(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

3d/4d scans are not recommended cos u need stronger 'waves' to shoot back the more detailed image. i dont think it has to do specifically wif brain damage. anyway at this stage, do we really need to do detailed scan? i tot the normal ones are gd enuf. for me, dont even hv any scan! hah!

sassy
yes wait for 2nd n 3rd opinons.. sometimes these professionals can turn out to be so wrong! n like wat wendy suggested, eat more durians, help ur bb put on weight
i'm surprised the dr woujld advice a csect even b4 the bb hits full term. that would hv its own complications as wel, wdnt it?

Sassy,
1.4kg at 31.5 weeks seems to be in the normal range leh...why your gynae say small?? Mine is above 2kg at 31 weeks but he's a big baby (90th percentile). My gynae said average size (50th percentile) is about 1.5kg-1.6kg at 31 weeks. I really don't think your baby is too small...better seek 2nd opinion. Moreover, babies are supposed to gain the most weight during the last leg of 3rd trimester (i read that they can gain 200 grams per week)...so isn't it better to let her stay in your womb as long as possible so she can fatten up?? Don't worry too much, I think this gynae really scare you for nothing.

gosh...jus down trying to cook mee suah for myself. Then as i was pouring the mee suah from pot to the bowl, then carry the bowl to go and eat, dunno wat happened, accidentally, tripped and the bowl shoke and pour lots of the hot hot soup onto my right palm. Luckily i didnt let go of the bowl....but now my entire right palm is very painful Ran it under cold water...but now still feel very stinging pain...jialat....

<font color="aa00aa">QQ, if got such outing to visit the mini soon kueh hor, i wanna go. haha...and buy freshest veges!

mylife, apply toothpaste first. if tmr still got the pain feel, see doc.</font>

thank u mummies for all the encouraging words... i really appreciate it.

yvonne,

the gynae says that because her abdomen circumference did not grow much as compared to the scan which was done during my 27 weeks and it will only be stagnant... head circumference is growing well and normal. and her size is more like a 28-29 weeks baby...
i had complications earlier during my late 2nd trimester, gynae found a huge blood clot near placenta. i was hospitalised twice and experienced heavy bleeding for 3 weeks.

Sassy,
I see, wait for the 2nd and 3rd opinion then make decision. I personally feel that the longer the baby stays inside, the better/healthier they will be. She is really not that small and there's still a high chance that she will put on more weight. Don't worry too much, must stay happy then baby will feel at ease and relax. Don't underestimate the will power of a little baby.

Sassy,
Don't feel sad, be it natural or c-section. As long as baby is born healthy, that's most important. I've friends' babies born in 35wk and 36wk. They were small intially but they are both above average now. And both are pretty advance in reaching their developmental milestones.

Go for your 2nd and 3rd opinions and see what the gynaes say. If really need to take bb out earlier, then welcome her with open arms. I've heard a sad case where the parents decided to do otherwise.

my cousin was born in 28wk. in ICU for more than a mth. no tuition at all went into special stream. now in NUS and doing well.

Stay calm and cheerful ok

hihi!

havnt log in since last wk, real buzi at work...

i had diarrhoea & high fever 40.6 yest, went Mt.A last midnitz to do a CTG to chk bb condition becos nev feel his movement since sun... quite worry.. Thks God! bb is fine. ;)

Today, fever is gone but still having diarrhoea, poo poo 1hr once until sit down buttock also pain pain...

my life: take gd care! also apply to all mummies out there..

yvonne/fishia,

this gynae afraid of stillbirth... i rather she stays inside me till at least 37 weeks. i will go eat durians tonight and hopefully she will gain more weight. should she need to arrive early, at least she wont get "poke" with so many needles and tubes.

re: brazillian wax

any mummies going for brazillian wax before delivery? im going for mine tomorrow. wanna feel like a "virgin" again!!!
should any mummies need a good therapist, i can PM u her contact. she's from strip.

sassy
then u gotto monitor foetal movements very carefully hor.
re Brazilian, i'd really love to try, as near to my delivery date as possible, but wondering if the *shock* and *pain* will send me into labour... I nvr do before ley. What say u?

wendy

ya... especially bet. 6-10pm. if no movement, rush to the hospital immediately.

re: brazillian wax

i guess it depends on individual. prior to preggy, i dun feel a thing... not even during my very 1st time. after i got preggy, my threshold for pain seems to subside quite a fair bit... maybe due to hormones change. i cant tell u no pain nor can i tell u tat its very painful. maybe some slight discomfort for 1st timers. but its definately worth it as compared to shaving. it grows out real fast when we shave and tend to be pricky cos the new growns are thick.

