(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mom2nat

we dont drive, anyway MAH is 5-min drive from my place so not a problem.

ur #1 also went past EDD ah? hehehe..

i read somewhere that gynae can insert this tablet to ripen the cervix. then put meds in drip to start inducing labour. is that how induction works?

Hi Mummies to be,
I also still waiting. Told bb might as well 16 Jan then come out, then wont crash with CNY for full mth celebrations..

I think I getting moody and bored, sometimes go slap my tummy because darm angry that he kick so hard..

Windy
I oso not sure, I only know drip is induction lor.
My #1 born 40wks 6 days. End up hb and me always sing tat tune from Jacky Cheung song, I wait until the flower wither.
Weekends coming, I so tempted to go shopping, can't imagine the next month stuck at home... Hmmm...

Luvv,
40 days not bad liao. My mum says no seafood for 4 months.

It's always best to avoid seafood like prawns, crab, etc after operation. They may cause allergic reaction like itchiness around the wound.

Mom2nat,
My boy's excitement died down liao. After I brought BB home, I thought that I had to move to my MIL's place for my confinement. Luckily, after 1 day, he was more well behaved. Won't talk so loudly etc..

Ask questions like "why is it a di di, not mei mei?" "why not 2 babies?"

Windy/Mom2nat,

full term baby are easier to take care and less risk of jaundice right?

2nd time mummies more stress, got to jagar #1 also. But good thing that you're more experienced with NB.

Sassy,
I don't think it's the anti-keloid scar patch. Small white plasters which she pasted on the wound during the operation.

As for anti-keloid scar patch, she will probably give it to me at my next review.

Blackbatz,
your #1 so cute, he seems quite understanding.

icy,
don't feel so bored, enjoy your rest and peace now..hehe or do online shopping!!

windy,
Not so much stuff to buy for Baby Boy, especially the online stuff seemed to be winter clothes now.

I just decided to buy a Clarin toning oil from strawberrynet. Tomorrow then nag hb to bring me out shopping.

Windy
Hahahah... your mom so funny!!!
My #1 girl, #2 boy. Yours girl or boy?

Blackbatz
My girl v sticky to me, I can't move out of the house. I din pick her up from the sch bus she howl all the way home until my neighbour can hear. So just now I went to wait for her.
I guess sure a lot of qns... I hope I wont get "fan" by them.

Luvv
Yes, I think fullterm babies easier. My girl was bigger, she can prop up her head since day 1. So I carry her oso easier.
YOur aunt doing your confinement ah?

Got a qn to ask, if my confinement runs into CNY, isit pple wont come visit me? And if they come, they give bb and #1 ang bao, i no need to give them? Or I give them after my confinement over?

Luvv

we juz envy mummies who have popped and have something at hand to fuss about lah.. haha!! i think mummies will say we shen zai fu zhong bu zhi fu.. wait till we kenna the 10 million feeds in the middle of the night hor? kekeke.. grass is always greener on the other side. ;)

blackbatz,
Yeah. I am the one that recomended Fostre.

sassy,
I hidding under your bed lah. LOL~ Now my mum staying with me, wonder will she impose all those "rules" or not. Anyway, everytime over dinner I kept telling her "aiya, ang moh also no confinement, bb & mummy also fit & healthy." Then she replied "ya lor, modern ppl where got such thingy one. Cleanliness v impt". So, if in the event she gonna impose any of those "ridiculous" rule on me, I sure suan and SCREAM!!!. Hehe... Thats the benefit of having ma ma and not MIL.

Luvv/Blackbatz.. Kids can be so adoable esp the questions they asked! eally cute! Talking abtt pineapple tats... i love them too.. haz.. cant eat at confinment and some moe 40 days.. faint! I love them so much and have not been eating the past 9mths of my pegnancy......haz... sian men...

icy

erm... ok... no online shopping then.. go read ALL the threads on this forum. i am doing that now. last min try to absorb as much info as possible, then later not so karang kabok..
must keep mind occupied.

afternoons go kiddypalace at toa payoh!! super huge place.. i love that place... every product take and read/touch/smell. yes i am tat bored.

mom2nat

mine's a girl. wah u clever leh.. #1 girl then boy, then can close factory le!!

wah #1 can prop head from day 1 ah.. how heavy was she at birth?

blackbatz,

The white gauze with waterproof stick-on??? Ya... ask for the anti-keloid scar patch during your next review, i herad good reviews on it. For how long do you think we should avoid seafood after operation? I love seafood!!!

