(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

its a quiet and sunny Sunday afternoon.

so exciting to hear that some mums are experiencing contractions, scheduled to deliver in the next 2 weeks etc. Me can only see and 'drool' and patiently wait for my turn cos my edd is Jan 20 mah... So far I have not experienced any contractions (mayb BH which I can't be sure of) or other signs of labor. Does that mean I will deliver near EDD?

I went to the JL sale on Sat and came back with a lot of good buys. Those who have not stocked up ... this is a good time to do so.

Stuff I bought:-
Tollyjoy cottonwool
Tollyjob nappy liners
Tollyjoy cloth nappies
Tollyjoy baby accessories and vege cleanser
Pigeon wet wipes refill
Pigeon wet wipes hardcover box

All these are entitled to the 20% + 5% rebate.

Wanted to qualify for the FOC delivery so topped up with moisturiser to make up $150 else impossible to lug our purchases the whole afternoon in Orchard Road.

Was super tired when we reached home...totally knocked out... I wonder if this is my last shopping trip before I give birth

I decided not to wait for post-christmas sales which may have better buys cos by then I may not be able to walk much. And so seldom hubby is willing to go to town with me cos he is the kind who hates crowded places.

All mummies going to give birth soon, take good care!

yesterday was the 1st day my little danelle come home... her 1st night was erractic, kept waking up and crying, asking for feeds... kinda regret tat i didn't get a CL.
im like a zombie now...

Will u really strictly stay at home for the whole month during your confinement period? My immediate family is all ready to come over for reunion dinner as they said I can't go anywhere. I was like, huh, but I confirm will want to go out what. =S My MIL and SIL was like, no lah, can't go out what. I think I will just heck care. Full month stay at home, I will go nuts for sure! I will definately slip out for a few hours to breath some fresh air during my confinement.

Godsent,

OH yes, sometimes, I have to carry my tummy when I walk too fast. Feel a bit weird. *LOL*

U wake up at 4am to eat ah? hehehehe.. so cute. I also get hungry at night when I wake up. But most of the time, I just ignore my hunger and go back to sleep.

Wendyg,

U start to feel the cramps already ah?

Hi Sassy,

Anyone helping u? U poor gal.. must be really stressed. =(

It's ok, just be strong and hang in there.

prata queen I went JL oso in orchard on saturday hahaha but very lazy to shop .... i feel so tired .... now like cant do anything very tired sleepy ... always want afternoon nap liao ..... one or two hrs will be good .....

sassy take care ..... poor lady .... think i will be like u too .... cos mi mil wont be stayong over during my confinement

aiyoh...me too cannot sleep long, kept waking up to go wee, or even just to turn sides on the bed. Today woke up at 8-ish, then cannot wake up liao. Yippee, hubby is back, but he slept like a log. But i woke him up anyway, cos felt hungry and wantd to go for breakfast!

michelle
beansprout pillow also avail at cloud9 and spring maternity.

ahcapp
aiyah...i tell u, if u dont turn a blind eye and deaf ear to these comparisons, next time we're gonna be even more miserable...people jus cant stop comparing one la...like dat u will stress ur baby...from weight, to looks, to clothes, brands, education, intelligence, choice of schools, exam results, etc...it's never ending!!! I ever heard 2 mothers comparing how well and fast their babies can put together jigsaw puzzles! One said my 2 yr old can handle 20 pcs, then the other retorted by saying, hers can handle 50 pcs since 2 yr old liao...imagine that man! As for staying at home...well, maybe i will stay until 3 weeks like dat....
But after that wanna go walk-walk and carry baby

Re: weight of tummy
yah mine too weighing so much i have difficulty walking. Still dunno if she has turn down to vertex position. If she's still breeched then i must walk really carefully cos scared trigger labour then jialat, her leg will come out first!! Hubby came back last night, jio me go kia-kia before baby comes out but i super scared of the Xmas crowd in town...so aggressive one...some wont even care u're preggie, jus anyhow pushed past me one! Have to protect my tummy with a hand all the time!

sassy
if u really cannot tahan...still not too late to go and get a confinement nanny...call an agency and get one lo. If u cannot tahan la...for your own sanity

chaye
after waxing, my pubic area also feel sore still...but no pus la...guess it's due to our skin sensitivity now with all the water retention...toughing it out...hopefully, will diminish aft a few days...

