(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

hi Mom2nat & wendyg,

Thanks for words of encouragement & advise...yes i also dunno why boobs forever engorged. Lactation Consultant say to pump & empty breast every 3hourly to prevent engorgement leh otherwise use hot towel compress, massage hard or use cold cabbage. I have tried all methods la but still like that. If i try to regulate the supply, my breast easily engorged like ROCK & damn painful wanna cry then fever kick in...i also dunno why?? Even massage lady say must clear the lumps away & massage hard & pump frequently. My nipple b'com so sore & right nipple bleed this morning
Today, is my boy full month celebration & last day of my confinement

I already let baby have her pacifier liao ....
she cry too much i cant tahan hahaha ... give in
but sometimes she dun like to have it which is a gd thing oso .... i let her have that when she cry no cry no pacifier my mil carry her rock her and still wanna give pacifier i stop her tat day hahaha

steph so good leh how i wish is my turn ... i went to the market jus now wow all the food increase price .... so ex .. and so many ppl too .....

Hi Steph, if not you go KK 24 hr women clinic. Let the nurse to massage for you to remove the ducts. I also kana on the 3rd day. So painful until I can't sleep. I can't massage for myself cos very painful. I went to KKH, the midwife helps to remove for me. Then I managed to pump out the milk.

I din experience engorgement, no wonder my milk supply so low...anyway, I stop BF liao. Giving FM already lack of sleep, not to say BF. I am proud of u mummies who can persevere for so long. I somehow feel abit Si Bai... Jia you BF mummies!
I wanna try BF for next bb....after reading all the advice given here. but that will be in 2 yrs time.

Today is also my bb Javier 1st month celebration. Congrats to those celebrating bb 1st month today as well. =)

RE: Pacifier
My bb boy can cry for quite long too. but he refuse to suck pacifier to comfort himself and stop the crying. Got to carry him and pat him to quieten him. Me & hubby had strains on our arms.

those who had recovered...i mean the wound down there...had u resume ML with hubby?

Jokingly: after some many months....mayb hubby lose interest liao. Ha Ha

wendyg, is that so? Ok, I will try get hubbie to do that with my ger ger when she cries. But I see ger ger cry until face all puff up and red so poor thing, I see hubbie so helpless also so poor thing.

my second night with her last night was also terrible, day time she is such an angel, will sleep so soundly, then come night time, put her on her bed after i give her milk, burp her, change her diapers and stuff, she will cry and cry and cry and cry. Last time I think I let her latch for 1 hour, strangely, she was drinking le. So I wonder really that thirsty ma. Then after that put her down to sleep, she started wailing. Pick her up again tell her time to sleep, put her down, she cry again. Check her diapers, wet, so better change, whole time change her she was crying. Peng Shan.

I really trying to resist on the pacifier, so far have not bought, she root, I feed and if she wants I let her be. I slept like 2 hours last night because she only slept like 2 hours last night. Then when she slept, I cant get to sleep already. Duh.

Block nose, my ger ger got block nose le. How? Whole night, she breathe I can hear she got stuffy stuffy nose.

She cry, got tears coming down, my CL say not supposed to have one, coz new borns dont have tears one, their tears go inside the eyes instead. True?

Back to CL, I am darn pissed pissed. The last time I was telling you gals, I hired one CL, lets her call #1, who accepted the job based on the initial terms right? Then after that she say she can't do my confinement, will recommend #2 to me, because she got something on during my confinement. Since I have no choice, and I paid her deposit, I bo bian. So after that she brought #2 to see me. So I thought settle already. Then after that, when I was in hospital, I call #2 to get ready to come to Sing. Then after that, when I came home from hospital, I got a shock, becoz it was not #1 or #2 at my house, but #3 whom I never see before. #3 say, #2 cant get tickets to come to Sing in time, so she is here to help for a few days. *^$&%$^$^%$ so angry, but then nvm, I tahan. Found out #3 quite good and nice, but sadly she got another job and her new job just gave birth and she got to go already, so #2 is trying to get ticket to come now to sing which she better before CNY, else how I can managed with a CL when supposedly I hire them more expensively becoz its the CNY and end up I get play out.
. WOrse now, #3 tell me, it seems that #1 was an agent, so what happen between #2 and #1, she don't know, just that she was told to work these few days etc. Why I so suay. End up my confinement will end before bb man yue, becoz feb got 29 days this year, and if I want, I need to top up extra, and thats like 6 days more on a daily rated basis.

