(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

QQ,
till the cabbage change color...like not so fresh color & no longer chill lol...till engorged breast feel better BUT do change a new cabbage leaf & repeat process if desire lol...keke. I would sit down/lie down & not walk ard...so ugly to walk ard holding the cabbage leaf le...would u? Later neighbour complaint of indecent exposure!!keke

First time mummies,
Hot & cold compress are meant for diff purpose. Dont use for the wrong reason.

blackbatz,
I also very short. Now the distance btw tummy & steering wheel still ok. But, in time to come then no idea already. Will see how it goes. But cannot imagine if cannot drive. Think my #1 will be badly deprived. Hehe....Aiyo, that means really no such thing as strapless nursing bra. No one innovative enough to come up with such thingy. Guess I have no choice but use the tube bra. Sure have sweaty underarms. LOL~

wendyg,
Thanks for the link. Got my fren to check out for me later. She will update me after lunch. Hehe..Hope its gd.

Jacelyn,
Do you have sinus or blocked nose now? For me, I will get breathless if I stand for too long. Eg. queeing up. Walking is perfectly fine but not standing stationary.

<font color="ff6000">AhCapp,

Lucky u did not attend the Doctot's Talk at SCGS yesterday. We find it rather boring talk & my hubby fell asleep in the auditorium for the first 1hr talk by Dr. AiLin, the neurologist. The next hr talk by Dr. Catherine was so so...basically it's like a re-cap "reading from ppt" abt parenthood journey/newborn care/issue/pain relief option/labour & delivery.
No freebies

Fern, how do u find it?</font>

NEW LilyPadz Lily Padz Silicone Nursing Bra Pads
================================================
1071337.jpg

This brilliant product was invented by a young mom who knew there had to be a better way! LilyPadz unique design provides you with a non-absorbent layer of protection that prevents breast milk leakage while in place, so there's nothing to absorb -- both you and your clothes stay dry!

Sleep comfortably...
LilyPadz stay in place even when you aren't wearing a bra.

Go for a swim...
LilyPadz are non-absorbent, so they remain effective even in the water. Although, you must apply them while dry, LilyPadz stay in place and prevent leaks as you go from dry to wet and dry again!

Enjoy a night out...
Perfect for under evening attire, strapless, and sheer. Hello sexy mama!

How do LilyPadz Work?
LilyPadz are manufactured from silicone rubber compounds,the same materials used in baby bottle nipples. The silicone material on the inside surface is so soft that it has a tacky feel. They adhere gently to your skin without the use of adhesives and apply a gentle pressure to stop leaks.

How to use LilyPadz
Simply place the LilyPadz over your nipple with the tacky side toward your skin. Press the center of the LilyPadz onto the nipple and smooth out over your breast. Just lift off the LilyPadz to feed your baby then re-apply again and again. LilyPadz are continuously usable. Just wash with mild soap and water, rinse, and air-dry before re-applying. You can occasionally sterilize your LilyPadz. Just place in boiling water for 3 5 minutes.

1071338.jpg

morning ladies.

Long Hang Jia birdnest
I have been eating that for the past few months. the one with sugar is not so sweet. One bottle can last 3 weeks. 1 teaspoon in the morning to strengthen the baby's lungs and 1 teaspoon at nite so tat the baby will have smooth skin (according to the salesgirl)

HI Stph.

Re cabbage leaf- hope that way helps ease pain in engorgement lor. Will try when times comes... THink quite comfy since its cold... hahaha:p

Re DOctors Talk
I find it not bad... Quite informative mah.. haha.. not bad as was having flu throughout.. nose been blocked really often these days... part of preganancy lor.. My hubby just commented that first speaker super rushed.. she talked very fast and hard to absorb many pointers.
Second speaker- speak quite steadily.. but just from the ppt lor.. and ya total disappoinemnt. no freebies
Any more of such gd bb seminars.. let me know leh.. I wana go leh.. to get freebies.. hahahahah:{ Misssed the Advent one.. so sad

BTW, if I am not wrong.. I think I saw you... but dun dare call you cos not sure! haha. were you like wearing black or something???? I was like quite near you... hahahaha.....

wow! 6 babies!! I cannot even tahan having my little baby making somersualts inside my tummy now...I can't imagine having 6 of them all twisting and turning at the same time.

