(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

sassy, yours done at camden n tat explains the higher charges compared to eastshore n TMC i guess.

Mom2nat, my fren did her scan at TMC and paid $120 lei. I remember I was shocked at the price difference...like y mine cost $60 more than hers. Mayb its a different type of scan bah. My gynae also says normal scans from now on, no detailed scan in 3rd trimester.

QQ, ya, the pictures of the food made me hungry last nite. Pestered hubby to go to white sands pasar malam to buy supper for me but he refused

3rascals, any reason to induce? y not let labor start naturally lei? I wanted to deliver in end Dec (36 wks) but my gynae refuse to induce. I prefer 2007 bb to 2008 bb.

thanks 3rascals and all others
went to doc...feel much better liao...jus gotta avoid touching the sore area. But then, when i reached the doc's clinic, she also quickly on the tap water and asked me to place it under the cold running water leh. I think it really does help to cool the heat "trapped" inside my hand. But she cant give me strong cream cos of my preggie state. So have to endure lo.

Re: Induction of labour
Why more painful? U mean bursting of the water bag issit? I read induction sometimes can fail and thus have to go for c-sect....sigh...now my baby heads up also might have to go for c-sect.

michelle, my checkup frequency was once a month until wk 31.5 after which it is every 3 wks. Next checkup in wk 34.5 will be my Strep B test which i'm dreading.

i was hoping for once in 2 wks though but my gynae says once in 3 wks so bo pian.

oops hahahaha ..... sorry to have make u hungry ....

btw the strep B test is dr heng say one har ? she never tell me abt that wor .....

she is on holiday next week .... so my appt push to 10 dec instead wor u leh

Morning ladies.....

Sassy, stay positive n strong ok....will cross my fingers and toes for you.

I also have very tight and hard tummy most of the time, hard like stone...but my gynae said it is not that "hard" le...dun know what is consider as hard. So long no pain can liao, dun worry too much.

Morning ladies.

been a long time since i log on to this forum. so busy with work.

prata_queen, I am also 36 weeks in end Dec. But I am opp of u. I prefer 2008bb than 2007bb. Hoping my bb will not come back in 2007. hehe

btw, anyone know where can i buy the Medela PIS Advance breastpump?? been looking for it, but cant find it in Robinson or John Little.

Gd e morning (",)

mylife,
glad yr hand ok for now, must be careful lol next time handling hot soupy stuff.

Re: Induction of labor
Induction is to bring on labour artifically or rather quicken the pace of contraction, that's why it is painful.
http://pregnancy.about.com/cs/inductionoflabor/a/induction.htm

Mom2nat,
my detailed scan cost $107 at TMC onli.

michelle,
my check up is still 4wks interval. My next appoint this Friday which is my 32wks & probably they will schedule in 3wks (35wks) & then 2wks (37wks) & last visit on 39wks bah.

sassy,
Be strong ya?
I have been struggling with preterm contractions from 26 weeks and have been fearing baby being born prematurely since.

To 'beef' baby up, my doc advised that I take more carbohydrates, durian and milk. So maybe you can consider uping your intake as well?

My doc was telling me even if baby born @ 34 weeks its not that bad. Some babies don't even need to stay NICU. But even if need, it won't be for very long. So don't worry too much - though I can understand as a mummy how we always want to give the best to baby.

So just try to rest more these few weeks and drink more milk :eek:)

Mei, you also seeing Dr SF Loh right? Did he says need to do strep B and growth scan? So far he din mention anything for me le. I am now 34+ wks liao.

Mei,
You got use Avent warmer before? Do you think it is worth buying?

Sassy Mum,
Jia you, I am sure baby would be fine. :D

mylife,
How is your hand now? Try not to let the wound touch anymore water now.

lyn,
Take care of your diet orh.. sounds like maybe you had food poisoning.

