(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

violetice,

the pdf file is too big to upload here... sorry. if u want, give me ur email addy. i can email to u.

sassy
if bb suck & fall asleep & it falls out of her mouth, she may wake up & cry coz she can't put it back on her own right. So your sleep also interrupted coz u gotto replace the pacifier for her. hard to locate in the dark, but there are those glo-in-the-dark type.
and another thing to wean when they reach certain age. Wean off your breasts, wean off bm, wean off milk etc...

some ang-mo articles recommend introducing her thumb instd of pacifier. She can locate her thumb on her own if it falls out of her mouth.

Sassy,
My #1 was given pacifier when he was in NICU. Only managed to wean him off when he was 3/1/2 yrs old. It was his lifeline..

We couldn't wean him off. Finally, his teacher at JG told him that pacificer would affect his pronunication. Then he took it seriously and stop using pacifier.

wendy/blackbatz

Mmmhhhh..... sounds like it is very difficult to wean off once introduced... as for sucking thumb, i feel tat its quite unhygenic leh.

Wendy and joyce,

My mother in law also make the CHICKEN OIL for me. But it is not as oily as u all descript. Think she added water to it. Heard that it is very nutritious one!

Sassy,
Hand / pacifier, don't start. Once start, very hard to wean off.

Wonder how is Mylife getting on today?

Rebonding
Mummies:
Once confinement over, can rebond?

wendy/joyce/jacelyn,
i oso have been drinking the chix oil.. it's actually using black chix with some chinese herbs rite? my mom made for me n i've been drinking since in my teens cos it's supposed to be v good for recuperating body... i don't find it oily leh...

prata_queen,
thks for the nursery ryhmes lobang.. do u have to d/l one song at a time or they will automatically d/l all the songs? i'm like d/l one at a time... v time consuming

I think after confinement should be alright to do rebonding.... Cos i also intent to color mya hair after confinement. Think this chinese new year we will be doing our confinement at home!!!

Godsent, I also d/l song by song. Tiring but I dun tink there is a shortcut to this lei. I find the sound qlty not bad.

QQ, I have loads of things to do to my hair (ceremaic perm + highlight) but if I continue bf, I will delay the chemical treatments.

Jacelyn, as the days go past Jan 7, the reality that we will be spending CNY doing confinement has set in. I can’t believe I’m going to miss all the CNY fun this year. My family, young cousins usually gather for nightly card sessions from eve to CHU SAN.

Mcfluffy, Jacelyn has posted the link.

Pacifier or thumb, I am hoping that my ger will not get into the habit, my sis had her pacifer for quite a long time. But the old folks always say when they cry and you are desperate you will try all sorts of things to get them to sleep which books will tell you no, like rock them, carry them non stop, pacifier la. So what are we actually supposed to do, just dont introduce any at all right? I did not buy pacifier so far le, though my mum kept asking me to have some on stand by.

Rebonding, actually I very tempted to color the ends of my hair before I deliver le, then rebond after confinement or during confinement. If color the ends and not the scalp should be ok right? Coz I trying to grow out my color hair, so thiking of coloring black at the ends.

Hehehe, I now waiting for all the chinese new year fairs to start, then stock up on some goodies and munch during confinement. Actually bought all the love letters, pineapple tarts already, just on the look out for this pork floss roll, coz I lost the contact number to order and also dont know where to order from. I am so greedy.

sassy: i also wan e menu.. can email to mi

blackbatz & Jacelyn: mi also wanna do rebondin & color.. heheee!
but if we bf can do ma?

Jacelyn: No worries, e Mt.A confinement food was yummy! i dont kw if they serve longan red date tea becos i hav my own so i didnt ask them, they got hot & cold plain water.. they serve milo during teatime.

Mcfluffy: i dont kw is it e OL ward anyway i remember e ward no is 332B 2bedded and 328 one bedded. heehee! e 1bedded is e best..

Me another mum who doesnt want bb to use pacifier and sarong (yao lan). Thus, so far hafen bought pacifier and sarong stand.

But I may give in when baby is born and I'm suffering from sleep-deprivation.