Luvv,

Why no pineapple tarts? Pineapple tarts are supposingly to be heaty CNY goodies rite? Even for mommies doing confinement, I think its alright to eat them lor. haha... IMO hor.

Valencia,
Are they good? My hubby is thinking of using them for full month celebration.

Fern,
Luckily I ate the pneapple tarts before I popped.

sassy/luvv
i rented my machine from this company call PEP. Supposedly come highly recommended by my PD's clinic, they say the guy very nice will even come down at night if machine needs help. Anyway, both of u used the eye shield ah? me didnt use it for rylee cos the machine comes with a piece of cloth thingy attached. They say that is sufficient liao.

Poor rylee is so suffering inside. Can feel her skin is so soft yet have to subject her to the heat of the machine. Really sim tia. Can i ask both of u did your babies have very prominent dry flaky skin when doing the treatment. So scary. Usually she feeds like every 3 hourly, but yday night (1st night in machine) she kept waking up like every hour, dunno whether it's really hunger or not, or is it thirst? Very confusing for me, cos my PD say no need to feed water cos i think my BM established better liao, but the guy who delivered the machine asked me to feed water cos babies undergoing this treatment sure very dry. SIgh...dunno who to listen to. PD discouraged me to feed water leh. But when i tried feeding her water, she doesnt seem to wan. I am suspecting Rylee recognised only during feeds, she gets to come out, so maybe she keh-keh. But when latched on, she sucked nicely leh...really at a loss now but must persevere for her own good.

My baby jaundice level also same as Luvv's - 16. Sassy, how come urs 200++ one? Wat measurement is it?

That time i stayed 1 extra day in hospital, Rylee spent entire day at treatment, jaundice went down really fast from 12.5 to 5.7! So we get discharged. Dunno why go back home risen up to 16 again..cos for past few days kept raining, no sun to suntan her! Btw, my PD also asked me to put her inside 24hours and taken out only for feeds and bath.

red.rose
i also did c-sect with epi. Wound still pain at certain angle. Like sassy, also mostly left side. Yday went checkup with gynae, she said i got lots of bruising, so she gave me antibiotics to prevent infection. She said dats cos i walked and prob stress too much on baby liao. I think also mainly due to past few days i unhappy with CL so tried doing things myself. Sometimes get up and down from bed also never do the "proper" way ie roll to side and slowly push yourself up.

Sassy
i also keen to start my postnatal massage but same as u, scared to affect my wound. I heard that these massages quite painful one cos the masseuse will really massage u very very hard to push water retention and shrink the uterus...painful even for natural birth mommies, cannot imagine for us c-sect mommies!! I asked my gynae and she said usually 2 weeks after c-sect, safe to do liao...and she said usually these masseuse will be more gentle and "know wat to do" for c-sect mommies wor...dunno true or not lo. Wahhh..u delivered so much earlier than me, till now also painful?

mom2nat
yah lo...my anaesthetist not very "jai" also..i seriously lost count of the number of tries cos i was trying very hard to calm myself down by repeating the mantra "this will come to pass" and praying she gets it in quick and not having to be told, u're not qualified for epi, must go GA. So each time poked liao, must bear and kept asking nurse if it's done.

wendy
you must have delivered by now...<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">CONGRATS IN ADVANCE!!</font></font>

violetice
i didnt get to pump out from yday and today cos rylee was squirming and asking for lots of feeds due to the fototherapy treatment..scared if i pump breast no milk to latch her on for "emergency sucking" session. So as of now, i still dunno how much i'm producing in the morning. Ask u hor, u said u pump in the morning to roughly gauge your production, so the EBM, u store and when do u feed baby with it? Midnite feed?

mom2nat

re CNY, pple can come visit u if u're doing confinement, but u cannot visit pple. some pple esp those who bai shen will be offended.

but when pple visit u, try not to let them go into your bedrm. my MIL say wan.. she say my bedroom 'dirty' wor...

re ang baos, i think can give lah.. MIL no tell me dont give wor.. if only can dont give.. muahahahhahaa.. tough luck lor. i think must still give.

Sassy,
Are you using the anti-keloid scar patch then? My gyane did mentioned that she would give me at the next review when all the white stickers have dropped off.