QQ, i asked about the Strep B test n nurse says its done btn wk 32 to 35. My next appt is 17 Dec (wk 34.5) so the timing for the test is just nice. No idea if the cost is included in our package or if its additional cost.

shannonbaby, i prefer bb to go to sch 1 yr earlier...hehe

Icy,
My sis told me that Tollyjoy warmer is better. Once the switch jumps, the milk is at ready for drinking. She bought the Avent warmer previously but not very accurate according to her. So, I buy the Tollyjoy warmer instead.

My appt has been changed to every two weeks after week32. so the next appt will be week 34,then week 36, followed by every week after that.

<font color="aa00aa">yen, yap i under dr loh. no leh. i no do such test. btw, are u the one who told me dr loh is gg on holiday?? or did i rem wrongly?

icy, msn-ed u on the avent warmer.</font>

anyone experience loose stools nowadays? I am not complaining...it is much better than constipated loh.

Yesterday i went JL & bought tollyjoy wet wipes 70s x 3pack for $7.50.

Anyone used Avent Baby Moisturising Lotion ? Are they gd? Any other recommendation ? DO we need to buy baby oil ?

Is there any newborn diapers for Mamy Poko brand in Malaysia? Are they cheaper compare to S'pore retail shop?

<font color="aa00aa">steph, the tollyjoy wet wipes u bot hor, does it comes with any fragrance? eg. aloe vera?

me waiting for newborn diapers promotion from ntuc leh...</font>

hi sassy, hope you dun worry too much. When i say this, i am trying to say the same to myself. =)

yesterday i went for my 32 weeks, 5 days checkup. Got a detailed scan cos i have spooting at 2nd trimester due to low placenta.

So yesterday i have 2 good news and a not so good one.

My placenta has moved up, baby is 2.2kg (surprise cos it is a 800g jump from 3 weeks ago). I also dunno how it happen. Tot at most he will be 2kg only...then surprise 2.2kg liao. No wonder my weight suddenly jump and increase by 1.5kg within 3 weeks.

Then i also measure cervix length....then it fall below the norm. Norm is at least 2.5 cm. But mine is 2.35cm. So we are worried that cervix might open up earlier. Then might be pre-term.

But then gynae says clinically she is not worried cos baby's weight is good...in fact dun even need to go NICU. Then lungs at this time also quite mature liao...but best is can dong till 34 weeks.

So i also worried and feel sian.

She gave me medication to prevent contractions...but i dun have frequent contraction. She say i might not have notice.

She wanna give me MC...but i super busy at work...wont be able to take for the next few weeks....

very sian

mei,
yup...I am the one
. Dr Loh will start on leave next Thursday le, go oversea skiiing wor. I think he only will be back after Xmas. Did he tell you who will take over him during his absent?

prata queen
my strep b test will be done at wk 36 - cos that's wat my gyane told me is the ideal time! gee... everyone got differnt opinion one.

<font color="0077aa">mei,
i bought Tollyjoy Unscented Baby Wet Wipes wif aloe vera (20x17cm) 70s x 3packs at $7.50 cheap anot?</font>

thank you mummies!!! i will stay strong and positive for my little one.

prata queen,

let your baby stay inside u till natures takes its course la... given that my baby now needs to arrive early, and im scared tat she will neeed to be "poked" with needles and tubes. *sigh*

<font color="aa00aa">steph, hmm...i think it's cheaper than Pigeon. hee...have u tried it? I tried but find the fragrance too strong. but cheap good. just wipe and throw away. i thinking of buying angel wipes or clarson. even cheaper. haha...now pok. 2 kids. very pok. haha</font>

eRnMum,

so fast gynae check cervix length ? Normally gynae will not do it unless necessary or after 37wks or so ? Or do u mean we can measure ourselves? How?

kitsune, my appointments have gone into the 2 weeks interval already, maybe becoz of the weight of the baby.
Now I just have to more hardwoking in tracking baby movement ba. Supposedly its 10 movements in a 12 hour period right?

I also did my swap test yesterday, actually I find it quite painful le. My doc and his nurse were trying to talk to me to keep me occupied, coz usually the nurse not so chatty one. So they must have been trying to take my attention away from the pain. Please dont tell me got to take more of such test k.