Kitsune,
Yep. Booked her for 4th Dec. If you want Sat slot, contact her quickly.
I have tried a few therapists. She will be the third one.

wow ..... if i have twins i oso scare liao wor dun say 6 babies .... how to go work and how to raise them up?? hahahaha

Talking about cabbage to ease engorgment pain. Likely to happen during the first 2 weeks. Make sure it is washed thoroughly (or your CL washed it thoroughly). Sometimes, if CL din washed properly, your breast might get infection/ rashes. Put it in a clean plastic bag and keep in the fridge. I remembered that I used it together with the plastic bag. It's really soothing. However, used too often will affect milk supply, so I stopped.

<font color="ff6000">Hi Fern,

informative la but they might as well print out the ppt in hardcopy & give it to us FOC for reading/reference during our classes with Mrs Wong. We/all 1st time parents to be make time & effort to attend the talk but the Doctors were not very professional in their presentation...this is how my hubby felt. Maybe we expect high standards from Doctors bah.
Ya i think i saw u too but not sure, u tie up yr hair "pony tail" right? forgot what dress u wore? U were sitting two rows in front of me! Yup i am wearing black dress!

silicon pads
Hmmm... wat if stick liao, then go out, then milk leak, then pad get wet and drop out on the floor???!!

Val
6 babies, they sure got tonnes of sponsors. Her tummy looks small hor from the photo. Hmmm... how they go out? Drive lorry ah.

Bebe,
nope i don't have softcopy of the ppt Doctor's talk. I was telling Fern that they (TMC) might as well print out hardcopy for us instead...since the doctors were reading from their ppt slides!

mon2nat,
6 babies + 2 elder one = 8 leh. Imagine 8 car seats? Haha.... Car seat another headache. You getting one? After putting another car seat, I gotta make sure my maid dont put on weight man. So cramp!!!!

Valencia,
I do have sinus. But the breathlessness will just struck me anytime of the day even i am not having any flu.

Re: Silicone pad
The is actually a mould to place our nipple in it then paste the whole padding ontho the breast.

Val
I borrowing the capsule kind from my fren. Actually quite problematic, cos mine is normal sedan car, behind got Nat, my mom and maid, already squeezy. Dun really wanna buy MPV cos hb say waste petrol he is the only one driving all week to work in the big car. Tempted to buy another car, so I can send Nat for classes and sometimes see doc, or when I need to go shopping! HAHA... but another financial burden leh. *sigh* So until now still dunno lor. Well, bb come out then car squeezy then see wat my hb say. Now I force him change oso no use. YOurs MPV now right? At least got more space.

icy
oohh...i tot i read u saying smtg about hubby posting to HK. Anyway, Taipei also okay...then u can have your 2-people world + baby again. Me and hubby accepted this relocation cos we were thinking after baby reach schooling age, tough to relocate liao...so if we fancy any relocation, it's now or never.

Pinkstars
U stayed in HK before? Come back lah! Hahahaha...then we can accompany each other with our new babies.
Sigh...can get pretty lonely here. Yah, me too going back HK only around Feb/March. Depending on how fast they can get my baby's visa done after her birth.

3rascals
Thanks! I checked out the moms in mind website and quite like their nursing range as well. Will check it out when i get back to Sg.

Anyone has any giddy spells? Me sometimes for no rhyme no reason, suddenly walking around will feel a little breathless, then an uncomfortable feeling will wash pass me and i feel faintly. Gotta sit down and wait for the moment to pass. Dunno wat it is....is this common?

Share this info with all of u here....

