(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mylife,

I am a cry baby lor. Yes, u bet I will burst into tears when I delivered. =)

My friend also told me the same with regards to checking the baby's toes, fingers etc etc when she just delivered. It's just mother instinct I guess. =) I have already reminded my hb to check everything for me lor. *LOL* My tummy isn't as big as others, so sometimes I also worry if everything is ok or not. =S

Btw, don't worry and always hang in there. Let your hb and your friends know if you are upset and do talk about it. Don't ever hide everything to yourself. We'll use each other as pillars as we go thru this phase. Goosh, I hope I can be as strong when I deliver. =)

Btw, my colleague highly recommended this book on nursing/ breast feeding. I just started reading it today. Not bad wor.

1182028.jpg

http://www.amazon.com/Nursing-Mothers-Companion-Revised/dp/155832304X/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1199601594&sr=8-1

CONGRATS! BABE!!!

QQ, SuperBee, my company count ML in days too. 84 days exactly including Sat, Sun & PH. But one of my colleagues gave birth on Sat morning and her ML started on Monday. Confirmed with HR and it's true. Maybe, it's because we are considered to have worked for that week liao if we deliver on Sat, so they start counting ML only on the coming Monday.

Mylife, wow, you really went through a lot for Baby Rylee. Don't care about what other people say, they are not you and they don't know what you've been through. Glad your milk supply has come in.

blackbatz,

smart move to be admitted to a govt hospital where the bills are heavily subsidize when mommy stays in a B2 class and below... cant imagine if stay in private hospitals nicu... wat happen to ur bb? y need to stay for so long? evrything ok now?

mylife,

i think its best to check with gynae b4 u start ur post natal massage. play safe rather than sorry mah... ya, ur water retention is quite bad, post natal massage will help to reduce it. im not sure if hk got such services anot. better do it in sg. have u make arrangements alrdy?

ahcapp
hahaha..me too crybaby. Yday night only, my gf called me to comfort me on the BF issues. She knew wat i'm going thru cos she's been thru it before. Then after hanging up, i told my hubby, i am going to cry now (cos he doesnt like me to cry ma...he feel stressed and dunno wat to do when i cry) Hehehe...so now when i cry simply due to being overwhelmed by emotion, i must tell him...hiakz hiakz hiakz

sassy
yup, will definitely do dat...else if affect my wound, will delay my trip back to HK with baby. Hubby will suffer cos have to travel to and fro to see us.

kitsune
think ALL mommies WILL go thru ANYTHING & EVERYTHING for their babies. Now i cuddle my baby also looking at her fingers and toes, cant imagine i "build" this over 9months inside me...
Sometimes we KNOW we shudnt care wat others say, but more or less WILL get affected by those insensitive remarks, no? But coming in here to vent helps a lot with like minded mommies
Thanks a lot.

mylife,
I read ur birthstory and feel so touched..Feel tears in my eyes too. Cant wait for my bb to be out.

sassy
forgot to answer ur question on my massage arrangement. Agree that it's better to do it here than HK...dats one of my main reason actually - to come back to deliver in Sg. I've booked Nadya (or is it Nadia) for my confinement massage liao.

Sasy,
IUGR baby. Now, everything is alright. Phew!!

Mylife,
All mothers go through a lot. Be it C-Section or natural. It's alright to feel upset and vent your frustration here.

Every time, I'm inside the labour ward, I will tell hubby <font color="0000ff"><u>"DON'T WANT TO GIVE BIRTH LIAO!"</u></font>

Mylife, your birth story is really touching and detailed. It will help us MTBs a lot in preparing ourselves on what to expect when its our turn. But I must say, what an experience with your anaesthetist… sorry to say this but she sounds inexperienced to have put you through unnecessary pokes.

Sassy, thanks for the tip. So I need to obtain Similac glass bottles and KP’s plastic caps.

Regarding private vs govt hospital, if I am delivering at a private hospital but choose 4-bedder, will nicu charges also be very expensive?

Regarding usage of medisave, my gynae nurse says that only 1 person’s medisave can be used ie cannot split and deduct partially from both Mom and Dad’s medisave accounts. Just for info.

Regarding baby bonus, I remember reading somewhere that we need to photocopy the POSB bankbook which we the parents want to designate as the account to receive the baby bonus.

Regarding marriage cert, I made a photocopy and placed it in my hospital bag as well.

Can anyone kindly confirm if the photocopy of POSB bankbook and photocopy of marriage cert is enuf? Or do we need to bring original POSB bankbook and original marriage cert?

