(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

yen, by the way dun sun your baby

doctors are against it.....if you really wanna sun mustcover baby's eyes....

milk will come in soon...dun worry...but you must continue to let your baby latch on....apply nipple cream

Wow Yen, Baby Celleste got nice black hair!

eRnMum,
most likely yr boy decide to be a Dec 2007 baby ya
All the best!
I am at 36wks 2days...makes me so excited too...

mom2nat
1) i also dun believe that private banking works
2) instd of discarding the cord blood, may as well donate it for public banking or research, since so hard to come by.

re: sterilising
if u let the parts dry, then not sterile liao lor, coz it's exposed to non-sterile air. Wipe with tissue/ dry cloth is worse.... there are particles that we can't see lor.
i leave everything in the steriliser until i need then take out and use. I dun clear the steriliser once cycle is complete in order to air it. Once in a while i de-scale it.

Yen: Go GNC and buy fenugreek pills to eat... start at 6 pills a day...once milk come in, you just take one or two pills depend on your flow.

If not, tell your doc you need medicine to boost your milk supply. I got from my doc but dun remember the name...wow damn power...took once and when i woke up next day....when my baby cry, the milk just gush out from nipples

You need to rest and relax too in order to let your body make those milk.

Hope it helps

WISHING ALL MOMMIES & UR LOVED ONES A MERRY MERRY XMAS!!!

Congrats yen & jenie on the arrival of your little precious ones...

yen,

ur bb really got alot of hair lei... and so black somemore

you can try to massage and stimulate yr breast by pumping every 3 hourly, 8 times a day (thght by Mt E lactation consultant). i was lazy, only did ard 5-6 times a day for the 1st 3 days and nothin came out ok... (at least u still have the pathetic few drops) the pathetic few drops of milk supply only come on the 4th day and now my flow is quite consistent, can pump ard 90-150ml per time... and many a times leaking staining my clothes. dun be disheartened, just keep trying and dun give up.

anyone using avent phillips steriliser? may i know how long can i keep the bottles and teats inside after each sterilisation? TIA

sassy it says up to 6 hrs rite? unless is IQ 24 then can use up to 24 hrs wor .... eh this is what I heard from the sales person .....

Mom2nat and all mommies, after sterilising dun haf to wipe dry. When still hot, assemble and cap. Since it's a closed system, no contamination. Actually, haha...coz if u read how I handle my first pump, u know actually I stupidly left things outside without realising but thank God bb ok. Really how sterile does it have to be. Important is wash clean with no milk residue.

Yen, milk supply really stabilise abt 6 weeks. Now just have to keep milking. Demand = supply

Yen
congrats congrats!! wahhhhh your baby's hair really alot leh...and yes, features also so defined....must be a real beauty leh!!

My gf who's also due in Jan 08 jus now called me say she in Robinson shopping...i'm amazed she still got energy to walk and shop. My feet so swollen have trouble walking around liao. This Thurs i'll be chun-chun 37 weeks liao, and if baby still breech, then next Thurs i'll be going for c-sect liao.

Unlike fishia, i dont like predictability leh..prefer the excitement...hehe...but now no choice la...my gf commented that next time every year my princess birthday will be school start day....sianz..lol

hi, m from the Dec 07 MTB thread... have e following to sell:

5 boxes (6 bttles/box) of Brand's Essence of Chicken, all expiring in yr 2010, selling @ $13/box

1 box (6 bttles) of Brand's Essence of chicken wif Tangkwei, expiring in 22/12/09. selling @ $14/box

1 box of (8 bttles) of New Moon Essence of fish with american ginseng, expiring in 30/03/10. selling @ $18/box

2 bttles of 1 litre D.O.M., selling @ $30 each.

Mitup venues - TPY, Serangoon, Aljunied, shenton way... can b arranged. interested parites, pls pm o e-mail [email protected]. thanks

qq

is tat so??? shit!!! then should have bought the IQ24 mann... isit a MUST to buy a container to store the sterilise bottles, teats and pumps?

Re: sterilise

ok this might sound very stupid and ignorant... i leave the sterilise stuff in the avent machine and take out whatever i need to use and wash... after tat it goes in again and sterilise (there will be alot of items which are sterilise over and over again) can any kind souls advise on wat is the correct way?

sassy, hmmmmm i never buy the container leh i dun think is neccessary wor i will just leave everything inside the steriliser wor .....i think i will go ask some expert oso hahaha let u kw again

I started packing my hospital bag liao, about 70% done. Anyone knows whether it's ok to use a hooded towel to bring BB back in or should I bring a soft blanket instead?

