(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

icy

thanks. i will try calling tomorrow. wat package did u sign up with her?

kitsune/ahcapp

dun complain hor... not as if u are gonna sleep well when ur bb is out. its going to be far worse. at least now ur bb is inside, kicking and boxing and not crying in the middle of the night seeking for attention or being cranky.

I'm from Nov07 MTB thread.
I have Gina Ford's Contented Little Baby Book for sale. It's recommended by many mummies who want to establish a daily routine for baby.

Bought it at $28, will let go at $18. Good condition. Anyone interested?
Please email me at [email protected]

sassy,

sorrie to ask this, maybe it sound silly...if we are doing direct latch, do we need to wear nursing bra at nite with breast pads? I find it so inconvenient. So we gotta change breast pads after every feed ah?
And if we are pumping/latching bb every 3hourly, do we need to pump middle of the nite to store BM too cos supply = demand right?

Steph,

Oh yes, I think I drunk twice this week already. Green light already mah, so that's why I drink n drink since it's soo refreshing! hahahaha

Sassy,

Nothing to complain about lah. I am sure we all know that this wake-up in the middle of the night to wee wee is the beginning of our sleepless nights which are coming very very soon. ;P

AhCapp,

Mdm Rokiah has just sms-ed me to confirm my booking. She say once we are ready, inform her 3 days in advance. If natural birth, i will inform her 7 days later, if E C-sect, then wait 4wks later.

Thanks for your lovely compliments. I still can't tell if baby Ian looks like hubby or myself. Haha!

Windy, welcome to this thread. Btw, I had Ian at Gleneagles, not Mt A.

Cool Steph,

1 last thing to think about now. =) I also think I will start my session only 7 days after my delivery. Good suggestion! =) Too early don't know if my body can take it or not.

Natural birth with epidural..

Can I ask.. is it true with once with epidural, we'll not be able to push properly since we have no feeling down there already?

violetice,

1 thing for sure is he definately looks like BOTH u and your hubby! =) He's the product of you and your hubby's love ma. ^_^

Steph, I do try to drink less water too but sometimes I just feel so thirsty at night so I have no choice but to keep drinking water. Also, I already have water retention, painful finger joints (can't wear my ring anymore), heard have to drink more water to get rid of water retention. :p

Sassy, ya not complaining, just trying to comfort Windy that we are all in the same boat. But of course, will be even happier if can have uninterrupted sleep now before starting our suffering when BBs are born. ;)

I don't know how I'll cope after BB is born also, will put her in CL's room. Need feeding then ask CL to bring to me lor. Hopefully, that way, I won't be woken by every single cry. But let's see how it goes lar.

Didn't drink coconut water this week. Hmm... must go get my fix at Century Sq food court. Hee.

Mylife,
I'm not very sure if alternate between latching and expressing at the initial stage will cause confusion or not, leading to inadequate supply. Perhaps, the other experienced mummies can enlighten us on this.

For breastfeeding, must always empty breasts completely. So, if you start with left breast first, baby full and right breast still go milk. Express right breast completely. If the breast isn't emptied, the baby doesn't get the hind milk, which contains more calories to support weight gain than the milk that comes in earlier.

Violetice,

Torturous? Why? Tiring is it?

Kistune,

I have been wearing my wedding ring on my necklace for quite some time already. =P I told my hb that it's a pain to hold a needle and thread to repair his pants when my fingers are fat and swollen! *LOL*

OH yes Kitsune,

I also have not figured out the sleeping arrangement. I will let him sleep with my CL, but when he wakes up crying for milk, I need to be there. If like this, both me and CL will have sleepless nights. But I can't put my baby in the same room as mine as it'll disturb my hb's sleep. Will see how when baby is born...

