only nearing the end of my confinement, someone told me drink TOO much papaya soup is very "liang". Other than papaya, can also drink black bean soup (of cos not as nice as papaya fish soup la). Also, can eat oatmeals, very god for milk ss also!!

Re:pacifier
Me too went out to buy the NUK pacifier, but have yet to give bb...when she wans to comfort suck, i still latch her on cos i read outside of womb, bb is very insecure. Sometimes they jus wan the comfort of their mommy, reading that makes my heart melt, so sometimes no matter how tired i am, i jus remind myself, my baby needs me..so i jus comfort her and let her latch a bit...after all, letting her suck for comfort will ALSO help in increasing your ss.

Blackbatz
I tell u hor, me VERY slow one, until now, i still can't decipher her cries whether high pitch, low pitch leh...try as i might, for the life of me, i CANNOT distinguish anything! hehe...stupid mommy. Think she got cranky in the evening especially (i read most babies got colicky in the evening btw 6-9pm) and i cant do anything.

My baby now turning me into zombie, night time only can get total of 4hours of staggering sleep, yet during daytime, i STILL cant sleep!!

Yvonne
My hubby went out to buy a rocker and we're now letting her sleep inside the rocker at night, still got vomit a bit, more like regurgitation, keeping fingers crossed it'll be like this...but as she's growing, feel so heartpain she cant sleep comfortably in her own cot cos the rocker looks very confined. We oredi bought a rocker in HK, so bo pian, spent money buy one more here. Thanks for yur suggestion!

Sassy
your hubby getting irritated with danelle? Haha...my one even better, yday he very nice, after doing night feeding, he asked me to roll over for sleep, he will jaga baby, then after dat, i heard baby cry and cry, tot he's pacifying, after a while i wondering how come bb still crying, wooke up to see hubby sleeping!! haha! hubby super sleeper, can sleep thru bb cries! DUH. but i know he's super tired la.
btw, have u checked with your hubby abt your trip to HK? Got chance of delaying and meet me there or not?

re: Resuming sex with hubby
Can i check with any c-sect mommies here when can i resume sex with hubby? Is it safe since our we cannot see our internal stitches?

mylife,
your effort has paid off! The magic words from the PD must have drove all the unhappiness away :)

You read that babies wants the comfort of their mommy out of the womb, does it mean only suckling on the breasts will comfort them? or carrying them will also comfort them? Seems like i'm missing out on the suckling bonding.

re: resuming ML
my gynae told us we can resume ML one week after i deliver but she say i can only conceived after 6 months and advice protection. On top of that, she also mention that the safest way of protection is using condom as i'm still bfging.

my four weeks old gal is only drinking 80ml per feed (so abt 640ml per day - 80 x 8 feeds). Yup, I can pump abt 1000ml per day nw. I just stored the excess milk in the freezer for emergency use.

I prefer to EBM as I can monitor her milk intake and also i have probia latching her on after her 4th day as i have sore nipples and post natal blues as she keeps crying her milk every hr. so decided to concentrate on just pumping out n feeding her so tat MIL n HB can help out while i get some rest.

But its indeed tiring expressing milk cos need to use the pump n milk bottle, then sterilize after every feed. plus at nite i need to wake up n pump then bottle feed my gal.

oh yes, anyone know whether can we do hair treatment / rebonding when breastfeeding?? HB going to treat me to a nice hair spa on CNY eve as its last day of my confinement! Cant wait to give my hair a good wash...

mylife

yupz IRRITATED!!! as he needs to work in the day, he needs his BEAUTY sleep. now my mum says that she cant take care of danelle from 21-24feb, can only do so from 25feb onwards.. and my DH will be having TEAM building PAINT BALL session on the 1st march.. hiaz i let u know once the date is set. so many parties to confirm with... onece confirm, i need to check for availability of air tickets and check with my friend to see if its convenient for us to stay over at his place anot.

IYO which one you think is better? baby bjorn or pupsik sling?

I forgot to ask my gynae last week when can I resume ML but he did ask me to use CONDOM for protection!!! means wat??? subtly telling me tat ITS OKAY to ML???

luvv

ML one week after delivery??? i think this one only applies to natural delivered mommies. the c-sect wound is still very painful on the 1st week, how to ML?

Shannonbaby,
I did mine a day before confinement ended. Depends on yourself and bf-ing schedule.Must be able to tahan the engorgement. I was in the salon for 5 hrs including treatment. Must standby 2-3 bottles of milk.

Shannon BB,
Personally,I don't see anything wrong. I was so engorged, went straight home and allow bb to latch.

Mylife,
I did a few "experiment". I observed how Zachary cried for his milk.When he is very hungry, he will cry until mouth open wide wide but no sound at all.

sassy,
ya cos my wound was not painful, i saw her 10 days after delivery. but with all the new tasks at hand, really no energy nor mood to ML.