One last thing... anyone intend to drink DOM to 'bu sheng' during or after confinement? My mother says I should to regain my health asap but we all know that breastfeeding mothers shouldn't take alcohol unless its cooked in the food and thus evaporated?

Prata_Queen,
As long as you stay in pte hospital, be it 4 bedder ward or 2 bedder, NICU charges is based on pte hospital rates and you need to chk with them.

Should you tsf from pte hospital to govt hospital, charges is based on A class wards.

<font color="ff0000">Baby Bonus FAQ: http://www.babybonus.gov.sg/bbss/html/faq.html</font>

I drink a tablespoon of DOM. Just make sure it's not like half an hour before you breast feed.

prata queen

as long as u choose to deliver in a private hospital, there will NOT be subsidy from the govt. PRIVATE hospital is mentioned here so... nicu charges will still be expensive if stay in 4 bedder.
only when delivered in govt hospital and staying in B2+ and c class wards then got min. 50% subsidy from govt. babies charges will be based on class of ward mommy stays in. yes u need to photocopy ur bank's statement for baby bonus application if submitting the application in the hospital. pls also bring along both ICs...

I bought a MIM sling and intend to use it to help support baby and hold baby close to me during breastfeeding at home during confinement when I'm sitting upright on the bed.

This is in place of the "My Brest Friend" bf pillow that is commonly used. I was thinking that with the bf pillow, i still need to hold and support baby whereas with the MIM sling, at least 1 hand can be free. U gals think its a good idea?

My hubby always says I always invent a lot of ideas but dunno if its workable in the end hehe.

Prata_Queen,

When I call up Mt A asking them about the marriage cert, the person over the phone said everything in original. Oh, we need our POSB bankbook for baby bonus is it too? Dear me, I didn't read at all! Silly me...

I remember that as long as the alcohol is "cooked", then it's ok. I have 5 to 6 bottles of rice wine with me, all ready for my confinement food cooking. Guess it should be enough. So I didn't buy any DOM yet.

hammies03 and superbee, i also have cramp this morning ard 3plus, 6plus and 8plus... try to lay flat on my back and bear with the pain...
i also have the feeling need to poo and everytime poo all the stool are so hard and not alot..sometime have to force the stool out...

<font color="ff0000">Congrats Babe</font>

Mylife, closed yr ears and ignore what yr mum, mil and midwife said... continue bf... jia you...

blackbatz and sassy, thanks for the info.

That means that in order to qualify for govt subsidy for NICU charges, the mother MUST deliver in govt hospital. Noted this point, thanks

So POSB bankbook - photocopy is sufficient (for baby bonus) while original is needed for marriage cert and both parents IC (registration of baby's name).

Regarding the drinking of DOM, since the frequency of bf is supposed to be 3 hourly, I guess I will try to drink immed after bfding baby and then drink lotsa water to flush out the alcohol. I hate the taste of DOM but I tink its impt to regain our health asap so I will guai guai listen to my mother

I was tempted to buy such pillows to assist in BF too. But heard that it works for some mums and doesn't for others. So I on hold it first. Too many stuff for me to buy already. =P

hihi!

Here"s my birth story:

1Jan 2008 4.30am: had "show" bleeding, called gynae and he said wait for contraction if not gotta wait in e hospital very long... unless u wanna induced or c section.

3Jan2008 3am: had a feelin wanna poo but nothing come out, went bac to sleep then had e poo feelin again but still nothing.. hubby wanna still playing his pc game, told him abt it and he said is it contraction? my reply was i also dont kw! hahah! then we timed e contraction and it was every 10mins, i took a shower and hubby start to pack his stuff.. video cam, charger...

ard 4am: we reached Mt.A and was in e delivery suite. a nurse came to check mi and i was dilated 3cm... cleared bowel and ask mi to relax there and watch tv.

4am till 7am: sleepin in e delivery suite bed...
hubby also took a nap..

ard 7am: i was dilated 5cm, nurse ask mi painful?whether wanna epi now? told her not really painful lei.. still bearable wor! but she advise to tak it now in case lata too pain, difficult to tak e jab.. so i agreed and had e epi...

7am-12pm: watch tv and nap, i was feelin so hungry but cant eat...