Re: Full month cakes
i think i will take the sweetest moment cos i got the FBI card from TMC. But for relatives, i think i will jus get bulk vouchers from Bengawan Solo...cos the older folks seem to prefer Bengawan Solo vouchers, u give them modern cute-cute ones, they wont appreciate one lo.

Ahcapp,
if need b, i tink i'll go out lor. tink we need to go for post-natal check up, etc.. mayb on my 3rd or 4th wks, i'll go out liao...

Godsent: I a freak when it comes to hygiene. So rather ignore my MIL than suffer post natal depression : ) Anyway if it makes sense, I try to listen, if solely myths, I;ll disregard

Mei: Pls include me. Thanx
3rascals (june06) 17-Jan Dr. Joycelyn Wong TMC #2 Girl

sassymum, altho i may sound crazy for saying this, i ENVY you for being able to hold your danelle in you arms

In case you wanna hire a CL in Dec/Jan, the rate should be about $1800. Mine is likely to be CNY period so I'm paying $2200.

QQ, aiya maybe we walked past each other but nebber recognise onli hah.

The crowd was really horrible... plus the drizzle. I dun tink i have the stamina to do this again. Very funny, the JL sales guy said to me "M'am, you last minute preparing for your baby ah" with a chuckle n big smile on his face. I quite like their service-friendliness and initiativeness, esp when I can't find the item I want.

re: beansprout pillow
I find those sold outside not 'solid' enuf. I prefer to have more husks so that its heavier. Up till now, i hafen found one that is heavy enuf so i also hafen bought yet.

Me now in KK Hospital. Posting using my hubby's laptop. Let me tell you my story

Labour Story

21/12/2007 Contraction of 20 minutes interval happened between 2230 till 0200. Then contraction interval kept getting shorter until 0500 it was every 5 minutes liau. Cannot liau...time to go to hospital. Screamed for my hubby to wake up. Asked him to get ready and of course warmed up a bottle of chicken essence

22/12/2007 Reached KK at about 0645. Nurse see my "no smile face", checked into delivery suite straightaway. Doc came, announce 3 cm dilation and he poke my water bag. Then insert constantly a solution into my bloodstream to increase my contraction intensity. At this time I really cannot tahan the pain liau. Just early labour only leh... The laughing gas is really a laughing stock. Better throw away. "Mai tu liau" Epi. come to save the day.
The dilation process was so slow. After 6 hours only at 5-6 cm. But doc. said still got chance for natural birth. Got one time so drama. 2 Docs with 3 nurse came in. My baby heart beat was dropping. Apparently my strong contraction had squeezed my baby too strongly. I was soooo scared. Then they shot another solution to relax my muscle and baby heartbeat got back to normal. Walau eh....so scared!~

After more than 12 hours of waiting, the doc told me got to go C-Section liau because 1. Dilation oni 7-8 cm. 2. Baby's heart beat is not so active liau. 3. Me got fever. So many docs. and nurse came and talk to me.
Finally bo pian, got to go for C-Section. Walau eh...oni another 2 cm to go oni leh...haiz....but for the sake of baby. I was crying like a baby from the moment I signed the consent letter until I was kena stitched after the ops. All the nurses was puzzle why I cried. They dun understand......

Anyway my baby Celleste came to this world at 22/12/2007 at around 9 plus with a bit of fever. My hubby was so scared when the nurse told him that he cannot see the baby yet because of fever.

Finally, when everything is OK we got to see her. Sooooo Super..... Cute........ My hubby told me when the first time he saw her, she was sucking the blanket! So hungry meh?

First time seeing her was indeed Magical! The pain at my wound had vanised almost instantly! Wow!

That's all for now. talk later. Want to play with my Celleste liau.....

hi all...seems like some time since i visited this forum....errm...sorry but is there a list of mums that have already given birth so far to date?? Congrats to them ya....

So far I'm also seeing gynae weekly already. The last weekend check my baby still not engaged yet, so I hope it's still a Jan 08 baby!

Hey AhCapp, so the cervix check thing is at how many weeks? The fact that your baby is engaged, means got high chance anytime within 1 - 2 weeks right? How come your EDD stil 15 Jan...haha...

