(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mylife,

Aiya, I think it's normal to feel clingy to your hb lah. =) Don't think of yourself as useless. But yes, I do become more clingy to my hb ever since I got preggie and especially more now. If 2 months is your initial plan, then stick with it. For a new father like your hb to be away from his wife and his daughter, also difficult for him lah.

If I can, I also want to bring my baby to travel along with my hb in Feb. But baby too young and not convienent, so I won't do so. At least for u, u have a house in HK. Much easier. =) Which part of HK do u stay in? My bro stay in Chek Lup Kok (Lantau island). My parents said the air there is better, and they hate to go to crowded places like Mongkok. Don't go to crowded places with your baby unless really required.

Don't worry too much. Stay strong for your little darling ma =)

violetice
dont feel bad abt giving pacifier lah. as long as it makes bb happy. anyway next time can just wean him off it
anything to keep your sanity for now!

mylife
well if manual pumps arent too expensie, maybe u can buy 1 to try? but when i started out, also few drops of milk only mah. but i continue using PIS to pump n pump, n now my ss is quite decent liao. anyway i pump every 3-4 hrs - basically after i try latching my girl i will always pump, cos she either never suck properly or only take 1 breast only, so i definitely hv to pump to increase ss. anyway dont worry so much. u hv only started pumping lately rite? ur ss sure will increase one. just pump after every feed! if ur girl wake up 2 hrs wanna feed again, by then ur milk will be in again. otherwise, just offer both sides n she shd hv enuf rite? since now u say she take 1 side only

pixel,

I too worry about induce suddenly become emergency c-sec. But for me, I am hitting my 40 weeks in 2 days' time. Will discuss with my gynae again on Tue when I see her. If really need to (Due to whatever reasions), then I will still go for it. Don't want to wait too long and put my bb at risk too.

But your sis went for 2.5 days of labour ah? Poor her. =(

if my gynae say induce, i would opt fot c-sect straightaway as i dun wan to end up with emergency c-sect if cervic dun dilate despite being induced

mylife,
I remember from the breastfeeding seminar that if BB have 6-8 times poo and pee, that means she had enough food.

Maybe my hb may continue to work overseas after all. If he is confirmed, I think I also only joined him when BB ard 6-8 mos. Same as angelsky, get all the major vaccinations (the major ones)

Ahcapp,
My bb also doesnt move much for 2 days, after I slap my tummy and scold him for making me painful with his kicks. Then I get worried and feel bad. Now he is back in his action.. kicking and moving away.. now I dun dare to scold him anymore. :p

Luvv, no choice leh... its better to suffer for 4mths for good den regret....

Jacelyn, ok.. think we can only meet after giving birth bah... maybe the next gathering with all our little one....

Ahcapp, thanks... Will call them up after my appt tml....

Kitsune, monitor and see how... if pain continue, maybe give ur gynae a call....

Icy,

When I pat my tummy, my hb will make noise and said I am beating his baby. =P Don't scold your baby lah, tell your little darling to be good and come join u and your hb to celebrate CNY lah. =)

Jacely,

hehehe.. I will be repeating your words in about 2 days' time. ;P

Cheryl,

I will check with my gynae what is my chance of being induced and yet not dilated enough for natural birth. I have been about 1cm dilated for past 1 week.

jus now aft feedg right breast, i pumped left breast and got 40ml. Yay...slight increment. But aft dat, bb wake up to feed, got a little panic cos i jus finished pumpg and emptied the breast but miraculously, when bb sucks, still have leh..

Icy
wah...u also think shud join hubby only when bb is past 6months ah? Sigh...

michelle
thanks. My gf jus consoled me saying her gushing milk flow only came during her 3rd week. So she asked me to persevere..guess i'll go for fenugreek on my 3rd week bah. Will dat be too late? Shud i go for it now? Think my supply still considered on the low side hor?

ahcapp/jacelyn
your gynaes shud be able to tell u if your cervix is ripened enuff to try for induce and natural birth. My fren's gynae straight away tell her, go for c-sect cos her cervix is not ripen at all, even if induce will also go for emergency c-sect cos if cervix not ripened, wont even dilate at all even thru induction.

ahcapp
forgot to answer your question on HK. I stay in Kowloon side. Haiz, how can i not worry, effectively mommies must protect their little ones ma. I worry her little lungs get polluted. Dont say babies, even adults also, dat time i was preggie and flying to and fro HK-SG for my checkups, always feel distinctively different when we step back to HK. Anyway i can strengthen her lungs? We cannot move to Lantau Island or the New Territories (of which the air is definitely better and cleaner) cos too far away from hubby's workg place. He starts work at 7am. Anyway, my bro-in-law si beh bo liao, say dont worry, if babies start young in HK, can develop immunities...<font size="+1">*SIAO*</font>

<font color="0077aa">Luvv,

I am giving my boy Friso too
I heat up EBM using avent warmer.
As for investing Fridge-To-Go, yes i thot of that but dunno which brand to buy? Do we need a cooler bag to store them so that during CNY, we can bring them along too? Thinking of bringing so many barangs incl diaper bag &amp; breast pump during new year visiting can be very tiring hor.

