(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

sagittaurius, it is normal that babies will have acne face at abt one month....hormones ....just clean his face with water twice a day....and wait for it to disappear...cant do much.

Btw, i have one book to introduce...'what to expect the first year'....answer lotsa question month by month

hi eRnMum,

Just now I went to kiddy palace and bought a packet to try out. Currently, I got stocks for drypers. my baby thighs are still small, so can fit in most brand of diapers. I stay in SengKang...bit not convenient to go Bishan as I need to stay home to take care of bb. My mum going back to home tomorrow liao. I will be alone at home till evening.

eRnMum, chk wif u if ur boy on tbf? He really put on alot of wt. Mine is a teeny here I think...

Frozen ebm
Erm, I thot is after deforst can store 24h b4 consumption. That's wat I did, take down thaw in fridge but by the time I feed my bb it's already more than 24h from the time I brought it down.

hi all, i feel so sad and cried a lot recently. Monday brought my boy to see pd, had sp test. his jaundice went up again 290. and yesterday had another test. feel so heartpain when he have to draw blood. yesterday drew blood from the hand cos need more blood for another test. test to see whether is his liver mature. sp result yesterday have went down to 283 and pd suggest me to feed my boy fm and stop bf till next monday if his jaundice get better meaning i have to stop bf totally as my boy might not suitable to bm. but if everything ok i'm worried my boy will refuse to latch on anymore.

Currently i will pump and throw away my bm. should i continue till next week or stop?

re: water
my mum bottle feed my boy with water. and she gave him drink alot. again very worried he get confuse with so many thing. water, fm and bm. how how how?

so weapy recently. worried abt my boy, miss my hubby, irritated with my mum handling my boy and can't find my precious watch(my hubby and mine 1st couple watch. its mean so much to me but i have misplaced it. searched all the places but still can't find.

Joyce,
hugz to you!!

Now the priority is for your boy's jaundice to go down, since it's already coming down, don't worry too much yah.

Don't throw away your EBM! freeze them 1st, if he can take BM at least you've reserved for him already.

as for drinking water, i don't think he'll be confused, jaundice baby needs to be hydrated, if he's taking FM now, better to drink some water also.

Joyce, I didnt stop bf. I give him FM and BM and water. They need more fluid to flush out. Lack of fluid jaundice will go up.

Drinking water will confuse them.

Hi Joyce,

my previous PD did advised me to stop BF when my boy jaundice went up. He just want to eliminate breast milk jaundice cause. but when I change PD, she did not advise to stop BF entirely. don't throw away the BM...can store it for further use when ur boy gets better.

I do feed water...but my boy dont like to drink water.

i oso seldom give my baby water .. my PD say no need to give them water but my mother and mil keep asking me to give baby water!

initial days i was supplementing with FM as i had little colustrum. So gave bb some warm water as well. But on 3rd day followup checkup, Dr Ong of TMC (SBCC) said there's no need to give additional water coz both BM & FM are already very watery. Last time bbs on FM need water coz in those days, the FM very thick, need spoon to stir to dissolve. Nowadays FM just shake in bottle v fast to dissolve so it's very thin liao.
I asked what's the max amt of water per day to give bb? His answer is ZERO.
So i thought.. since i'm paying $200 for this PD's advice, better follow lor. So only BM &/or FM. Dropped the water.
I think the only time to give water would be when bb is under phototherapy.

My poor BB has skin infection under her left armpit, broken skin & pus. So heart pain. Think already also want to cry.
Didn't even realise it though I did smell something funny on Monday. Hubby also saw yellowish stain on her top but we thought it may be shit. Sigh. Got ILs to rush her to see paediatrician today. given antibiotics, wash & cream to apply.

Steph, I also wonder whether I should give her powder. Went to see gp today cos got diarrhoea & shooting pains from urethra, suspect Urinary Tract Infection but gp said since I'm still on antibiotics, he'll just give me something for my diarrhoea. But he advised me to bath BB twice a day to keep her clean & cool. Anyone bathing BB twice a day? And any cream to apply under armpit to prevent such things from happening?

