(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi mcfluffy
The graco palypen did not drop price. Its still selling at $269
I actually call up Taka Baby department to enquire! The $159 is the basic playpen without music and vibrator!!
I also bought it for $269.

Hi Steph
Tks for the verification. Already check with taka! Appreciate It

blackbatz
thanks for highlighting the Lillaboo BP!! yippee!

Mrs Piggy
What i meant was, i have to go get the cover from Kiddy palace for he 82pcs one, THEN i get the refills from u.
Cos u said only kiddy palace got sell the hard cover right? I also wan the convenience like Icy ma...hehe

Mommies
Today i got a big fright. Lunch time got this sharp pain in my tummy. It comes and goes, so as a first time mommy, i am not sure if it's contractions. Dont think so since there's no show and no waterbag breaking. I tong for a while, but it got so painful and i was alone at home...so i called hubby who rushed home to take me to my "spare gynae" in HK. Even the gynae office got a fright and asked me to rush down.

When i went down, the gynae did an ultrasound scan for me. Initially, baby's head was heading down, then within the next 5 seconds, jus AFTER he applied the gel onto my tummy, my baby's head went sideways liao. Then, barely one minute, her head was up liao!!! Even the gynae said "your baby sure is a fast mover!!" he concluded the pain i had was uterus contractions cos he said when the baby moves this fast, it can caused extreme pressure on my uterus thus causing the pain. So alarmed to hear that! He told me if i'm still having the pain, gotta go hospital tonite...but the pain has subsided and i was advised to not have too much activities ie dont move around too much. So worried now...for a moment, tot i will have to forgo all birth plans and end up giving birth in HK (i dont want that!!) and i'm praying now that my baby wont be breech so i can experience the normal vagina delivery....
Must talk to baby tonite...tell her to head down and dont be so active.

On the plus side, got to see the cute chubbier face of my baby....but she's already quite heavy leh....gynae said she's 2.2kg and she's only at 32wks ++!! Maybe i've been eating too much sweet things like chocolates and ice-cream...MUST cut down!!!

Still gotta make another trip to gynae's office tom to ensure i'm ok to fly.

SassyMum,
I'm 31 weeks now. My baby should be above 2kg already, he was 1.6kg at 27 weeks...so he is considered above average.

Hi Cherynn,

You mean Taka is selling the Graco Playpen with Bassinet (w/o music and vibrator) at $159.00 now? Can give me the contact no. so that I can call and ask them for more details? Thanks

Hi mylife,

Good to know that you are fine now. =) Yes, rest more at home for now. 2.2kg for 32 weeks is indeed chubby =)

Tummy ache...
I have been feeling some sort of tummy pain today too. Er.. how should I describe it. It feels more like tummy ache. The tummy ache will come usually when I have my lunch. But today, it just comes and goes for whole afternoon. On some days when I got the tummy ache, I have to take out my chinese medical oil to sniff it to make myself feel better. (feel like an old woman now!) But I don't dare to apply it onto my tummy although I think the tummy ache could be due to wind. Anyone has the same tummy ache as me?

Swollen feet & fingers...
Btw, I realise that my poor right hand and right foot seem to have swelled more than my left hand and left foot. When I wake up in the middle of the night, I notice that I can't bend my right fingers properly. During the day time, I walk with an ache in my right foot. Feel as if I have just sprained my poor right foot.

Could all these be due to swelling?

Yvonne,

tatz huge!!! mine at 30 weeks only weigh abt 1.5kg. consider normal i think. will be going for next check-up this sat and see wat my gynae says. my EDD 22 Jan 08. which hospital will u be delivering?