Really wanna curse, but then for my ger ger sake, I ren.

hi angelsky,

my bb got blocked nose and running nose too. when he sleeps...abit snore due to stuffy nose. do we need to bring bb to PD?

Gosh looks like I not only one getting tempted by pacifier. When bb Nat first came back last week, he just eat sleep eat sleep.. then this week start getting more difficult. Cry and want people to carry. We take very long to calm him, but my CL can just carry him for less than a min and he quietens down! Jia lat, I dun know she go back I how... :eek:(((

She just told me that actually during confiment period, if I am eating half way shouldnt run to see him if he cries.... other people can go pacify him but not me (think its some chinese belief..... :eek:(
Now she tell me.... when I already do for 2 weeks!!!!!....

windy

tat sonds exactly like danelle. once put down and 2 mins later when realised the human pacifier is gone... there she goes crying. i intro the avent silicone pacifier but she rejects. i think its too hard. u bought the nuk pacifier?? silicone or latex one?

<font color="aa00aa">hello!! been so long since pop-ed by. wow some mummies already having man yue for the babies already and ended their confinement. so envy.

btw, any mummies using Tingkat??</font>

my bb ger got nappy rash and pimples near her inner thighs, my CL say she is allergic to something. STRESS. Think at this pace, I going to get post natal blues soon.

sometimes i look at my CL, i wonder i more tired or she more tired. since I sleep less than her, she only cook, she dont have to feed my ger coz I BF. She only need to burp her at night when i panic, wash my stuff, bath bb and answer all my questions. Now she sleeping, me gazing at my ger. kekeke.

mom2nat
yah, I still wondering abt the wind. haha cos normal days he fart quite normal.. seemed like when I had the soup, BB fart super super big and long fart. :p

pixiepixel
^5, Me also gave Xaiver Pacifier on Day 3 lor.. also becos he keep crying non-stop at night! Then when I bring his to PD becos of his jaundice on day 4, he slept so peacefully there. Then I realised could be that he not used to the environment at our house. Hospital and PD there have that strong medical smell.. so I think take time for the BB to adapt.

My bb still on pacifier at time during those cranky hrs, other than that few hrs, Force him also dun want.

Hi All Mums,
I have given birth to my baby girl on 1 Feb nature with Epi. EDD is 26 Jan and was schedule for induction on 1 Feb. But luckily I start having contraction on 31 Jan, the best gift my girl given me...was so happy that I need not go thru induction...
Now, I'm trying on TBF..finally understand the feeling all mothers went thru..

seems i now have a slightly diffrent prob fr u gals. my girl will latch for less than 10 min, pull away and then sleep for 3 hrs. but i find my boob not really emptied and i wonder if she's had enough?! and shd i offer her the same boob at the next feed or switch to the other side?

help! after engorgement, my milk ss din go bk to the usual ....no matter how frequently i pump, still din increase....has my milk ss gng to stop?

steph,
i tink i'm abit like u leh or is it normal for mummies to feel engorged? for my case, after each expressed, i start to feel my milk building up abt 30mins later. by 2hr or so, i start to feel my breasts very full liao and exactly 3hrs or earlier, i gotta pump out or latch on. if not, my nipples will have the biting feeling and breasts becoming hard. i got bad engorgement once on last Tue and fever follows... i v scared liao. now i gotta dutifully pumped out. and i'm oso waiting for my cracked/sore nipple to heal cos when i pump, i'm scared too cos i can feel the pain! v jia luck! Motherhood is tough, man!!!