Hi, Ah Capp & Mcfluffy. Ya lor, BF takes so long. But now, I'm willing to let her suckle as long as she wants as long as she stops crying. Feel so lousy as a mummy now, put my BB through so much pain.

babe, my boy now is 11days old. how u manage with pumping bm? manage to increase the amount?

luvv, i cannot keep my ebm cos since currently my boy is on fm so my mum cooked all the confinement food with lots of ginger and rice wine. so i have to throw away all my ebm.

we have to pump for how long then our breast is empty?

mcfluffy, me too. when i clear my stitches i also saw blood. today already 11days liao and my wound still pain. may i know how long it take to recover?

jacelyn and mylife, thanks. hope my bm will establish soon.

luvv, i'm giving my boy use pamper newborn at night. its good and its have urine indicator and daytime i let him use dryper(given by my colleague).

Thanks Luvv. will monitor him and hope he can start to drink bm again. hope he is not having breastmilk jaundice.

Maureen and verene, at the meanswhile i will listen to pd to feed my boy fm. hope that it will help him bring jaundice down.

my mum insist giving him water even after pd told her that bb no need water. then now he is on fm and my mum and sis said baby need water more.

Jacelyn, till now i still have not wash my hair. i have 3 times of massage so far and everytime the lady will apply oil on my head and massage and now my hair very oily. yesterday told my mum after the 5session i want to wash my hair cos too oily liao and i can't stand it but she replied that i cannot wash until end of confinement. faint... so smelly and oily

in any search engine, key in "water intoxication baby", read the articles & decide for yourself...

question: my boy normally poos after his feed. I've already burped him & laid him down in his cot, he's falling asleep.... then *Poot* he gave a big poo, but otherwise he's quiet and happy to go to sleep. Shall i change his diaper? If i did, he'd start bawling coz gotto unswaddle, then i gotto resettle him... maybe need to latch him on again for comfort sucking etc.
if i left him alone, he'd be asleep in his poo for at least 3hr! Danger of diaper rash & leaking poo

morning guys!

grumpus
"wah yr baby guzzles 120ml each time!! i also like u express abt 120ml each time...baby so far only drink 70ml so got excess...keke...i think slowly slowly won't have excess liao also...
u want my excess ebm ah?? can...u come and self collect lor :p "

ya lor she big drinker ahhh... kekeke.. kidding about wanting ur excess lah.. thanks for offering anyway!
hehe..we shd have a EBM club, then every week we must contribute 20bottles of EBM to this club and we will all bid for the pool, highest bidder wins. hahaha..

babe, yup, i tbf my boy....dunno how he gain so much too...normal is kg per month...200g per week. so now he is in the 90 percentile for growth

joyce...dun worry, you can continue to bf for sure...if your paed ask you to stop...think you should change a paed. My boy now at 5th weeks...still jaundice...just a few days ago, went for the liver function test too...still 180...but liver fine...so confirm is breast milk jaundice which is normal...jaundice will slowly fade away...my paed says continue bf...cos bm jaundice pose no harm wan.

my number 1 also bm jaundice for 2 months....grow so strong...he took liver function test....and i stop bm for one day to confirm whether it is bm jaundice....and i just continue feeding after that....now he so strong...i tbf for 11 months and only stop at 15 months leh.

i understand how you feel for sure cos i been thru exactly the same ...cry and cry for number 1....its part of the hormones...stay cool...but if you want cry just cry....if you want to talk to me, you can pm me and we can talk on phone. =)

Joyce, so babies jaundice will go off very slow especially BM babies. Giving just a bit of water is ok. Like after drinking FM just give a bit to wash away the milk in the mouth. And also to train them drink water when they grow up. By 6 months then give them water, they will know how to reject.

