edd: 12 Jan
actual: 17 Jan
Gynae: Paul Tseng
Baby's name: Elliot
weight: 3.875kg
length: 53cm
Birth: Natural with epidural</font>

Re:washing hair
My hb bought me the No rinse Shampoo. I used yest, quite amazing, no need water, just pour the liquid shampoo onto hair, lather the foam then clean off with towel. Hee...

Godsent/ Icy/ mylife
Are you gals supplementing with FM? Cos I opened one tin of Friso 1 when bb came home, but used 1 or 2 days then no need liao, v wasted, cos 900g one. Anyone wants? I can give to them.

Godsent
If you giving only BM, no need give water. DUn listen to old wives' tales. Unless your baby's urine v yellow or the pinkish stuff still ard for v long.
Your milk ss is v good, but why do you need to pump? Just direct feed lah.

prata queen
u were asking about freezing ebm rite? i usually freeze about 100-120ml in 1 pkt, cos once u defrost u hv to use up eveyrthing and cannot put back in the fridge, so dont put too much into 1 bag, altho its very tempting cos save $$ mah hee hee. yes, u can store the milk in fridge for up to 3 days b4 transferring it to freezer. but of course, try to move it up sooner if u know u wont be using it so will be fresher lah

pacifier
aye my girl still refuse to suck leh. its like she get more irritated when i put it in her mouth. is this normal? i think she doesnt seem to like it. she wont even suck on it n cry even louder!

overfeeding
i noticed some of u mentioned bb keep on latching n drinking milk. do they vomit after that? cos when my girl cry, sometimes i can be latching her every hr, and she will drink. but after that she wil vomit some milk out. how ah?

Thanks for advice, looks like it's ok to both latch on &amp; bottle feed. I'll try it one day. BF at night is super tiring. :p

Kel, my cousin delivered naturally even though induced. Her BB was 2.98kg cos only 36+ weeks.

Itok, already 3cm dilated, very good, at least you don't have to wait so long to dilate to 10cm like me. BB coming soon. Jia you jia you!

RaeAnne was discharged yesterday, jaundice was 173. Today, she has to go back to polyclinic for another blood test. I didn't follow cos already went out yesterday and still doing confinement, plus my wound below still hurts so it's very painful when walking so resting at home.

Ah Capp, Icsenow contacted me to collect the Leapfrog system &amp; books liao (1 title was OOS). Think she thought why I MIA for so long. Hee.

Superbee, your BB looks so much like mine. Also open 1 eye like that when she was born.

Godsent, my CL is letting me wipe my boday with Da feng cao today. Yeah!

Woke up at 1:30am, 4:30am &amp; 8am to bf and each time BF for about 45-1hr, very zonked now. Will go rest before BB comes back. Catch up again.

Godsent,
Should get better towards end of 2nd week except for slight discomfort when you sneeze or cough.

Kitsune,
Enjoy your shower but today's weather cooling le...

Calbee, pixiepixiel, angelsky, terrier &amp; jeslyn

Morning! Anyone popped last night? Here I am reporting again. Like what jeslyn has mentioned, there is nothing much we can do. Just gotta wait lor.

Pixiepixel,
Why does your gynae say you have a slim chance of delivering naturally? Coz your baby big?

Angelsky,
I din really monitor my baby’s movements regularly. Just know that once he a while he moves.

Jeslyn,
Why have your doctor not done any VE? You should ask him whether can do one for you then see if you have dilated. Actually it feels a bit uncomfortable and a bit pain… after that will feel a bit sore for a while. But it is bearable- not VERY painful from my experience and I am the type with low threshold for pain.

Superbee,
Your baby is very adorable!

Terrier,
Wow, your baby is gonna to be rather big! 4kg 

Calbee, pixiepixiel,itok,terrier &amp; jeslyn

me still here
. the pain below getting more intense, getting cramps, but thats normal so far. I monitor the movements coz my ger not very active, so must nudge her a little bit.

Do you gals know, if bb born on 4th Feb onwards, will not be a pig but a rat already.