I wonder why my doc never does weight estimation in his clinic, normal ultra scan machines cant do it? But my gf was telling me that during the detail scan, the most they can do is also an estimation is that true? My gf delivered her baby at 3 kg and thats over weight, mine if at 2.8kg is underweight, how to be so accurate to hit 2.9 kg le. Sometimes I wonder 100 gram is that much of a difference?

bluerose,

cheer up...
dun feel sian as it will affect our little one inside. im sure u will be able to fine since your placenta moved up and baby's weight is good. no worries la, will keep fingers and toes crossed for u ya...

mei,

i wanna order nepia diapers. will be ordering the newborn ones as i know my little one is small. keen to share? where do u stay?

<font color="0077aa">hehe mei, i Kiasu...bought other brands (Pigeon, Avent & J&J) for trial & error. My sis used tollyjoy & she say not bad, economical lol. We adults used tissue paper & baby use wet wipes so don't have to be too ex. Spend the $$ on better diapers.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">sassymum, no thanks cos' i haven decide which brand. haha. can mix? think u can order newborn and S size bah. i like the packaging. looks so sunshine-looking.

wah steph, u bot so many brands. haha. then continue trying - mamypoko, angel wipes, clarson...then give us ur feedback. haha...</font>

i wanna take mc....but we are shifting...so as supervisor, its a no-no lor...so now i try to sit as much as possible lor...

the swap test...i read from book says from abt 36 weeks onwards then most accurate....anytime before that not accurate...i also dunno

steph...when i was admitted at 23 weeks due to spotting, they also measure my cervix....thru scan. Then it was 2.8cm. Doctor was looking out for shortening (cervix incompetency).....meaning become smaller and smaller then will open up. Then a few weeks later, it went to 3.4cm....so yesterday did another check...scan via vaginal and it is 2.35cm lor.

<font color="aa00aa">steph, heard that home delivery is cheaper. ntuc seldom got promotions on nepia. else ask Icy's HB to send a carton from Japan! haha..sure cheaper. haha...

hmm....saw the url. seems like cannot mix size hor. </font>

mei,

from wat i know, u are able to change the size with neapia as long as they are not open when thet do the next delivery.

steph,

as of now, its the cheapest to order direct from nepia. it used to be dignus then one of the investors pull out, so they cant fulfill any orders now.

goging for mine brazillian wax now... talk to u ladies later.

happy lunch!!!

babyshannon,
I decided to wait and see if i really need the warmer after i deliver. heeehee use the traditional way first and see how.

mei,
I am interested in nepia NB diaper but friends advise me to just buy 1 pack cos scare later BB not suitable or bb size dun fit.

haha I also considering hb sending over if BB suits nepia.. but that have to be wait after I deliver then I know.

<font color="aa00aa">haha. Icy, good leh. can ask ur HB to bring nepia over. cheaper than sg? can buy newborn size and S size. S size sure to suit. - ). It's soft and it's slightly bigger compared to other brands of the same size. too bad, nepia no give samples anymore.</font>

hey sassy
can PM me your strip wax location and therapist and price. thanks. Considering next wk appt.

MomMe
hey how are u la? I just returned fr Dr Wong's clinic.

Nearing 35wk soon, this boy decided to sit upright. grrrr. Was it angelsky or mylife whose baby is also breach? Doc advised to go on all fours 2min a day, try to tuck knees to chest. Or mop the floor on all fours

that helps bb turn.

Want bb to come out fast - go walk walk walk or swim. Keep active.

Re: Jagung
*sob* i'm limited to one cob a day max. Coz she say it's still sugar. But better than snacking on cookies & cakes. I think i know why i gained 1.6kg in 2wks... coz of CHOCOLATES! *hiak* Gotto eat more salad liao.