Chaye,
yup, the CalVit-D3 take 2 tablets daily. I take in the morning after breakfast.

Re:touch water
i also touch water le. Go toilet need to wash, morning need to brush teeth &amp; face, need to wash bb bottles &amp; sterilise..i even do some washing of my nursing bras loh. My mum did warn me abt touching water will cause numbness &amp; i actually do feel my left fingers numb wor...dunno izit the side effects due to touching water

<font color="ff6000">mylife,
JIA YOU...u r doing fine, low supply is better than no supply. Supply will eventually increase de. At least, yr baby is happily latching &amp; getting enuff. Tomolo i will try to latch &amp; see if bb Zander will reject anot. So far, i managed to pump 150ml from both breast combined. I pump &amp; emptied my breast 3 times daily but still engorged
maybe have to try pump more frequently.

AhCapp,
i am starting my massage tomolo cos Mdm Rokiah say there is an empty slot in the morning &amp; ask if i want it so i grab instead of waiting one more day. I told her abt my engorgement &amp; she say she will look at my breast to access the treatment. Will feedback to u aft the session!</font>

Re: flabby tummy, stretch marks &amp; weight

All mommies,
Be it natural birth or c-sect, do u all face flabby tummy? Any stretch marks appear aft birth? My red wavy stretch marks still there (lower abdomen) &amp; is obvious de loh

Before preggy i weigh only 49kg, b4 delivery 62kg, after birth 58kg, still got 9kg left!

mylife,

Oh yes, my gynae did told me that my baby is lying low and that since I am already 1cm dilated, I don't need so many "tablets" for dilation. She said maybe put in 2 and she will get me to walk around to get the dilation to take effect. Hmm.. I nearly forgotten about it. Thanks for your reminder, will check with her again on Tue.

Kowloon air is definately crap. =S I personaly think the final decision should still come from BOTH you and your hb with regards to the relocation of your baby. Still have time to finalise your deision right? Perhaps assess the situation again when your baby reaches full month. =) Discuss with your hb again. Everything can work out. Don't stress yourself too much over this especially since you are trying your establish your BF.

Don't listen to what others (i.e. your Bro in law) say about your decision. U and your hb are your little darling's parents. Both of u will make the decision here.

Steph,

Now I am worried what if I have to go for c sec and can't do the massage till much later. Then totally no effect on me lah. *Sigh*

Anyway, I read at her blog that Mdm Rokiah can help massage to get ride of the engorgement. Don't forget to enjoy the session as it's supposed to help u relax too. =)

steph
thanks alot for the encouragement
For me, no engorgement, haiyah, like michelle said really different set of problems for all of us. For engorgement, u <font color="ff0000">really really</font> have to massage and massage and massage!!! Dont jus pump only, MUST MUST massage and i'm sure u get even more than 150ml leh becos if it's still engorged means still got milk "trapped" inside so it's not thoroughly emptied.

Re: Touching water
ACtually even my gynae told me must must keep myself warm during confinement cos she's also trained in TCM. As for washing hands, i think a while can bah!

would like to ask c-sect mommies...does your wound still bleed? Thurs went to my gynae's office and have the gauze removed. But till now left side of my wound still got bleed a bit...prob due to me overexert during the useless CL i had. But till now still got bleed.

Mylife,

Sorry but when you ladies talk about massage the breasts to relive the engorgement, is there a special method? I was thinking of getting my hb to learn now so that he can help me.

alamak! dilema liao like that ... induce not successful have to c sect sigh ..... I hope i need not have to do that wor .... *pray*

steph
of cos tummy still flabby lah...u think magic meh, overnight disappear ah?
The uterus is slowly shrinking back to pre-preggie size after TEN months of stretching to accommodate bb mah.
Dats where the post natal massage and BF are supp to help! But hor, i heard the massage can be quite painful one leh!

I dont have any stretch marks, but well, the pigment vertical line is still there.

QQ,

Me in same boat here.. or should I say, might face the situation here. I can only hope that my bb will come out naturally on his own lor.

I guess height, big hips and walking alot don't really help in my situation. Walk till my feet swell during my whole project also have to face this fate. =S

Ahcapp
actually, there's no ONE way to massage, when Mrs Wong came to help me massage in TMC, she also jus massage the breast around...jus feel the lumps and try to "disburse" it by massaging on it, around it, etc. It's painful cos the lumps can be really hard. Mine not so engorged and i managed to "massage" it away liao. Maybe cos my supply is low.