Angelsky,
can u see any nose shit from ur bb's nostrils? dat day, i oso heard my gal breathing hard and i looked into her nostrils, i saw noseshit (soft type) stucked and blocking partial of her nostrils. so i used the nose pump (safety 1st brand which i bot) and pump out the shit (abit greenish looking) and voila, her breathing is cleared.

pixiepixel,
i pity you for suffering labour pain and end up c-sect. ur case sounds like mine! i had unripe cervix which is hard to dilate and my hb and i made a quick decision to do c-sect as my gynae said out of 10, none succeed in natural labour. it's disappointing but at least bb is safe and less suffering.
anyway, Congrats for the arrival of ur bb!!!

itok, Congrats! show us ur bb's pix once u r more available!

babyling, maybe ur bb is taking more.

If ur bb is feeding more frequently, it could be growth spurt that happens around 3-4weeks and then again at bout 6 weeks.

My CL left on Fri and am really missing her help already...haha..thankfully my baby has been still ok just that I think my body is tired. He's waking up for 2hly feed ie. I get at most 1 hr rest between feeds. During certain periods of the time in the day, he will cluster feed continuously like for 1-2hrs. I really wonder if he's sucking for milk or juz comfort. Take off cry like many of you say and give me the eyes big big look when already dozey. Yesterday celebrated his full mth earlier. Today brought him to church and then to my mom's and guess what! He juz eat and sleep and sometimes dun even take 2 breasts which he usually does. Prayfully tonite will be ok. Sleep so much in the day.

Erm...I haven't been pumping much since my CL left. At most once. Just latch and pray supply is there..

CNY clothes
Have u all bought bb CNY clothes? I realised my bb like quite small and even NB dun quite fit him. Alamak, how to go visitation?

I just pump out my milk. What a waste while I transfer to another bottle, the bottle was knocked dwn and the milk flow out left with 20ml. Me hard pain to see the wasted BM. I was carrying my baby cos he doesn't want to lie dwn.

babe,

i am totally on expressing, before my engorgement on last sun, i can pump out ard 140ml per session.....but after clearing bad engorgement (2 days after), my milk ss has dropped significantly.....nw only managed to pump 40ml....i have been taking fenugreek since last sunday...but still no improvement. ...how? my bb currently drinking 70ml...very depressing..

I really "pei fu" mums who can BF for so long. Maybe i am a selfish mum, i did not even managed to BF for 1 month. And now i already stopped expressing my milk for 3 days. I always suffer from engorgement frequently so decided to give up. Till now my boobs still feel so full with milk, dunno when will the milk subside.I haven pump for 3 days, just let it leak...

RE; CL

My CL will be leaving tml morning, kinda worried if i can managed or not! Hope my boy won't give me so much trouble...

Stuffy nose, my mum says its becoz my room is dusty wo, coz my gal prefers to stay in the living room with us all. She can sleep through all our tv watching, talking and walking around. I rented the bassinet from the hospital so I can keep her near me, when I am outside my room, rather than keep her in the room alone. But I am thinking its going to result in her rejecting staying in the room alone, unless I am there with her. Pray hard that does not happen.

So far, after you gals say must massage when BF, when she is latching one, I just pressed very very hard on my breast, until I tell my hubbie all BF mummies abused their poor breasts, no wonder after stopping BF, all breasts change shape. So far, what I did today is to massage when she latch, and she does so for about 45 minutes split between 2 sides, every 3 hours. In between like mom2nat and mcfluffy says, if she crys, I do demand feeding as well. So end up, I have not been pumping at all, coz my breasts usually feels quite empty after she latch. Then if I feel pain, I will wake her up to latch. Sounds okie? Or I should also pump?

But I latch so often, then I pump somemore, then my day like very busy le. I only slept like 4 hours total since last night le.