Normally for expressing, 15 mins for each side total about 30mins. Don't take too long if not you will tired yourself. You can start to pump out now especially your baby is on FM. Starting will be very little as time goes it will increase. Just pump out 3 hrly everyday.

joyce...just wanna say bm jaundice is fine...harmless type..can continue bf....but since your baby is jaundice...you should stop ginger ...

in fact throughout my two confinement...i ate normal food....no confinement food....i dunno abt implication when i grow old la....but i feel good just eating normal food so that wont affect my baby

anyone here notices that ur bb have phlegm?

my boy seems to have phlegm and he feels quite uncomfortable.

any ways to help clear them?

dear mummies
i have delivered via csection on monday afternoon!
now my wound still hurts, and juz discharge...
will update again

joyce...supply so so...still on 2hly feed even at night...v little rest..ebm dun need throw. I eat ginger n rice wine stuff but I still feed bb. After cooking, alcohol fm rice wine already gone unless u drink it neat.

wendyg, ur supply muz b super good, bb can sleep so long..mine will fuss when i put him down even though he fall asleep on breast. My boy poo only every few days...normal?

Erbmum, did u eat something such that ur boy gain so much wt?

Celebrating my boy's full mth early this sat. Hope he will b good. CL leaving tmr n it's gonna b on my own too..hope he will sleep a few hrs st. thru in night so I can rest

joyce
just wanna share wif u. my girl has jaundice too and she is already 5 wks old today. like ernmum said, my GP told me its breastmilk jaundice n this is not harmful so its no reason to stop giving BM. BM is the best milk for bb so if anyone tells u otherwise, u shd seek a 2nd opinion!

just give them time - it will go away slowly
dont give up!

wendy
if i were u, i wdnt change the diaper since it probably bothers us more than him sine u say he can still sleep for another 3 hrs in his own poo. but to prevent diaper rash, just apply a layer of diaper cream when u change his nappy lor, so even if he sleep in his own poo poo, it wont cause the rash

Verene,
When I brought my BB for checkup, told PD BB had phlegm. However, he said that his lungs are clear. Young BB does not know how to clear their nose etc.
In the end, PD gave me saline (meant for eyes) and apply 1 drop into each side of his nose as and when necessary.

PD said it's normal for bbs to hv phlegm (?!)

michelle
the problm is, he poo so often that we become lazy & dun bother to apply barrier cream for every change of diaper. Apply liao, after a while poo again, then wipe off, then apply again then poo again... u get the picture... hahaha.
We dun recall #1 poo so much, prolly coz he din hv enuf to eat! kekekeke

babe
3hr not considered long ley.. some 3wk old bb can sleep 7hr stretch liao. my supply just meeting his demand.. little bit excess in the fridge for standby. My bb is BIG.. his appetite too! poor mummy stressed.

wendy
my girl also poo n poo , and it seems like i'm changing her diaper and applyin cream the whole day long! dont be lazy lah, just apply cram takes 2 or 3 sec only. faster than if u change him when he sleepy n take a longer time to get him to sleep again rite ;)

nepia diapers
someone here said we can change the size if we order too much is it? i just ordered and i think i need to change the size leh. so they will come n collect the wrong size fr our place n give us the correct size? or we hv to place a new order again then they will replace the old wrong size ones?

wendy, mine 2hly lehz...sleep at most 1h plus..when he sleeps 3hr in the day, I worry he can't sleep at night. So far nights been 2hly. I wonder when he'll know day and night...

Wendy and michelle, my prob wif poo opp of u gals. He doesn't poo everyday. Dunno izzit eat not enough. Today he shld poo coz it's the 4th day of no poo liao..

i am Apr MTB..sorry to intrude here ...

anyone delivered in TMC before? can share the overall cash u have to fork out at the time of discharge?

Thanks !!

Wendy,
I'm like you. Sometimes, skip the barrier cream. Tell myself will apply next round. Heng..heng, all his big poo poo during day time.

