(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

AhCapp,
we r here to support & encourge one another, think of happy thots, happy cow = produce more milk

Mdm Rokiah say u sms her to start massage next wk ya, enjoy yrself & do feel free to ask her any questions during the session.
Re: BFing
After latching, if baby has empty yr breast, u still need to pump out the other breast. The more u latch & pump, will stimulate more milk...remb demand = supply theory. JIA YOU

AhCapp, haven't seen your BB photo yet. Got time, must post ya?

Windy, Kayla looks very contented and she has such long shapely eyebrows.

AhCapp,

Initially i also not sure how "let-down" kicks in. But after 2nd week, breast milk more established, whenever i hear baby cry asking for milk, my TAP will just auto turn on lor...breast dripping milk...i suppose that's "let-down" sense
So, u are purely on latching, no bottle or FM yet?

The "period" that u mentioned is lochia discharge from our body. When u go toilet pass motion & wipe yr anus, u'll see some blood stain, that's the wound of the stitches bah.

i still dun dare to wipe my anus after passing motion. i will juz jump into the shower and wash my lower body..... when can wipe hur? i delivered on 10th jan

Actually my breasts is soft most of the time. Haven't felt engorged after day 4 when milk came in. Dunno what's wrong. Bb so far feeding both sides and being a boy demanding and want it fast. STill latching about 20min-20min.

Michelle, I would like to pump after feeding but juz too tired and always juz go to bed and rest. Sometimes pump liao bb wake up wanna to drink, lagi headache. How u manage with latch and pump? Some schedule to follow?

Ah Capp, Verene and Windy, juz make sure u keep the wound clean. Mine wasn't very painful. Came back after every toilet visit, wash down with water and clean wound with antiseptic. After a wk, gynae cut off the knots and gave me a cream to apply. That's when I start feeling the wound but not pain. Make sure keep clean to avoid infection.

Lochia
How long has your lochia been? Mine 2 weeks of today and it's still around but small amt such that I can use pantyliner. Same for u gals?

Steph, if u really have alot in excess and dun wan engorgement too much, pump for a shorter period of time. Otherwise, u will never get over engorgement.

QQ, congrats!!! It's an easy labour...

Nexyanne, how u pump and feed same time? I find it so difficult..

Hi kitsune,

Great to see u and the rest of the ladies here. Life has turned upside down ever since I delivered Tue. Go and enjoy your '2-ren shi jie' before u deliver. =)

About asking for epidural since u were asking QQ this question. When I admitted at 9pm, my contractions were already less than 5min interval. I tahan for 1 to 2 contractions and the nurse said I better take epidural since I can't tahan pain. (which was already my plan) I took epidural at about 10pm +. Gynae told me I was already 5cm dilated by 11:45pm and thought I would deliver at about 5 to 6am. But I delivered, about 2hrs later, at 1:53am.

Between 10pm + to the time I delivered, I can hear someone screaming next door. At first, i thought it was baby crying. Later on, the nurses were saying that was the difference between no epidural (that mummy next door) and got epidural (me). The concern is if I don't take epidural, and not knowing when will I deliver, I really don't know if I can tahan or not. =P

Wow, Ah Capp, that's good, you dilated very fast between 5cm to 10cm. Looks like walking around at your job really helped.

I was thinking of asking for epi when I'm 3-4 cm dilated lor. Cos heard if epi effect wears off and it's too close to delivery, the dr may not agree to top up, cos mummy can't push if no sensation. Don't know whether it's true. Ya lor, me also low threshold of pain. Normally bad menstrual cramp, I already moan & groan liao. Want to experience a bit of contraction pain (just curious) but don't want to wait too long. Somemore, read that QQ can go to sleep after epi, very tempted to take it early. hee hee

kitsune & QQ,

For my case, even after epidural, I can actually still feel every contraction, but it become bearable. Hmmm.. My gynae actually told me that she wants to make sure that I can still feel the pain in order for me to push. So my epidural a bit "bor-hua" *LOL*

After my gynae told me that I will roughly deliver at about 5am to 6am, my hb and I actually wanted to sleep to get some rest. But by about 1:15 to 1:20am+, I feel that my contraction pain is getting worse. So I buay tahan, called the nurse and asked how come with epidural still pain. She checked and found that I was already fully dilated and ready to push. =S So during my pushing, whenever I feel the pain (little bit), I will push lor.

I know that for others who took epidural, they will push according to the doc's instructions, as they are totally numb. But mine a bit different lor. My legs totally numb, but I can still feel a bit of pain.

QQ, wa, if no charge for top up, then might as well I might as well ask for it early once I reach hospital. Cos I intend to make my way to hospital once contraction reach 15 mins. Is that the usual frequency to be admitted?