Mylife,

Ok, thanks.

Aiya, don't always say your supply is low or suspect something is wrong with your supply lah. Must stay positive ok. =) When it's my turn, u ladies have to give me moral support too ok!

pixie
My gynae only on leave MOn to Wed. Sat I gg again, by then my gynae back liao. Eunice chua good? Anyway only got 2 to choose from... Heee...

mylife
Dun worry abt your milk ss. I din pump out much last time. My girl oso hardly drink. I think end up will get too stressed. Have 6 to 8 wet and poo diapers v good liao. Some pple v lucky have a lot of milk, some takes time to build the ss. So if you wan, try to pump inbetween session lor.

Ahcapp,
Massage circular motion. Can feel lumps, just gently massage. The side of your breast (under your arms) oso got a lot of milk ducts, massage, massage.

blackbatz,

Thanks. =) Will put my hb's hands into action when required. He has been great with my poor swollen feet so far.. *LOL*

Btw, I got my toothpaste and the desitin nappy cream. So happy =)

Steph - yes, my bb was born in the morning at 7plus am. You know, my wedding anniversary is on 8 Jan ok! My hubby and family members all say baby should come out then. But i told baby not to as I want to celebrate seperately. Haha...so guess he listened to me :p

Breast engorgement - I guess I suffered from it in the 2 days that my baby was in hospital for jaundice treatment. Indeed very suffering and I could not pump out very effectively too. So glad that my baby is home to latch on again. So far he latches on quite well, but it's just that the drinking takes pretty long. One feed can last like 45 min at times...and I don't know if it's enough for him! I suppose I try to see if he poos and pee and also the interval between the next feed. Anywayz, I think I have to consider buying a breast pump alr just in case.

Baby's poo - what's the colour of your baby's poo so far for those that bf totally?

Its been 2 days already since I last logged on... there is so much to catch up.

CONGRATS to all mommies who popped!
For those tat are still waiting... GANBATTE ya.

steph

Do you find the avent warmer good? Im thinking of getting one.

My tummy is flabby but cant do anything abt it now. I will only start my post natal massage on the 21st Jan. Dunno if it will be too late to firm up anot. *sigh*

Mylife,
Supply takes time to build up, you're doing fine already.

Read from Jan 08 issue of Mother &amp; Baby.
<u><font color="0000ff">Pumping</font></u>
Keep up milk supply. You have to pump as often as your baby nurses - <font color="ff0000"><u>every 2 to 3 hours.</u></font>

congrats fishia!

yesterday i receive sms from a colleague of another dept that her bb(due 1 wk later than my bb) was born on 12th jan... haiz... we always tot i b first to pop(becos of my edd &amp; bb size too) but suddenly she become first to pop wor... i told my bb shame on u ah.... hehehe.. :p

Ahcapp &amp; icy, i m still here... so sad..
i nearly tot finally my bb cooperate liao cos this morning at 4am having cramps at 20mins interval then become 10mins interval &amp; get me so excited so i told hb to wait until 9am (cos 5hrs by then) &amp; if consistent 5-10mins think this time is real....but who knows?!?! after 9am, the pain stop wor... sianz... now giving my bb another few hrs to decide her own fate to come out herself b4 i c gynae tmr afternoon &amp; decision will not b on her choice liao wor...

btw Ahcapp, i also have the same problem as u... my bb very lazy since 39wks... probably too fat?!?... she doesnt move as much as b4... but gynae say must ensure 10 movement a day.... so u can shake ur tummy to force them to move.. it works for me leh... ;)

mon2nat, wow ur gynae quite 'relax' leh... mine like very worry of my bb size too big for me to handle esp he know i wanted natural birth... btw, does walking help? i walk a lot today to c few IDs for my new house &amp; climb stairs up &amp; down a few times but hor.. no effect one leh.... sianz...

jacelyn, do keep us update of your progress tmr! let's hope for miracle to happen!

kitsune, how r u today? i think quickly write out your handover list &amp; pass to colleagues bah cos it's better to do it early than late... as for counting freq... for me, i refer back to my antenatal notes &amp; note down the time(hh:mm) for every pain interval then get the difference... not sure correct or not leh? but to me is as long as pain is bearable &amp; not like every 2mins, shd b the early phase bah.... my hb same as urs... woke up at 8am &amp; tell me.. "if u want to go hospital then wake me up oke..." then he continue to zzzz...

mylife,
That is what I considering, But anyway also because if hb go over (maybe tpe) also must settle housing and moving etc. Cos I understand sg have some compulsory injections.. and I also scare I cant cope with BB alone. Anyway everything also not confirmed, I just plan plan only.

superbee,

At least u have some kind of 'signs' =) Mine is like nothing, nothing at all. Hahaha.. Tmrw u have to decide whether to induce already ah? So fast? Your gynae don't allow u to wait a few more days after the due date? If I need to induce, I want to ask my gynae if I can give my baby a few days b4 we induce. Perhaps our babies are just a bit too happy in our tummies, so we should give them a chance ma.

