(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Godsent hahah for me i am lazy tats why Got stretch mark anyway b4 preggie i already have some cos i am fat. and my frd told me i dun look like preggie oso.... like fat more than preggie hahaha

babe maybe becos is ur 2nd one? ppl say 2nd one always tends to be bigger.

hi everyone. 1st time went to see Dr TB Lim on friday. baby is growing well but he is shy. Maybe because not the usual gynae doing the scan so he didn't show us his face.

below is my tum tum pic taken at week 27 and 4 days.

1065682.jpg
1065683.jpg

Saw the diabetes doc today and finally no need to poke my fingers 6 times a day. Doc said condition is good so only need to monitor twice a week can already.

Saw gynae today and baby is 1.8kg! Doc said I need to induce labour as concerned baby is big so I can choose any date from 21st Dec onwards. What do you girls think?

Hi kistune,

Got such a practice with regards to cot ah? I was thinking of setting the cot up soon so that I won't rush like mad if I suddenly delivery early.

Hi Violetice,

So fast already know need to induce ah? Can I ask what was your original EDD?

Oh suddenly thought of this...

Anyone knows when can we go for the 3D/4D scan? I am already in my 30 weeks now.

violetice
so fast the doc ask u to induce oredi? 1.8kg is very big for this stage meh? so if u induce fr 21 dec onwards, how many wks will u be? gotta be at least 36 wks rite? spore n melbourne quite different - when i went to chat wif the midwife at the hospi i'm delivering, she told me here they prefer to wait for it to happen naturtally n will induce only if absolutely necessary. they even let u go past your due date if there's no complications! in spore, seems alot of gynaes favour induction...

godsent
yeah ur tum's really nice and compact! wheni saw your photo, i immediately turned ard to ask my hubby y mine dont look like yours so nice! mine is also more like babe's hee.

babe
yeah i also feel that wif #2, my tum seems bigger too!

mylife
i think safer mattress is those that have holes cut out in them. u go any bb shop they should know. basically instead of 1 big block of foam, they just cut out circles in them so there's empty pockets in the foam. i hope u know wat i'm trying to say!

Hi Michelle,

I have seen those mattress with holes punched out. I was told that this kind of mattress are to allow better air circulation for the baby. But I am puzzled. I was told that I need to get a water-proof piece of something to put onto the mattress in case the baby wee wee onto it. But this water-proof thingie will prevent the air-circulation right?

Pls advise.

Re: Bean sprout husks pillow

I remebered u ladies talking about this pillow some time ago. Finally saw it at Spring Maternity on Fri, selling for $15.90. I was told that I can place it on the baby's chest to prevent from startling while he sleeps. But if I were to swaddle the baby, I won't need this pillow right?

Hi Fern & Steph,

Did u enjoy the whole pre-natal class with Mrs Wong? I sure enjoyed mine. =) Kinda sad that it has come to an end. I won't be able to attend the Doc's talk coming Tue. I hope I won't miss out much.

Btw, I like the swaddle cloth I bought yesterday at the class. It's very soft and nice. The towel feels kinda so-so, but if it doesn't fluff up like Mrs Wong said, i think it should be good. =) I don't mind more towels as can always use for later. ;)

Hi Mom2nat,
Thanks for sharing your experience... nice to learn from each other!

Personally, I think for a start first 3 months let him sleep with me next to my bed in MBR.. after that will train him to sleep alone in my study rm- where his cot, and cupboard are... since mine its an adjoining room.. will not be that bad as easily
assesible. Ya.. will learn from the confinment auntie during the one month... and get my FIlilpna maid and mil to learn as much as well...yupz
What do you think?

RE SIDS,
I already got a normal mattress.. standard one that comes FOC with the cot which I got at BB Kingdom lor... and a beanbag pillow meant to soothe babay lor. hope thats ok... YOu mean no comfortor for newborn? I ordered a whole set leh.. so means just have the mattress fitted sheet and remover comfortor for the mean time? wun bb be cold? I will definatley not put any soft toys there... read not gd... perhaps a soft one meant for babies at the side? Are cot mobile with hanging lites and toys recmmneded as well?

Ah capp,
I think assembly of cot b4 bb born is ok. What I heard is do not assemble i our presence.. just go out of house when assembly is done lor. thats what I plan to do - as long any new assembly of furntiture etc... so dun worry!

Joyce,
Nice chatting with you on hp yesterday!
Nice tum tum you have! hahaha.. btw.. realised many of you the navel like popping out soon.. worried as mine stil quite intact leh.. like onlyh a bit starting to popp out but havent lor... haz
hope its fine?

