(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

my son also day time can slp alot... but hor nite time i can die ah.... 1st few nite still ok 3 hr slp wake milk and change diaper if soiled... now this 2 days, he can wake up every 30mins... piangz

Mylife,
Congrats ah!! Milk SS improving la..Hot shower has same effect as hot towel. Bathe in hot shower, breast milk will come in and start to drip. I have the same expreience.

Wendgy,
I didn't "program" my boy to poo poo during the day. Just that, I noticed that there's only urine whenever I change his diaper after his 2 am feed.

mylife, me also have the same poblem as u. when i had hot herbal shower both my breast will leaked and started dripping with milk. its normal cos we use hot water to pour on our body including the breast. it help to soften the milk block same as using hot towel. but even though my ss still low.

steph,
My mil had the same question as urs. Why cannot use powder. Anyway so I just buy this non-talc one. No talc means no danger to baby's breathing. I bought california baby one from the spree.

QQ,
Yah from peter pan studio. :D Quite pleased with the photos, except Xavier now become more tan from the photo light.

Neogarden got another one, which is halal one. Called Delihub. http://www.delihub.com.sg/

mom2nat,
Photo taken at hospital on Day 2 when someone come and sell as a package. http://www.peterpanstudio.com.sg/ I paid 128 for the package.. all just 1 pose.

mylife,
I recommend California Baby® Calendula Cream, but must join spree. Not sure if there is any extra stock for this feb spree. Look for BP organised by IMA.

laatzy, babe & mylife,
Our baby all the same pattern, he day time sleep so much thye night time from 12am to 3-4am will start to fuss until I also wanna cry.

i also same - after shower suddenly got letdown. then must wash again else body sticky with the milk!

looks like most of our bb are similar - certain times of the day wil be difficult to settle. mine is usually fr 6pm till abt 11pm or 12 midnite. latch, carry, sleep, put down cry, carry, pee, poo, change, carry sleep put down cry. worse still mine dun even want pacifier, so no choice, must continue like that until she tired n KO :p

wendyg
Hey, my hb oso same thinking. We paying so much for professional advice better heed. Rather than listening to old wives' tales. My hb will say, tat doc study how many yrs to be in this position leh, you dun believe him, you wan to believe who! Haha... I oso dun give my bb water. Oso initially when no colostrum or milk I gave glucose like TMC.

hello everyone, how are you all coping with your little bundle? so long never log in already. Today is the last day of Jan. All gave birth liao?

Joyce,
Re: Jaundice. My #1's jaundice was higher than 300 and was on triple light phototherapy. I continued to bf. My PD didn't say to stop bfg. Some bf babies can have jaudice up to 6mth old...

Re:poo
my bb is like leaking poo every now and then. His poo is little but very frequent. every diaper change sure got some poo. Hence he's like forever having poo on his butt. Hopefully he won't develop rash.

Michelle,
same here. my bb also rejects pacifier. Rock and sing to him also cannot pacify him. only put him to breast then he will calm down.

Anyone of you still having sore nipple? I still do cos my son doesn't seem to latch on correctly. I dunno how to correct him. sigh...

if baby hiccup, for mine, is usually after a full feed, think she's too full so stomach tickles the diaphragm so hiccups. i'll burp her, if still hiccup after burp then i'll juz leave her be, it usually stops after short while.

or make the 'shhh shhh' sound, then baby will pee, sometimes stops the hiccups also. kayla has learnt to pee when we hold her legs up and make the shhh shhh sound.

bb hiccups - they bother adults more than the bbs themselves. When my boy still in my tummy, he used to hv hiccups several times a day. Read somewhere that hiccups r caused by pressure on diaphragm... giving water may cause bb to choke. So just leave them alone & after a while it'll go away.

fishia
bb leak poo... first time heard of. haha.
my nipples getting tough liao. with isaac also the same... abt 3 wks of initial pain, then numb already.

mom2nat
i asked nurses to give him FM.. not glucose wor. Whatever la.

Babe,

Ang pao amount is depending on individual. If she do a good job, a $50 can la. No good just $20 or $12 will do.

Re: Leaking of BM during shower

I also have the same experience. Milk leak once i undress.

Re: BB hip cups

I ask my PAD about bb hipcups he told its normal for newborn to have hipcups. Hence we dun need to give them water after a while they will just go off.

blackbatz/joyce
errr...problem is my milk leaks BEFORE i start my shower, i was jus walking around, taking my undies for change aft shower, undressing, etc, havent even get into bathroom yet! Wonder why...

michelle
mine got 2 "difficult session" one is evening about 6pm-9pm, the other one is midnite/early morning about 4am to 9-10am. Headache ah. This morning i bo pian, from 6am onwards jus hug her to sleep.

Seems like everyone's baby also fuss alot at night...sigh!