<font color="ff0000">Luvv's aunt says no seafood for 40 days. My mum says <u>4 mths</u> (and she reminded me yesterday)</font>.

I really can't remember. As long as your skin is not the sensitive type / prone to itchiness. After 40 days, should be alright. Always eat moderate amount, not go for seafood feast and eat 2 kg of crabs / prawns.

me still around, I think got a long wait more to go. Now everyday I will go walk around the estate to help build stamina, pass time and also hopefully help bb to engage faster. The last check up on Tuesday, doc say bb still not engaged, so guess got to wait.

My best pal was telling me, if my hubbie cant make it back, she can go in with me, but then I was telling her I dont want her to freak coz she is also trying to conceive, later her hubbie blame me if she say dont want to have already.

Fern, I also hate VE, everytime the doc does it, I will flinch and the nurse will have to keep reassuring me, anyway giving birth really like ganna molest like that, so many pple will look at your private area, its really no more privacy lo.

Now everyday, I will bath twice and wash my hair and then put moisturizer, coz I know when deliver all these will become priviledge. Good thing, my mum is quite trendy, so I will still continue to bath and wash my hair, but then with herbs la. I really admire those who can tong so long without. BUt good thing, these few days weather still quite good.

mylife,
my PD ask us to keep baby hydrated as he say the machine will make baby very dry, so i give her lots of water and try to feed her more milk. She doesn't wake up that often and i find that she becomes quite sleepy. Yesterday night decided to put her there, We tried not to cover her eyes but try to stuff lots of towels to cover any possible holes to prevent the light from seeping through. But got to check on her quite frequently, after her feed at 4am, we let her sleep with us as we were too tired.

This morning, the sun is good, so ask hubby to sun her for 15 mins interval for about an hour, sunlight really more effective, can see her jaundice not so obvious already.

red rose
I actually asked for the binder from the hospital so they can wrap it around my tummy area and it actually helps with the pain. I also feel the pain on the left side, gynae said it's bec that's where the knot is. Anyway, my personal preference is to lie flat, less painful. Lying on the side is like giving more pressure on the wound so I prefer to lie flat.

Luvv
My mum said the same time. 40 days without seafood and some other stuffs like cucumber, banana, things with "ni".

mylife
Yup, I stored them for CL to feed during nights. Actually, the demand=supply is very true. Don't worry about emergency feeds, your breasts will continue to produce milk even though you have finished pumping. For e.g. I pumped each breast for 15 mins, when both is done, if I go back to the breast I pumped in the beginning, it will still have some supply. So no worries about that. Also, with regard to foto therapy, my pd also asked us to give some water bec they will dehydrate under that light. My baby also not a big fan of plain water but forced him to drink lor, no choice. I also realized he's more tanned after foto therapy.

blackbatz

Im still putting on the anti-keloid scar patch now. Its waterproof and it also serves as a protection when i bathe. LOL
I rather play safe and eat it later. Dun wish to expose my wound to possible infections from eating seafood. Simply not worth it!!!

mylife,

Photolight therapy

Babies undergoing photolight therapy tends to be more dehydrated and cry for more feeds. If Rylee's usual feeding intervals are 3 hrs apart then now it should be around 2 hrs or less. I didn't feed Danelle with any water, strictly BM. Whenever she crys, I will carry her out and latched on. She will then suckle for 15-20 mins then go back to sleep. And the routine goes on... Their skin is very very dry when exposed to such intense light but it should go away after the treatment and bath. I am also not sure why the index level for jaundice is so different. I think its just like temperature, some uses degree celsius and other farenheit.

C-sect wound

Im feeling much better now already, at least I think my left side is recovering. Every single movement I do is always with care. ie, getting up and down the bed or from sofa. I dare not jump onto my bed or even toss and turn like before... *sigh* I wonder if this is gonna affect my future INTIMATE momenets with my DH. hehe

Postnatal Massage

I am gonna start my post natal massage ritual on the 21st Jan. By then, its around 5 weeks after my operation liao... should be alright la.

CL

How is your CL? Got drive you crazy? Are you intending to retuen her and request for a new one?

mylife
Yah lor, I read your blog, then I tot sounded like me. When my Anae told me "your epidural failed".. I got chills down my spine "Huh... then how? GA ah?" Tat kind of feeling ah!
You C sec, how much is your hosp bill ah?

