(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Water
I have the same experience - My MIL keep asking me to feed my 2wks bb gal with water too! She asked once, we told her PD say no need to give. Then at every chance she will bring it up again e.g. what if bb get constipated, or want to dilute her medicine (Ridwind) with water etc... So frustrating!

TBF
Another frustrating thing - My mum and MIL are singing the same tune, asking me to supplement bb with FM. Saying BM is diluted and not filling for her and somemore I may not have enough BM ss for her. I wonder where they get the this same mentality from. Luckily my hubby is on my side

Fishia, my boy is now on tfm cos pd ask me to stop bf till next appt. which will be a week from the last appt. i'm very worried now that my boy will not latch on again if i can continue bf. already 5days of tfm, my boy skin still a bit yellowish and eyeball also. yes we still sun him. my mum heard from my grandauntie that must sun him till skin all red red best is sunburn. faint... end up he look tan.

mcfluffy, i can understand how u feel. cos my parents and sis told me the same thing when my boy have hiccups. i also very sian.. told them baby no need water even if they having hiccups but they will argue back lor same as what yr dad said.

Prata queen, i dunno leh. my pd always ask me to feed fm and pump and store the bm. that's y now i dunno to continue bf or stop.

joyce,
hai.. no choice.. my mum will still feed baby with some water and i just let it be. don't want to argue with them. i think it hurts the grandparents more to see the baby hiccup than the baby feeling uncomfy from the hiccups!

mcfluffy, serious, no need to wait every 3 hours. cham. I still stubbornly wait 3 hours to feed her, my mum and CL keep asking me to feed water and FM, now I can understand how everyone has been feeling man. Duh. So actually can feed her as and when ah. oops, I misunderstood my ger ger when she cry I still thought she wants attention. ok ok. so when then we start to reduce to once every 3 hours?

My ger never really pass urine le. Little bit only ok right? So if I feed her more frequently, how long on each side?

Today my breasts super pain le, hard somemore, my gal can latch on to each side about 20 minutes each, but how come I am still getting rock hard breasts
Pain man.

I see my bb cry, I also heartpain. That day in the nursery she was wailing so loudly, I stood outside watching her, tears also wanna roll when the nurses ignore her.

Btw, so after I latch, must I still pump using the breast pump to pump and store?

Joyce, thanks, yup the long wait to motherhood

aiyo, tomorrow celebrate my boy's full month but he has rashes on his eyebrow area...getting worse. My sister said it's cradle cap, so I've been applying baby oil over the past few days. Some dried up and started peeling but also got more rashes appearing at the same time.

steph
Why you wanna stop bf?

angelsky
You should feed on demand if you wan to breastfeed. Not see the time now. Cos sometimes bb oso have growth spurt. You feed, then if bb falls asleep, you try to wake her up. If after a few tries you realise she is sleeping liao, you unlatch her and put her on the bed. My boy can feed every hour for 3 to 4 hours, then sleep 4 to 5hours in a row. Then wake up drink drink drink again. So you gotta slowly learn your bb's "pattern"... dun strictly follow book.

angelsky,
Welcome to motherhood! I must boast a bit...your labour not as long as mine lah...mine was 33 hrs and NO pain relief! I was dilated for only 2cm after more than 30hrs but my gynae don't allow epi becos he said it's too early and too much epi is not good for baby. So end up cannot endure and asked for emergency c-section...haha.

We are all still learning our babies "pattern". I think feeding is always they first "priority" but if you think baby has had too much already then try carrying him or checking his diapers lor...sometimes they need our help to get to sleep or poo so they cry.

congrats itok and angelsky!!!

RE: Breastfeeding

i dun have much milk
so sad and depressing .... dunno why like tat ..... somemore i no engorgment leh ..... so sad ... my mil anti breast feeding so i dun get to have "PU" on my milk supply
i express out less than 20ml for both breast!

mylife,
Because I bottlefeed with EBM now, then he just drink his milk 30mins to 1 hr ago at the normal intake. So he cant be hungry so soon, but he action keep opening his mouth and turning his head, I place the pacifier and he will calm now and chew on it. Doesnt affect my SS, because I pump out. I can't just let him drink every 1-2hrs, the end result is he will burp out and vomit the milk.

Must admit, now have problem latching at times, not sure if it is due to the pacifier or because of feeding bottle with EBM in the day.. so now he not used to my slow flow of milk.

QQ,
I ate fenugreek and it works for me. Papaya with fish soup lagi better.. increase my milk flow even more.

