(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

angelsky
hahaha,...i think mommies expectg princesses sure buy lots of clothes one esp 1st time mommies...me also suffering from same "symptoms" Each time go kia-kia see cute and sweet clothes sure cant resist one. End up now got newborn, 3mths, 6mths and even 1yr one..kekeke...but it helps when i am arranging her clothes lo..feel happy and less disappointed.

Can't get to sleep, don't know why.

Godsent,
there's this italian place at Bukit Timah which serves mussles with white wine. Yummy!!

You have to call to make reservations over the weekends as it's a popular place with the expats and the seating capacity is quite limited.

Casa Roma
Tel: 64648509
833 Bukit Timah Road
#01-09 Royal Ville
www.casaroma.com.sg

angelsky,
got to remember to bring your original marriage cert for registering for baby's birth cert.

Now i also find that my baby's wardrobe like too small..haha

i can't ignore the wee wee feeling, will become painful so got to get up to wee wee no matter what. like what mylife say, might get UTI which is harmful to baby, better don't endure this.

wendy,
aiyoh, the doctor doesn't stay near the hospital is it? what if there's emergency? i think i'll go crazy lying there waiting to be stiched.

mylife,
i'm planning my menu tommorrow before admiting to the hospital at night :)

jia you! and hope to see you and baby soon!

Good morning ladies,

Wow, so many of u slept so late. =)

Steph,

Yes, mixed feelings here too. =) Sorry but I tend to be forgetful nowadays. When is your due date? Mine is 15 Jan 08. I am like anytime already. I will be going for my checkup tmrw. Will ask my gynae "what if" my baby is late, what will happen next? Induce or c-sec. Just want to get myself mentally prepared though.

Luvv,

I bought a pair of cheap cheap bedroom slippers for about $3 from the market. Threw that into my hospital bag already. =)

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">RISE AND SHINE MOMMIES!!!</font></font>

Woke up at 5.30am today to pee and since i'm supp to wake up at 6am to take my breakfast, didnt go back to sleep liao. Finish eating my char bee hoon and now jus waiting to go hospital. So gan cheong...

Luvv
When is your scheduled c-sect date oredi? 4th Jan? I read bedroom slippers are not necessary, more like as comfort, to make u feel at home in the hospital/delivery suite. My mom says, most important is to bring a pair of socks to keep ur feet warm, no slippers also never mind.
Wahhh....got plan menu some more...hehehehe

Godsent
I din live in Paris, I lived in Brittany, north weastern part of France. They have lots of mussels, but I dun like to eat leh, and i dun take wine... wah a let down hor, when wine is so cheap there. I think there is a mussels shop in Vivocity, walked past a few times, but haven't tried.

You were flying last time right? Did you go to this underground restaurant in London that serves many kinds of mussels? Tat place was v cool, but again, me din eat the mussels. I am a sucker, when I went Belgium, I told hb, go to brussels gotta eat mussels, I ordered a whole pot, ate 2, gave the rest to him! Hahaha...

steph
If you are the slim kind, prob lose the preg weight v fast. For me, I retain fats lor. For #1, I gained 7kg, lost 15kg after giving birth. But ah, put back on another 10kg in a yr after tat. Sigh...

angelsky
You see how it works out for you lor. Quite siong for daddy to wake up oso. At least in the day you can take naps when bb is napping. I was a SAHM for 3 yrs, can drive me up the wall, but given a choice, I'd rather stay at home with my kids. (sometimes go shopping lah)

wendyg
Talk abt yelling, I think i yell everyday. Prob the neighbours got used to it liao. But if I leave my girl to my maid and mil, end up I have to yell more in the days to come, cos she will misbehave. Today my maid got blocked nose, so I have to attend to my girl lor. Feel like asking mil to come, but scared my girl "abuse" Ah ma again.

Same lah, I sit on the floor and play, can't move ard, hard to get up. Hardly can bend down. My girl dun enjoy gg swimming with me, cos I am like a slow moving seal in the water, then can't play with her much.

kitsune
Dun worry too much abt baby's weight. As long as healthy can liao. You try to eat more chicken or meat to have more protein. I hardly drank milk during preg, now then drink, cos I read bb needs calcium... heee.. last min then come and drink.

Hi, ladies.

