(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Prata_Queen,

Not lor sor, but u reminded me of this tip from Mrs Wong which I totally forgot! Goodness me. My memory is failing me. Will take note not to scratch the inner side of the teats. Thank u! =)

Btw, I went to CK just now. The nursing bras which u mentioned is it just plain non-wired bras? I didn't see those kind which u can unhook and hook back wor. Did I miss out something??

Itok & McFluffy,

Like both of u, my very first thought when it comes to giving birth is C-sec pls. But later on as I learn more during the pre-natal class and read more, I have decided to go for natural birth (but with epidural for sure!). Thought I should give it a try. Actually to tell u the truth, if I can choose, I would rather my baby be dropped down from heaven. ;P hehehehe..

Anyway, I personaly feel that there is no right or wrong which ever method u choose for delivery. It's your choice. =) Don't feel pressurised by anyone.

But if baby is breeched, I think c sec is so much safer. Don't want to scare anyone, but I came across a pregnancy book with a picture of a breeched baby being delivered. Scared the hell out of me. =(

ahcapp,

no worries i think u can get size 36~ i actually gotten size 34 at first cuz all along im wearing A cups...gee but after giving birth i realize the size 34 too small le cuz my breast become swollen regret not getting size 36 when i o bak to buy size 36 no more le in the end got size 38 instead...

ahcapp, the ck bras are either pink or beige. they are non-wired...very basic cloth nursing bras. Can be hooked and unhooked to enable the nipples to be exposed for easy bf.

u can try asking the salesgal for help? they only haf 1 kind in 2 colors so you may have missed it out.

Thanks prata_queen! =)

Guess I must have missed them out. =S Will have to get my hb to drive me back this weekend.

I think Split's reply is for u, Prata_queen. But thank u split for the info. I used to be a size A too. Goodness know what size are "they" now. ;P

haha, yah, split, its me who was commenting on the different ck bra sizes.

I'm also a size A, typical skinny n quite flat gal :p Pre-preggie of cos. Now even got cleavage hor... cannot imagine, with engorged breasts after delivery... for once in my life I may be a Cup C!

*LOL* Me too, prata_queen. I think the biggest winner has to be my hb! *LOL* He also commented that I have cleavage. Although nowadays, I get very tired and sex is really the last thing on my mind. =P

Btw, is it true they will go back to their original size when we stop breast feeding?

Yup...my baby gal really got a lots of hair...follow his father. Now a bit "xe bu de" to cut "botak" during full month but her grandmother said is a must.

Very hot le and my MIL not allow me to bath and watch my hair yet...walau...cannot say anything.

I stimulate more using breast pump now...managed to get 5-10ml each time. Hope more will come...
Tomorrow hv to bring baby to polyclinic to check her jaundice level...pray that she is ok. I also need to see doctor because got very bad water retention after labour. My leg really like pig leg now...dun know why. Is it caused by the epidural? help me pls...

Kitsune, i stayed in single bedded. KK do provides towel, face towel, toiletaries...but i dun think got slipper. I din bath there, hubby used all the facilities there.

Babe
So you cap it all up while it is still wet. Then if leave for more than 1 day how?

WEndyg
You leave it inside until you need, then how often you sterilise your pump?

Val
Then do you sterilise the air tight container? Do you air dry b4 put into the container?

See how confused I get? 3 diff mommies, 3 diff ways. Hmmm

Babe
So you cap it all up while it is still wet. Then if leave for more than 1 day how?

WEndyg
You leave it inside until you need, then how often you sterilise your pump?

Val
Then do you sterilise the air tight container? Do you air dry b4 put into the container?

See how confused I get? 3 diff mommies, 3 diff ways. Hmmm

Prata_queen,

U make me laugh. *LOL* I have bought quite a few bras during my whole pregancy, ranging fr A to B to C. Feel a bit wasted if I have go back to A. =P But yes, pls don't sag. Wonder if there is any way to prevent sagging. Any ideas?

Hi Jeslyn,

There is no CK at Clementi. Only at Clementi West, opposite Ginza Plaza, just next to the hawker centre.

Hi Yen,

When can u start to bath and wash hair? Can use the chinese herbs to boil water to bath right? Poor u. I would have gone crazy as my hair is oily. =(

For baby's hair cutting, don't worry. I am sure her hair will grow back very soon. =)

Hi, Sassymum. Thanks, think I'll bring the soft blanket as well then cos after washing the hoodel towel feels quite scratchy.

Yen, thanks. Will leave my towels at home then.
By the way, did you need to use a post delivery tyre after giving birth? I'm wondering if I should bring mine or whether KK will provide?

There's 1 more CK at Clementi neighbourhood. Near the Clementi Police Station, got Esso Petrol Kiosk. I only know how to drive there. Fairly new one as it used to be occupied by a coffeeshop.