Checklist for first-time mums

Checklist of Purchases
Babys Room
Baby Cot
Musical mobiles/ Merry-go-round
Mattress (3" or 4")
Blanket
Bumper
Pillow/bolster case
Bedsheets
Mattress protector
Changing table (optional)
Cupboard/Chest of Drawers

Clothes for baby
Mittens/Bootees
Cloth Diapers (Can also be use to wrap baby)
Nappy liners
Blouse/shirts - long and short sleeves
Suits - pants and long shirts
Rompers
Handkerchiefs (get plenty of them)
Face towels
PILCHERS (pants worn over nappies)

Baby bathing
Baby wipes
Bath tub
Anti-slip mat
Changing mat
Rubber mat
Bath towel
Bath sponge (optional, small cotton handkerchief would suffice)
Baby soap/bath lotion
Baby shampoo
Baby oil
Cotton buds
Baby powder with puff

Laundry for Baby Clothes
Buckets with lids
Basket for baby laundry
Nappy/clothes detergent/softener
Clothes hanger for drying mittens/booties/handkerchiefs

Feeding Baby
Milk bottles (big+small) + teats
Bottle scrub brush
Warmer cum carrier bag
Thermometer (to use when baby is unwell)
Large pan/pot (for sterilising)
Tongs (to handle hot bottles)
Electric Steam Steriliser (Pigeon/Avent)
Milk containers
Bags/milk bottles to store expressed breastmilk

Misc
Safety pins
Pacifiers
Thermometer (Check room temperature)
Nail clippers
Anti-nappy rash cream (Drapolene)
Oil for wind (Ru Yi or White Tree Oil)
Ziplock bags for checkups and outings.
Woodwards Gripe Water
Sterile thermoplastic tray with swabs & swabsticks
Polythene bag for soiled diapers
Dish/ container (to wash babys face)
Care of the Umbilical Cord Stump
Sterile swab applicators
Sterile cotton swabs
Sterile container for cord spirit
Cord spirit

Accessories
Playpen
Stair/door gates (If you want to separate your baby & pets)
Rubber protectors for bedroom doors
Highchair
Walker
Bouncer
Stroller
Pram
Baby carrier
Car seats

Toys & Playstuff
Rattle
Mirror
Baby gym

Mummy Care
Maternity Dress/top/bottom
Pyjamas with front opening for breast feeding
Breast pump
Anti Stretchmark creams
Nursing bras
Maternity bras
Nipple cream for crack nipples
Nursing pads
Disposible panties
Cotton panties (larger size when reach later stage of pregnancy)
Sanitary pads
Panty liners
Bedroom slippers
Painkillers (with doctors prescription only)

Other optional items
Plastic bowl/ container, 10-12 inch diameter for both baby and mother
Electrical HotFlask (autoboil), quick access to boiling water for formula milk
Thermoflask without autoboil, for mums drinking water
Claypot or double boil claypot for mums confinement soup
Claypot or earthenware for cooking pigs trotters in ginger and black vinegar
2 pails for mums bathing and face cleansing.

jaslyn & mylife me too started to get breathless already ..... yesterday lie dw oso cannot sit up oso cannot the like very difficult to breath ...... dunno why like tat ... now i have cough worst!

hi mylife,
I also have the fainting spells.. sometime i feel very giddy suddenly. Check with my gynea.. he said i hv low sugar, ask me to eat sweets when i feel giddy.. and dun suddenly get up from bed or chair.

mon2nat,
Mine is SUV. Not MPV. Car juz changed 1 yr + ago leh. Hb dont like MPV. He said rather get a second car than to go for MPV. Dont know lah, wait for bb out first then decide.

mei
yeah i bought one since he was 6m old, but he only started to appreciate it now.. after 2YO.

any 2nd time mums going for a 3rd?

<font color="0077aa">mei & wendyg,

do u mean the Leap Frog LeapPad ? I thot it's usually for ages 4yrs & up? U mean they have infant series (6 to 12mths)? What do u think of Baby Einstein products & flash cards?</font>

I got a question! Pls help! I'm in 33wks now. Baby's head engaged already, does this means that baby is coming out soon?? Roughly abt how soon? Still can wait for another month?? Anybody's baby's position engaged too?

<font color="aa00aa">wendyg, is it good? how does it work actually? how much u bot?

steph, not sure but read from website, got from birth onwards leh...</font>

wow ..... baby head engage liao ... wonder hows mine .... yesterday think i eat too full she is sound asleep hahaha no kicking after meals at all hahaha

wow baby head engaged
. can count down already.

just came back from my doc's appointment. well, today never get to see baby coz doc never do scan for me. only hear the baby heart beat, very loud and very fast. thank goodness, i pass the sugar level test, phew. next visit will be 3 weeks from now, can slowly count down. will be doing the 4d scan. what is the 4d scan all about? initially i wanted to wait till end dec when hubby is back then we can see the baby together at the 4d scan, but then doc say by then baby will be too big, so maybe face cannot see clearly, so 8 month will be the best to see the baby, coz by then she will look really like a baby. kekeke.

i got belly button infection. hai~~~~, now got to apply cream.

i just visit my gynae yesterday, she didn't mention anything just tell me baby's head is engaged. I dun feel any pain but usually when baby's head engaged, how long it takes for e baby to come out? could it last for a month?

