(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

fishia i am facing the same prob .... yesterday i slept at most 3h .... and noon time today thought i can nap with baby but she doesnt wanna sleep .... end up i cant do massage at all cos my baby wanna be carry and I am alone at home no one help to look after her ... lucky my massage lady very understanding ....

fishia
actually this product contains dried fenugreek seeds. And since i'm taking it 4 times a day as recommended on the instructions, i do feel it helps. Or maybe like what everyone says, 2nd time mum has more bm? Tobey born on 11 Jan, i started taking on 17 Jan - bought when i returned to TMC for followup check. I was looking for the regular Fenu in capsule form but they only had this so i bought it coz no time to go shopping.
For Isaac, i took GNC capsules, but recommended dosage only 1 capsule per day... no effect la! only can look back and knock myself on the head.

yes i'm bathing bb on my own, on days when husband returns late fr work. I can manage, so far so good. Husband also rooms in with #1.. coz he has no bm ma.. he said if he could bf, he'd do it for me too... but i think he can't tahan the pain la. Nipples sore leyyyy. Plus the night wakings. My body got used to interrupted sleep since isaac. Things can only IMPROVE coz we went thru rock-bottom when isaac was an infant. Both husband and i would be up from 3am to 6am - he would bottle/ cup feed while i took 1hr to express the miserable 30-50ml, then we would take turns to burp/ carry/ rock the bb, lay him down in cot to have him scream, then carry/ walk the house etc. It was terrible terrible. We were so zombilised..

mcfluffy
haha, that was me when i had #1. he was 3.5kg at birth.. carrying him for the marathon bf sessions was v jialat, plus i was looking at him suck, positioning his head.. i had terrible neckache! Fren lent me My Breast Friend breastfeeding pillow, but i din know how to use and the velcro so dam loud when pulling out.
I bought MIM sling to use when going out with bb. At first dunno how to use, but watched my fren demo with her bb, then i practised and got the hang of it.

re: apply desitin on bb's butt?
i apply on his asshole & birdie & balls. Not his butt....

<font color="ff0000">Congrats, Itok! Post BB photo soon ya?

Prataqueen, after her skin infection, I asked my CL to apply Desitin on her everytime after changing diapers. I also bought Mustella but CL doesn't like it, she say apply already white, white, think not easily absorbed and wipe off bah. Anyway, BB has some reddish bumps on her butt today and my FIL bought BB sebamed special healing cream. CL said very good, red bumps disappeared liao. Anyway, asking her to alternate between the two creams and stop using the Mustella.

Mcfluffy, I find the second hand MyBrestFriend BF pillow I bought very useful. But No velcro leh unlike WendyG's, it comes with a clip and adjustable strap instead. Before that, my arms ache so much, I couldn't lift them above my shoulder. :p

Mylife, the basic package is just $179 so still reasonable but that one only foot prints. I wanted hand &amp; foot prints so even if package, it's $335. I prefer the bifold design cos the other side can put BB's 8R photo and that one is $375. Add chinese name (another $27) plus I forgot to do it while at KKH (too pain to remember so many things), so end up pay another $50 for housecall. Sigh.

Poor Fishia, really not easy looking after a kid &amp; a baby. Recently, my hubby said just 1 baby we already like this, how about those who kenna twins or triplets? Jia you jia you!

Can't continue my massage until after CNY cos Grace had an accident, bicycle knocked into her and she was hospitalised. Will be discharged tomorrow but won't be able to do massage until after CNY. Actually, my "post pregnancy
tummy is nearly gone but my "pre pregnancy" tummy is still there &amp; flabby. :p

<font color="119911">guess all mummies are either sleeping now or attending to babies...i just finished attendng to #2 and now then got time to check emails....panda eyes...

jia you mummies!</font>

Kitsune

I had Pix and Potraits to my place to take photograph of baby. I took the $128 package and they gave me free A3 Poster when baby turns 1st month, 4th month, 8th month and 12 month. Not bad I think.

Blackbatz, Dr Ho is PD at Tampines Blk 828.

Mcfluffy, regarding the MIM sling, actually I bought cos I see others using at shopping malls and it seems convenient. I haven’t actually brought baby out using the sling. I will practise at home before using outside lor… must make sure baby is secure and comfortable first.