CONGRATULATIONS TO YEN!!!!

Rest well now and show us Celleste's photos when you're better :)

Have yours and Celleste's fever subsided? Happy for you that it all went well!

ah capp
yeah dull menses cramps. sometimes feel it, sometimes when i'm distracted i dun notice it i guess. Husband thinks maybe Christmas baby.... crossing my fingers! I've given up guessing which day is THE DAY.. it's like when i was looking for boyfriend. I KNEW i'd get married someday, but when i was actively looking, none turned up. Not long after i committed it to God's hands & proceeded to enjoy my singledom, He sent someone along my way. So i'll just take it 1 day at a time & enjoy my "family of 3" just a little bit longer... before i know it, it'll be an irreversible "family of 4".

sassy
hang in there.. if u doing TBF, CL also can't help much. Your body will get used to the zombie feeling... sooner or later! Take daytime naps when your girl is napping. Drinking 1 cup of coffee a day is fine, if it helps. How's the bfg coming along? Your wound better? Off painkillers liao?

3 rascals
hi *5* same doc.

mylife
dun kiakia in town, too crowded.. try the malls just outside town, like Great World or Novena.. i think fewer people there? Esp those without MRT.

Hey Yen
congrats on the birth of your girl. U were very brave to have gone thru so many hrs of contractions at home, bet u couldn't sleep whole night - lay awake just timing the intervals & getting all excited. Still got mood to joke abt laughing gas huh... u must be over the moon to be a mom. Well done sista.

<font color="0000ff"><font size="+1">CONGRATS TO YEN!!!</font></font>

Your labour story si beh funny....me and hubby reading and laughing away...hehehe....but u very brave leh...and i totally can understand why u cry from signing form to stitching up...like me now, even before can try oredi been told must go c-sect, oredi crying liao hehe

wendy
haiz....neighbourhood mall not any better, me stay tampines, go tampines mall also same-same!! crowds everywhere!!! so scary. I think i also better not walk so much since baby is breeched, sekali go into labour cos i can oredi feel my pelvis kena pressured by her butt. Some more those people si beh scary one...one time i went bugis junction, i was walking towards the escalator liao...this woman jus zoomed past me, trying to take a shortcut instead of around the escalator...mind u, i've oredi reached the start of the going-down escalator liao, she jus cut across me and bump into my tummy leh!!! i normally wont scold people one...but this one really damn angry...scolded her cos she didnt even say sorry!!! So angry!

people are like tat 1... i haf to put my hand infront of my tummy. so tat ppl cant bang on me... if bang i cfm scold them.... they like blind 1, cant see big tummy.

mylife / cheryl
I once met some kids playing in NTUC, zooming ard with the trolleys! I wasn't angry, but a lady beside me got angry saying how can these kids be playing here, and I preg somemore!

congrats yen!!! dun forget to post yr darling celleste pic for us to see...

mylife

like wat wendy mentioned, i am on TBF so the CL cant help much either. hopefully, i can "dong"... scared tat i will fall sick then jia lat already. btw, hv u check yr mailbox? receive the warranty card liao??? thank u very much.

wendy

im on TBF and the flow is quite alrite... can pump ard 90ml to 150ml per time. sometimes it will flow out by itself and leave stain marks on my tee shirt. im off painkillers already and i feel more secure wearing the binder.

Re: lochia discharge
my lochia discharge is abit off track... came for 4 days then stopped for 3 days and now it came again. mommies, is this normal or abnormal???

yen
yes yes yes!!! post some pics of your very cute princess for us to see!!!

is it me or does anyone else noticed the posting seems to take forever that got error message but the posting get posted anyway? seems like got trouble for very long liao

yen,
congrats on your baby gal!!!

all,
how does contractions feel like? Is it hardening of the tummy? or feel like menses cramps?? Also, when i lie on my side, i feel the baby like pushing/moving along the side "walls" of my tummy, does anyone else experience this??

nowadays i feel a lot of baby movements most of the times. sometimes he kicks/moves till it hurts a bit- i am only due on 27 jan so what i am experiencing now shouldn't be pre-labor pains rtg?