Yen, your BB gal SOOOOO..... Cute and pretty! And so much hair, I'm envious. Hope my gal will have lots of hair too.

You delivered at KKH right, did you stay A1 or B1? Do they provide slippers & towel for mummy at KKH? Can shower after delivery or immediately after giving birth, cannot touch water if following confinement rules. What else do they provide for BB in the inpatient package? Me blur liao. :p

eRnMum, jia you jia you. Have a smooth delivery. Going to see your BB boy soon.

sassy and other c-sect mums,
is BFing a problem straight after the op? The wound not too painful to BF right?

I'm actually considering to have C-sect instead of natural birth. Anyone same as me? Opting for C-sect?

Sterilise

After sterilised, I will put them inside a big air tight container. If the stuff inside the container is not being used within a day, then I will rinse it and sterilise it again when I wanna use. Remember to wash ur hands before handling the things.

hi janet,

i choose 4bedded..anyway that time im warded only got 1 patient and the place wasnt very small..no free upgrade..the nurses there were very patience and they actually come and check on me on and off..haha cant sleep well at night cuz they keep coming to take my blood pressure..

my hubby actually stay with me at the ward till like 10plus pm and the nurse also never chase him out..till i call him to go home and rest..

hi mcfluffy,

i started bfing the next day after my operation~the wound was not as painful as my backache.. so is till oki to me..i can started walking around the ward next day after my surgery though my hubby said i walk like liang popo..but a week after the surgery i wunt feel much pain le

mcfluffy,

i was bed-ridden for the 1st day after the op and was on drip. the wound was very painful... on the 2nd day, everything was off and was told to go shower and walk more as it helps in wound healing. the initial move off the bed was really painful and unbearable and i was walking like an 90 yr old grandma (very very slow) cos i fear tat the wound will tear. request for the binder, you feel more secure. i only started stimulating my breast on the 2nd day using the hospital's pump and tried latching my girl only on the 3rd day. so far, everything is ok and danelle is on TBF.

mind if i ask, why do u wanna op for c-sect? i know of alot of mummies wanting so much to experience the labour pain, contractions etc etc... and if really "bo pian" then go for c-sect.

kitsune,

you can bring anything u like and doll up yr precious one... for me, i wrapped her with the soft blanket and also wore the hooded towel over.

valencia,

thanks. can tupperware will do right? or is there any specific brands to buy?

Can i ask u ladies...

When u return from the hospital (and if you will be travelling back in your own car), do u intend to carry your baby in your arms or put him/her in the infant car seat. Just wondering if my little darling is too small to be place in his infant car seat. Just a bit worried.

Sassy & Kitsune,

The hooded towel sounds good. I didn't pack it in! Will do so now. =)

Btw Sassy,

I am v happy to know that u are successful with breastfeeding. =) I hope my baby will latch on properly and I will not have any problem.

AhCapp,

I am a first time mummy to be so I also have no experience. But I heard from my mummy friends that usually they will carry the baby in their arms coz the newborn is too small to place in the car seat. Maybe can wait for other mummies to contribute to this

Where are you delivering? Coz TMC provides a hooded towel for baby (but of coz you can bring your own if you prefer)

Re: Registering of baby name and baby bonus
I think I asked this question before but not sure if it was posted (due to server error the past few days) but I din see any response.

1. How do we go about registering the baby name? Must be within how many days from birth and is it only done at the hospital before we discharge?

2. Anyone can tell me how the baby bonus scheme works?

Thanks in advance for your advices.

hey AhCapp,

Thanks for the info. 14 days.. does that mean that we will go back to hospital to register after discharge? (As usually for natural birth, is 2-3 days discharge already and c-sect is about 5 days)

I would guess so wor. Come to think about it, not much time left right? =P I really have to get my hubby moving fast to think of a name quick now.

for me, we have thought of the christian name. However, for chinese name, we will be asking the fortune teller to choose. And it has to wait till baby is born coz have to see baby's 8 characters. so i guess will have to go back to the hospital again to register after i have discharged.

Btw, when are you delivering?

wow... 15 jan is coming soon coz it seems like most usually pop early.
me still seems like a long way to go coz my edd is 27 jan 08. haiz..

Wow..
baby really cute le..

Ahcapp,
Mothercare breastfeeding bra is selling at 2 for $90. Some of the credit cards have tie up for discounts of 10%. Theirs are non-wired.

hi blackbatz,

maybe u will wanna consider getting the bfing bra in ck..they are selling like $3.90 each only anyway is those normal cloth type with opening..u might need more bfing bra cuz will be very uncomfortable if u leak and wet the bra...

re: sterilising
Seems like there are a few variations:-
a) ok to leave unused items in steriliser - just open/close when you need to take items out of it and close the steriliser again.

b) drain off excess water vapor and assemble after sterilising, with bottle cap over the teat
- some say ok to leave the whole thing outside, as long as the cover is secure
- some prefer to store the assembled bottles in a container
- some go one step further to place container in the freezer/fridge

My option will be to put the container in the freezer cos I have enuf freezer space (for now). However if I run out of space, I'll probably just leave the assembled bottles with cover, at room temperature.