12pm plus: had feelin wanna push.. a nurse came in and get ready everyting and she said my gynae on e way here... i pushed twice as instructed by her without my gynae there, suddenly another nurse came and told her, she was needed in another delivery suite.. she covered mi up and said " sorry, i will b back and dont push even if u feel e contraction okie.."
hubby look at mi and i look at him, both burst out in laughter.. we thot dis situation only happens in those movies... guess it was a gd day for delivery..

few mins lata: had e contraction to push again,i pressed e emergency button but nobody come and hubby went outside to look for nurse but no one ard... No choice...As it was painless so hubby and i was jokin and chatting inside e delivery suite lor...
10mins lata, gynae came in wif another nurse.. she off e tv and gynae told her why so serious? let e patient watch e mtv programme.. within 5mins of push my hubby said continue to push can see e head then baby Rayden was out. he looked clean and fresh, tink is due to e coconuts i hav taken... hahaha!

hope everybody will hav a smooth delivery too!

prataqueen
I bought the MIM sling oso, but more for gg out. At home, if I am bf, either I am pumping the other side, or just sitting there relaxing and carrying my baby. Isn't it so warm with a sling bf at home? Can just carry baby wat. Or you wan to bf and do housework, type on computer at the same time ah? hee....

ya i can see flies hovering ard my hair now hahaha....

anyway can i ask those who had delivered or have #1 do your bb cry when u bath him/her? I duno y mine cry leh. v v loud somemore leh. all the way until change, wrap and finally bottle in mouth then stop wor. been a few days le... y ah? my #1 love to bath one leh and I thot all bb love water !!

mylife,
just like the rest, after readin ur birth story, my tears swelled at my eyes... it's v heartwarming.. can feel it.. i was oso tinking "did u check her limbs, fingers, etc?" den i saw yr nx post dat u ask abt such minor details... i guess all mummies feel the same way... i tink when it's my turn, i'll prob cry too n my mom will b like ur mom, cry too.. cos during my wedding day, she cried.. not mentioning my dad who oso teared behind my back... hahaha...

hihi mom2nat, I read that so many mommies complain that their hands are breaking from carrying baby continuously during bfding. I dunno if I can stand up when using the sling lei. What if baby falls out? So i intend to use only on the bed when bfding lor. Hope to give my arms a break and let the sling do the job instead of my 2 hands haha.

During confinement I tink I will on aircon so maybe it wouldnt be too warm. Actually the person who sold me the MIM sling says her baby dun like it cos its too warm.

AhCapp, wow, you have 5 to 6 bottles of rice wine? That's a lot lei. My mum only ordered 1 bottle for me. Actually rite, if its gonna be evaporated during cooking, then wat's the point of adding ah?

DOM is for us to drink to regain our health, not for cooking lei.

sassy,
ermm, regarding the claiming of babybonus -- need to produce photocopied of POSBank book ah? but mine was POSB card n don't have bank book at all.. how leh? cannot jus gif acct no or statement of acct? how abt other banks? or is it only can use POSB?

Lynn,

Your delivery sure sounds like a smooth one. =) I hope mine will be as smooth as yours too. =) Wish me luck ya!

Mom2nat,

How does the MIM sling look like actually?

Sassy,

When I read that u have to buy different teats for your baby, I know my shopping will not end when the post xmas sale is over. *shake head*

But really scary lor, so many stuff to buy! Thankfully my hb is the nice kind. If he is the stingy kind, I think he will faint with soo many things we have to buy for the baby. *LOL*

Chaye,

Did you have 1 last proper shower + 1 hair wash at the hospital first before your start your "no shower + no hair washing" confinement? I am just interested to know do I start at the hospital or when I reach home after discharge.

Prata_queen,

My MIL bought the rice wine for me. I also don't know why soo many bottles. Trying to get me drunk I guess *LOL*

Oh sorry, yes, DOM is for drinking. =P

lynn your Rayden so clean n fresh from your tummy leh.

ahcapp
yes i shower n wash hair everyday prior to delivery ma.

Lynn, thanks for sharing your story! Wonder if u have time to read this...your 'show' was it fresh blood colour?

Ladies, today I notice I seem to have this slight brownish discharge..not fresh blood colour though, so I wonder if it's the start of the 'show' thing that will eventually be dislodged?! Whenever I sit and pee, I get this feeling that I wanna poo too...but scared to push too hard...coz not sure really wanna poo or not poo!! Then off and off keep feeling this mensus cramp feeling...sigh..is this a sign!!

Chaye,
I must "kowtow" to you. Yours is definitely a record. Since I have my stitches on, only use washcloth to wipe my body. Hair was 4 days ago. After next Tuesday, when I removed my stitches, will "da xi te xi".

Babies will cry when they shower. But make sure your water is not too hot also.