Hope all MTB's can benefit from it... Cheers!

Checklist for Hospital bag for Admission

- Daddys & mummys identity cards
- Letter from Gynae
- Booking Slip for admission
- Notebook, writing materials

For Baby
- 2 baby tops (1 long-sleeve, 1 short sleeve)
- 1 bottom (optional - normally bb put on diapers-and wrap up with blankets)
- 2 pair of mittens n booties (preferably bb-socks coz' booties are too big on new born
- 1 receiving blanket with-hood
- Handkerchiefs
- baby soft cap (if the receiving blanket hood is too big)

For Mummy
- Maternity or Normal pads (Day-& Night use)
- 2 night-gowns with front opening buttons for nursing
- Bedroom Slipper (optional)
- Inflatable ring (After Episiotomy) - can loan from hospital too
- 1-pack cotton or disposable panties
- Clothes for after discharge
- Book/Magazine
- 2 nursing bras
- nursing pads
- 1 face towel
- Toiletries (Hospital will provide you with a toiletries kit - toothbrush, toothpaste, cleanser, toner, moisturizer, etc) [Bring your own also can]
- A pair of socks (if feeling-cold at night)
- Plastic bags for soiled clothings
- Handphone-& charger
- old unwanted clothes and garbage bag in car in case waterbag burst
- snacks in case you dont like hospital food
- girdle (for C-section)
- fibregel can get from Pharmacy (Drink a pack aft delivery... makes it easier to move yr bowels cos wif the stitches below, it can get quite painful...)

For Daddy/Misc
- A jacket
- Digital camera (CF card, batteries, charger)
- Video-cam (batteries, tapes)
- Essence of chicken/Red bull
- Chocolate bars-& snacks
- Tissues/ Wet tissues
- 2 bottles of Mineral Water

angelsky,

belly button infection? what happen?

QQ & mei,
u both take care wor!

QQ,
yesterday dinner i end up eating nasi lemak (fried ikan with peanuts, sunny side up, hotdog, fish cake & 2 juicy chix wings) today gonna look for chicken cutlet/pork chop liao...keke

Bebe,
no cause for alarm. No worry since gynae didn't say anything. It is a gd sign that bb's head is engaged which means is ready position for natural delivery! #1 normally not so fast into active labour. Must wait for active contraction & cervix is sufficiently dilated then the real labour kicks in wor. Perhaps yr gynae will wait till week 37 & baby is full term & good weight & then will u'll be ready for delivery soon

Steph
i was so worried cos if baby come out too early she'll be premature isnt it.. got to find out more abt it.. I dun wan baby to come out so fast ler...

steph thansk for the concern heheehe u saw my blog? kekek can ask ur husband drive u to buy there is one branch at serangoon garden heehee ..... 56 serangoon garden way stall 5/6....

angelsky, 4d scan can see baby more clearly leh

mylife.
yes, hubby and I were staying in HK from Oct04 to Sept05 (1year)... i agree it can get lonely alone there but we made friends there and got together on Fridays and Sundays.

it helped that we stayed within walking distance from hubby's office (in Central)... so hubby comes back for lunch and dinner... no need to take public transport, and Causeway Bay and Admiralty is easily accessible from my place

we were thinking air quality in HK was bad... until we went to Beijing ;p haha...

jaslyn, mylife & qqing,
i am getting fainting spells and breathlessness too... quite scary, so i try to stay at home or get someone to accompany me when i go out... i'd almost fainted in a bookstore in beijing and nobody even noticed~ cold sweat and seeing stars and everything... *shudder*

if you can, dun go out alone lor...

now even at home, i lie down if i think i am giddy... won't wanna tumble down the stairs or something...