I think everyone around me more gan cheong for me than I am, I received like 5 messages this morning to ask if I have popped or heading for hospital :p

kitsune,
lucky my mom is not extremely strict kind cos i talk some logic into her. i'm using tap water but waterheater hot kind to wipe my whole body everyday. but for my bottom, i always used bidet spray (cold water) n wash wif Latacyd feminine wash. i din use any chinese herbs... din even buy for a start...

Mom2Nat,
i need to pump out cos it always feel full n bb doesn't drink so often...

Godsent
It is a vicious cycle, the more you pump the more you have. My #1, I pump 1 litre a day, but she drink half of it, end up waste my time and effort and milk!

Mom2nat, contractions? But I have been getting those on off since last weeks le, just that now below more painful when I walk.
If those are really contractions then good. Now must prep talk to her more.

for all mummies who haven't popped, pls take care. pls oso note dat having regular backache oso part of contraction cos my case is a backache contraction... i don't feel my tummy aches after dat nite's contraction while we were msning wif itok, etc... it changed to backache when i got to tmc wif tablet inserted.

pixiepixel,
is ur case like mine? i couldn't do natural cos cervix can't open as it was not soft...yet i had regular contraction...

mom2nat/elliot,
really ah? more u pump more it flows? i've been storing it in veg compt cos when she's awake, i always try to latch her... so seldom use. plus now my nipples r sore n one bled due to her strong suction in hospital to get the colostrum... how long does it take to heal completely? i used the milk to rub it after feed n oso apply nipple cream...

morning everyone,

my gal gave me a shock yesterday. her last feed is 845pm and she didnt want to drink any milk until 5am in the morning. it seems like she has alot of wind in the stomach, cried but when we gave her milk, she refused to drink, then fall asleep again. finally i heard her farted twice at 430am, and cried for milk at 5am.

she is 3 weeks old already but still drinking 70ml per feed of EBM. tried to increase for her, but end up she sleeps more than 4 hrs without milk. she seems a small eater but my PD keeps asking me to increase until 120ml per feed when she is 4 weeks old. Quite fustrated with my PD, how to increase when she doesnt want to drink??

Calbee, pixiepixiel, itok, terrier &amp; angelsky,

Im reporting here too... actually don’t wish to wake up to face another 2 days overdue(I’m a SAHM)

terrier, im going to have a 4kg baby too so im lost if i should opt for c-sect or try induce first. actually i weight 4kg+ at birth too, smore my mum give birth to me natural w/o epidural..dun think i can be like her..she say she nearly cant make it..

itok, i very paiseh type thinking of doing the VE make me seal my mouth tight tight..maybe i shld ask dr hor..at least if dilate give me some hope..

angelsky, that is good news for you too..hope you be kick out of the waiting list soon..
btw, why baby born on 4th feb is consider rat huh? I wanted a rat at 1st..

I was like going nuts abt wanting to feel pain so much

hi ,

like to check, i on my 4th day, milk supply has not kick in yet...

my gal seems to be hungry within an hour.... latch on 5-10 min , then fall asleep,,,, later wakeup 5-10 min again,,, cant seems to get her to suckle 15 min each side per feed..

urine output from 6am until now only 2 times...

is she dehydrated? do i need to supplment?

tried pumping to increase ss but pump half hour only 10 ml ...

pleaseadvise....

superbee, your baby very fair! nice~!

angelsky,
think you will be popping soon if you've been feeling cramps. Good luck and inform us k!

becky_cat,
my gal also seems to be hungry within an hour in the mornings and evenings. however, i think maybe she's not hungry coz after latching on for 5-10mins, she will fall asleep. I think she just wants comfort sucking!

my gal urine even worse leh.. like once a day only? hardly wants to drink any water. what kind of teats are you people using? i think Pigeon not suitable for my gal... will be buying Nuk soon...

becky,
don't give up on the expressing! I got about 10ml on my 4th day too... now 5th/6th day? got about 20ml per side... heh.. so it'll increase.. don't worry...

windy ah,
never see you online today. anyway, PD Dr Lee don't need to book appt one? just walk in can liao? The nurse told me just walk in.. so weird.