If short trips I also won’t bother with stroller.

Luvv,
Thanks for the compliment. I am glad that mil supported me for taking Xaiver photo then. He was so 'powdery'. haha..

RE: Baby's poo
Ny baby also keep pooing with lots of farts. Is this because of EBM he is taking which is chilled and warmed before he start drinking?

RE:Fussy Baby
I resigned myself again and introduce pacifier to Xaiver when he cranky at night. I can't keep latchying because he will burp out lots of milk later. The pacifier helps to let him sleep longer.. so now he is less cranky and at most fuss a while, eat his pacifier for comfort and then will sleep.

Hope that he only need pacifier at this cranky time in the middle of the night.

pooh25
No leh, I think they count chinese calendar. If you count 12 jan to 12 feb, it is 31 days liao. Which I hear pple day celebrate fullmonth gotta be 30 days or lesser.

very sian lei give birth one month already my weight has gone down very fast still 5 more kg to go but very sad i still cannot fix into my jeans. Is it because my waist or hip getting big after pregrancy or i still got wind in my stomach? Any mums experience this?

Just to check BF mummies, for nite feed, you will give bottle feed or nurse your baby sleep? These 3 days I have been nursing my baby sleep, but when I put him on playpen, he will wake up and cried. I have been bf him a few times already.

re: my "breastfriend" BF pillow
currently i'm using a normal pillow to support baby and my hand. Not sure if I should get the BF pillow leh? Also thinking of getting the sling. Heh...

jojo,
quick organise a gathering after my baby's one month.. hehe..

sagittaurius,
so far, i give birth 1 week 2 days liao, still got 4 kg to go to original weight. But like you, I can hardly even fit into my usual bottoms! Still wearing L size... tummy still flabby and big.

Mcfluffy, if you want to get sarong sling, don't get cotton type it is very hot. Get those cotton sateen. It is much more cooling and lighter. I also first time use. It is much easier when going out.

mcfluffly, for sling if u can spare abit more, get the silk one. Very nice and cooling...

Alamak, u all left few kgs to shed. I think I still have 9-10kg and a tummy to get rid. Not sure what I am going to wear for cny. Btw, when does confinement ends? When celebrate bb full mth? 28 days can or not? Heehee..

babe/ maureen
The sateen sling hor, isit slippery? Cos my Cl told me she used it for 1 day shopping with another mommy, have to adjest v often. Then now i thinking wan to buy a cotton one or not leh.

maureen
My baby cluster feed sometimes. Tat means almost feeding every hour, then for abt 3 to 4 times, finally can put him down to zzzz... and he can zzz for 5 hours kind. Oso, during some time of the day he oso lighter sleeper.

Babe
28 days can celebrate bb's 1st month. I think earlier is ok, not later I heard. Some pple even say boys hor, 12 days can liao!!! Wah piang

Babe,

To slim down tummy u can get ur massgae lady to do a wrap for you so the tummy will slim down fast. My massage lady did that to me and after 5 sessions i slimed down liao.

little danelle had been very cranky these 2 days. constantly needs to be carried, once put down she will cry. any remedy to this???

Re: Eating seafood for c-sect mommies

i called my gynae ytd and asked if i can eat seafood anot cos i really miss it so so so much. he told me in a jokingly manner " prepare my share as well"
yay... i can eat my favorite prawns and abalone this cny liao

Try putting your babies to sleep in the car seat, rocker or pram where they're not lying flat but at a 30+/- degree angle.

Last night my boy also cranky so instead of putting him in the cot I put him inside his pram (same as previous night) and he was all quiet. He took more than half an hour to fall asleep on his own but at least he didn't cry. This morning I put him back in his cot after his 7am feed and guess what happened? He slept for like 5 mins then vomitted milk and started crying! So I guess he really has wind/gas which is making him uncomfortable when lying flat on his back.

I think it's becos they fuss, cry and feed so much at night so naturally will have wind/gas and thus take a longer time to digest the milk. Maybe some of you can try this method tonight.

my son also very fussy at nite. feed milk, vomit milk, cry dun wan slp den feed again.. i guess he really feel uncomfy by the wind....maybe i shd really try the rocker

Re: CL

For those who hired CL, do they take pm nap? And do they take initative to do the hsewk or u gotta ask them to do it? Advise pls....thanks!