Last night my boy also feed, carry, rock, put him down and he'll cry. Finally I got angry at 12.30am and scolded him "you so tired why still don't want to sleep? Mummy putting you in the living room since you are so noisy!" He just listened to me quietly and then burst out crying after I finished scolding him...haha...he knows he kena scolded by mummy. I proceeded to bring him out into the living room and put him inside the pram...guess what happened...he fell asleep even before I managed to push the pram into the bedroom! So he slept inside his pram last night and surprisingly he didn't make so much "eh eh eh" noise. I wonder why? Maybe he has gas/wind and sleeping in the pram at an angle was more comfortable???

yvonne
ya i think bbs can tell the difference between harsh & gentle tone. Once i was carrying bb while scolding my elder son, my bb got upset and started crying.. *piangz*

my baby boy giving me headache last night also...demand feeds at 1 and a half interval. wont sleep after feed. got to carry him and pat him into deep sleep before putting him back to his playpen. but he wakes up in another 2 hrs time. I was worn out from 2 to 6 am.

I wonder how long does this kind of sleepless nights last?

WendyG, I'm using Drypers in the day (since cheaper), told CL to change once she poos (no matter how much) cos my GP told me nappy rash just take 1 hour to set in. After her armpit infection, I scared liao. Think her skin is sensitive, got little red bumps on her neck also just after some sunning. :p

But drypers leaves red marks on my BB's legs. Pampers & Mamy Poko no problem so far. Haven't tried Nepia yet. Don't know whether I should continue using Drypers or sell? Sigh. I got 3 packs of NB drypers leh. :p

fishia my boy jaundice was above 300 when he was 4days old. was under the triple light phototherapy too. when he was in hospital, i will bf in the daytime and manage to pump 2 bottles of 30ml/bottle after bottle bm used up they will feed him fm(silimac). now already the 13days he still have jaundice. last checked on tue jaundice level 283. now giving him total fm as advise by pd. but i still pump my bm in case pd said i can continue bf.

re: hipcup
i found that normally when my boy hipcup its a signal that he want to pee liao. but my mum will feed him water. sian.. cos she said we adult having hipcup will feel uncomfortable. bb also will feel uncomfortable. told her so many times that pd and nurses said bb hipcups its ok and just leave it and it will be gone but she still insist to give him water.

kitsune
the red marks are due to the tape or the leg gathers? If it's due to tape, then ask your CL to be more careful while taping so that the tape dun scratch bb's skin when her legs are bent.

I found NB drypers too smallllll! Stocked up now i hv 5 packs "S" drypers and 2 packs "S" Petpet. Wonder if can finish using before he outgrows! Now he wear "S" size just nice. Once he starts putting on weight (eat sleep eat sleep) then gotto upgrade liaozzzz.. $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

joyce
you really patient with your mom. if i were u, i'd be hiding in my room with bb whole day & refuse to even let them carry him lest they subject him to unorthodox methods!

hi,,

may i know we cant mixed fresh expresss with the one in the fridge?.. some times the milk in frige not enough for 1 feed so how?..

Can i double check:
Fridge = 48hours?
Freezer = 2 month?

for quick thawing can take out from freezer put in warmer?

Oh ya, does anyone know if Peter Pan or any other BB photographer that does house calls for BB photo? And the rates? Missed the opportunity because they don't promote at KK wards. I'm doing hand & foot prints for BB and want to include a nice photo to go with the frame.

WendyG, ya, it's due to leg gathers. CL said I should have bought S size. I did buy 1 pack but bought more NB. Didn't know she'll be big mah...

after reading all the posts, i realized dat i'm not the only one suffering from lack of slp at nite.. all mummies are the same, only the intensity of how many hrs of rest per nite. now i kinda drag nite time cos i won't b able to slp well. every 3hrs or so has to wake up and latch or pump.. luckily i got my mom to help me manage her, if not i tink i surely will suffer fm postnatal depression... jus like Verene, i wonder how long will these sleepless nites last?!!!!

ITOK,
have you given birth???

Kel,
welcome to the motherhood club!!! BIG CONGRATS!

do u all know when we can do massage after c-section? me also look as fat as before giving birth... so sad!
got 20kg to lose to my pre-preggie size, btw, my feet still v swollen after giving birth 3 days. is it normal?

prata queen: i change my baby doc to Dr ho, unfortunately, i find her v unfrendly n got attitude prob, dunreali like her . now tinkin if i shld go to qq's bb doc .

qq: how is dr low?

do u all supplemt breast milk with formula?
my mil doing confinemt at my hse, kept asking me to feed formula.. but i onli allow once a day during nite feed.
i got the milk coming , juz tht i need to latch bb every 2 hrs...v tiring

mylife,
When you think of bb will leak milk too. no matter where you are. There was once i was out trying bra and i started to leak! Dunno was it because my nipple was sensitive to whatever thing that touched it or I was thinking of bb then..