Verene and Icy, my PD is Dr Wong May Ling at level 3. but she will be shifting to Paragon Medical Level 7 today. Will be bringing my boy to see her at 2.30pm.

babe, i'm same as u.. i only managed to pump 20-30ml. wondering is it enough for my bb. my mum always commend i have little milk. even in the middle of the night when he cry, my mum will say i have not enough milk for him. so sian...

Just have my 1st post natal massage. the lady help to massage my engorged breast and i managed to pump 60ml of BM.

I also no idea why 4th of Feb is consider a rat, coz I read this months "MOthers and babies", they say 4th of feb is the new lunar year? Or something like that, what "li chun".

Joyce,

Take it easy. Ur milk will slowly come in as the days go by. Just ignored what they comment. I also facing the same problem as u little milk and everyone was asking me to give FM. Then BB keep crying no choice i just give cos my milk came in in the 6th day. Till now i am 15days after delivery i only have about 60ml if i didn't managed to clear my block ducts. If cleared about 90ml! Jia you.... You can make it one!!!

any mummies here giving bb entirely FM?

I think I am switching to full FM soon. BM supply is dropping and I only pump once a day, 60ml. Already feeling very tired...started with TBF...but when bb is admitted in hospital due to jaundice, FM is introduced...then I continued to give as supplement. Now, since supply is dropping more FM is given.

Somehow, I feel kinda guilty. But hubby says it's ok as long as bb is healthy...dont stress myself.

how long u mummies plan to Breast feed?

Luvv
No life cos i'm not pumping at the moment, doing direct feeding until my ss established more, i read recommended at 6weeks, so will see how.

QQ
<font size="+1">BIG HUGZ</font> for u. We all went thru the same thing. Haha, u've only been doing confinement for how long nia? Me "releasing from prison" soon, i tell u hor, the confinement food left me wondering will i EVER look forward to meal times again. Every meal time look at the same food si beh sianz. I crave for sinful fast food like KFC and McDOnalds now.

Sassy!!
U so happening ah...go HK on 21Feb??? Are u bringing Danelle?? Why going HK leh? Me tentatively moving there around 28feb, but if Rylee's visa can get approved earlier, of cos would like to go earlier lah! Ay, u can delay a bit or not? Then can meet up with me...hehe...how long u will be there?

Michelle
Haha, seems like there's a pacifier club and now welcome to the "baby vomit club" kekeke. Mine also same thing la...but nowadays, slightly better liao, PD say burp dont burp too long (cos burp too long also can cause wind) after meal, max 5mins, if baby dont burp, leave it. But even after burping, must sit bb up for a while. Dats why, seems like she's attached to me 24/7, where got time to rest, feed, burp, sit upright, then voila, time for next feed liao! Actually, from wat i read, BF babies can NEVER be overfed, or so the BF support groups claim. But my PD say, BF babies CAN be overfed wor...so confusing, dunno which one is true. But i tell myself, as long as bb gaining weight healthily, and got wet diapers, then the vomitting is jus a "laundry problem" lo. This will come to pass when bb is 4mths old...so in the meantime, jus grit ur teeth and tolerate. Tough job.

Superbee
Your bb looks so fair &amp; cute

Mom2Nat
Nope, not supplementing it with FM at all. But thanks for the offer.

precious moments
yup, your bb sure sounds like got trapped wind like mine. I also put Ru Yi Oil, and she still throws up. But lately she getting better liao, cos me feeding RidWind 4 times aday and also doing the burping. PD said even after "problem solved" can continue giving Rid Wind or Gripewater to prevent wind.

Joyce
Have faith, mine also quite jialat initially, but it'll soon established. Jus rem as long as baby gaining weight, contented aft feed and got 6-8 wet diapers a day, u dont have to worry. My PD said, a baby's suckling can generate AT LEAST TWICE as much milk as any best pump in the world. Cos no pump can replicate a baby's suckle with their palate, lips and sucking movements.