Didnt log in for many days as I am finally a mummy too!!..

My little princess Shayne Ong is borned on 7 Jan 08 morning, weighing 2.9kg. She came so early that it caught us unexpected.
Will update her birth story when i have time. meanwhile, i will be busy looking after her as i dont have a confinement nanny and my husband is working.

<font color="aa00aa">congrats!! wow! u must rest too!! natural birth?</font>

<font color="ff0000">POP LIST! Rocked into our worlds in Jan-08!</font>
<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>DOB</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB#</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>BB Wt</TD><TD>Delivery Type </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Chan Chin Chin</TD><TD>31-Dec-07</TD><TD>01-Jan-08</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.92kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>mum (aug_22sg)</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>01-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.6kg</TD><TD>C-sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>babyling (cynling)</TD><TD>20-Jan-08</TD><TD>02-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Valerie</TD><TD></TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>LynnChong</TD><TD>15-Jan-08</TD><TD>03-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Rayden</TD><TD>2.94kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>mylife (Fennie)</TD><TD>17-Jan-08</TD><TD>03-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Chua Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Rylee</TD><TD>3.3kg</TD><TD>C-sect with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Luw</TD><TD></TD><TD>04-Jan-08</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>3.15kg</TD><TD>C-sect with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>babe (Joan)</TD><TD>11-Jan-08</TD><TD>06-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Abel</TD><TD>3.19kg</TD><TD>Natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>hammies03</TD><TD>10-Jan-08</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. YC Goh</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Kenderick</TD><TD>3.55kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Steph77</TD><TD>23-Jan-08</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Zander</TD><TD>2.53kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>shannonbaby</TD><TD>27-Jan-08</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Shayne</TD><TD>2.9kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>rachael (jsmommy)</TD><TD></TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>2.84kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>verene</TD><TD>21-Jan-08</TD><TD>09-Jan-08</TD><TD>Dr. Kowa</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Javier</TD><TD>2.76kg</TD><TD>Natural with epi</td></tr></table> Mars vs Venus: 8 Boys | 4 Girls

Lynn, me too...I on 24deg as well...still hot man!

Btw, bm can last 48h in normal fridge n 2 mths in freezer...

Today had to spoon feed my littleone ebm coz he really not peeing..pray he dun dehydrate..

Wendyg, juz saw ur mail. Will sms u in awhile...

U gals fast ya, talking abt post confinement wor..I also wanna do my hair..so messy..tmr going to see PD hope dun look too awful...

Shannonbaby congrats!!! rest well ....

prata_queen heehee ... i wanna color i wanna rebond will ask Dr Heng is it fine to do it after I deliver heehee

Congrats to all new mummies!

Wish all mummies that are still waiting have a smooth and fast delivery.

Re: Breast feeding
it's very difficult for me to latch on my girl. My nipples are too short for her, so now it's all EBM. The lactation consultant told me that i might have to live with EBM as it's not easy for her to latch on to my short nipples. Quite sad to miss that part of bonding.

Any idea how do i bring my EBM out for her when i bring her out? EBM can only stays at room temp for 4 hrs. I wonder if i have to get a fridge-to-go to bring out the EBM next time.

Re: Jaundice
Her jaundice level went up when we went for her follow up this morning, got to rent the bed light for her. So heartpain when she brawls when we need to blind fold her and take off her clothes, really hope her jaundice will go down after the next test on sat.

kitsune,

Don't know if u ordered the leapfrog littletouch items from icesnow or not. But she said the packages have arrived. =) FYI pls

Mei, my boy boy name is Kendrick. Your spelling got a bit of error. Thanks

Btw, mummies who gave birth already, how's things for you?? I'm trying total breastfeeding and boy is it tiring. Really on demand. How often do you all feed?? Btw, today is my 4th day after delivery already, breasts very pain and sore today...

Another question....those of you who delivered naturally..you managed to pass motion yet?? I think I'm having constipation!! I don't dare to poo due to wound and now I feel a bit strange..quite worried like some poo stuck or something...not sure!!

Lynn,

Can i ask if I have to prepare mittens for my baby during his whole stay at Mt A? If yes, i will have to bring a few pairs in case he scratches himself.