Sassy,
Been very busy with work..No time to read and the thread has moved so much.

Dun worry too much!! My son was born at 28 weeks and very, very light weight. Technology is very advanced now.

Like you, I had a blood clot during my first trimester. From 24th week on, my gyane would check me every week.

My son's growth was stagnant and my water bag burst suddenly at 28 weeks. I din even have a chance to seek 2nd opinion. After 1 day, docs told me foetus showing signs of distressed, so had an emergency caesarian.

You're already in your 32nd week, baby's lungs and eyes are already matured. Your baby is more than 1.4 kg...Once baby hits 2 kg, they will discharge baby. 34th - 35th week is not really that premature.

I also just came back from my detail scan. Cannot do 3D/4D scan? Cham, I jus did.

Sassy, my baby is lighter than yours, close to 1.4kg only and I am only at 31 weeks. Doctor never say anything le, just that baby is on the smaller side, I was quite concern becoz the report did mention that close monitoring is needed so I will be going every 2 weeks to see him from now onwards. I also ask if I need to change my diet like eat more meat or stuff, he say baby's growth does not have to do with my diet becoz the report says nutrients sufficient. So the only reason could be genetics ba, coz maybe gals tend to be the smaller side? Anyway he did not say anything alarming nor does he looked very worried. Now you are making me feel quite worried. hmmm.

Anyway 1.4 kg to 1.6 kg is jus a few grams different, I dont think should be that bad ba.

I was still telling my mum, dont even have to think about a early baby, coz baby got to stay in there longer to gain more weight. How come your doctor ask you to deliver earlier? 34 weeks is like a few more weeks from now le.

O, btw the report did say that baby was just slightly above the normal in terms of percentile, i think about 5 % above only.

I also wanna worry but we have come so far, just relax and monitor baby's movement from now, walk less and eat well

Now i can have the excuse to eat durians and ice cream. kekeke.

O, i put on 9 kg in all since I got pregnant and my appetite has been quite good since the second trimester. However I had very bad morning sickness till about 6 months.

Sassy
Well, we all hope to keep baby inside until 37 weeks. But if your gynae highly recommend you take her out earlier, maybe listen to him. Cos I have a fren who oso "dong" until 37 weeks, end up too late, got some complications.
I got another fren who gave birth to one baby at 27 wks, 0.9kg, he is healthy and chubby now!!! So, dun worry too much hor. Eat more rest more, cos if dun sleep well, later lose weight ah.

So ah, you see how much you trust your gynae's opinion, cos we can only advice you or make you feel better, but we not expert lor.

VioletIce
Mine not water retention, my shoe size remain at 9 liao lah! Now some covered shoes can't wear, but overall still 9. Grow fat alll over, feet oso affected. Hahah....

steph
My previous gynae oso dun recommend 3D or 4D scan, saying there are some risks involved lor. He tot I change gynae cos he din wan me to do. But anyway I not interested, not bcos he dun wna to do.

regarding the detailed scan, is it the 3d/4d scan?

how many detailed scans do we go for? so far i have 1 done at wk 20.

from the postings, seem like the scan is done at wk 20 and then again in 3rd trimester.

hmm pls share.

A VERY BIG THANK YOU to all for the TLCs showered on me...

i will stay positve and keep my fingers crossed. Hope to have a smooth delivery and a healthy baby...

prata queen

A detailed growth scan is different from the 3d/4d scan. hope the below info helps in explanation...