Wow, after reading Yen's post on her delivery, I can't help but laugh out loud lor. =) Anyway, YEN, very happy for u. ^_^ Congratulations on the arrival of your little darling! Remember to post some pics when u are ready. =)

Hi Hammies,

Wow, really long time no see u here. How r u? =) My first cervix check was yesterday, I am about 36 and 1/2 weeks. My baby's head is engaged.

My gynae told me to stay by from Xmas day (when I am 37 weeks) onwards. I am not ready to give birth yet. My boss still have not told me who to pass down my huge project to! =S I still have not bought my nursing bras too. Mothercare told me to go back when I am about 38 weeks for better fitting. N I don't want to give birth in Dec, I want Jan =P

Wendyg &amp; Mom2nat,

Baby's head engaged means anytime already ah? Oh no... =S He has been pressing down for past 2 days or so. I couldn't even eat my fav Tom Yam handmade noodles in peace just now. =( Today ultra active too! Goosh, he has to stay in longer lah...

Mylife,

Yes, the postting takes forever. When I click the post msg button again, it will have error msg.

I also put my hand in front of my tummy whenever I notice people are like rushing towards me. I don't take MRT at the interchange anymore as the people there are always rushing for their lives and don't even notice me. =S Very bad.

Itok,

I experience the same feeling/ baby movements like u. I know he is kicking or moving or rotating about like an astronaut. But sometimes, very uncomfortable I must say. =( I don't feel any cramps yet. I pray that I don't have any contractions till Jan!

yen,

all,
how does contractions feel like? Is it hardening of the tummy? or feel like menses cramps?? Also, when i lie on my side, i feel the baby like pushing/moving along the side "walls" of my tummy, does anyone else experience this??

nowadays i feel a lot of baby movements most of the times. sometimes he kicks/moves till it hurts a bit- i am only due on 27 jan so what i am experiencing now shouldn't be pre-labor pains rtg?

Congrats! Yen!!! So exciting, we are just chatting at Pearl River restaurant and told hubby your BB gal is out liao. Ya, can imagine, endure the pain and contraction for so long, end up C section, think I'll cry too. How heavy is Celleste when born? Remember to post pics ya.

My BB very active today, stomach keep tightening and bulges just below my breasts. Very uncomfortable. Just asking hubby, don't know whether it's BH contractions or just she stretching and poking. Seeing gynae next Wed, can ask gynae then. :p

Congrats! Yen!!! So exciting, we are just chatting at Pearl River restaurant the other day and told hubby your BB gal is out already. So fast! Ya, can imagine, endure the pain and contraction for so long, end up C section, think I'll cry too. How heavy is Celleste when born? Remember to post pics ya.

My BB very active today, stomach keep tightening and bulges just below my breasts. Very uncomfortable. Just asking hubby, don't know whether it's BH contractions or just she stretching and poking. Seeing gynae next Wed, can ask gynae then. :p

yen,

all,

itok

i also feel like tat... tummy get harden quite often but duno is it becos he move wor... but now seldom feel kicks, more on movement like stetching etc.... and it is pain leh...

Mom2nat, my gal about 20mths. Btw, u think GUG good to continue? Which teachers better? Heehee...coz I wonder to carry on for long term or find some other stuff for her...

Sassy, just hang on with TBF. Latching is always better than expressing. Like what 3rascals said, just rest whenever bb naps coz it takes awhile before they sleep through.

Yen, congrats! Looks like you are taking everything very well. Just rest as much while in hospital.

QQ, I had bleeding for my no.1. Was very funny coz first time..woke up about 3am go toilet and the muscus plug drop out then thot only spotting and put on panty liner and go back try to sleep but realised like very heavy and changed bigger pad and continue to sleep since ppl say first one not so fast and I no pain. Haha...wake up at 530-6am and eat breakie and shower and make my way to TMC, already 3cm dilated and happily still talking to hb. So come red also not that bad lahz...think better than water bag burst...will be quite a mess.

Mom2nat, my gal about 20mths. Btw, u think GUG good to continue? Which teachers better? Heehee...coz I wonder to carry on for long term or find some other stuff for her...

Sassy, just hang on with TBF. Latching is always better than expressing. Like what 3rascals said, just rest whenever bb naps coz it takes awhile before they sleep through.

Yen, congrats! Looks like you are taking everything very well. Just rest as much while in hospital.