Hi, mylife. Wowl you really have a big baby girl. My gals only about 1.5 kg last week (29 weeks plus). I'll like my BB to be chubby too but also scared, if she's too big, I'll have a difficult delivery. Sigh, confused. :p

Thanks for your concern AhCapp

yah lo....i also wan my baby gal to be chubby...but also worried big gal = difficult labour or worse c-sect. Last time i weighed, she was 1.6kg at 28weeks, now 2.2kg!!! Almost fainted. But then, her dady not big-sized type...maybe mommy is!
The amazing thing is, altho she's sooo chubby and big now...she can still move so fast and so vigorously!

steph
forgot to thank you for posting the details of the gathering for me....jus realised we have more than 20 people...so need 2 tables lo???

mylife
My #1 was 2.4kg at 32 weeks. Gyane kept telling me to control sugar. Cos he say my amniotic fluid a lot, still got space for her to grow. fainted

mylife,

i understand that this is actually the 2nd gathering for jan 08 MTBs. may i know how did the first one go? wat did u mummies do?

mylife, take care .... hee my gynae oso say my baby head down liao head will engage only at week 34 wor .... think our baby gal big leh heehee mine is 1.7kg at week 30

Wow, you ladies have chubby babies. =) It looks like my baby takes after his dad. He is estimated to be about 1.6kg at 31weeks. Normal size. My gynae already told me he won't be a 8 pounds baby lor.

Sometimes I wonder why as I am quite tall wor. But my hubby is the slim kind, so no choice. Will have to leave it to my baby to grow at his own rate. =)

I might be the slowest in this thread, but I finally was able to feel the "lump" on my tummy just now on my way home on the MRT. I was on the phone and my left hand was on the top of my tummy. Suddenly, I felt this "lump" of something pushing against my palm and and then rolled over! *LOL* Since my baby is already head down, I guess that might be his little foot. A bit gross I felt to have someone/ something pressing from inside my tummy. But still very happy lor. =)

HI QQ,

Just went over to your site. =) The pic of all the mums-to-be from our thread is wonderful! Everyone looks so happy and radiant. All beaming with joy of motherhood.

mom2nat
so wat was ur #1 final weight when she emerged?? jialat liao...me got craving for ice cream and chocolates...some more hubby jus bought Godiva home

sassymum
yah...we had a great time...think gathering #2 will be much more ufun, wat with more people and bigger tum-tums! hahahaha.

QQ
yah la...i'm really really worried cos my gal like carousel leh...turning round and round and round. Imagine, jus a few mins and she's turning from 6o'clock (head down) to 5o'clock and then to 12o'clock!! At least urs still guai-guai stay down...

Share with u all my gal's pic...chubby or not??

1083841.jpg

can someone share how to post pic dat matches the forum's requirement (ie not more than 500x500 pixel, and less than 50kb) yet pic can still remain so big? Mine had to crop until this small

mylife
My girl was borned 3.6kg, not huge, at 40 weeks 6 days lor. But gynae made me control my sugar intake. Or else i think she prob grow bigger.

Extracted from Grace's thread
Posted on Wednesday, November 21, 2007 - 9:34 pm:

Dear Mummies, many has asked about the validity for promotional rate.

For Postnatal massage packages, the promotional rate will be for Jan-Mar08, thereafter it will be at $45 per session.

For Full Body & Prenatal massage, the promotional rate will end on 31 Dec - if you make your reservation in Dec for Jan's appointment, you will still enjoy the promotional rate. Thereafter, it will revert back to $45 per session. If you like to enjoy the promotional rate, you can consider getting a 10 session package at $380 (expiry date 1 year from date of purchase)

Transportation Fee will still be waived till further notice

Thank you for your wonderful support.

QQ and Sassymum,
Sorry, can't provide both of you with any feedback yet cos my appt with Grace is on 4th Dec.

Have been using Hannah Wong and Nadia.

Hannah is trained in Australia. She was residing in Melbourne. She is very punctual for her appt. $68 / hr for pre-natal. Uses aromatherapy oil and provides all towels and bedsheets. Very professional, won't carry her handphone around, so must wait for her to respond via SMS. She's also a trained doula. She does not go to every place in Singapore.

Nadia charges $50/hr for pre-natal. Modern, soft spoken Malay lady. Same thing, uses pre-natal massage oil which she will show you. She was working in spas. U must prepare you own mattress,bed sheets and towels etc. Also punctual for appt. When making appt, SMS and wait for sometime to respond. Most clients dun like massage session to be interrupted by phone calls. Her skills is good as well. More importantly, she drives and can go anywhere. Sunday is strictly off unless you stay in Pasir Ris.