Pls advise. Thank you!

hi mommies
today went for rylee's chkup and my own chkup as well. So sad to see rylee kena poked for blood. plus bad news as her jaundice went up to 16..above 15 actually needs to be admitted to hospital. So the PD gave us option to rent the foto therapy machine back home. So emotional again. As for me, my wound also got a bit of bruising, so gynae gave me antibiotics to prevent infection. Think i too stress liao

Thanks to all mommies who have been so supportive of my issues of BM supply.

Babe
it IS so so so hard to BM when ur milk supply seems low and bb got jaundice. Can totally understand. I am only slightly better than u. But i think dats cos i delivered earlier than u. So BM slightly higher supply. I will pm u my msn. But prob wont log on so often cos my mom can tell i'm very very tired and said my face looks greenish pale. Btw, my PD is also Dr EK Ong from SBCC as well.
Agreed he's very busy but i kinda like him too cos as busy as he is, he still always answer all our questions patiently.

Violetice
Sooooo envious of your BM supply leh. 2nd week oredi got 150ml? Was it gradually or suddenly overnite?
Mine now 1st week still combined 30ml max. Sigh...when will i ever get to your stage leh?

wendy
all the best in your delivery ah!!!

Blackbatz
thanks for your concern...really gam dong. Today reached gynae's office also cry. Cos kept thinking of hubby leaving soon. But we made a decision to call agent and change the CL liao. Jus now i asked gynae, is it normal to feel like i miss having Rylee inside me, she said most moms will feel that way, esp now rylee got jaundice problem, it's natural for mommy to feel like i can protect her better while she's still inside me...

Sassy
yah, MOST babies wake up more at night. Today my PD told me the reason babies do dat is becos when we are pregnant with our babies, in the daytime, we move around a lot, and the rocking movement makes them sleep, so when at night, we rest and settled down in our bed, babies will wake up and move about, thus bringing this habit when they're born. I rem you also rented the machine for danelle's jaundice..can share tips or experiences?

Gotta go catch some sleep now...

hammies,
yes i experience leaking BM, sometimes i pump out sometimes i just ignore them, too tired!

AhCapp,
yes you have to prepare your own mittens, a few pairs in fact.

mylife,

IMO, its more convenient to rent the photo light machine home. In this way, we can still bond with our little precious one and still latched on for feeds, bathe and sayang them. Minimum rental for machine is 3 days. Danelle was inside tat machine for 3 days "naked" with only pampers on. The only time out of it was during feeds and bath. Her skin got very dry and the eye band kept sliding off her face, for tat 3 days i didn't really sleep well as im scared of the WAT IFS??? Wat if the eye band slip and cover her nose, mouth? etc... Are you renting the machine for Rylee?

re: touch water
i also use tap water for brushing teeth, washing face and hands...oopz

sassy,
my PD was telling us to off the machine and let baby sleep when we all goes to sleep at night when no one's watching. The eye band kept slipping off also, so quite scare to let her be on the machine when we're sleeping.

Mylife
I was reading your blog and realised you gana poked a few times for epi. Really scare me again leh. Faint lah... like tat I dunno to go thru the pain of labour or epi liao.
I saw your photos, you look radiant after birth.

Luvv,

which company did u rent it from? is it the biomedical asia something??? i was told to leave her in there for the whole of 3 days except feeds and bath. i wake up almost every hour to check if the eye band was in place anot...

sassy,

yes from that company. They deliver the bed to me this afternoon. That's what the men told me also, but i decide to heed my PD's advice to off the machine when sleeping, think he also understand the risk ba.

luvv,

im not sure how serious is yr bb's jaundice but Danelle's one is ard 260.3. After 3 days under the light, it only went down by ard 50 pts to 209. Since yr PD advice you to do tat, then u heed his advice la.

sassy,

according to PD, she's level 16, not sure how much comparing to 260.30 leh. but he did told us to put her there for at least 8 hrs everyday.

you put Danelle there for 3 days and come down so little only? I only have 1/2 day today and full day tommorrow, sat morning will be going back to check again. Looks like not enough leh.