I also walk a lot. Walk till feet swell also like this. hahahah give up liao!

Oh, shaking tummy works ah? hehehehe ok! Will do so. ^_^

mom2nat,

Oh yes, I was reading about "nipple stimulation" over at babycentre.co.uk just now! *LOL* Goosh, my hb will be really excited if I tell him now.. *LOL*

mom2nat, i tried leh (though not sure i did it correct or not) but hor no effect too.... i also tried to squat a few times pretending to pick things up but also no use leh...

AhCapp, i got 'signs' but all false alarm(2nd time liao wor)... u heard b4 the wolf coming story?!?! hb &amp; i felt 'bluff' by bb leh... so if the 3rd time happen, i wonder hb will believe me/bb... :p well, gynae say latest by wed to induce.. but i want to get it over soon so that i can still celebrate cny leh.... hehehe... :p ya loh my legs(thighs) r twice my original size leh.... so scary... hope i can resume my original slim legs ah.... oh yes, shake ur tummy &amp; tell bb to move, they will move!

Superbee
my gyane say ah, can take a few days or more! Fainted... He say cos stimulation the nipple release some blah blah, the same thing they use in inducton, but of cos we stimulate the amt come out is tiny lah.

Ahcapp ya ... now i think think very sianz and scare oso ...

just now at my in laws there told her tat 18 might need to induce. She ask why dun want natural wow lau .... who dun want right?... so funny one .... then keep telling me induce very painful one leh ... as if natural Not painful meh??? sigh why they dun understand!

Thanks, Ah Capp for posting the message for me.

Joyce/SuperBee, no pain now but I worry about at night, pain always seem to come at night and wake me from my sleep. :p Yup, will start handing over tomorrow. Already got 8 pages worth of notes. Hee.

Mylife, VioletIce, my cousin also had the same problem with BB crying for attention. This one is her no. 2 and what she does is that she will talk and pat BB until he falls asleep again but just don't carry BB. Maybe you can see if this works.

mom2nat sigh they think we want this want that but in fact we are not loh ... so sad right ..... i am already feeling down liao cos Gotta induce ..... then she say that things which makes me even upset

Mom2nat,

Your comment on radio knob makes me laugh! =D *LOL* Will give it a try.. hahahahaha

Superbee,

My colleague told me to use the 'squating' kind of toilet. It will als help. I have stopped using such toilets for the past few weeks. Once I squat, I have to hold onto the walls in order to get up. Cannot man. I scare I will fall into the toilet bowl instead. *LOL*

Sometimes, I also want to get it over and done with. But well, it's really up to my bb now liao.

QQ &amp; Mom2nat,

A lot of people can say a lot of stuff because they are not the ones going thru the labour process ma. Quite a few male colleagues told me not to use epidural because of side effects. I was thinking, wah, I am the one who has to bear the pain man. I will do it my way.

QQ,

Don't feel down by what your MIL say ok. You are the one going thru labour, not her. Decide what you want for yourself. =)

Ahcapp ... ok .... will try to be happy .....

btw ya I oso never use the squatting toilet bowl already ... cos my inner thigh is painful ,.... i cant walk big steps oso very pain

i am new and would like to join in this forum, now expecting my first baby and EDD is 28 Jan.

congrats to all the mummies! and for the rest MTBs, pls hang on &amp; take care.... me also in the waiting game...

QQ, ya don't be upset by what your MIL said. They belong to the generation where they don't even get to see BB or know the gender until they are born. Last time, 'nan chan' also very common cos don't know what's going on inside tummy until time to deliver. Induction to them is unnatural and anything new or unnatural is no good. She's probably said it based on their own ancient experience. My mum is also like that, 'lau' auntie type. Haha.

QQ,

Jia you... Dun be dishearted by MIL words.

Superbee,

Surely i will keep u updated on my progress tml. Haiz, the da gnna be over, still no signs of labour at all...

Anybody here experienced the NUK latex teats discoloured after a few times of sterilisation? Is tat normal? How often must I change new teats?

violetice,
i forgot to mention that NEO GARDEN gives 10% or 15% for full mth celebrations catering. got to fax them ur bb's bc, i tink.

Lynn,
u can try NEO GARDEN, their food not bad, quite nice.. my gfs used their svc and i tink it's quite nice tasting...

Kel,
WELCOME, WELCOME!!!

Fishia,
<font color="ff0000">Congratulations!!! c ya back here soon...</font>