There's 1 more CK at Clementi neighbourhood. Near the Clementi Police Station, got Esso Petrol Kiosk. I only know how to drive there. Fairly new one as it used to be occupied by a coffeeshop. Opposite the shop, there's a wet market.

mcfluffy
yup...me one of those mommies dat's yearning for natural birth..yet fate would have it that i have to go for c-sect cos my baby is breeched. Dont think any gynaes and hospitals here encourages natural births for breeched babies. I won't do that either...it jeopardizes the safety of my baby. Is your baby still at a breech position now?

ahcapp
me too thinking and worrying of how i'm somehow not THAT prepared yet....and today my fren kept reminding me "gan cheong or not, gan cheong or not??" cos next thurs is my scheduled c-sect date liao...am gonna be a mommy liao!!! I am lookg forward to it yet in a strange way...i felt not prepared and also i think i will miss having her inside me squirming and kicking around...anyone feel the same way?
I worry my BF not sufficient, worry do things like sterilising wrong way, aiyah...worry a lot of things la!

mcfluffy
a things equal, c-sect is a major operation whilst natural birth is not an operation. Westerners are having their babies at home. So did my grandma, who has more than 10 children.
It's not as simple as post-op pain. There are risks associated with every major op, no matter how routine it may be. What abt the risk of an instrument/ gauze etc being left inside your body & being undetected? I've read such instances even in our local hospitals..

some Western docs are trained to deliver breech babies naturally. But here.... i think need to wait la.
So i guess if bb is still not yet head down when the time comes, then u're in for a c-sect.

found quite a fierce article arguing abt breech: natural vs c-sect - making the informed choice.
http://www.aims.org.uk/Journal/Vol10No3/breechCSvsNormal.htm
"It is incorrect to assume . . . that caesarean breech delivery is never traumatic for the fetus. Several retrospective studies have shown that brachial plexus injury, damage to soft tissues, fractures, lacerations, and entrapment of the fetal head behind the uterine incision followed by intracranial hemorrhage occur in caesarean breech deliveries as well."
It would appear that in the case of a healthy mother with a healthy baby of normal size in a breech presentation, vaginal delivery at full term ought to be an option to be given serious consideration 'Informed choice' is very much the 'in' thing at present, but how often does this happen with a woman whose baby is in a breech presentation?

No prblms to bf with c-sect wound. There are many ways to hold bb during bf. If 1 position hurts, try another.

mom2nat
erm, i'm not like sassy who sterilises the stuff over & over if they're unused. haha, first time i heard of that.
If i need to use the steriliser i'll assemble the stuff inside and leave it at room temp. No special container. Whoever is warming up ebm will know to use which bottle coz of all the water droplets inside, indicates has been sterilised. Even if more than 1 day, i dun bother to re-sterilise. =P This coming from a mummy who doesn't change teats/ bottles. So i certainly dun set the standards for World Hygiene.. but thank God my boy ok la. Until he went to SCHOOL... *pengz*
I will sterilise my pump after every use, but there hv been times when i got lazy & dumped it in the fridge & went back to sleep. haha.

ahcapp
prevent breast sagging... wonder if Mrs Wong taught in her class. raise your elbows to shoulder level & bring them together so that your arms are blocking your face. I haven't been consistent in doing that, so can't see the effect on my boobs.

Mom2nat, yupz I am like wendyg, sterilise already assemble when hot and of coz with some water droplets inside. Coz if u cap up the milk bottle, nothing can go in. Even if u put them in a big container, u also can't sterilise the container. Breastpump I will sterilise after every use.

Just make sure hands clean when handling. I think sg not so much of issue coz our water very clean already.

Milk bottles
How many are u gals preparing. This time round I only bought 3 milk bottles, 1 small and 2 big. Ke ke ke.....hopefully still can go on tbf.

Hey ladies..wow..congrats to Yen..your baby certainly has a lot of hair!
I was reading the table on who has already 'popped' vs your EDD...I must say most of you gave birth much earlier than expected leh!! For those on C-section..was it planned?? Anyway, congrats once again! I wonder if mine will be early or have to induce...last Sat still not engaged yet leh.

But this morning me felt pain on the top my tummy..just below the chest area. I suspect its more of gas trapped..as I was burping a lot too. Don't think it feels like contraction pain. But it was certainly pain at some point.

Can I ask, is the contraction pain is felt at more of the lower area of the whole tummy? Nearer the vagina area?

contraction is felt where the womb is. Before pregnant, that would be at lower abs. Now with large bb inside, top of womb is (i think) several inches above your belly button.

I was reading the table on who has already 'popped' vs your EDD...I must say most of you gave birth much earlier than expected leh!! For those on C-section..was it planned?? Anyway, congrats once again! I wonder if mine will be early or have to induce...last Sat still not engaged yet leh.

But this morning me felt pain on the top my tummy..just below the chest area. I suspect its more of gas trapped..as I was burping a lot too. Don't think it feels like contraction pain. But it was certainly pain at some point.