Unused items will be re-sterilised every morning before use.

Today went to fren's house for christmas lunch... went late and reached at 2plus and tummy was so painful due to hunger. I thought something was wrong when I felt the pain... thank god it was only hunger pangs hehe.

Thanks blackbatz for the info. =)

I am also checking out CK for the nursing bras. Didn't see them at the Clementi West branch. Will go to the Jurong West branch later to check out. Thank u Split!

Itok,

I wish my due date is like yours. I don't feel ready or prepared. Like still have tons of things to do at work like that. Writing my passdown list now. My poor colleagues... =( Feel bad for them also...

Hi prata_queen,

Thank u for the info! I nearly forgot about what I have learnt during the class at TMC. =P Think I will choose option B) and then put everything into a huge plastic container. I worry about lizards! =S

Will go empty out my huge plastic container I bought it to store my baking needs some time ago! *LOL* Ever since I am pregnant, baking has been the last thing on my mind. =P

hi AhCapp, if i remember correctly, Mrs Wong said its ok to store assembled bottles, with cover, at room temperature.

Storing in container and then placing container in freezer is what I added on myself based on info from other forum threads...

actually also depends. If cooking is frequent then it may be better to store the bottles in a container so that they dun kenna the oil vapor etc etc...

i lor sor a bit and repeat this pc of advice from the TMC class okie... remember not to stick the brush bristles into the delicate surface of the bottle latex/silicone teats cos once scratched, bacteria and dirt will accumulate in the scratched interior of the teats.

I think this makes sense and is very crucial since we may only change the bottle teats once a month or few months...

split, i also bought my cloth, non-wired nursing bras from ck. find it a very good deal at $3.90.

first time i bought 2 or 3 smallest sizes which are already very large ... the salegal says breasts will further enlarge after birth so although it seems big now, it will be just nice after birth.

second time i went to buy 1 more. No more of the smallest size available so I bought size 36 intead.

seems like their nursing bras are quite popular and smaller sizes run out quickly.

hi Ahcapp,

I am opposite of you; I hope my due date is earlier like yours hahahah! coz i am getting impatient being pregnant :p but guess we have to let nature takes its course

split and sassy,
thanks for the answers.

Precisely everyone wants to opt for natural birth which I don't understand why. Maybe I'm more pessimistic, I keep thinking of the looooong and tough labour that I'll go through and because my hips aren't wide (usually means that pelvic bone area is small), so labour might either be long or baby cannot come out and have to go for emergency c-sect. Very unpredictable.

I prefer something well planned and have discussed with gynae. He mentioned that natural birth will cause loose vagina and bladder problems which i really do not wish to have.

So thinking of c-sect and weighing the options. So far, c-sect "problems" are just pain after the op which gynae says can be controlled by painkillers. Painkillers will not affect breastmilk according to him. Another "problem" is longer recovery time. Meaning, longer time to slim down (high priority on my list.) Other than that, seems like BFing is not really a problem according to both of you although some of my friends say BF could be a problem coz of the wound pain.

mcfluffy,

u are just like me. when i knew i was pregnant, my immediate thinking is c-sect coz i want a planned delivery and i think the whole labour process is simply too stressful.

however, as I speak to more people, they encouraged me to go for natural due to faster healing. and i have sinus problems so every morning i will sneeze and i scared that if i go for c-sect, the wound may tear when i sneeze too hard.

itok,
haha, at first I was thinking of natural birth coz everyone's talking about it. Until I was told my baby was breeched last month den I started thinking of c-sect.

According to my gynae and my many readups, using a binder will help in the pain of the wound.

Anyway, so you've decided on natural? I think I'm going for c-sect. Haha... trying to convince myself that I do not need to be like all the rest who wants natural. I feel a bit like an alien, everyone wants natural, I want c-sect. Hah.

mcfluffy,
oh, ur baby is breeched? then i think c-sect is safer or rather, c-sect is a must rtg?

i think i have decided on natural.. but i definitely want epidural coz i have absolute low threshold for pain :p

mcfluffy,
oh, ur baby is breeched? then i think c-sect is safer or rather, c-sect is a must rtg?

i think i have decided on natural.. but i definitely want epidural coz i have absolute low threshold for pain :p