<font color="ff6000">Congrats angelsky!</font>

hi Verene,
thks for guide on where to locate the urine indicator

Mom2nat,
I wish i could bf for 3mths or longer but my engorgement really bad, can trigger fever anytime if i don't pump/empty my breast frequently, breast b'com rock hard &amp; painful, difficult to latch also. My 24hrs ss can reach approx 520ml from both breast combined. After CNY (month of Feb), i will take care of baby myself (day &amp; nite) and i don't think i can pump/empty my breast...too taxing for me. Later i peng san then no one look after baby wor.

QQ,
Cheer up &amp; JIA YOU on breastfeeding... ss will slowly increase...i did not take any "PU" stuff either, my MIL packet vegetarian beehoon once a week!! Is that PU ??haha... try some hot drinks b4 pumping session, think of yr baby &amp; relax...when the let down kicks in, milk ss "TAP" will open automatically de

Steph
thanks, by the time I read your msn , you went off line. My ger super naughty at night, cham. Day time, she will sleep no matter how we disturb her, tv sounds la, we talk la, she will sleep like a little pig. Night time, you look at her only, whimper whimper, she will start to wail. She woke up like at least 6 times last night, open close her mouth and want to drink milk. I fed her like 5- 6 times from 12 to 7 am. Shack. Or should I say, my hubbie more shack. kekeke.

Mom2nat, thanks for your advice, so I keep latching and latching la. Coz now, can already feel lumps at the side of my breast nearer to the armpit, super painful man. I pressed and massage but they dont go away. If i latch her, it will help ease the lumps right?

Now backside pain, in front pain, breast also pain, bb cry, heart also pain

How do we determine if bb is drinking enough milk? I touch her nappies quite dry one le.

She already passed yellow poo poo normal i hope?

My hubbie was teasing me, what happen to wanting to remain cool and calm when bb cry and not let bb climb over my head. Now she has taken over the place of the queen in the house. I have become her servant aka gan cheong spider mummy.

hi gals, i have been following the thread n learning things from u for a few months but always no time to post. I just gave birth to my twins 2 weeks ago, 18/1/07.

re: water

my CL also insist on giving water regularly. always tell me: "see your baby's stools so hard...means not enuff water" or "oh, not time to drink milk yet, let the baby drink water tentatively"

QQ,

Re: Breastfeeding
I sama sama as you......now can oni express out 15ml max from both breast, some more, i have to provide for 2 babies. everytime I pass my EBM to CL must listen to my CL tell me....u no milk lah, just depend on FM can liow. but i still stubbornly try to latch whenever possible and pump during the nite for the pathetic small amt. i guess, no matter how small amt, as long as we can give abit, let the babies benefit also good. wonder if it is too late to see the lactation consultant to ask for help. i tried all sorts of mtd liow, massage, hot towel, hot drink, funugreek....sigh, luckily my mum very supportive, cook lots of soup to help pu milk supply....but still no use.

angelsky,
now is ON DEMAND! don't be like me, initially I thought must 2-3hours. So when baby cried, I thought she was just fussing around. I refuse to give her water + sore nipples so the more I never latch her on. Then of course, her jaundice went up. And she didn't urine much nor poo much. I'm a baddddd mummy.

Rem to keep latching her on. Think your supply not matching her demand, that's why she keep crying every hourly.

Rem to massage ur engorged breasts with hot towel/hot water bottle. I think it helps!

mcfluffy, really now on demand, siao liao. ok ok. Then when she not latching on at those intervals I pump out right? So what do I do with those I pump out? I pumped out just now when my bb refused to wake up to drink at the schedule timing. Now she is konked out. Guess tonight I no need to sleep again.

Breast feeding is so tiring. The lactation consultant say must talk to her and build bond and try not be upset. But sometimes, when I feed her, I run out of things to talk about and really sleepy also. kekeke.

The nipples really very sore.

angelsky
here's what i do to wake my boy up.
- unswaddle
- turn on all lights
- bring him out to noisy place ie living room where my elder son is noisy
- change diaper
- last resort: take off his clothes &amp; give him massage
- last last resort: bathe him!

dawn
what's the dosage u take for fenugreek? take the correct dose o'wise doesn't work.

sigh .... but its been 2 weeks liao milk flow still so little .... feel like giving up .... but bu she de .... my mil keep asking my hubby to give baby water... which i dun agree cos will confuse baby rite?

qq
not that it'll confuse bb... but water has no nutrients. and bm &amp; fm are already mostly water, so there's no need to give yet sommore water. Until bb starts solids eg rice cereal, then start to give water, which is abt 6m.
it's like that one... when my elder son was abt 3wks, i also felt like giving up.. coz that time i took too little fenugreek (only 1 capsule a day), no effect on supply, so i only pumped miserable amt &amp; sore &amp; bleeding nipples &amp; no sleep at night etc.. so exhausting. compared with bottle feed fm so much easier and faster. but at husband's insistence, i tahan just a while longer.. at 6 wks supply established &amp; the rest is history...

qq

wat is ur defination of "little"? how many ml??? ask ur mil to cook papaya with pork ribs soup for u to drink. it increases the milk flow...