Can I ask, is the contraction pain is felt at more of the lower area of the whole tummy? Nearer the vagina area?

mon2nat,
I dont air it. The air also not clean wat, air it will dirty wat I had sterilised. Juz assemble everything after sterilised and put inside the container. Btw, wat I doing is wat Sanrio taught me and u know her background. LOL~

Wow Yen ! Your bb is so cute and pretty leh ! I think she may be a beuty queen in future !!! Rest well !

C-Section/Natural Birth
I think there is many of us who opt for C-section instead of natural here hor

<font color="aa00aa">Congrats to VioletIce who have given birth on 22-Dec-07!! Baby Ian is soooo handsome!!</font>

<font color="ff0000">Pop List!</font>
<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Actual DD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hosp</TD><TD>BB#</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB name</TD><TD>BB Wt/Ht</TD><TD>Delivery Type </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>split (split)</TD><TD>07-Jan-08</TD><TD>15-Dec-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>1.875kg</TD><TD>C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>sassy (sassymum)</TD><TD>22-Jan-08</TD><TD>15-Dec-07</TD><TD>Dr. Ben Neo</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Danelle</TD><TD>2.215kg</TD><TD>C-Sect with GA </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>JanBB</TD><TD>16-Jan-08</TD><TD>19-Dec-07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jayden</TD><TD>2.41kg</TD><TD>C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Yen (yen2007)</TD><TD>05-Jan-08</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Celleste</TD><TD>2.96kg</TD><TD>C-Sect </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>jenie_1979 (jenie_1979)</TD><TD>10-Jan-08</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Felicia</TD><TD>2.845kg</TD><TD>Natural with epidural </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>violetIce (violetIce)</TD><TD>11-Jan-08</TD><TD>22-Dec-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Ian Ng</TD><TD>3.6kg</TD><TD>C-Sect</td></tr></table>

babe / wendyg
Tks for your advices, so I can screw them up when damp...
Errr... another qn, my #1 got a lot of bottles I buy liao no use, can use those? NO need to buy new ones right?

Val
Tks, hmmm... I can't rem sanrio's background.
So in way, those bottle drying racks mah not much of use liao?

eh..i tot violetice opting for c-sect on 24 dec ie Xmas eve baby? she given birth on 22dec instead?

yday again rounds of waking up middle of the night to pee...on and off, totally cannot sleep. Sometimes after peeing jus lie there awake and thinking of wat other things i havent prep for baby's arrival.

wendy
i think even if Spore hospitals practice natural breech births, i would think twice too...reason being baby's head is fairly large, delivering the leg and body first is fairly easy, but if baby's head stuck inside and u have a hard time pushing, then can cause distress to baby due to lack of oxygen. Sounds pretty dangerous to me. I read in some websites, baby is still better off delivering via c-sect if in breech position...pros outweigh the cons.

mylife
coz it's so widely practised.. once breech = c sect. the article argues that docs hv lost the skill of delivering breech babies naturally.

wendy
yah lo...my mom actually gave birth to her first baby ie my eldest sis via breech natural birth. Tat was 41 yrs ago. Back then, they dont anyhow c-sect. But hor, my eldest sis si beh temperamental one...my mom always commented dunno is becos her head stuck inside too long...now "head got wind" *lol* That's why when my mom learned my baby also breeched, she's relieved to know now c-sect very safe liao...she also advocates me go for c-sect. Dont wish for me to go thru the same pain she endured via breech natural birth.

wendy
hahahaha...that's true also...
well at least IF i am ever gonna have #2, your case sort of comfort me that i prob WILL have a chance at natural delivery next time...dat is IF we decide to go for #2.

Dont think anyone will remember me now, it had been months I have last came to the forum I think last time was somewhere in May 07, been quite busy lately so could not continue. today dropped by and wow so many mom-to-be are already moms
CONGRATULATIONS to all moms who delivered so far.

A quick update abt myself, my EDD is 07-Jan-08 and its a baby girl, this is my second one, first is boy. I will be delivering in Mt Alvernia and my gynae is Dr Adrian B Woodworth. Like most of you here I am also keeping my fingers crossed as waiting game is now on :p but continue with office as its easier in office rather than at home to avoid the same anxiety... lets see how far I can cope up

Dont think anyone will remember me now, it had been months I have last came to the forum I think last time was somewhere in May 07, been quite busy lately so could not continue. today dropped by and wow so many mom-to-be are already moms
CONGRATULATIONS to all moms who delivered so far.

A quick update abt myself, my EDD is 07-Jan-08 and its a baby girl, this is my second one, first is boy. I will be delivering in Mt Alvernia and my gynae is Dr Adrian B Woodworth. Like most of you here I am also keeping my fingers crossed as waiting game is now on :p but continue with office as its easier in office rather than at home to avoid the same anxiety... lets see how far I can cope up