3D/4D scan
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/4D_Ultrasound

Growth scan
http://www.midwivesonline.com/parents/parents.php?ttl=faqans&faq=382

i think it all depends on individual how many detailed growth scans a MTB shld go for. if everything progress well, dun think u need as much as me... (save more $$$ to buy tonics better)

sassy, i believe the one i did in wk 20 is the detailed scan, but is 2d only.

i paid $180 plus for it (done at eastshore). The same scan at TMC costs $120 onli.

sassy,
do take care and remain positive! whatever it is, the most important thing is still the health of baby :)

prata queen,
i did my detailed scan at week 21 and growth scan at week 31, growth scan is cheaper then detail scan and not as detail as detail scan :)

ic, so wk 20 is detailed scan and 3rd trimester is growth scan. Thanks for the explanation. me kan cheong type while my gynae is the relak relak type. so i get my answers from this forum instead hehe.

QQ: been reading your blog..a lot of pictures of food lei...makes me hungry altho i just had dinner :p

QQ, yes yes, managed to see. kekeke. She actually looks like her papa, sulks like him as well. hahaha. Was hoping she will have my mouth instead of his, but well, I only hope that she will be healthy now after going through the scan. Now a bit worried about her growth. We were trying to coax her to smile but she was sulking and pouting the whole time, but finally managed to capture one of her smiling, licking her fingers.

But I am on the petite side, so maybe she is like me. Crossing my fingers now. Cant imagine at full term, she would only be 2.5kg and max 2.8kg. Now hoping that she will gain more weight.

angelsky i am sure she will gain more weight at lata stage .... my baby overweight Now i very scare dare not eat too much but she cannot go hungry now ... this afternoon is a disaster to me ... my tummy pain + hungry feeling ..... till i eat my 1st mouth of the fish soup then the pain subside ....

angelsky,
we didn't go for 3d scan, hubby say all babies look the same *faint* yours still can smile!

agree that you're on the petite side, so most prob your girl takes after you :)

prata queen, yours considered cheap liao. mine is the same across the board, a flat $200 for detailed scan and growth scan. so dun complain hor... haha

sassy,
your growth scan also so expensive? how long was it, what did the doctor check? I did the growth scan at my gynae's clinic, cost me $50, quite a short while to check the measurements only.

hmm i thought eastshore already v expensive by charging $180 as compared to TMC. Sassy, where is your detailed scan done? it has to be done at a hospital rite?

i keep reading QQ blog...v addictive kekeke

i'm gg to sleep liao. Super tired out by the walking during the JL sale today

luvv, ya lor damm expensive (today's the 5th time) it takes around 45mins to an hour. depending on your baby, see whether he/she co-operates anot? the report states the head circumference, abdomen cirumference, length of thigh bone, arms, heart beat and some others which i dun remember liao... my amniotic fluid is low as well. baby's weight is only 1.4kg. also comes together with a CD-ROM containing pics of the scan.

prata queen

its at camden medical centre

hopefully, she will really gain more weight. My mum say baby chubby then cute and easy to carry.

My 4D scan plus the detail scan plus doppler was about 240 at TMC.

Yup, I also had pictures and quite a lot of video clips of the baby inside.
Then I can send to my hubby overseas.

Well, she like sulk 9 times then she smile 1 time wo.

Hmmm, my report only states that she is slightly above the norm only in terms of weight the rest are within the normal percentile. Too many medical terms, so I dont know which is the amniotic fluid but doc did not say anything after I show him the report. He look quite relax. But wonder if its really becoz its no big deal or he does not wanna make me worried.

Its also not as if I diet, I eat like a pig le.

Sassy, I will pray for you k
We will dong through this. Must ask baby to be guai guai.

prata_queen
My detailed scan at TMC cost $170, not $120.

Still got detailed scan ah? I ask my gyane, he say normal scans only. He say if nothing wrong or wat, no need extra scans or tests leh. My baby 2.4kg, he din even say big, he say good size!

thanks angelsky. u too must take care and eat more ya... try durians cos they say very "bu" and baby will grow bigger too. no harm eating if u r a durian fan.

sassy,
after the check, I went to buy chocolate milk and milo. Actually cant stand either one, but now just have to force myself to drink. Durian party time.