Joyce,
Are you sunning your bb every morning? My son was 300+ when 7 days old and readmitted for 2 days. Same. supplement FM then. Was discharged when jaundice level down to 200+. can't remember the numbers but was slightly below admission level. I sunned him every morning and could see that his jaundice got better day by day. He was still a bit yellow when brought for jab at 1 mth. PD said okay. Now he's 2 and I find his skin color is also more yellowish, like daddy. but eyeball white.

My bb finally slept since morning 9am. He's been catnapping while I feed him and sleeping only 10-30min in each nap. My maid and I take turns to carry and coax him the whole day! Only this late afternoon nap he sleeps better. Can go up to 4 hours. Then at 7pm my #1 will be back from my mom's place. Another busy evening... trying to let #2 sleep while #1 screaming/crying at the background.. Hopefully I can cope after confinement. Both kids will be at home with me.

Wendyg,
Does it work better for you compared with Fenugreek?

godent: thank!
v happy to giv birth to my bb finally.
my waterbag leaked on thur and i onli see my gnae on mon morn, so last min do c-section coz no dilation n waterbag v low
so relieved tht baby is strong n healthy..

kitsune: how is ur bb ger?

thks for all the support in this forum... and my hubby also v supportive... reali happy

Ya, think so lar. Just lazy to do it since I don't check forum often nowadays. Think I'll sell to those in the east so that they can self collect. :p

Mylife, here's the url for the hand & foot prints. But they are not cheap unless you take the basic package. Mine costs $400+ including house call ($50). http://www.bestimprezzione.com/

Hi, Kel. RaeAnne is better today, only cries for milk and not fussing anymore.
The armpit area also more dry and looks less sore. :p

Anyone bathing bb yourself during confinement?

Sometimes i feel sad. my confinement mah chiam no confinement at all. Got to do many things myself. Nite time hb sleeps with #1 cos he'll wake up crying very loud and we worried that he'll wake #2 up. Hb got to work too. So end up I got to do everything myself at nite.. All will be sleeping, including maid and I'm the only one awake at nite feeding, changing, coaxing bb... Although 2nd time mummy, I cried many times already. In fact more than when I had #1! How come I landed at such a state.

re:hiccups
i wish somebody would just tell my parents that there's no need to give water when baby is having hiccups! so frustrated with them. say i never give her any water and she keep sucking in all the air.. then will have wind in the stomach and have stomachache.. blahblahblah.. told them it's not necessary to give water but my dad still retort back and say, "when you hiccup you drink water, it helps right?" My answer to him was NO. duh... I feel that giving water will just cause the baby to choke coz they don't know when the hiccup is coming and as the water is going down, they will get choked! ARGHHH... frustrated!

Anyone bought sarong slings to use to carry baby? Or nursing pillow or whatever it's called? Was thinking of buying one.. maybe easier to breastfeed? My useless arms get tired from carrying my 3kg baby.

Joyce! My baby also went to see PD today (Day 21) and drew blood from hand to test if her liver is functioning well. Also got urine test. Very heartpain when she wailed loudly.

Consultation + Blood test (liver function test) + Urine Test = $110 ($35 +$45 + $30)

PD did not ask me to stop TBF lei. My baby gained 200g since last PD visit 1 wk ago. However she said to increase fluids intake, so I gave water about once a day. But baby also doesn’t drink much water.

Her birth weight is 2.8kg and weighs 3.2kg at Day 14 and 3.4kg at Day 21 (today).

Kitsune, *pat pat*. When baby suffers, mommy and daddy heart suffers even more.

Re: Changing diaper
I also dunno if it is necessary to change diaper once baby poos. Sometimes after changing, baby will fart loudly + poo. So how, change or dun change? I tell baby…ooooi pampers cost $ you know. Help mommy save money and poo all at once lah haha.

Before putting new diapers, my CL will hold baby legs up and make passing motion sound to ‘encourage’ baby to poo somemore. 5 min later then put new diaper. It works or maybe it is a coincidence.

Re: Applying Desitin
My CL only apply Desitin on baby’s buttocks after bath, once a day.

Re: Baby sleeping throughout the night
Anyone can share, when will baby or when should baby sleep throughout the nite? Currently our newborns are supposed to wake up for feeding every 3 hourly, so when can we train them to sleep throughout the nite?

Hi Laatzy, I stopped swaddling my baby after 1 week I think. Baby will struggle and once, we found the swaddle cloth covering baby’s face cos she struggled until she flicked it onto her own face. Since then we swaddled her from waist and below.

Mylife, me too. Happened a few times, sometimes during bath, once I undress, both my nipples start dripping milk. I just use hand to squeeze until no more comes out lor, finish bathing then use pump to express.