Nez,

My CL do take nap. Cos at nite they wake up to feed BB so didn't slp well in the day i will let her rest when possible. As for house work i got to ask her to do then she do one.

Mom2nat, so far I used for one day is ok. It is much lighter than cotton. My sis in law at first using cotton sling, in the end she bought another sling.

Verene, I watch the DVD again and again. After that at home practice and practice.

BF can slim down fast. So far 3 weeks already. I can wear one of my 3/4 pants already. But still have a bit of flappy tummy. I seldom use the binder too. Now just wait for one month over then I start to use the osim uzap.

I am also doing baby full month this sun. I bring forward one week. Just give cakes and pray.

I think tonite will give my baby sleep on the bed instead of playpen. Got a few times he got frightened. Scream and cried. When I got up the bed faster, my 2nd son also kana frightened when I rushed up.

i also wake up in the middle of the night to feed bb, change his diaper etc... but i dun take afternoon nap ley... wonder how much i shld be paid haha.

i hv cotton MIM sling. no $$ for sateen/ silk...

my advice: buy 2nd hand... there are many first time moms who buy or rcv as gift then dunno how to use, so as good as new.

mcfluffy,
oh so you experience same thing as me jeans cannot fit in but weight lost alot. Anyway do you know when we will get back to our orginal pre-pregnant shape? Anyway wat exercise to do so that we can come back to pre-pregnant figure?

mcfluffy,
did you eat many ginger after your giving birth? I eat lots of ginger after give birth and within one week my tummy flat liao. Ginger will reduce wind

I was saying my boy was good last night but since 1pm today till now, he's been latching, dozing, put on bed wake up, play awhile and keep latching, refusing to nap though tired. Pray tonight will b good. CL juz left and my #1 and hb will b back in rm to sleep...wonder how this first night will be..

1st month celebration
I'm one of those celebrating it later rather than earlier...my bb actual 1st month shud be today, but cos hubby only back tonite, so bo pian, gotta do it "western style" and count as 3rd Feb as the 1st month lo...anyway, me not doing any buffet or anything, jus the normal. So, Sunday also gonna be my bb "1st month"

Yvonne
thanks for the recommendation. I also suspect this is the case for my bb. Last night, i was kept awake entire night cos she feeds, vomit and then cry. So whole cycle for me non-stop last night is either feed, change diaper, clean vomit, change top, then feed again. So tiring. But will it be tiring for their little spine to actually sleep tilted either in a rocker or a pram?

icy
how do u know when he wans to jus suck pacifier leh? wouldnt it affect ur ss if u replace his need to feed with a pacifier?

i have finally cleared my milk duct due to the engorgement, but my milk ss din cm bk as the same amount as previously. It has decreased significantly....how how?? i nd my milk ss to go bk to the previous one.....help help!

Hi, sassy, my gal also like that, wants to be carried. Nowadays, we put her on a BB rocker to sleep in the living room during the day cos it's cooler but she'll still wake up and cry, my CL will carry, sit on sofa, pat her back to sleep then put back on the bouncer.

My BB is drinking more &amp; more milk and my SS not enough, I only managed to pump around 80ml combined and my CL said she guzzled down at 1 go. Already feeding so frequently, still like that. Think I'll either have to wake up &amp; pump at night at 3hr interval or supplement with FM. Sigh.

Thanks, VioletIce, looks good leh. And at least their housecall only $20 cheaper than the hand/foot print company. When do you get to collect your photos? I want it in time for her 1st mth celebration leh. But must ask hubby first though. Already spent so much on the hand/footprints. :p

Today is 10 days after I've delivered and RaeAnne's actual EDD. But I'm still swollen below near the urinal area. Anyone had the same problem as me previously? How long did it take for swelling to go down?

Antibiotics giving me diarrhoea (called KK pharmacy and they said it's a known side effect), called the 24-hr clinic but no answer so I'm just stopping them at the moment.

mylife,
I leave bb to sleep in the pram. He will surely cry if I put him back in the cot.

I did some research this afternoon and read from a website (can't remember which one) that babies with reflux can sleep in the carseat which helps them to feel more comfortable. It even said that there is a kind of foam mattress or something to place in baby's cot so they can sleep at a tilted angle.