I going to see the doc 2 more weeks later, keep you posted k.

angelsky,

im just like u, cant stand the taste of milk. throughout my pregnancy till now, i never drink milk only soya milk. when i told my gynae, he says its fine. im on calcium supplements, taking 1 everyday.

Hi, any mummies feel your stomach like got a ball moving, plus tightening & relaxing? I keep having this feeling below my chest area. Don't know whether it's BB's moving her butt or head or is it BH contractions. Quite painful sometimes. :/ Remember reading that if BH occur too often, it's not good, can't remember why though. :p

Looks like JL Expo sale nothing much. Sigh, looks like can't use my JL vouchers again. :p

Kitsune,

I feel the same too, like the baby rolling every where, from left to right etc. I also have the hardening sensation every now and then.

I ask doc today, he say as long as its infrequent then its okay, but I was in a daze, so forgot to ask what is consider frequent. But he did mention that as we progress in our pregnancy, the frequency will increase.

I feel very uncomfortable when that happens, coz sometimes I feel like I cant breathe.

Btw, usually when will your clinic give you the hospital admission letter? I got mine today, wonder if its a bad sign that in case I go into labour since its like still early. I am at 31 weeks.

Hi, angelsky. Ya, I feel very uncomfortable and breathless when that happens too. Ya, I wonder when it's considered frequent. Sometimes I feel as if baby is 'jumping' in my tummy too. I got it quite often this afternoon at work leh. Don't know if everything is ok. :/

I only reach 31 weeks this Friday, a few days slower than you. My next appt is 12 Dec, think they'll probably pass me the admission letter then. Cos I keep asking gynae if I can book the admission package earlier (kiasu, want to chop my A1 bed) and she said the nurse will routinely book for us when we reach 8 months. :p

Sassy: Hope all will turn out fine for U.

mylife: U must take care. Actually run under cold water will make it worse. I was told to use toothpaste or butter.. The last time I scald myself while craving for miso soup. Clumsy me + I was not even preg then..

My elder son was born wk 37. Looking forward to wk 37 for tis preg.4 more wks to go. Cant wait for bb to pop either natural or induce. Tummy getting bigger. Pelvic pain also. Went for 32 wks scan. BB has turn downwards already. So gynae say poss to induce at wk 37. Side effect: Gonna b more painful if induce.

Good Wed morning ladies,

I am taking today off as my right lower back has been aching since end of last week. I walked and wobbled around like a big fat penguin! Saw the GP yesterday and resting today at home.

Don't know how to cure my backache, but I tried to continue to sleep on my left hand side but with a big towel folded up, tuck under my tummy. Seem to work for me. My backache isn't so much today. Will continue to monitor.

Hi Sassy,

Don't worry too much. I am sure everything will be fine with your baby. =) Must continue to stay positive for your little sweetheart ok.

My gynae was kinda of worried that my baby weights slightly below the 50th percentile when I was at about 28 weeks or less. Scared me. During the most recent checkup (32 weeks), my baby seem to be back on track again, about 1.6kg. I always feel that there is a certain inaccuracy with such scan as they can only measure the baby but can't weigh the baby. So I think don't have to worry too much. Listen to your gynae and continue to seek 2nd opinion if you are concern.

Sassy,
yah, continue to monitor and maintain a positive outlook...very important to keep your spirits high then baby will be happy as well.

Re: BH
I also experience BH but seems like it's very frequent on certain days and less obvious on other days. My gynae say it's normal to have more BH at this stage...as long as the frequency and pain does not increase, it's ok. But have to call gynae immediately if there's bleeding and BH starts to become painful and frequent. Difference between BH and real contraction is that BH tends to go away when we change positions or move about.

AhCapp
My hip area tends to get numb when I sleep leh. I turned the mattress over, seems a little better. But I fedup told hb I am gg to change a bed and mattress after baby born. Hahaha...