Haha, Ah Capp. You very good wife leh. Pregnant still sew for hubby. Even before pregnant, I get my hubby to sew buttons for me instead. He's better with his hands than me, cartoonist after all. I used to bring all my sewing projects from Home Econs back to my mum. If not, I sure fail. Up till now, I can only handle cross stitch cos can't go wrong with a cloth that already has guiding holes. Hee. ;)

Ahcapp
I will let CL sleep with my boy. If feeding is needed, she will bring him to my room, after I feed liao, I bring him back. She will change him when needed, I go back to zzzz... I will let her rest or nap in the day oso, so will I lor. Ay, if you are hoping to have good night's rest with baby ard hor... fat hope liao ah. If you wan to take care at night, then you no need CL ard.

AhCapp, Kitsune,

I don't know if it's considered traditional or not but it's suffering lor. My CL and mum ganged up against me, not allowing me to shower. After much confrontation, they allowed me to clean myself with hot water, mixed with white rice wine. Can you imagine, even brushing teeth also use hot water..

violetIce
Well, depends how much you wanna believe the bathing part. For my #1, I bathe with the herb, then rinse off with water oso. Actually after delivering #1, I feel my whole boday weaker liao, get aches and pains. Dunno isit din do a good confinement. This time ard, my CL told me if I serious to "bu" back, can't bathe for 2 weeks. Well, it could be a believe, it could be true, but you think they like a smelly fella lurking ard meh. Wat good does it do to them to stop you from bathing?

So maybe if you can ren, then dun bathe lor, maybe it will really do you good. For me, my hb oso say this confinement better "bu" back, cos the last time was not good.

Mom2nat, sounds like a good plan. I'll probably do the same but can I get CL to bring BB back after I finish BF instead? I don't want to carry her back to her room. Lazy, rather immediately go back to sleep. :p

I see, your CL & mum never ask you to buy da feng cao (herb)? My CL did leh, but my MIL only bought 20 small packs so far. Don't know whether 1 small pack = 1 shower. Actually, don't need to use hot water to wash hands or brush teeth, but I heard must use boiled water.

For me, my sinks got hot water so my cousin who used the same CL told me like that I can just use warm water and my CL don't need to boil water for me to wash hands. I also blur about the nitty gritty. My mum & MIL won't stay with me during confinement, just CL, hubby and I so will see how lar. Maybe can cheat a bit. Hee.

kitsune
Of cos you can get CL to bring baby back. But are you gg to ask her to watch you feed for 30 min in your masterbedroom? Or you gg to call for her to come over when you are done?
I bought the herbs lah, but I smell like a plant, so always rinse off with water lor. Haha...

for those who dun perspire easily, just dun bathe la. But i'm the kind that sweats like a horse, little bit already sparkle here & there. So I HAVE TO bathe & wash my smelly hair at least alternate days. Still wondering how to go thru confinement in rainy season. Gotto siam all open windows, can't turn on the fan.. that means gotto use aircon. So wasteful to turn on aircon when it's so windy, plus electrical tariff on the rise!

sianzzz

windy
i'm going for TMC.

Mei, trouble u to repost the MTB list for benefit of windy, tks.

yet another weekend is here! family time again. Perhaps my last time to enjoy as a family of 3!

Heard that even if we are using herbs to shower we should do it after the 12th day of birth. Not sure why is it to be done this way. But i had already cut my hair till very short to prepare for my confinement liao. Just in case mil dun allow me to shower!!!

Re: coconut drink
Anyone know wad is the purpose of drinking coconut. Am at 37 weeks just started to drink.

jacelyn
no ley, for my #1, i took herb shower when i returned home from hosp. Din wait until 12th day.

mom2nat
what does a plant smell like?!?! I dun mind smelling like a rose....

Mom2nat, hee ya I was thinking of calling her to bring BB back. Hee.

Haven't go and smell the herbs yet (all still in Hock Hwa bag). Hope I can take the smell cos I rather bathe with herbs then not at all.

But will try and tahan as long as I can. My mum didn't let me shower for 14 days (except simple cleaning with hot water boiled with lemongrass) when I had chicken pox many years ago. Don't know how I found the patience not to rebel then. Will see if I can find it again. :p

Jacelyn, I cut my hair short in anticipation too, that's why my natural curls are so obvious. :p

wendyg
It is some dried herbs. Then after I bathe, I will feel I have this layer on me, like you bathe with tea leaves. hmmmm... good idea, maybe can ask if can add some flora scents! Heee...