For mommies who pump and have very little amount EBM, dont lose heart...like Val advised to me, dont be disheartened by the "figure" in the EBM pumped out, it DOES NOT reflect the total amount of milk stored inside your breast!! Jus try to latch and latch and latch your bb, it's tiring, but soon ur ss will get established around 6 weeks bah. But if u do wan to continue pumping, rem to pump at the same timing every day.

mylife,
do we have to pump at the same timing everyday?

sometimes baby wakeup earlier / later leh... my timing has been changing daily.... sometimes she wants to suckle more, sometimes not.

I ponder across this thread and just wanted to share about EBM. My confinement lady suggest adding black beans into your red date tea... It will help increase milk supply.

I gave birth 8Jan and doing my confinement

re: milk supply.
ladies jus wan to share some points cos i hope tt nobody repeats the same stupid mistakes i made. i delivered my bb in Nov and have an elder born in 2003.Very little milk for my elder son back then cos listened to mum and MIL and believe tt i dun have enough milk. Everytime bb cry i resort to formula. so its a vicious cycle, no demand=no milk.

I managed to TBF my gal tis time but 4yrs ago i also had the same doubts and problems some of u are facing now. Its not miracle for me, but a lot of hard work and determination. Support from HB and frens are very very impt.

Pls remember tt initial days amt of BM is realy pathetic...only a small percentage of women will hv 'ready-stock' of milk available. so Pls dun compare urself wih these mummies. latch on is the best remedy. i latched my bb on demand during the first few weeks. Worst periods were like every 20-30min she wan to latch. BUT it helped my ss to go up. i still latch her now and pump aft each latch still can yield for 1 feed+ which i give to my elder son. Empty ur breasts very often so u make more milk faster.

A good pump makes all the diff too. i was using Medela single and twin pump (didnt invest in more exp pump) when i had my son. these 2 pumps suction very lousy, got sore nipples. then used Avent manual pump till hand wanna break still not much milk.

This time i invest in Avent DUO, very good and helped to clear breasts very fast. moral of the story is, go for the 'best' pump u can afford. comparing to buying FM, its much worth the investment. the pumps are nt selling at such high prices for nothing.

Drink water/ fish soup and take ur multi vits and DHA. dun listn to comments of ur milk suply. they only make u worse and 'believe' them. Jus latch and latch and latch.,few days will be tediuos but af tt ur ss alot u will feel its all worth it!

Everyone can make it if they follow the simple principles...good luck all!

Verene,
how long can the Nepia diaper last before need to change?

It cost $15 per pack if order online, to order different sizes, you'll just need to email them.

Till now, my girl 25 days old, i'd already into her 4th pack of diapers, i'm looking for something that can last her longer through the night. I'm currently using pet pet, cheap and not bad but can't hold too much urine, if no poo, can only last about 4 hours.

hear u all can pump 60-90ml I feel so envious. Mine now pump only 30ml after feeding 1 side though bb 3 wks liao...he's been drinking 2hly latching and some stretches juz drink non-stop for 1hr or so..v unsettled. Wonder to persist coz wonder if my ms is really low this time..

Verene,
i also feel like i can't last for long giving EBM already, i'm hoping to last at least 3 months giving partial BM.

You are the only one who can judge whether to continue or not, your well being also very important! Don't feel guilty, being a mother doesn't stop at giving BM or FM.

angelsky,
i don't think 4th Feb consider rat leh, still pig ma.

QQ,
yes the same old dishes sucks! and only drank the black bean soup. so sick of the food, i just gobble them up without thinking too much, else can't even put them into my mouth.

S@L,
Agree with you. It's very disheartening when mum and mil passed remarks like aiyoh so little milk, baby not tummy not filled, that's why cry. Especially when BB cries, we have the tendency to believe that we do not have enough milk.

Honestly, BF is a very tiring. Not enough sleep and must put up with remarks from others. When you think you have finished feeding and burping, it's time for the next cycle.
Besides, CLs and mums and MILs will say must rest during confinement.
I did not have any FM at home, no milk die die must drink mummy's milk.

Even when do EBM, must diligently do it at regular interval to maintain supply. In the inital weeks, it may seem very wasteful when BB does not drink so much. As BB grow, it will demand more milk. If express only once or twice a day, definitely cannot meet BBs demand.