Blackbatz,

The ones from sprees? No ah, still waiting.. think they will arrive when I go into labour la =) *LOL*

wanna complain

My CL called to tell me she is currently in singapore doing confinement for another mother and ending on 11 Jan.

I did tell her before that my EDD is on 20 Jan. What if I happen to deliver early? Will she have recommended her friend to me instead?

Now I just hope that I won't need her before Jan 11. Not very right of her to take on another assignment so close to my EDD right? At least must have a longer window period mah.

Angry at her 'lack of morals'. Hpmfffff.

blackdatz, bb will always cry during shower ah ? my #1 not like tat leh. once put into water she will quiet le. this #2 put in water also still crying wor.

I wipe myself everyday la but not shower. my CL and mum also wont let me wash till 12th day leh... another 3 more days to go nia ! muz ren ren ren...

Ahcapp - Yes. y leh?

Chaye,

I will TRY not to wash my hair during my confinement, but will like to try my luck to see if I can start this practice at home rather than at the hospital immediately u see. =P

godsent

it can be any account but definately must produce bank statement if u wanna submit yr application in the hospital. alternatively, u can take the form and bring down to the bank, get it chopped and signed by the officer and mail out on ur own.

lynn

rayden is very clean... u must have drink alotsa coconut b4 delivery.

chaye,
My #1 oso cries everytime when bathing. Cos, w/o clothes. Lack of security. That is y he will only stop after u wrapped him up. Now NB, usually they are scare. The enjoy of bath time only starts when ard 2-3mths old. Isnt it? If my memory didnt fail me ah. Then by 6 mths, super love bath time. Then sometimes, u wonder u bathing him or he bathing u. LOL~

Prata_Queen,

I hear of such stories all the time. =(

In the meanwhile, u don't worry too much. 11 Jan is here very very soon. Since your due date is 20 Jan and even if u r early, u will be in the hospital for a few days after delivery. So could be just nice for her to arrive to help u out.

Prata_Queen,

I can totally understand how u feel. The other time when I book my CL, I also told her the stories I hear. She said no such thing, if she is booked, she will make sure she can make it on time. But aiya, I also know they need to make $, so I can only hope for the best for mine too.

prata queen, yes sometimes they can be unethical. I mentioned previously I engaged this CL and paid her deposit, then suddenly last month she say she cant do for me already coz her relative getting married need her help. So I ask her then she can just get a replacement to come in when she goes back a few days . Then she say she prefer not to la, so will recommend me another person. But I was so upset, coz the terms I agreed to pay her was for her and not some replacement whom I have not seen. So bloody angry with her. My hubbie was so angry, coz take money cannot just break the "contract" like that what. We can also tell her, we dont want her to do already, but then she will forfeit the deposit right, but then if I dont want the replacement, she will not return me the money le.

Today, I can feel bb's backside at my belly button, hopefully when I see doc on Tuesday, he will say bb engaged already. kekeke. But I doubt so la, coz I only 37 weeks this week. Its waiting waiting waiting again.

prata queen
such things do happened leh cos i was a victim during my #1 then in hospital so helpless almost reduce to tears but lucky my sis went askin her neighbour n found AN AVAILABLE ONE. no fish take prawn lor.

Val
orhhh.. your #1 also liddat ah? then ok lor. thks.

Ahcapp
y torture yousrself now when u can do it later? haha

angelsky,

When your bb's backside is on your tummy, your tummy is very hard right? heheehhe =) My BB loves to rest his butt onto my tummy lor.

breathlessness

Can I ask mummies who are nearing due date like me, do u feel breathlessness? For the past few days, I feel breathless suddenly. Be it while standing or sitting. Don't know if it's because my bb is resting on my lungs or something. Goosh, here it goes again... =S

Mylife,

Ur birth story is touching. Tears filled my eye socket while i was reading!! You dun worry so much about ur breast feeding problems, just filter wad ever ur in laws commented. We are mummies we knw wad is the best for our child!

Lynn,

U have a smooth delivery wor! Congrates.... By the way how many coconuts did u take before delivery?

Babe,

Ur long long wait is over already. Now ur baby is in ur hands already. Well, i am still waiting for my turn! Neck also long long. Am counting down to my EDD 7 more days....

oh ya my bb has jaundice leh. nowadays hardly can find sun... moreover can only b 8am or 6pm sun, according to PD. how to get? gonna bring him to do the prick test tmr

Ahcapp,

Ur breathless is likely to be caused by ur BB pressing against ur lungs. U try to take in deep breaths and relax. For me i used this technique it helps. Hey by the way am also delivering at Mt A. When is ur EDD?