Wa Ah Capp, when I go for my next check up on Wed (unless BB come out early), better clarify with my gynae about epi and ask her to recommend a good anaesthesist. Scarli she also the 'no pain, no gain' type like your gynae. :p

hi fern

u scared pain then religiously take pain killers k.. u can wan!!! u forget wad pain is when u hear ur baby cry for u...

i secretly drink water lo... shh.. cos i'm sooooo thirsty ahhhhh.. dont drink enough, will get super duper migraine. i also drink the longan water when my MIL is watching lah.. hee..

the stool softener tat MAH prescribed to me, doesnt seem to work leh. maybe cos i got super duper rock hard stools.. zzz

kitsune,

Don't be decieved by my baby's look. ;P He is a monster when he cries or when he becomes cranky! *LOL*

Frankly speaking, I found that he doesn't look like me much. A bit look like my hb. Sometimes I will ask whose baby is this? *LOL*

Very soon will be your turn to hold your baby. =)

itok,

I kinda forgot whether my contractions brings about hardening of the tummy. it is just crampy feeling...

kitsune,
I fell asleep after epi too. I took it when i was 5 cm dilated. labour is 6 hrs. I paid $300 for the epi (mount e). I dont feel the pain at all but as I was fully dilated, I feel slight contractions. No urge to push due the powerful effect of epi on me. in the end, use vacuum after several unsuccessful pushes.

Steph,

Yes, will try purely latch on and see how first. My baby seem to be very impatient and wants milk fast. If once I let him take bottle, I think gone case liao. But I will still introduce bottle later, as I need to go back to work in 3 months' time.

So for u ladies who are expressing milk, u all are purely to stimulate more milk or intend to switch to bottle soon?

Hi fern,

the nurses will ask u to wash the area after u pee each time. use the spray that is installed in the toilets to wash. then dry with toilet paper from front to back, followed by use the alcohol with cotton ball to clean the wound. I feel the stitches when I bathe and clean there. seems like the stitches havent "dissolve".

Hi babe,
my lochia discharge is still here after 2 weeks of delivery too. whenever i latch bb on or pump, the lochia discharge will flow out more. dont knw whether anyone here has the same experience

kitsune_sg,
You better check with your gynae on her stand for using epi so early. Like my gynae, he don't allow me to take epi becos my labour was progressing too slowly...although contractions was painful & intense but only 2cm dilated after 10 hrs...so I endure until surrender and asked for emergency c-section.

I also thought gynae will give me epi as long as I asked for it...turns out my gynae don't agree becos he say too much of it in my system is no good for baby since he knows my labour will be long.

wrt blood in bm, my number 1, i will let him latch on no matter how sore my nipples are....even when they bleed, he will just take...then the poo poo will be a bit black cos of the iron...but according to the baby milk, that's alright....

but i am no expert...if you are worried, then dun feed la...hee

as for lochia, mine very strange....actually stop liao....but at times, small amount, a few drops kind will come and go...alled my gynae, she says ok...as long as not change pad every few hours type...no clots etc...i also dunno why mine like that

today my eddric celebrating one month...no party...just a sall lunch with in law side...cos my family busy

as for massage..i didnt get any....already able to wear my jeans since last week...but some pants still cannot wear....now the prob with clothing is the tops cos with breasts like that...very ugly la....i am not a fan of huge breasts...dunno how come ppl can go for enlargement....

confinement ah....aiyo....i didnt eat confinement food at all....showered with herbs but wash hair everyday....refused to drink red dates water when i feel body getting heaty...so i just drink plain water and even cold water (secretly)...haha

btw, for those having fever (chill like) and your breast is engoged, please go see doctor cos you might be suffering from breast infection (masttitis)...if need be, your doctor might prescribe antibiotic that is safe to consume even when you bf

epi.....i can feel contractions (strong type) for both my babies...as if i didnt....but only at the end la...but the epi still at full strength and not even half....think it react differently for different ppl

mylife,

actually i find hot towel helps me even if not engorged...somehow the heat helps to get things started...

for me whether breasts get hard and lumpy depends on how often i express...if i express every 2-3 hr my breasts will feel heavy but not yet hard and lumpy. i can still get pretty good supply like 100-120ml per expression....if i wait too many hrs, like >4 hrs then breast will get hard and lumpy...but of cos my situation is slightly different as i'm currently on total express, bb not latching on directly at all...

i find myself crying non-stop since my hubby left for the airport earlier. I cant function, i cant think, i cant breathe.
People have been telling me it's jus 2 weeks but it's gonna feel like 2 years to me. He's been my mountain of support since my dad passed away, running around helping me do all the misc stuffs dat no one tot of doing. Even when i was heavily pregnant and had to fly back from Hk myself and stay here in Sg, i can still dong and came back bravely without him..now feel so helpless without him. He even tot of buying and prepping all stuffs for me before he left...i miss him greatly...i really dunno how to handle this overwhelming emotion.