I think it's the same for us when we had heartburn during pregnancy. If we slept on a higher pillow instead of lying flat on our backs, we won't feel like throwng up.

sorry to interrupt...

i am from april's thread will be giving birth at East shore hospital...
Can anyone share with me the things they will provide and roughly how they charge...my gynae is Dr Heng TL

<font color="0077aa">Congrats to itok

<font color="ff6000">hi all,

Tmrl will be the day that i will end my breast feeding days cos taking the pills &amp; stopping milk ss. Dunno why kinda feeling sad for my baby boy. I felt like i short charge him, not being able to fulfil my duty as a gd mummy by giving him the best, i.e. breast milk when my ss is good. At the same time, struggle &amp; suffered from engorgement frequently. I hope baby Zander will grow well with FM too.</font>

*If anyone is keen to buy medela mini electric breast pump, i have one to let go since not using anymore. Only used less than 10x, still new &amp; bought in Sep07, warranty ends Sep08. PM me if u r interested for price*

Re: Pampers newborn 36s yellow packaging
any mummies using this brand? got urine indicator meh? where izit located? TIA.
Recently i bought Mamypoko Newborn 52s at $17.80 from NTUC. Never have time to compare prices, wonder if they r expensive. My massage lady recommend NTUC brand diapers...anyone tried b4? Are they gd for day &amp; nite use?

Finally reporting back here. Super siong, but worth it

EDD: 28th Jan
Actual Delivery : 30th Jan
Born: TMC
Doc: LC Cheng
Weight: 2.810kg

Super long, bear with me hor

29th Jan 1030
I had "show" in the morning around 1030, jus as I was getting ready to go to see my doc for my 40th week appointment. Called my hubbie to quickly get air ticket back to Singapore, while I make my way to hospital with my mum.

29th Jan 1130 - 1400
Had enema, put on CTG and placed in observation ward. Wait and wait and wait. Irregular contractions, told to go to the ward. Doctor came, gave me 2 options, since I already overdue. Either wake 1 more week, then maybe at the end also induce, or just wait till next morning and induce. Chose to induce next morning.

29th Jan 2300
Very very regular contractions, every 2 - 3 minutes, told nurse and pushed down to labour ward and given epidural. Super happy man, thought yeah, finally
Epidural administered. Guess what, nothing happened. Duh...........

30th Jan 0700
Later Doctor came in, looked at me, only dilated 2 cm. My god. Will help me speed up the process, broke the water bag. Progressively, I took bloody long to dilate from 2 cm to 10 cm 9 hours.
All the time, I was smsing itok who also went, she gave birth and left I still lying in the labour ward. Finally, hit 10 cm target, but bb not low enough. Nurse told me to try and push to help bb go lower. I actually pushed for 1 hour. Doc came in, shake his head again and say help me use vacuum. In like 10 minutes, my ger was out.

Super drama right. I think I broke record. I was in the labour ward for 18 hours. Took 4 doses of epidural. Pushed for 1 hour over hour. At the end when my ger was born, I super tired already.

BF
So far so good, I like text book. Latch her every 3 hours morning to night and she will suck and suck and suck. No idea she is having enough, when she cry, we will panic. Especially when its not time to BF, we will carry her and talk to her. At the same time worry that she will become very sticky to us. Its the first night back home, so going to see if we can survive the first night with her. She got mild jaundice and since I took so many epi, think she quite sleepy. I see her so poor thing when she shivers, feel like crying. Think its post natal blues. Feel very sore down below now.

CONGRATS Angelsky!!!!
Wow.. I thought my labour was long, yours even longer!

Did your doctor give you painkillers to ease the pain? Remember to take them before the pain hits you!

Also, do try to latch her on everytime she's hungry. Don't need to be every 3 hours. Lastly, hope your bb's jaundice doesn't rise any further!

Hi steph,

RE: pampers NB diapers

the urine indicator is at the centre of the diapers (front). it is yellow in color, will turn blue when diaper is wet.

RE: pricing

according to the research I did previously, Pampers NB (0.45 per pc) is more expensive than Mamy Poko NB (0.34 per pc) diapers.