Re : Phlegm
he was grunting a lot..making a lot of "croc..croc.." sound. I thot that he caught a chill but PD said no.

babe,

yah actually i think it's 24hr after defrost but i dun know when the milk is considered fully defrost so i just use 24hr from the time i take down from the freezer lor..

michelle/wendy
my bb gal also poo and poo, change diaper, feed, burp, then oops, need to change diaper again. Whole nite long so tiring!!! I am also worried like wendy if i dont change, she will get diaper rash, already got a bit of rash liao...i am oredi applying lots of desitin, but redness still there...so worried now. I read must air buttock, but how to air, she pee and poo so often!

Wendy
mine also like yours, adding on to it is the vomitting! Whole nite cycle is bf, sleep, poo, change, wakeup, cry, latch on again for comfort, pee or vomit, change again. Sigh. Do u change your bb's clothes everytime she vomits and kena the top? How about pee?

my stubborn duct still cant clear after trying several methods that some mummies have advised. nw trying to look for massager to cm n massage. any massager to recommend n no nd to go thru the post natal sessions ?

Hi, I'm a new mommy, delivered on 10th Jan. Wanted to check when we should stop swaddling the baby? My baby doesn't like to be swaddled, he will struggle very hard to get out of the swaddle, but it seems to help him sleep better... any of u experience this problem?

Baby also seems to fret a lot from 7 pm to 12 mn and refuse to sleep... will carry and rock him to sleep, but once we put him down on his cot, he'll wake up =( will have to repeat this process till wee hours of the morning...

Thanks Maureen, eRnMum and Michelle for sharing and ur encouragement.

eRnMum and Tg, u have pm.

eRnMum, do u mean once the result for liver function test out. and result is good i can continue bf? or i should follow pd advise stop till next monday? just received call from my hubby. he said he have checked with pd and my bb liver is functioning well. in the normal range.

Re: ginger
Even since we know my bb having jaundice, my mum didn't add any ginger in my confinement food including the red date and longan drink. but jaundice still have leh....

babe, my bb also can sleep 3-5hr in the daytime. at night 2hr. very sian like others.. feed, he sleep, put him on the bed cry, urine, poo, change diaper, cry, carry feed him again, put him down cry, urine and poo again, change diaper all this can last for 2hours or more. then awhile later he hungry again and the cycle repeat.

Everytime i changed diaper i didn't apply rashes cream on him. i'm bad and lazy mummy.

Joyce, jaundice needs to take time to go off. Last fri my son check was 167. Now I still giving him BM. Just that 2 feedings I will give him FM. At least he will have enough fluid to flush off.

jus now have hot herbal shower, as i was undressing, suddenly for no rhyme no reason, both my breast suddenly leaked and started dripping with milk like letdown...anyone experienced this?

my bb usually also feed 2hourly in the day, but jus now she fed at 1000 and now she's sleeping...shd i wake her up or wait for her cue? my massage lady coming at 1pm...if bb wakes up and i'm doing massage, cham liao

mylife
if throw up a lot kena the shirt and the chest area all wet & smelly, then i guess i will change him lor. If his shirt kena poo/ pee a large area and makes him uncomfortable, also will change. Shirt will kena pee largely at the back... if i dun change him, means the swaddle, bedsheet, mattress all will kena pee smell.

blackbatz
how to 'program' bb such that big poo happens during day? For my boy, day or night also same.. poo & poo. He's the Poo King.

Kea
mine was an elective c-sect (epidural), single bedder. I paid slightly less than $2k cash (ie used credit card to settle the bill).

babe
me same problem...bb night reversal...she sleeps so much in the day and so alert at night! 2hourly in the night can also get an hour plus sleep is considered good to me. COs like last night, from 5am onwards, it felt like continuos feeding. Latch, feed 10mins, bb fell asleep, change diaper, she vomit, change top, put to cot, she cries wan to latch again...sigh...when will it end? i dont even have an hour of interval since 5am

wendy
yah, if kena alot, i will change, but little bit, i lazy never change. Sometimes, when at changing table and halfway changing her diaper, she pee, will kena her shirt, then must start all over again...so tiring. Haha...u so funny call bb poo king...ur bb big size mah!