It has been some time since I last posted coz busy at work. But I try to make a point to read all your wonderful postings. I guess everyone is getting nervous as our EDD draws near. Mine is 28 Jan but last Sat went for Gynae visit, baby's already head down &amp; getting lower. Gynae also checked my pelvis &amp; said that it has expanded to be large enough for normal delivery. Also cervix dilated 0.5cm. Everything seems like going well &amp; fast for me. Gynae said maybe I can give birth after I go for my check up on 19 Jan... Still have not decided on Epidural... My threshold level is low.. but still want to try w/o Epidural.

Hi. Can I ask if anyone has requested Gynae to give some MC before ML? What are the reasons to tell him? Coz I'm thinking of asking that to my Gynae. I'm still working now &amp; it is getting more difficult for me to go to work. Restless nights &amp; sore legs making me screaming for help. Really feel like taking 1 week MC before delivery. I have plans to take ML 1 week before my EDD. I also don't want to feel the contractions when I'm at work.

krystle,

I think depends on your gynae. Some gynaes are "nicer"- as long as you don't feel well, they wont ask much questions then give MC already. I have even heard of gynaes giving hospitalisation leave to patients who have used up all their MCs (and the patients just rest at home). However, I understand that there are some companies, if you take MC prior to your ML, they will treat the MC as part of the ML... so you need to double check with your HR.

I think you can just tell your gynae your problems of restless nights and v sore legs so can he give you MC to cover you for 1 week prior to delivery.

steph,
My EDD is 20 Jan but during last checkup gynae said could be anytime after 10 Jan. Will know if it's going to be earlier or later after my checkup tomorrow.

Verene,
My last working day also today. Tomorrow seeing gynae and ML starts next monday. My gynae also say I may pop anytime between 10-20 Jan.

prata queen,
yah, different babies react differently to each brand of formula. I heard NAN is very heaty and difficult to dissolve becos it's very oily.

MORNING LADIES!!

Couldn't sleep well, keep dreaming of my baby! haha...can't wait to see her tommorrow.

Milk powder
My friend say Similac gave soft stools but it's one of the most expensive ones.

krystle,
it's only one week before delivery that you're asking for, should not be a problem unless your gynae very stingy about giving MCs.

AhCapp,
i have 4 pairs of bedroom slippers now! Initially i was preparing for confinement, so i bought 2 since Metro was having 2 for $12.90 sale. Then during christmas, i received another 2 pairs!

hi Luvv,

u'll be going in for c-section tmr ah? good luck! jia you~~!

i keep dreaming abt baby too.. hehehe.. how come in my dream she seems so quiet and guai guai wan.. but in reality she kicks me like i'm the enemy. hahaha

mom2nat, ya lor agree for the next 2 years I will be SAHM, at least in Singapore, I still have the freedom to bring bb around la, but figure not many of my friends will wanna go out with me and bb anymore, coz too troublesome for them to wait for us.

Krystle, we have the same EDD le, so you gg soon, must be very anxious now. My next appointment is only going to be next tuesday, so still a few days more.

Getting more and more restless by the day, trying to tell myself to take the opportunity to rest and enjoy alone time, coz once bb comes that will not be really possible.

Epi, my tolerance level of pain is quite okay, just that after the prenatal class, I see how thick the needle is, got me a little freaked out. I also cannot imagine having to be sewn up without epi. I dont think I am that gungho to go without, figure at the first chance possible, I will ask for it already. My doc is the one that is asking me to try say 5 - 10 minutes after the pain comes in to go without the epi to feel how the pain is like, so that for #2 next time I may wanna consider going without, after this experience.

Any one has the maxi cosi baby car seat? I was installing mine yesterday to try in case I dont know how to use when bb goes home with me, is the car seat meant to be tilted? In other words, the bb cant sit for too long right? Not good for their posture?

Clarins Cream,
I am asking this on behalf for a friend.
Is the oil better or the stretchcream better for stretchmarks?

Mylife,
For c-sec, I heard is 18-20 days later, then can do massage already. All the best!

nan is heaty? from what i heard S26 (wyeth) is heaty. Nan HA is one of the more popular infant formula, but doesn't taste as nice as Similac, which is quite sweet &amp; can cause phlegm, as advised by a GP clinic asst.

re: slippers
i'll likely be wearing my crocs/ scholl/ cheapo slippers upon admission and that will be my footwear for my stay in the hosp. I'm not packing extra footwear.

mom2nat
hey, in the water i can move fast coz weightless ley. I dread climbing out of the pool coz the weight all 'comes back'

luvv
aiya i dunno michelle's hosp policies la. Skali it's the norm over there.

angelsky
car seat for infants are meant to be reclined/ tilted coz their neck still weak. They're not supposed to sit upright.

heehee my gynae ask me wanna use epi hahah i say can standby ... she say can .... i wanna try how painful it is hahaha .... and it cost $500 cannOT claim

Mylife, u shld be in TMC now. Have a good delivery!!!!