<font color="0077aa">angelsky,
ever since i delivered Zander, i can't MSN for long, few mins then gotta go...either attend to baby feeding, diaper change, pump or meal time.

yellow poo poo like mustard is normal. My boy change 5 to 6 diapers a day (poo + pee). He also able to sleep better in the day, abt 2hrs w/o wailing. BUT he's a nite owl from 8pm onward very alert, cluster-feed every 1 to 1.5hr...then got to pat pat, carry &amp; coax him to sleep...until my MIL's eyes b'com panda liao
*i even saw her apply eye/facial cream b4 bedtime!!*</font>

qq

ya... you can use fish or chicken to cook the papaya soup. 20ml is abit pathethic, do you pump to stimulate your breast every 3 hrs???

angelsky,
store the EBM!!!! but i doubt now u have any to store? since i think baby should be crying like almost every hour.. how to have milk so fast? heh.. my nipples is still sore after 10 days.. but getting desensitised liao.

wendyg,
haha.. unswaddling and removing clothes works. my gal is so afraid of cold.. we just have to unswaddle her and massage her a bit. usually she'll wake up too.

anyway, it took 6 weeks for ss to establish? omg... so long? i was hoping in like 1+ week can increase by leaps n bounds. haha..

sassy &amp; Verene,

the papaya must buy green unripe one right? then can cook with fish, pork or chicken? Now festive season, where to buy papaya? My MIL say very hard to find so never cook any papaya soup for me...only steam Ang Go Li fish or pomfret.

wendyg,

6 wks to establish ss?? say if ss reach max volume, eg 500ml then ss wont go up anymore ah? will it increase any further? Will engorgement also fade away when ss is stable? sorrie ask so many questions...cos me still hesitate...didn't pop the pills today, still wondering if can tahan breastfeeding for another month with the persistant engorged breast

steph
I had Mastitis 3 times for #1. Fever, shivering and all, but I perserve for 9 months. It is not easy for me, I have flat nipples, latch oso difficult. My #1 was v fussy, I was living abroad with my hb and I had to cook lunch and dinner for him and handle bb too. But well, I strived on... why? Cos no choice. In sg, we have lots of options, get maid, get so and so to help blah blah... But living abroad made me realise pple can handle 3 kids how come I handle 1 oso so siong, so just tahan lor. I was pumping 1 litre a day. Now that I have #2 then I realise I had over ss for #1, cos I was pumping too much, and the breasts fills up with milk way too fast.

I think first you have to get rid of the engorgement. Wendyg taught me a few tips. You use a hot towel or bottle and put onto your breasts. Then massage, massage v hard!! Not those soft massage. Luckily my Cl knows how to do it, I was going " Ah ah ah" when she was massaging for me. Cos so painful! After a few days it will soften. But of cos you need baby to suckle to unblock the ducts if you have any.

If you can, breastfeed lor. Engorgement will go away sooner or later. Bcos pain you dun massage or feed, end up worse, so bear with it, massage the rock hard parts, then pump or feed baby. Try and see how. Dun just stop ss. Until now I cringe when bb suckle, cos nipples so pain... but I still tahan lor. My hb see liao tell me no milk then dun bf lor, I told him "gimme the money you save on the milk powder". Haha...

Today I v siong, cos bb has not been napping well, Seems like I have been feeding him every 1 to 1.5 hours too. From 7am until now, I think I fed 8 times or more liao!! Wan to nap oso no chance ah. But of cos some days are good some are not lah. Hee... If you are at home all day, easier for you to bf oso. Tat doesn't include pumping, cos it is a chore to me.
Well, having said all these, I am just trying to tell you Don't Give Up!! All these are part and parcels of breastfeeding. But of cos at the end of the day if you decide not to bf, we will still respect your decision.

Angelsky
I get those lumps at armpits too. If you squeeze, got liquid ooze out! Heee... Well, YOu need to massage your breasts to unblock the ducts. Those armpit ones are milk ducts too I think. Once you clear the engorgement, the armpit ones oso go away.