BTW, I think Mylife must change her nickname to "Nolife"..

hi jacelyn,

think i bought the new born at a slightly higher price...cant remember how exactly how much. think $15+ at isetan supermarket at scotts.

think nepia should be better than pet pet. The diaper is not as thick as pampers and mammy poko.
I am using drypers too...not bad also.

Hi Luvv,

thanks for ur advice and thoughts.

I use Dryers during the day and Mammy Poko during nights. Dryers tend to leak if used overnight but Mammy Poko is really absorbent...1 pc can last for entire night.

Last week, out of 8 BM feeds, my little Tania 'vomitted' 6 times (est. 5~10ml) and have difficulties sleeping (ie. crying).

Went to see Dr. Ong @ TMC and told that it's due to the 'wind' in Tania's tummy. Was given RidWind. Was happy for only a short while. On one hand, happy that there is a medicine for solving the 'wind' (we tried Yu Yee oil earlier, but not effective for Tania), on the other hand, did a search on the web and found that RidWind and Placebo are not much diff :-(
http://www.med.umich.edu/pediatrics/ebm/cats/colic.htm

The chemical content inside RidWind and found that the primary ingredient is Simethicone + 'vanilla flavoured base'. That's theory for us so far.

As for practical, we tried feeding little Tania about 5ml daily before feed - judging from Tania very sad facial expression (some what like tasting a very sour lemon) when the 'vanilla based' liquid reached her tongue, we also found that she is seemingly full of 'wind' in the tummy still :-(

Someone mentioned 'Gripe Water'. Seems to be a better choice than the weird tasting Ridwind, anybody knows where I can buy it?
http://www.colichelp.com/shop/gripewater.html

One of our friends passed us the Dunstan Baby Language (thanks to Steph for recommending this a few days ago)... and we watched it last night. Guess what, within a few hours when Tania cries again (from EH EH EH, to EAIRH EAIRH), we know that she was having a gassy tummy... tried to relieve her by patting.

This morning, heard her eh eh eh to somewhat difficulties in breathing again and tried a more 'serious' method of patting (with her tummy rubbing my shoulders, as seen in the DVD 'EAIRH' solution #3 for serious gassy tummy), once done, I saw Tania smiling back at me a few times - thank-you Steph and Dunstan!

Did a quick search in National Library and found that the DVD is going to be make available for loan soon...

The DVD testimonials can be found in Youtube.com (most are sales-pitch like, but one or two are valuable)
http://youtube.com/results?search_query=Dunstan+Baby+Language&amp;search=Search

Found the opera video,
http://www.oprah.com/tows/pastshows/200611/tows_past_20061113.jhtml

If you have the chance, try to get your hands on this precious gem.

mylife i only about a week i bth liao..... imagine everyday lunch is the same mee sua with dong gu and chicken! at night everyday chicken soup with dong gu again, hong chao chicken, long bean and steam fish! i dun look forward to my meals at all!

Luvv at least u still eat .... i see liao i dun even wanna eat!

qq
chicken soup or chicken oil? kekeke
ask for some pork?

TG
u can get Woodwards Gripe Water from supermkt or any Chinese Medical Hall. It's also known as "fei zai shui"

why 4th feb considered rat...? 1st day of lunar new year is 7th feb ma?

wendy i dun take pork ..... tat day is chicken oil .... that one super heaty one i drink one mouth i gave up my husband drink 1/4 the rest we throw ......

mylife,
Yah, i always have the giveup thoughts.. try hard to tahan tahan tahan. My hb went Taipei today.. so upset. Dunno if I am cope alone or not.

Myfluffy,
Oh.. i tempted to buy that breastpump.. but i think perhaps I wait another week first.. cos me always have that giveup thought.

Becky,
ur supply is the same as mine when I was day. Now I am like godsent, every 5-6 hrs then pump once.. so that at least have 80-120 for both side.. each time also pump like 1-1.5hrs. I start eating fenugreek, it seemed to help.

mum2nat,
I am not using that brand for FM. Using nan 1 HA. But my FM also only given for day 3 and day 6 only.. SS come already then I just feed full BM.

jeslyn,
I am using nepia. Quite happy with it. Dry and clean, BB backside good, and the stick on is user-friendly.