Ah capp,
I got mine feom cheecky Bon Bon.. Its a 100 percent bean bag pillow.. meant for soothing and comforting newborn too.. perhaps you can check this out too!
Yah.. i enjoyed Mrs wong class and sad that it has ended lor... Me like the swaddle cloth mater ial too.. very nice to touch and hug! haha.. I didnt the the towel.. cos I find it very normal kind leh and not very cheap leh.. I only got the swaddle cloth and the book of child cre... very good with detailed info.. did you get that too.. the other two.. I didnt get.. haha:p See you at SCGS on Tuesday then!

Fern

Just got the Avent Manual Breast Pump from Robinson sale because there is a 20+5% disct. I a bit panic already, cos I haven't get cot, pram or anything other stuff, except baby clothes. Now the sale doesnt seemed so attractive yet, wondering if there would be better one around december.

Breastmilk,
What is the purpose of storing breast milk in the freezer, other than it can act as a supply when we run out of ss? Especially if I would be at SAHM? *sigh* realised me and mil have diff ideas abt breastmilk, she thinks 6 bottles is enough to store in the fridge... *sigh* dunno lah.

Violetice,
woah, your baby is big. I still prefer for my bb to born in Jan.. dun have to squeeze with the other piggies babies, cos seemed like lots of bb in 2007. :p

Fern,

My naval hasn't really pop out also.

All your tummies seems quite big already, mine still quite compact. Doctor say i need to let baby gain more weight. So my MIL advice a lot of things to eat, say durians, glutinous rice and ice cream right after meals! haha

Icy,
i would suggest you get the things ready while you can, since you have the time now. I think in the last few weeks, we'll be too tired to go shopping for long hours already.

fern, till now my naval also didn't pop out leh.... but just getting smaller and smaller.... so far i have gained total of 8kg... another 10weeks more... hope will not gain too much...
tummy not very big also, unless wear tight fit pant... but i found my buttom getting bigger especially buttock and thigh....
hope will reduce after delivery....

friday ask my gynae advice whether to go for natural or c-sec... according to him, if baby follow me small build then i can go for natural but the chances of success is 50/50 if baby follow daddy then i might have to go for c-sec. how how how? really want to try natural...

violetice ya why so fast know that u need to induce???

Fern my naval oso no pop out .... my frd told me when she is having a girl no pop out when she have boy pop out wor ..... thats what she say wor ......

I wonder how my baby grown so far ..... cant wait till friday ....

oh regarding the 3d 4d scan .... we can see baby face more clearly is it?? my gynae told me my baby always dun let her capture a nice view ..... so my scan always not nice

Fern, I would suggest if u want bb to be in same bedroom with u, it's better still to start him off with sleeping in a cot next to u. Otherwise, you might have problem transferring to cot after 3 mths. They are very smart.

For me, coz of space limitation since I live with IL and BIL, my gal sleeps with us but still in a cot that is relatively big. Just make sure she doesn't find comfort between us. If not next time want to have intimate couple time also tough. Heeheee....

Depending on babies, as long they are full they will sleep through. Mine is super wakeful in the day so even at 1mth plus she started to sleep thru in the night like 6-8hrs. Of coz I don't get much rest in the day as a result. Try to give bb a good feed before the bedtime. For newborn, if can sleep 6hrs in 1 go is considered sleep thru night. Try to establish routine early. I find the book "the contented baby" by gina ford quite good.

thanks QQ.

as for naval pop out.... my mum told me if boy no pop out if girl pop out... hmm.... funny... diff ppl say diff thing...maybe 2nd time mummies can share with us yr experience.

10mins ago nearly fell down in the toilet... when entering the toilet, i slipped but lucky only hit my elbow on the toilet door... maybe because the floor is very slippery and my leg too "suan" bah... morning sweep and mop the floor after that cleaned and packed my room. actually just want to sweep the floor only then left the mopping to my hubby when he get back home at night because i feel my back so suan and so tired after sweeping but ended i do all...now so tired and leg so suan....like jelly fish liao....

aiyo joyce u still mopping ah.
*salute* u.

icy
actually your MIL is quite right, coz if u freeze too much, the age of the milk will b further fr the age of your bb, assuming first in first out. Dat's why chilled milk is better than frozen, but see your supply first. No point worrying abt it now.. when the boat comes to the bridge then see how.