QQ
I dun really express unless bb din drink for abt 4 hours or so. Cos I express v little comes out, unless having engorgement then a lot more. Dun see the amt you express to gauge how much milk you have lor, hard to follow it, cos I oso sometimes do tat. But really, wat bb can suck is much more hor. If you can, just direct feed. You express a lot oso no use, you wan to freeze ah?

steph
how come your boobs forever engorged? means u got too much milk har...? then u gotto regulate the supply... dun keep pumping to empty your boobs.. only pump until you're comfortable then stop. your brain will tell your boobs not to make so much milk. or just latch on &amp; dun pump. maybe few days later your supply will reduce &amp; hopefully engorgement problm will go away. If not sure, maybe u chk with Lactation Consultant.
In my opinion, bf is good coz save $$ !!! hee hee. Infant formula v ex ley.. 1 tin $40.. can finish within 2wk? Not to mention convenience.. when bb is hungry, just latch on. diaper bag just put diapers &amp; wipes can liao.. no need bottles, FM, thermos flask etc.

mcfluffy
yeah, in our "instant" society, everything we want fast... but some things can't be hurried la.. your bb took 9-10m to form &amp; grow in your womb... give your boobies some time to increase bm production la. If u want to speed things up, take supplements lor. when u hv your #2, your bm supply shld increase faster.

windy
i use mama lemon to wash bottles &amp; pumps etc.. hee hee. for bb clothes, i use ABD washing powder. $5+ per box... can last for v long coz i dun use cloth nappies.

qq
fenugreek = herbal supplement meant to increase bm supply. take the correct dosage!

wendyg, mama lemon not too toxic ah? we use mama lemon to wash dishes and i used it to wash my pump before, smells sooo lemon-y, makes me feel like got soap residue leh... keke paraniod mother.

verene, kodomo good ah? ok i go get 1 bottle and try.. xie xie

QQ,
fenugreek can get from GNC. I ate this and I think it make me less stressful mentally and I pump better. :p

RE: Papaya with Fish soup
Mummies, do u find if u drink this and let BB drink ur breast milk the BB will fart more? I find it seemed like the case for my BB but I can't confirm.

wendyg, thanks

- unswaddle, I tried, did not work
- turn on all lights, also tried did not work
- bring him out to noisy place, my hubbie watching soccer in living room, parents talking around her, not working
- change diaper, change already after that she konked back to sleep
- last resort: take off his clothes &amp; give massage, also tried, she also konked back after that, cry and cry until very poor thing somemore.
- last last resort: bathe her, good idea will try.

mcfluffy, store? ok, actually just now in between I got pump coz she did not wanna wake up and latch, have a bit le but its yellow color one, so its not BM but colostrum right? Also store, then when she can drink? I pump out, now its sitting in the fridge, I also dont know when she can drink, since if later on, I will have BM then the store colostrum do what? Sorrie, I abit blur la.

Diapers, my girl today only change once diapers, my CL say water not enough thats why she not peeing
. Is that true? I touch her diapers, really dry one le. STRESS.

Mom2nat, so got to massage, ok will ask hubbie to do for me later, coz very very pain. I scare if I feed my girl, then after that I pump and you know feed her already take 30 - 45 minutes, she can suck and suck then after that if I pump for another 30 - 45 minutes, she wake up and latch again, sounds like vicious cycle. Or rather, also worry if I pump and latch, later she no milk to drink.

Anyway, how do we really know if they have sufficient to drink?

windy
rinse well, then sterilise.. i did that for my elder boy 2.5yo liao.. after he turned 1yo i skipped the sterilising part.

angelsky
- she cry &amp; cry until poor thing.. means she woke up liao lor. So u achieved your objective.

- yellow thick liquid (thick like honey) that's colustrum. Yellow milk looks like banana milk - that's breastmilk. whatever u pump, feed it to her during next feed, before u latch her on. Wake her up every 3hr to drink. Dun let her go for too long on empty stomach.. her jaundice may kick in or escalate. She gotto pee &amp; poo o'wise danger of jaundice. Jaundice too high affect brain. So in the early days when my bm not yet start, i supplement with formula. Esp when the hosp nurse told me my colustrum not much, unlike others. *sob*
When my boy not enuf to drink, he can't settle.. ie will keep crying - whether it's awake time or sleeping time. Carry &amp; rock him to sleep only works 10min.. soon he'll be screaming again. We'll try a few times, then give him formula/ ebm until he fullllllll... then he will be in good mood (ie awake time), or easy to sleep (after burping).
Yes it's true if not enuf fluids, there wun be pee, coz her body is conserving the liquids &amp; not passing out coz there's no intake. It's NOT water not enuf... it's BM/FM not enuf. Remember.. water has no nutrients. If no or not enuf bm, then give fm for the time being. Work hard at being good cow.. latch, pump regularly. very soon supply will increase. but takes time... slowly but surely hor.