BF is so totally new to me, I do agree, to really keep it up is really going to take a lot of determination. I have not intro pacifier to my gal and I hope not to.

But I succumb to using stringe to feed her the EBM from 2 days ago, and water also, coz CL say my gal dehydrated, coz my SS not in really yet.

angelsky
You pump if you intend to go out, need someone to give your bb the milk thru bottle. Otherwise if you can latch bb and ss ok, then dun pump lor. Pumping is a chore. Feed, then pump then wash, sterilise then bb cry then it goes on again, no rest. Maybe if bb din drink much or interval too long then you pump some out lor. Otherwise no need then dun pump lor.

wendy, kitsune;

100 ml becoz i got very bad engorgement so i pump long to get out the milk.
i now 3rd day of milk, i can get 80 ml if i pump for half hour.

icy;
heng! i thought im the only crazy person to intro the pacifier on day 1.
now he is asleep with pacifier. drop liao then scream. luckily now drop liao sleeping on. i am crossing my fingers vry hard...

godsent:
thanks!! we should have went straight to do elective c-sect but we wanted to try natural so badly...nevermind, pay for the lesson lor, cash topup after cpf is 2k...

now my nipple is very sore...so i am stopping latching for few days to let my nipple rest. so right now i will be pumping and feed through spoon and cup. the nurses at tmh taught me. but i think my boy is trying to root and suck but dunno how to drink from spoon and get so impatient. i very heart pain. today he didnt drink much, feed 1 tiny spoonful my bm will drizzle out from his mouth. so wasteful.
i am intending to pump all the way and intro the bottle, but think about wash, sterilise, really a chore like what mom2nat says. but if i latch, my nipple really very pain and i can cry out from it.
can anyone help me? who has the same problem? i have checked with the nurses, they all say i am latching on correctly. but everyone and all the books says if bb latch on properly, will not feel pain. but when he roots and finds my nipple, he will chomp hard on it and suckle so hard that my nipple changes shape...how??
i really feel like crying today. hope dont get post natal blues...

Pixiepixel, I see, I usually only pump about 15mins using a twin pump. Sometimes, don't even rest in between as LC advised. Anyway, by the 10-15mins, the flow already so slow, I figure should have nothing much left liao. Sigh, we experimented giving FM in the morning today, Nan1, the same FM that she took while at KK. Luckily, she never reject my BM after that. :p

kitsune;
same here. that day my boy in hosp for jaundice treatment, they fed him enfalac, heng never reject my bm oso...

i just gave my boy the bottle, no choice, nipple too painful to latch. at least im comforted that he is drinking ebm. now only got to pump lor.
yesterday night pump at midnight and too lazy to get up to pump, 6am then pump because the milk leaking and soaking through my shirt. in the end become rocks again ;-(

I have an Ameda Lactaline Pump to exhange for $250 NTUC voucher.
used for 1 month only.
Warranty till 23 July 2009.(receipt as proof)
Collection point can be arranged at Clementi/Bt Batok/JE/JW/Bt Panjang, or self-collect at Jln Jurong Kecil

I also have:

- 1 unopened box of 60 pcs Pigeon Breastpad and 8 loose pieces (for $12 if you are only interested in this)
- 1 pair of Mumsfairy original Super shield (for $20 if you are only interested in this)
- 1 pair of brand new Avent ISIS Comfort Breast Shell set (box opened. for $20 if you are only interested in this)
- 1 used tube of nipple cream from Mothercare (or $2 if you are only interested in this)
- 1 opended box but unused Breast Milk Storage Kit, contains 20 steralised disposable milk bags, 20 dater tags, 10 milk bag clips, 4 milk bag stands (or $10 if you are only interested in this)
- 1 full set old model pre-loved Avent ISIS breast pump with all parts and a complete bottle set (or $15 if you are only interested in this)
- 1 old model Avent warmer (bought but not used before, thus became yellowish. not for fussies)
- 26 glass bottles, each 100ml with screw caps

All to go together, at $300 NTUC voucher.
Can PM me if u are interested. Thanks

I have also given birth to my gal on 29 Jan. Emerg c-sec as cervix slow to dilate and foetal distress.