re: pillow & bolster
inside our tummies dun hv pillow & bolster.. when our bbs born, they dunno what it feels like to sleep on pillow etc. My boy didn't use pillow until he was near 2YO. Until now he doesn't like to hug bolster/ soft toy to sleep.

re: co-sleeping
sigh, when started out, i also had lofty ideas abt bb's sleeping arrangements... in the end, my bb become big boy liao, husband cannot tahan 10mins of crying and will always scold me and carry him into our room etc. Last night 3am, my boy cried 10mins in his own room, then walked to my room and asked me to make milk for him, which i refused, but accompanied him on his bed until he slept 30min later. Soon after i returned to my own bed, he cried again, but this time he carried his pillow & blanket into my room and settled in for the rest of the night.
See la..

My naval has not popped out yet. =P It just looks a bit stretched out that's all...

Re: Co-sleeping
For me, I will let my baby sleeps in his own cot in his own room. My room can't squeeze in a cot anymore as most of the space is taken up by our king size bed! *LOL*

I went for a course conducted by a gynae. He said once u let the baby sleeps in your master bedroom, it will be difficult to get him to sleep on his own later on. He believes that it's better to let the child knows that the master bedroom is his parents' room, and he has his own room. Or else it will be difficult for the couple to get intimate again later on as the child will want to come into master bedroom.

Some of my colleagues don't believe it so. They think it's important to have the child as close to the parents as possible, especially now that they are young. So they let the baby sleeps in their own room and later on, put mattress on the floor, next to the bed, for the child.

What I feel is it really depends on each couple's preference at the end of the day. =)

Hi Fern,

I got all 3 books in the end. I love to read so that's why I got all 3. =P The books quite good. I can't remember some of the details from the class already. The books have the details =)

Yes, the towel doesn't feel very fantastic. I just hope that they will not become mouldy easily =)

There's this question i'd been thinking of these few days,

If we apply baby lotion on babies, do we still need to apply talc powder?

Joyce,
still mopping and washing toilet, take my hat off you. Take care and be really careful, it's weekend, better rest more before starting work for the coming week.

Talk about butt and tighs, I tried to put on my old jeans and gosh I cant pull it beyond my tighs. Really hope its becoz pregnant thats why backside expand, later after birth will contract back.

Butts....sigh...i cant even begin to imagine how mine has grown...has gone into "temporary denial mode" and simply refuse to look at it for now...mine was oredi big pre-pregnancy...dare not think how big it is now!

violetice
How many weeks are u now? 1.8kg is considered big meh? If induce on 21st dec, is it full term oredi?

Michelle
Thanks for the explanation. Too bad, dont think the mattress i bought is the safe type, cos like Fern, mine comes along free when i purchased the baby cot during the Takashimaya Baby Fair.

QQ
it's true, my gynae also attempted to take some 3d pics of the baby for me....but becos she's always moving, cannot get a nice and clear pic as well....oh well, maybe when we are at later stage, and the baby has grown much bigger, and no more room to move about so much, we shud be able to take a clear 3d pic!

Joyce!
Aiyoh...be careful leh...now we entering our 3rd trimester, dun do so much housework dat requires u to bend up and down. U're prob encountering your "nesting" instinct bah...hehe...last time when i first moved to HK and need to move from serviced apartment to my perm apt, i also vacuumed and mopped the floor cos cannot tahan until weekend...in the end, think i strained my back...gotta apply some cream to cure the "suan-ness" for about a week...dont play-play ah. Heng u're alright!

Mei
wat happened to the BP order of the beansprout pillow? is it on? U were talking about the customisation as well, right?

Gals, if any of u want to get the tmc books on child birth, childcare and breastfeeding, I have a brand new copy each for sale. I must say they are good and really helpful when I had my first one.

mylife ya hahaha ..... my gynae attempt to take her pte area for me since cant get nice pic she quickly close her leg OMG!

Joyce pls becareful ...... yesterday i oso do hsework keke mop my other room cos frds came over to play mj on fri and pt maid cant do so i do it myself mop and my husband vacuum. I still stand on chairs to wipe my kitchen cabinet cos i dun trust men to do hahaha he is behind me standby

ah capp
preference and determination. Well, what i hv to say is.. we still managed to conceive #2 amidst all the "interruptions" from #1..
and i think we're one of the few who are still going at it at this point of pregnancy.
Where there's a will, there's a way

i've read & tried the ang mo methods, in the end still like that. Be determined not to let your bb sleep betwn u and husband, since u got a king sized bed

Hello, mummies.