QQ, I had bleeding for my no.1. Was very funny coz first time..woke up about 3am go toilet and the muscus plug drop out then thot only spotting and put on panty liner and go back try to sleep but realised like very heavy and changed bigger pad and continue to sleep since ppl say first one not so fast and I no pain. Haha...wake up at 530-6am and eat breakie and shower and make my way to TMC, already 3cm dilated and happily still talking to hb. So come red also not that bad lahz...think better than water bag burst...will be quite a mess.

sassy
yup...got back the card yday liao..dont worry about it! U rest well ok! I tot u not jus talking about being zombie by BF-ing...tot like have to do alot of things..dats why suggested u get a CL if u cannot tahan.
Wei...u shud post more of darling's pics also leh..

Congratulations to Yen !!!
Your birth story is really funny ! But glad that both mother and child are safe ! That's the most important thing !

itok
I am experiencing tightness that occurs many many times a day. It will last for abt half a min then relax. I believe this is Braxton Hicks. I am also experiencing some kind of cramps on off these few days ! So worry that I may pop man !

mylife,

well, there's alot to do other than BF... since u engage a CL already so not tat bad. luckily, i've got my maid to do the other misc. stuff. like this morning, my gal poo poo leaked and kenna her rompers and blanket. changed her quickly and dumped the dirty linen to her for washing.
her face was so black when i passed it to her at 6.30am lol
but i do the washing and sterilising of bottles and medela pumps myself as i dun trust her to do it.

Sassy,
Agree with you. Sterilising etc must do ourselves cos they might skip one or two steps. Can't imagine those days will be coming to haunt me soon..

AhCapp
No, doesn't mean engaged means gg to give birth soon. I think one mommy posted b4 wat engagement means. I told wendyg tat, cos for #2, usually engagement comes nearer to labour. For my #1, She was engaged for at least 3 weeks and I was dilated 1cm for 2 weeks. Initially I was so happy, still tell my mom can come over to France liao, end up we waited until 40 weeks 6 days. So engaged doesn't mean gg into labour hor.

Babe
I think GUG prog is not bad, but not the admin. My girl attended the Tots prog at 18 months(2x a week), the zoo phonics really helped. But after 3 terms she was bored, so I stopped. Now I continue, cos din wan her to forget her phonics. I tried Julia Gabriel, good too. She loved it, esp cos Evans rd has playround. Try the billingual class, it is quite fun, most of the kids love it. Sometimes oso depends on your luck if the teacher you get is good or not.

Next yr, my girl is turning 4, she is attending church kindy, GUG and Berries world(mandarin) on Sats, and ballet on Tue. When she was young, she was so afraid of strangers, cried like dunno wat when she goes for classes. But now, she loves them, dun even need me to be ard liao. So somehow my hb thinks the classes helped to make her more confident and bubbly.

Mom2nat,
I was afraid that I wouldn't have so much time to bring my son around for the lesson since no.2 is coming. So stop some of the lessons for my son. Sigh!!

Blackbatz
Heee... me opposite. I started her on more lessons, cos since weekends, my hb can send her there. For weekdays, the ballet lesson is 630pm, my hb prob get home liao, can send her there oso. Those tat are in the afternoons on weekdays, I put on pending first lor. Do you have a helper at home?

<font color="0077aa">Yen,
Congrats!!! You are #5 on the pop list

Hope u &amp; baby Celleste is recovering well now. No more fever...
Do post yr bb pic once u feel better ya

Mom2nat,
I have helpers, mother, father and maid. Just that dun want to tire them out. Hubby is quite busy on weekdays, wouldn't be able to help at all. So, let him join phonics class at CC for the time being. He attended JG classes for 2 years, had to stop.

jus Now when I went to NTUC to buy groceries ..... Got a few china youngster playing at the wine section I am there looking at some wine ..... they pushing each other and give them a stern look especially the girl .... play a fool ...... another saw my face think Got tell them dun play bah .... but i say loudly best is that they hit the wine and broke it they have to pay I will OBI good them

I have also popped.
Mei,
Can you please update for me.
Baby name Felicia
Baby weight at birth 2.845kg
Natural with epidural
Baby born on 22/12/07 1827

Yen,
Congrat to you! We popped on the same date and cant imagine we were at the delivery suite at the same time and maybe same ward now. Me going to discharge today. How's about you?