bfg mummies need lots of fluids too.. drink hot soup, milo, red dates tea, water etc

Icy
Ay, you still wondering wat causes your bb to fart ah?? Hee... mine farts v often, each time I feed, he farts!! You find out why hor, tell me hor.

steph

yes u need to cook with the green unripe papaya. you can get the green unripe papaya from Giant supermarket.

windy

im using the pigeon brand bottle and laundry detergent.

dear all;

time for my pop update
28/01
met my gynae and insert pill to soften cervix. 3pm. went home

29/01
checked in to tmh at midnight...
at 5am plus, slight contractions. only 2 cm dilated
wheeled to labour ward at gynae broke water bag at 9.15am, put on drip to speed up contractions.
contractions came hard and fast every 3 mins apart but still not dilated. asked for epi at ard noon.
5pm, gynae came in and check. alamak, only 4.5cm dilated. what to do, c-sect lor.
wheeled to operating theatre and my baby boy is out at 6pm sharp!
my boy came out big size...

update my data!
boy, c-sect with spinal, tmh, gynae eunice chua.
4.07kg

sorry for the lengthy post, but let me continue

after very happy but tired labour, my baby latch and latch as per textbook. 3 hours latch.
got colostrum, so happy.
on 3rd day, my breasts turned into rocks.
the nurses put warm towel, massage, cabbage, still cannot. my engorgement, as they called it "very bad". each one come in to "treat" my engorgement only have 1 comment - very bad.
pengsan
anyway there is one angel nurse - she massage the lumpy parts so hard until i cry. but after that, the ducts cleared and my milk output was so much that i was dripping out milk!!

so with 2 "softer" rocks, i went home on friday 01/02, but my baby boy got jaundice so he got to stay 1 more day.
so rushed home to express my milk.
1st time output: grand total of 100ml. power lor, because too engorged liao.
i gave 150ml to the nurse for them to cup feed my boy througout the night.

today jaundice level came down, went back hosp to collect baby.
still have rocks on my chest no matter how much pumping i do, the rocks still there.
my sis told me that the rocks will go off by themselves as long as my boy latch on as this is the fastest way to get rid of the "old" lumps.

anyway, i have a new problem. today 1st day my boy at home. everything ok. wake 3 hours for a feed.
but at 3pm till now. cry non stop.
we have checked everything. changed diapers, feed him, hold him...he just not happy.
we thought he hungry because his mouth was making the "o" sign, ok so i latched him on.
after 5 mins of suckling, he dozed off to sleep. then i eased off the suction. he wakes up and cry again. so i latched on again. from 3pm till now. my nipples i think going crazy.
i suspected that my boy is taking my nipple as pacifier. anyone with this problem and any advice for me??

sorry for long post. damn shag

pixie,

mine had the same problem, HAS the same problem, cos still like this sometimes, put mouth to breast suckle n fall asleep after 10min, pull out nipple, ok for 2min, put down on cot, fuss and cry! gone are the good ol days when i tot she was an easy baby.

now i have to see who got more patience lor.. baby or me. see who win. or succumb and give her a pacifier. today i went out to buy a NUK pacifier, waiting to try it out.

i think i broke world record
i just gave my boy pacifier. today is his first day at home.
he's been crying non stop since 3pm, i surrender liao,
now he is asleep with pacifier, later see if can take out...

i think it's pureen.. but there are big capital letters ABD on the box with a pic of a naked baby.

pixiepixel
wah, u are the champion.. first time express already hit 100ml *salute*
re: cry non stop
u burp him liao hor? Try ask someone without milk smell (ie anyone but you) to carry him after he's awake for 1.5hr, &amp; set him down in cot when he's drowsy. If he dun smell milk, maybe he wun think abt latching on? My husband helped me for a few times, then bb get the hint... when supposed to sleep, just sleep.. no latch on. So now when he's tired and i'm getting him to sleep, he dun root for my boob.

Windy, same problem here. I already bought pacifier some time back. Now going to see how long I can tahan.

We bought our first tin of FM too, bought Nan1 cos this is what she drank while at KK. NTUC don't have small tin so hubby had to buy big tin. $33++. See how long I can tahan TBF. Fed her at 9pm, latch on until 10pm. Wake up at 11:30pm crying for milk again, just finished feeding her. Sigh, really don't know if I'll have enough BM for her.

Pixiepixel, you really champion leh. I'm already 11 days, still can't hit 100ml, you first time already hit 100ml.