Windy
Close shop ah... My hb last night still ask me abt #3. Fainted...

Olden days pple hor, v pantang, even your hb oso cant' sleep in the same room as you for tat month, cos so called "dirty"... but wat the heck, my hb even help me wash undies.

Just to comment on the buffet caterer I engaged for my baby full month. Pls do not order from 'Liang Food Caterer'.
I was initially interested in it because it does not charge for transport cost. I have a very bad experience with it reason being :-
(1)The food came 2 hours earlier than the promised time.
(2)I ordered 10 dishes but it just gave me 3 warmers. The rest of the food was cold before my guest arrive.
(3)I ordered for 60pax but the food was just enough for 30pax.
(4)The food taste so-so only.
(5)I called in to make a complaint but the caterer gave all sort of reasons/excuses and he did not even apologise.
I felt so ashame to have these lousy food to serve my guests so my hubby spent another $200+ on KFC and pizza delivery. Guess what? All the food was empty after the function. What if we did not order extra ? The function was held last month but the angry feeling is still with me. So I decided to post in this forum to warn you all regarding this caterer.

For those who had the Hong Sheng Seafood Restaurant's menu, be rest assured tat the food will always be enough... in fact always surplus. When i ordered the min. 30 pax, the food can actually feed around 45 people lor but need to top up extra paper plates and cups cos they will only provide sufficient for 30-35pax...

JUst received an sms from wendyg. She has delivered her boy Tobey Yong at 11.01am via C sect. 4.5kg!!!!!
Congrats!!!! Wah, nice date, nice time... all the same!

CONGRATS WENDY!!! Pls post pics of your huge BB here and rest well.

WOW, a whopping 4.5kg... This is the biggest baby ive ever heard of. I wonder how long is her c-sect wound???

violetice,

No leh, didn't receive. I think the PM is not working. Can you post yr email addy here?

Re:C-Sect Wound

I do not have the anti-keloid scar patch leh. After discharge from hospital, I returned to see gynae 1 week later to remove the bandage and he didn't give me any patch to put on. I asked him if it's ok to shower like that, he told me it's recovering nicely so why cannot shower? He gave me a Dermatix Silicone spray that helps the scar to recover nicely. Heard it's used for plastic surgery too..

hi windy
we decided to tell agent 2 chg for us liao...cos really buay tahan...yday went 2 pd discover another boo boo of her..pd say cord has not been cleansed properly &amp; promptly showed us ..he prescribed a dry powder on top of the cord spirit. so from yday onwards..im doing the cord cleaning myself..really scared cos its dangling ...but if let the cl do lagi worse ah!

anyone of u BF-ing experience this? When i bf one one breast, the other side BM will start to trickle. Is this wat they call a letdown? Wat shud we do ah? jus wipe it off?

mylife
Tat is not let down. Letdown hor, is like a gush of milk coming out from the breast your bb drinking or pumping. A lot of milk coming out, mah chiam the dam door open.

violetice, sassy, luvv
really diff PD diff opinions hor? Mine also like sassy...told me DO NOT feed water, BM is sufficient.

Sassy
rylee usually feeds at 3 hourly interval, but now it's haywire! Sometimes 2 hours, sometimes 1 hour, jus now even jus 20-30 mins! My mom kept telling me to feed water. Sigh. Dunno wat to do.

Can i check with u all regarding poo issues? Rylee has been having VERY frequent bowel movement leh! Dunno whether it's considered as diarrhoea or not. It's not that watery, but sometimes u can hear a fart and out comes a little bit of fart..no longer meconium but yellowish. Not exactly water, but watery. Now i also dunno if she's feeding becos of the diarrhoea or dehydration from the treatment.

wowwwwwwwwwwwww 4.5 really big leh ... congrats wendy rest well!!!

windy regarding CNY my mum told me if ppl visit me no need give AP ... can keep the AP that ppl give to baby kekeke .... cos my mum say ppl think is dirty wor ..... but close one like immediate family need to give relatives no need wor

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">WAHHHHH...congrats to Wendy for having such a big baby!!</font></font>

Pics and birth story pls wendy!! Jiayou!

jus called the PD's office for advice on Rylee. They say cud be due to stomach wind. Haiz. Really got to tong one more night before i bring her down to clinic tom to review her jaundice. So worried.