Yoz,
Finally!!!! I am back home. Yippe!!! Too many posting. Yet to go thru. Juz a quick update of myself. Went for induction but did not dilate enough. Stuck at 3cm and in the end, emergency C sect. Hai~ Before that so scare c sect as bb was in breech. In the end, still kanna sliced. Really fated. Reason not able to dilate was be cos bb was looking upwards, thus head cannot engage into the birth canal so, no dilation. First time mummy, must remember hor, if ever anyone tell you 2nd preg, u r due earlier. Fired them back. Wendyg, mon2nat & myself r classic examples of overdue cases. Shorter labour?? Crap!!! My contraction came 2 hrs after the pill being inserted. So, I actually went thru 10hrs before gynae suggested c sect. Each pregnancy is unique & diff. And surprisingly, my milk came in on day 2 itself though the PD told 2nd time mummy should expect to come in by day 3. So now, carrying two stones in front of me. When tried to pump, amt quite miserable though. Guess tmr then I will be busy doing hot compress liao.

I got a question...

this morning i saw my whitish mucous plug. Is it a sign that my cervix is dilating soon? Had bad menstrual cramp pain throughout last nite sleep. But now quite ok.

ernmum,

oh no, i still need to change my pads every few hours. flow esp heavy when breastfeeding. and i have had a few blood clots....

anyone else same as me?

of course, if bb is latching on every hr, then dont bother to express liao lah! only if like every 2-3 hrs, then still got time in btwn to do abt 5-10 min of expression. this will empty your breasts then u will create more milk mah.

fo me, initially i pump after every feed cos my girl didnt really wanna latch, so i hv to pump out to maintain ss. but these days, my girl is latching on better, so sometimes if i feel that she has empty the breast well, i wont pump. i think my ss so far is also ok, so just need to pump about 3-4 times a day instead of last time have to pump 8 times!

hi all mums,

been reading so much about everyone popping and their birth stories!

Baby Tricia was born on 11 Jan and she is 10 days old today. I wanna ask you gals what brand of milk bags to buy for storage (FREEZING) of expressed BM.

I guess I am one of the lucky ones who have excess milk, much more than Baby Tricia is able to drink. Currently I am pumping and throwing cos I prefer to give her fresh BM since I have sufficient.

Can you gals pls tell me the advantages and disadvantages of the various brands of milkbags?

Eg I know Playtex is cheap, but is it good? I tink the storage capacity is only 125ml?

any of your baby keep vomitting milk out? initially i tot it's normal cos i read from babycare book this is call posetting. But she started vomitting quite a high volume, like sometimes, a palmful leh...even though i have burped her for quite sometime.

Also i noticed my baby's left legs are slightly darker colour than the right one. When i touched it, it felt warmer. I checked her diaper and initially tot maybe it's too tight, but even after releasing it looser, it's still like that...so worried.

Hi mylife,

2 weeks mayb not be short but time really passes by fast esp with bb along. watching them grow day by day will makes us feel time passes by quickly. though my hubby is not away from me, I feel upset when he left for work every morning in the weekdays. I always count down the no. of hrs for him to come back home from work. I somehow understand how u miss ur hubby cos I am very sticky to mine as well. be strong ok. we are here for u...take care.

mylife,
Is it becos you burped her for too long? I read that it's ok if they don't burp after every feed. Persistent burping will only cause them to throw up instead of burping.

I usually put her head on my shoulder and she burps after a few pat on her back. If she doesn't, I will change position and sit her on my lap to burp. If still not burp I will just leave it but make sure there's no milk in her mouth lor.

mylife,

I hope you are feeling better. It is understandable that you will miss your hubby by your side... but he needs to go back to work so also no choice. What you can do is take good care of your baby and stay positive. so that he can look forward to seeing a happy you and happy daughter when he is back again in 2 weeks. Jia you k!

yvonne
oh is it? but mine will throw regardless if i burp her or not leh.

verene
thanks for the consolation...still trying very hard to stop the tears...

Ah Capp, he really look very innocent & good boy leh.

Verene, Yvonne, thanks for sharing. Ya, must ask my gynae on Wed about epi. :p

QQ, your daughter look so cute too. A bit like zhong guo wa wa. Face so round & lips so defined.

hi qq & prata queen

wow...both the gers r so cute n adorable...

does dr heng does epistomy and is her stitches skills painful?

my bb still happily inside, while i am getting impatient liao...sighs

hahaha kitsune thanks all my frds and relatives came and see her 1st thing they say my gal and me photocopy one haha

kel ... her stitches is good but I got piles so now walk so difficult sit lie down oso same