Of course there are other people like Khatijah (very chatty), Mona (very good business), Mdm Noor ($60 for 2hr), Nania (apparently massage for Zoe) and the infamous Susi who ran off with the money.

QQ,

If you need more info about the post-natal in Jan/Feb, email Grace directly. Faster than PM. She wakes up very early to reply email one.

Generally, 7 sessions with other masseurs is about $380 to $400.

hi blackbatz,

how much does Nadia charge for post natal? is she fully booked for jan too? any website to surf? i stay in Pasir Ris, so mayb i can get an appt on Sun?

qq,
saw ur multiply pix of the 1st mtg.. showed my hubby too... we tink it's so cute and he said it must be a pretty site to c so many preggies at one time!!! hahaha... if i can, i'd like to join the next mtg on 12 dec... Mom2nat, how are u going huh?

verene
experience how contractions feel like first, then decide whether u want epi. Contractions feel like menses cramps, like a wave coming up to shore, reach the peak, then subside. It's bearable but maybe u can't continue speed-walking when contraction is happening. Only when too close together or v intense (eg when induced), then perhaps can't tahan & will ask for painkiller.

sassy
bleeding as bad as menses during 2nd tri? Aiyo i'd freak out if i were u. i dun even know what's spotting. If gynae recommend c-sect, then bo pian liao, esp with your 'abruption' thingy. Sounds like the stresses of natural birth could complicate matters? I just read an article that a mom pushing hard during natural birth runs the risk of busting blood vessels in her eye.. MOTHERS are the most WEI DA.

re: engaged at 34wk
I wonder if my boy engaged liao, coz these few days i find that my stomach can contain more & when i walk up steps my thighs will touch my lower abs, & when i sit on toilet bowl, seems like got that 'sinking feeling', as tho v heavy.
Actually my own "target" of this preg is not 40wk, it's 37wk. Coz all along i dun believe i can carry until full 40wk & due 4/1/08 or after. So i got abt 3wk+ to prepare everything to welcome bb. Just praying that these last 3 wks will also be uneventful o'wise premature.

babe
u r rite - gaia is cheaper here. only $10 a bottle
that's y we can afford to use it for our boy now! how much is it selling in spore? i think i saw b4 at robinsons it's like $20+? i recall thinking "wah liao so ex! how to buy??"

reading about all your bb's weight and sizes just makes me feel kinda lost, cos i hv no idea how big/small my girl is! they wont tell u such info over here. guess it'll be a surprise until she actually comes out. i hope she will come out at 38wks too. dun wanna carry till 40wks cos sure very tiring one. n i suspect she will not be small either - oso very scared ending up with emergency csect.

qq
i just saw the photo at your blog. is ur hubby the actor from tcs? sorry ah i was MIA from here a while.. maybe u all discuss this long time ago but i probably missed it hee hee

changing EDD
until today, i still dun understand how EDD can change one. is it based on the size/wt of the bb? but like that not 'zun' rite, cos bigger/heavier bb doesnt mean they were conceived earlier wat. it may just be that they r big size in nature?

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+2">blackbatz</font></font>
<font color="ff6000">do u have hannah's contact details? u say she used to live in melbourne? i'm just wondering if she got some contact here that i can call to do my postnatal massage. btw, her style is the malay type (ie with binding and all that) or the angmoh style ah, ie just aromatherapy, press press here n there? i like the malay type better. like more effective leh</font>

michelle
my gynae will stubbornly stick to the initial EDD given by 7wk u/s, coz during that time size of foetus not affected by mom's nutrition. Subsequent months when she scans, i notice the EDD on the screen kept changing, coz it's all based on bb's size. But gynae will still tell me the original EDD.

wendy
yah i thought wat your gynae is doing is the right thing? cos imagine over here, since we dunno the size of the bb, how to bring forward/delay the EDD?!? so the edd during the 7 or 10wk scan shd be stuck to rite?

mylife,
My baby's growth rate about the same as yours leh...hehe. Also 1.6kg at 27 weeks and over 2kg at 31 weeks. He's movements also very vigorous...sometimes my tummy looks distorted in shape when he rolls over to one side. My gynae say i may pop anytime after 10 Jan but it's still a bit early to tell lah. I'm also worried whether my baby will be "stuck" if I go for natural birth but my gynae says it should be ok as long as there's no other complications. You rest well and take good care.