Did all of you cut your hair short for confinement?

I think I will be having a fight iwth my mum over the hair wash thingy. She just told me that I can only bathe twice a week. Peng Sang..Will negotiate for 3 times a week.

Mom2Nat,
Actually, how long is confinement supposed to last? Also, does it starts officially after the birth or when we come back from hospital?

regular confinement = 30days counting from delivery date. But some may choose to extend to 40 days for extra power.

jacelyn
i dun think got nice soap scent la. Hey someone shld produce this kind of confinement shower herbs with nice scent hor.. since there's a ready market. Any enterprising SAHM keen???

blackbatz
i prefer my hair to remain long so that i can tie up in a bun and look like my usual auntie self. It's either this, or getting a haircut like Jude Law, which my husband won't appreciate. I think he prefers me to look like Auntie than Jude Law.

itok,
ya, we share the same EDD. Just came back fm my 35+ wk c/u. doc commented dat my bb is a little bit small cos she's only 2.45kg. but den, he says should be alrite lah, so long as healthy. actually i'm not really v worried, dunno y leh... my mom told me i'm only abt 6.6pds when i was born. mayb my gal is like me, small build kind. gynae oso say she's not engaged yet and at least 2-3wks more (of waiting) but 80% will deliver b4 EDD.

icy,
when i hear abt ur tough time wif ur in-laws, i really feel for you. it's always not ez to live wif in-laws cos we r brought up differently and have different living habits. ur inlaws oso too much, expect u to do the house chores. as if u r the only one using the hse, living thr. den b4 u move in, who did the house chores? they leave it to rot???? KNS...

Isetan sale,
i was thr too, went ard 4-5pm wif hb. the 4th flr is so packed, saw many preggie thr too. too crowded to shop. in the end, only buy my hb's innerwears...

after dat, went to watch Alvin n the chipmunks. v funny...

jacelyn
no la, he prefer me to look like woman (ie auntie) instd of man (ie Jude Law). He dun allow me to cut my hair shorter than him. His hair quite shaggy type.

Anyway he told me before, i'm the clever auntie who spends wisely, unlike glamour mom who anyhow to spend his $$.

Violetice,
I remembered the rice wine to thing. I felt so smelly. Eventually, forced my mum to buy herbs to bathe. Better than nothing.

most hubby prefer their wife to maintain straight long soft silky hair...not perm & short else really look like auntie wor...with big plastic specs...haha
cannot imagine & log kok pyjamas:p

Wendy,

But now u are happily married with kids liao ma....:p

Steph,

My HB dun like me to be in long hair cos i looked more older in long hair due to my "long" face shape!!!

hee Jacelyn...ya lor...hubby chase me away cos he wanna use pc to play his "warbook" game in facebook BUT i don't let him use cos dun feel like sleeping yet...keke

Blackbatz,
rice wine to bathe?? u sure? so wasteful? i thot is to add for cooking confinement dishes?

steph
alamak, i just changed my Oakley specs to those big plastic specs.. and at home i'm in lok-kok PJs. But this time i bought a few pieces of nursing nightgowns la. Look like Glam Auntie. haha.

jacelyn
i still maintain that he pian4 me into marrying him. And he's very yaya abt it =P

Jacelyn,

u kept long hair b4? the last time i saw u was during gathering #1, that time u were shoulder length right? look alright on u wat.
Funni with man cos they enjoy looking at mature sexy women but prefer their wife to be opposite ah? Mm...

Oh..anyway me & hubby same age but i think i look older cos he got baby fats & face....keke

I still remember how my mum used to ask me to look for a more mature husband/bf but all older guys or good ones are already taken else left those can't click ones...haha

Steph,

The only time i had long hair is before my customary!!! Haha first time!!! Now i cut it real short liao. Just below my ear!!!

jacelyn
ya, he knows. He says that time got other guys eyeing me, so he had to quickly make his move. But i din know i had other guys to choose from ley. kekekekeke.

okies, gdnite. zzzzzzzzz