I'm just reaching 35wk but i'm carrying a 37wk sized bb. He puts on 200g per wk. Est'd weight at 40 wk = 3.7kg. So doc encourage me to walk walk walk, go into labour naturally (in Dec) & easier for bb to emerge when he's still not too large. I think can't even wait until end Dec liao.

mei & QQ
i thought bb engaged coz of the pressure "down there", but alas... he's head up! So it's just his weight causing the pressure la.

wendyg, nope my girl is tuck downwards, but her head is strangely at the right side of my hip bone. Coz yestderday the sonographer kept checking my right side.

I told my hubby to pack his bag already in case need to activate him back early for baby arrival.

wendy
it's me...my baby also breeched. Very hard to tuck knees to chest and raised up butt cos tummy veyr big now leh...
But i will try!! Mine worse cos gynae said her legs like a bit straightened liao...so dat means lower chances for her to turn again cos according to gynae, curled legs easier to turn down again...sigh.

re: turn breech baby

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/labourandbirth/labourcomplications/turnbreechbabyexpert/

In one study of 71 breech babies, 65 turned when their mother adopted the knee-chest position. To do this, kneel on your bed with your bottom in the air and your hips flexed at slightly more than 90 degrees (don't let your thighs press against your bump). Try to keep your head, shoulders, and upper chest flat on your mattress. Maintain this position for 15 minutes every two waking hours for five consecutive days.

Alternatively, try lying on your back with your hips slightly elevated and your hips and knees flexed. Gently roll from side to side for 10 minutes and repeat this manoeuvre three times a day. If you have had any backache, pelvic pain or hip pain during your pregnancy, do talk to your midwife or physiotherapist before you try this.

yah will keep on trying that....really really hope she will turn back down even if her legs are a bit straightened liao

mommies
can i ask u all one very silly question...always wondering....ok, i know this is a bit early, but regarding full month cakes, how do we handle it?

1) Do we give out only to people who give gifts to us? or to anyone we like?
2) And if we're ordering boxes of cakes instead of vouchers, do we get address from the list of people and then ask cake shop to send or do we collect from cake shop and then one by one drive to the list of pple we intend to deliver to? Like dat very ma huan rite?

Sorry, how is it done usually? I only know people give me vouchers....but if i'd like to order boxes of cakes myself...how ah? Hehe...sorry.

michelle, 35 and 36 wks not too far off. i tink the closer to edd the better? cos the aim of the test is to ensure safe v.delivery ma.

sassy, so after my gynae's outright refusal to induce at 36wks, i kind of give up hope of hafing a 2007 bb. Let nature's take its course.

angelsky, when u did your strep b test yesterday, how many wks were u?

at the monthly gynae visit, my doc will estimate bb's wgt. how come your doctor's machine isnt able to estimate the wgt lei?

eRnmum, can u tell how your doc measures cervix length?

prata_queen, i am 31 weeks. no idea if it was the strep b test, doc just say he is going to do a swap, i also never ask him. but yesterday was the first time i had any swap since the start of the pregnancy. i also not sure if its just time to do the test or its got to do with my detail growth scan. Anyway the detail growth scan, I actually requested for it.

During all my visits so far, he never takes bb's weight, so far I only know of bb's weight at my 20 week detail scan and then this detail scan that I did yesterday.

He did not look alarmed at all with the results, it was that I saw the note at the end of the report for him to monitor baby's growth becoz baby is just slightly above the normal percentile. Instead the one that is alarm is my mum, coz I was about 3.6kg at birth. kekeke. so she thought the chubbier the bb the cuter and the better.

mylife, I also keen to find out, I also find it very ma fan to go distribute to all the relatives. Thought buy voucher and then send out to them easier, but wonder if its nice, especially with the older more traditional relatives. I was also thinking about collegues, if only bring 1 cake like quite stingy but cannot possibly treat the whole office right? Especially when hubby office quite big. I saw some places actually have those chocolates with "Its a boy/girl", wonder if distribute those to the office would it be all right? Do we bring the baby along also when we go visit?

FUll month means after confinement right? But what if baby is born premature? Then when we do count from?

at abt 23 weeks, measure cervix length via scan on tummy

32 weeks, they scan via vaginal.....all scan. Cervix length check is different from cervix dilation....