SassyMum,
I'm delivering at TMC. My EDD 20 Jan but my gynae say I may pop anytime after 10 Jan. It's still a bit early to tell so depends on how things progress. But so far my urine test and blood pressure are normal so my gynae not too worried.

My gynae also mentioned that this few months TMC has been packed! He's expecting a lot of babies in Nov and Dec and said Jan is only about 10% less than Dec. Sigh...praying hard I will be able to get my single room when I deliver...

AhCapp,
Is your blood pressure normal? If it's ok then probably the swelling is due to insufficient rest. My gynae always nag at me to have min. 9 hours of bed rest everyday to minimise the swelling...and it works. I usually sleep more than 9 hours during the weekends and my legs don't swell as much. You try to rest more lor.

guess everyone is in the last few weeks already hor! So exciting yet so nervous at the same time!! My baby was also head down when I last checked up around 31+ weeks. Doc said baby was around 1.96kg then. My sugar level also a little bit high, so he asked me to not take too sweet stuff or too much carbo. But if I don't eat rice then tend to get hungry!

I also get some pain in my tummy sometimes..but only for a short while. I also do wonder if my baby will turn around even though that time doc said his head down leh. Hope he don't swirl ard too much! haha...

Michelle,

I didn't ask her much about postnatal. If I don't remember wrongly, she combines it with Javanese massage, incl. binding. All her contact details and experience are stated in her personal website.

http://www.mummymassages.com.sg/modules/news/

For mummies who want to use organic products on babies, instead of Gaia, can use California Babies instead. Visited Moms Essentials, the promoter said that CB is cheaper cos from US.

Morning ladies....

Went for my week 33+ checkup last night...My BP and urine test all normal. Baby weighted 2.1kg, not yet engaged. Wanted to take clearer photo of her face but she was playing peek-a-boo. Gynae said her size is good and growing fine. But I think otherwise, too thin liao. So I forced hubby to go hunting for durian....hehee... He managed to buy from cold storage....yummy yummy.

MTBs,

Has anyone experienced the hip pain? I have very bad pain when I am walking. Also sometime I have waist pain like period. Is it normal?

eh no no lah my hubby not vincent ng leh hahaha .... view my other blog entry hehehe happens that I met vincent at my ofc there one of the sport shop where I have my lunch with the sales lady inside she is my gd frd and vincent happened to be their regular heehee

WENDY YES YES i agree my gynae oso stick to the original date wor .... kept on telling me edd 22 jan but the ultra scan detail show the edd kept changing

The measurement to determine EDD very depend on gynae's hand lo and baby's weight...If gynae hand not "zhun", then will keep changing lo. Baby's weight increases rapidly also din mean will give birth early lo. I got a friend gave birth a baby girl 4.2kg, natural and full term at 40th week. So I think stick to the original date is more accurate.

Edd doesn't really change. The edd on the scan is based on the size of the baby. For my scans ah, there is an edd for head size, one for abdominal size, one for femur. It is just an estimate with tat size, how old is bb, or you can see it like using your actual edd, is bb in the 50%tile.

Godsent
I shld be driving there. You leh??? Ay, you drive then I tompang, no need drive! Hahah...

RE: Pram & Car seats
Have you all get the pram and car seat? MIL keep saying car seats not neccessary.

I saw Britex which is highly recommended but more expensive. On the other hand, Combi Corroco, much lighter weight around 4kg, Hb maybe can buy cheaper when He in japan.. I just wondering is Combi car seat is good and whether infant wants to stay inside the car seat or not.

Mylife,
Woah.. your baby so active leh. Can't imagine how they can dance or move around 180 degree in the tummy with such limited space.. hahaa. So glad you are fine now. :D

U want the hardcover, I think i will go marina square next friday, wanna me help u buy if I see??