Similac, my gal had been on it since 4 mths as I had to partial bf after go back to work. Seems ok. I guess it depends on babies.

Mom2nat, I thot my package was ex. Urs even more ex. I paid about $1.3k consultation package from wk12 at TMC, not including delivery and hospitalisation. Which gynae u seeing?

re: slippers
Yah I also wearing some cheapo slippers.. Cos scare strain the slippers when go toilet to wash or etc.

RE: Gynae package
I dun have gynae package since I joined only during my 30th week. Plus my GD, i must see gyna every 10 days.. I lost track of how much I spent already. Thank god, I have hb company insurance to cover 80%.

babe
the GP in the clinic sees a lot of bbs with phlegm, and they're on similac. so she advised me against similac even tho it's a v popular brand. and most ex too!

re cost of epidural
I asked gynae nurse yesterday, confirmed it is $500. I was quite shocked...didn't know epidural costs so much. Mine same as QQ, Eastshore hospital.

Verene, epi cost only 250? My doc's charges for epi normal delivery is addition 1 k.

Wendyg, yup I know that they supposed to recline coz neck not strong, just that the base of the baby seat does not seem to sit very nicely on the car. Will try and figure out again how to fit the seat better.

My doctor fees is think 1500 for normal delivery, 250 epi cost for hospital charges. $500 is bit too high bah. My package price starts from think 5th month or so and it cost me $900 inclusive of consulation and half the doc delivery charges. Medication, lab test and emergency appt not included

<font color="aa00aa">my #1 is on Dumex Mamil Gold, then i go change to similac, she developed phlegm, then I switch back Dumex. guess each baby is different. have to try out to see baby suitable for which brand.</font>

wendyg,
my hubby is back for 1 week+. At least now feel more at ease even if I am going to be induced next week.

itok,
Thank and noted. Mmm.. after delivery. Is there any "recovery" cream for stretchmarks?

mylife,

didn't mean to scare u... i opt for GA c-sect cos i very "kia see" one, dun dare to see or listn to those instruments sound etc... and furthermore, gynae and nurse are pro GA and discourage me from epi as there are side effects like shivering and vomiting.

verene,

the epi in mt E costs ard $700.

qq,

i think epi costs ranges from $500-$700.

Itok, Luvv &amp; Angelsky,

Thanks for the advice. I think I will ask my Gynae first to see if he is willing to give MC. Will be seeing him this coming sat for weekly checkup.

qq

its quite impossible tat the epi in mt E costs only $250. esp when ESH and ME are actually under Parkway grp.

wendy

sorry, the page is temporary unavailable.

sassy, i think ga will kill some of our brain cells. I went for two ga already, so sometimes I tend to be more forgetful :p Also after the ga, I puke very badly and also breathelessness for close to 2 days.

can la.. copy &amp; paste the entire link.
alternatively, key in "side effects of general anesthesia" in a search engine.

Hi, Icy.

I'm using Clarins stretchmarks cream since preggie but my stretchmarks appeared when I'm into 7 mth... A bit sad but not alot of stretchmarks. Maybe the oil is better..? I'm going back to Clarins counter &amp; ask them why like that. But I heard the cream/oil can be used after delivery to lessen the stretchmarks &amp; to re-tone back the tummy. Don't know how true lah.

Hi. Can ask if anyone or friends tried Clarins Institut at Wheelock for post-natal massage? How's the package like? And the results?

krystle, their package like not cheap le. I used their oil in the morning when I bath, and their cream at night before I sleep. So far, I used 3 bottles for their oil, really like the smell. But for the cream, I still on the first tube, which I bought since I was like week 7? So far, I dont see any stretch marks (which is the red veins right?) but some people do say after delivery when the skin sagged the marks will come in full force wo. So I also dont know whether I will get them. Anyway, I dont apply the cream and the oil everyday, I only apply when I remember and not lazy. Should be able to tell right, since the tube is still like half way used only. kekekeke.

I actually bought the bust cream as well from clarins, but that one still like 3/4 unused.