Re: Catering non-confinement food
My CL last day is CNY eve, anyone ordering tingkat for lunch + dinner after confinement?

Re: Facial
Anyone got facial recommendation? I used to have a package with Leonard Drake – the ultra sensitive facials. However now used up my 7 sessions and wondering if there are cheaper and better facials around? My pimples are clogging my lower chin.

Re: Ang Pao for CL
We already paying CL CNY rate lei..still must give $50 angpao???

Beckycat, can mix EBM. Just make sure the 2 bottles are of the same temperature. Do not mix freshly-expressed EBM which is at body temperature with chilled EBM. Chill the fresh EBM before mixing.

Itok has given birth on 30 Jan. Natural with Epi! Congrats Itok!
Sorry I nebber post earlier…not been coming online these few days.

Kelmummy, hahahahahaha. Your comments about Dr Ho are similar to wat the nurses and other ple told me. My hubby HATES her.
But I find her good despite her ‘not so tactful ways’. Still sticking with her but each time we bring baby to visit her, I’ll end up quarrelling with my hubby’.

mcfluffy, sarong slings very hot. I bought a MIM sling and used it once at home to bf baby but gave up. I no technique + baby got too warm.

Maybe use at shopping malls would be more suitable?

kitsune
thanks for the link...pondering shud i get it or not...expensive leh...hubby sure balk at the price..

prata queen/fishia
hmm..so it's not jus me like dat...hehe

Congrats ITOK!

I'm from April mum thread. I'm still looking for a confinement lady and wonder if anyone here find their confinement lady's service good and can recommend her? I'm due mid apr and first time mum. Pls email her contact to [email protected]. thank you very much!

thanks, prata_queen.... my mil keeps telling me that baby must be swaddled so that he won't be scared by loud noises. She even says that it's because we stopped swaddling him at 1 week, that's why he's very timid now (he's easily woken by noises like drawing of curtains).

Btw, heard that facial from FIL is quite good... my mum swears by it after like 5 times cos people says that her skin texture and colour has improved.. i do see the difference oso...

Fishia, I understand how u feel. Since bb born, hb either managing #1 or work OT or got photography lessons. Hardly see him n he not so involved this time. Otherwise he v tired and KO with my gal n we hardly talk. Feel sad too how come have #2 not so joy but sorrow. End up not much pics taken for #2

fishia,
I'm same here. I'm staying at my mum's place. She cooks confinement food for me and sleeps with #1 at night. My maid does all the housework. Hubby comes and see me at night after work and goes to our home to sleep. I do all the night feed, diaper changing etc myself. Even my maid can sleep at 10.30 pm

I slimmed down much faster than previous pregnancy.

my girl down with cough and very cranky now as she can't sleep well, got to coax her the whole day for the past 2 days. Brought her to the PD yesterday morning and now hopefully the medication can ease her. Carry her until my arms are cramped! Whole body aching now. Lucky still can take turns with maid but maid voice not very comforting for her, just hope she will get well soon. 

babe,
just checked my email, sorry haven't got back to you. Will reply to your email.

wendy,
not sure about the inner wound leh, my gynae did tell me that I cannot exercise for at least 6 months so I presume the inner wound not healed completely.

Grumpus.
if wearing binder will not affect the healing of the inner wound, I’m thinking of wearing the binder to flatten my flabby tummy :p

Sassy,
Your neighbour start the massage after 2 months still can rescue the tummy? That’s great!! thanks for the conatact, I will ask my gynae whether I can go ahead with the massage during my next appointment in march.

Violetlce,
Although I’ll be a PTWM, now training/monitoring my maid to look after my girl, still heartpain cos can see that my maid don’t coax my girl with much love.

Baby powder
I never use since Mrs Wong say not good for babies, I only use desitin creamy on my girl’s buttocks. So far so good.

Mcfluffy,
Gloves! Never thought of it, too bad my confinement over soon, I only minimize touching tap water but I still wash my hands with it and the past 1 week, had been washing my pump, bottles..etc..

Icy,
Love your boy’s photos! Regretted not taking up the package! Duh! What was I thinking at the hospital?

Full month
I’m also celebrating my girl’s full month this Sunday!

re: water
thanks for the water advice, never ask my pd that question before, I always thought that since FM is heaty must give water when my girl is partially on FM.

Michelle,
For the nepia diapers, for change of size, you’ll have to wait till your next order and inform them you need to change the size, they’ll bring the extra pack to exchange for you upon delivery.

hi prata qwueen,,

thx for the tip,,,

BTw , any one knows how to see if jaundice is gone?

bb had high jaundice when back to see PD on 5 day,,, can go home sun for 2 more days ,,, if not better, have to go back ..but how to tell if it has gone down / cure competlely...

can see not so yellowish but still not competely cure...