Pixelpixel, looks like both our birth story almost the same, even our latching problem (though I don't have that bad engorgement problem)

Initially I was very happy that this gal is willing to suckle, unlike her brother. However, I start to get sore and bleeding nipples as somehow, her latch on is not correct. At Mt A, sister Kang told me that if bb latch on properly, our nipple should still be round and not out of shape or have a line (caused by soreness) after bb finish bf. She taught me how to do it properly, but somehow I keep having difficulties. Why is bf so so tough? #1 like that. now #2 also like that. I really envy the other mummies who got no such latch on problems. Initially, I tot of perserve thr tbf, and even consult the nursery nurse how to spoon and cup feed my boy. When I come home, I still couldn't latch her properly and nipples too painful. But I need to pump to relieve my engorgement. However, I don't want to waste the precious amount of breastmilk. So I resort to giving her bottles already.

Now, I'm just on 3 hrs routine to pump and pump. Then CL will feed her the milk.

Pixel, I suggest u consult the professional lactation consultant. Because the nurse may not know the actual thing abt bf. When the normal nurse came to help me, they also never do the proper procedure that the lactation consultant taught me.

Otherwise, if u decide to do pump n feed, then u got to bear in mind that this method, somehow u and bb are not connected, that is, u got your own pump schedule and bb own feeding schedule. And the schedule may crush. Can be tedious when u got to take care of bb yourself and can't find the time to pump if bb awake and cries.

I got the same prob, but only 1 side. One side nipple already out of shape and got slight bleeding, but I tahan lo. Can see me wince when bb latch on that side, no idea why. But the other side I got no prob. I still try and try.

But my gal's feeding now rather erratic, but mom2nat say, demand feeding. Until now I cant sleep really well. She move a little, I on high alert already. Worse still, day time she so sleepy. Night time currently, she just fell asleep after latching, but guess she will wake up again soon, since she only latch for 15 mins.

windy

i didn't buy the NUK latex pacifier as its turns whitish after a few use. i had thrown away almost 10 NUK latex teats. i just bought the pigeon's peristaltic nipples and silicone pacifier... hopefully danelle will like it. the pigeon peristaltic nipples are very much like our nipples and its very soft therefore its good for mommies who are on tbf. babies will not get confused whether they are latched on or feed with ebm. yet to try the silicone pacifier but its definately softer than the AVENT ones.

Sassy

I tried the pigeon peristaltic nipple on my gal. The milk flow is very slow. However, there are lots of bubbles formed inside the milk and the nipple. I very scared like that alot of wind goes into bb, so I've switched back to Avent.

Windy
<font color="0077aa">You can find ABD washing detergent at Kiddy Palace and John Little. My CL recommended bec she has been using a variety of washing detergent and find this less soapy and foamy compared to Kodomo etc..</font>

terrier

huh... tat bad ah??? shit, i bought both the wide-neck and standard ones. my gal dun like the avent ones, i think its too hard.

Sassy,

Don't know the bubbles form maybe due to the super-slow flow or not. Initially I buy b'coz tot it is close to bf. But Pigeon one not anti-colic like Avent rite? I used the standard one.

Wendyg, i dun wan to make the things worst as my mum is doing confinement for me and when i'm back to work i still need my mum to help me take care of my boy in the daytime. so close 1 eye.

Wow wow... so many of u only left few kg and back to original figure. 2 more weeks to my boy full mth and i still have 8kg to shed. tummy,tight and arm still a little flabby but smaller den after delivery but buttock still big leh. any of u have suggestion on how to lose all the fat or water?

so envy that most of u confinement ending at 28days. my mum said i have to wait to 40days. faint... already 2weeks from my boy have borned and i still have not wash my hair. still have 22days to go. oh dear by then my hair will be so smelly...think when i wash my hair, the shampoo foam will black colour... and have to avoid seafoods for 4mths. sian....

today having reunion dinner at my parents place. i joined in having dinner together but i'm taking confinement and they are enjoying all the nice foods.
and they kept on telling me how nice is the soup and foods....