Michelle
Thanks for your encouragement! I'll definitely try again to latch my gal on. This will make things easier when I still need to take care of #1. Now already start to feel headache how to take care of #1 without affecting pumping routine next week after hubby goes back to work.

Jeslyn
My gal oso got lots of pimples alike on her nose when born. Now 6 days old, it start to fade liao. This is not jaudice.

Mcfluffy
I got Sister Kang card, but with hubby. Shall give u her contact tonite.

i've been reading tis thread 4 a long while. my girl's born on 22jan n i get so much comfort fr all ur postings &amp; sharing. i faced e same problems...sleep deprivation, BFg woes, fatigue, etc.

mylife
like 2 ask u something...when u say eat oatmeal, do u mean the cooking type or e type which u add to hot drink? there's e blue &amp; red container.

btw, i totally agree wif u abt latching. i did e same wif my eldest boy who was on PBFg for 3mths n suddenly 1 day, i decided 2 juz latch latch latch, surprisingly my supposedly very lil BM ss increased n my eldest boy was TBF til 14mths old.

mylife,
Hopefully the rocker will help your baby to sleep better. Mine is sleeping in his cot right now but come night time, he's still sleeping in his pram...dunno why he hates the cot at night.

I'm also worried if I'm overfeeding my 1 month old baby. He's on formula and can drink up to 700-800ml per day! He usually drinks about 90ml per feed very 3-4 hrs but when he starts to fuss in the evenings, he demands to be fed every 1.5-2 hrs. I tried giving water, pacifier, rock and carry, all also no use. He refuses to stop crying until he tastes milk! Does it mean he's really hungry since he usually finishes all the milk in the bottle??

Mummies, do you still swaddle your baby when you bring him out? And do you dress him in long sleeves and long pants too? I brought my boy out for shopping today, super tiring!! But luckily I managed to get my CNY clothes and shoes...this is my fastest shopping trip!! haha.

Luvv,
ML after 1 week? what about your lochia?? I'm still having it after 1 month. Any c-section mummies also still having lochia discharge? My flow has been very light since day 1 but still haven't stop. How to ML when still having discharge?? So uncomfortable...

u all here thinking of all ways to increase ss and now me headache over ss. Hai~ Well, its juz another set of problem that not many can understand. I didnt even pump to increase ss. My flow is so fast that many times Vernice was being choke and I gotta stop her from latching. As a result, milk spraying on her face and she fuss to latch on. Its really messy. Gotta clean/change her. I really dunno what to do!!!! I am stuck with my same old problem. It happened to me during my #1 and I thought things might changed. But, doesnt seems to be the case.

hi sassy, luvv
do u all know when we can do massage for c-sect?
i feel so fat n flabby, reali hope to do a massage asap.

any mummies here bath n wash hair? me in my 7thday liao, reali feel like washing my hair..so greasy...

val
yours is over abundant supply resulting in fast let down.. wun change even if u had 10 kids! Read in a website that u can collect your first let down before latching her on. But i think still will be somewhat messy.. drip drip. Both of u wear raincoat during makan session la. kekeke.

re: ML
i'm a 2nd time c-sect mum with light lochia, no maid, no CL. Baby born 11 jan. if i can find time to do it, none of u hv any excuse. haha.
Yvonne, for me, the lochia acts as a form of lubricant... very dry down there.

kel
after 2wk can do massage liao.

re: NTUC diaper
forgot who was asking.. i'm not keen on NTUC diaper even tho it's good price.. coz i find that it's not as absorbent as other brands. During diaper change, can c that my boy's butt still wet, unlike with other cheap brands. But i know mummies who swear by it.

Val,
I have the same problem. Zachary ended up with a lot of milk rashes. Try lying on your back, supported with pillows (instead of sitting up right). This will slow down the flow, less choking and messy.

hey my boy having loads of pimples coming out on the cheeks and near eyes now. Alamak, hormones or what. Any good remedy? Go cny visitation really jiat liat..

TAlking abt cny, I am so sad I can't fit into my clothes. I think I still have to wear my maternity wear. Any of you like me? Haven't even got chance to buy new clothes...

My bb now got good times and bad times..sometimes I feel I am such a paci to him man! From 2plus tried to coax him to sleep..din sleep till about 5pm and now still sleeping..hope at night still will sleep well. If not.....

I sad. My ger got jaundice, now she need to be admitted to hospital
. Starting to miss her.

Can I ask for those who BF, how do I transport the milk? Can I put them in milk bags instead of bottles? Coz I dont have enough bottles. Already used up 8 bottles to put the milk for tonight. Tomo also need some more, so I need to pump them tonight, but I only got milk bags.

Can I ask, after they come back home, will they refuse to latch? SInce the hospital use bottle or spoon right? So Stress again.

Sassy, now I understand why you say you wanna cry when you see your ger under the phototherapy and she cry and you feel so helpless.