Icy, can teach how to cook papaya with fish soup? must use young papaya or normal papaya and what kind of fish? my mum keep asking me to eat more ngoh hoo which will increase milk supply. but i'm sick and tired of it cos when i pregnant my fil bought and cook almost every meal for me.

Anyone leaving your baby to be looked after by the maid when you go back to work. Have to think twice. My friend's 2 months old baby is look after by her mum's maid who appeared to be caring etc, but behind their back she kicks the baby in the sarong etc.

babe
if i pump after my girl latch, wont my ss keep increasing? then she will never be able to empty my bresst n i hv to alawys pump after i latch her?

maureen
OMG! the maid is so terrible! but then again, i dont think she is the only one who is doing such things to babies rite. sigh... best arrangmt of coure is to hv relatitves look after, but if really bo bian, then hv to get maid to care for bb lor. but install cctv so u know what's hapneing!

Michelle, she install the video cam that why can tape down what she did. In front of them appeared to be caring. But behind their back, she did such thing. It is better to get someone to supervise the maid.

pixiepixel,
Yah, I think we just have to practice control on pacifier. So far, my boy dun need it everytime.. only those cranky times, when he just had his feed 1 hr also and he still wanna something to suck.

We shared the same issues. I also nipple sore, so pump and use EBM in bottles instead. Reason being day time my mil can feed and I can rest for 1-2 feeds, used to latch at night but my boy latched for 10-15 mins, fell asleep then wake up again in 30mins to 1 hr and wanna latched again. Me cannot stand it, so try feeding EBM using bottle again at night, and now he sleep longer and only wake up when the time is up. I tried latched on at times, but I think I got phobia of sore nipple and constant latching becos BB din have enough and fall asleep.

Actually, quite true lah, it is troublesome. End up i have to bottle feed EBM and then pump out my breast after that to prepare next feed - Which feels a bit stupid why I am not latching on directly. :p

Joyce,
My mil prepare the soup for me. Should be just using fishbones and green papaya then cook as soup. She already stop cooking for me, cos my flow too good when I drink it. I also dun want keep too many chilled EBM in the fridge, trying to give BB milk which is not too many days old.

definitely if there are pple to supervise the maid it will be best lah, but i guess in some situations really no choice n the bb is left al alone wif the maid. fortunately for me, my in laws are staying with us so i can rest assured they will not be ill-treating my kids!

terrier
i can understd how u feel. cos with my #1, i had to EBM all the way and i was so determined with #2 that i wanna latch her on! in the 1st 3 wks, it was soooo difficult to latch her and i was crying n crying cos i tot she would be the same as her brother n i hv to ebm all the way again. luckily i perservered, and today, she is latching on fine
it took about 4 wks to establish this, so i just wanna tell u DONT GIVE UP! its the early days n if u pereserver, i'm sure u will be able to acheive this too

oh just to add, my nipples were sore n painful too at the beginning, but it gets beter over time because we get desensitised, and ur bb mouth are getting bigger, so they can suck more of our nipple in n so it wont be as painful either!

hi, can i ask if any mum experience armpit engorgement? Any ways to get rid of it? Im on TBF and i try to pump out too but dun noe is it my nipple consider big..its very painful when pumping..and when i latch on oso pain due to sore nipples..today my 3rd day liao, not sure hw muh longer i can take...

re: juandice
I notice there is pimples like thing on my girl nose n below her mouth..is it juandice? wat shld i do..see a paediatrian?

re: hicupps
when my baby hiccups shld i ignore or there is remedy?

feel very lost..

thanks for any advice...