Joyce, I fell yesterday too. The floor was very dusty and dirty so got hubby to vaccum and mop. But end up the floor was too wet so I slipped and fell. Broke the fall with my left hand so BB was ok but I got a big bruise on my palm now. After I told my mum, she told me to get a part time maid for the weekend cos she also pity my hubby, got to do all the house chores when I'm pregnant. :p

My plan is to put BB in her own cot beside my bed when I'm still BF in the night but after that, move her out when she is about 6 months old. She has her own room and in the beginning she will sleep with CL in that room. Intend to get a BB monitor for the later stage. Hope this plan will work cos I really don't want BB in the same room as me. I've seen many mummies sleeping on the bed with BB, end up daddy sleep on the floor or in another room. Don't think it's good for marriage in the long term. :p

Hi AhCapp,
My original EDD was 11th Jan 2008.
Gynae said I can go for natural birth as baby is head down and placenta and unbilical cord are in correct positions.

Hi Michelle,
I'm in my 31st wks, from 21st Dec onwards, I'll be in my 37th wks which is considered full term baby liao. So can opt from 21st Dec onwards.

Hi icy,
My hubby thinks like you too, would prefer baby to be born in 2008 but then again, it doesn't really matter to me as long as baby is healthy. I'm sure 2008 will also have lots of babies.

Hi QQ,
Now know already bec that time was checked for gestational diabetes, even though it's not serious and I don't have to prick my fingers daily but gynae is concerned about baby's size as well. My baby's size is about 32nd/33rd wks weight.

Hi mylife,
I'm in my 31st wks. By 21st Dec, baby will be 37th wks already, which is considered mature. From now onwards, our baby will grow 200grams per week.

violetlce
I checked previous posts, your edd is 11 Jan, mine is 12 Jan. My scan at 28 weeks, my bb was 1.5kg. Gynae din even say my baby big, I ask isit big, he say "above avg, but anyway estimate only". My gynae said he won't induce even if EDD reached, unless for some medical reasons.

For my #1, at 32 weeks, she is 2.4kg. Sounds even bigger right? But hor, estimates only leh. And I had Strep B tat time, if I induce and bb still dun come out after 18 hours, I have to go for C sec leh, cos the bacteria will transmit to baby or something like tat. Is your gynae gg on leave? Or you have other medical reasons, or are you on the petite side? Otherwise you can always wait until mid Dec then see how big is bb. But of cos if you feel better listening to your gynae, then pick a date for induction first, later then see how lor.

Mylife
My PD was a french. They dun believe in rocking, patting or singing to sleep. French kids are amazing, they go to bed ard 8pm. At 9pm, the adults go out for dinner, a babysitter comes in to standby. I know a french, 3 kids, all of them sleep in own rooms. The youngest I think 1 yr old only. We went over for dinner, 8 to 11pm, so peaceful, none of the kids came down to disturb us. So disciplined. Sg kids?? Sleep at 11pm, cos parents come home late, wan to play with the kids oso, and so sayang lah, sleep so early for wat! For me, i can't tahan cos I SAHM, so my girl sleeps ard 9pm. In fr, she sleeps before 8pm. Then evening I can have time to myself. But well, depends on each family lah.

Fern
Frankly hor, I oso confused with those mattresses. I buy those so-called "breathable" mattress, but after putting the protector, I not sure still "breathable" or not leh. Now i wanna go buy a latex one, more cooling, and "breathable", but after the protector on top, I oso dunno liao. Some pple let the bb sleep on the side or face up, in case face down can't breathe. For my girl, she slept facing down once she can turn herself over, and I am sure her head v sturdy to turn left and right easily, so tat she wont sleep facing down... ard 5 months. But b4 tat, she slept on the side lor. Aiya, as parents, we sure worry this and tat. If put in another room, sure every few hours go and check, see breathing or not! Heee....

Hi Mom2nat,

I was also quite surprised about the need to induce but gynae did mentioned he can do some cervix stretching so I will go into labour naturally. I think he's concerned bec of GD bah. I will monitor and see how. Thanks for sharing.

violetlce
Oh, you got GD hor. Then your bb tends to be bigger. But my fren with GD hor, her kids all less than 3.5kg, cos she controlled her diet. Next check up, you ask him again if he highly recommends you induce or not. If need be, then induce lor.

Hi Wendyg,

Yes, my bed is big, but I am a horrible sleeper. I toss around a lot in my sleep. The last thing I want is to crush my little darling. So off he will be going to his own cot ;P

Hi Violetice,

Wow, your baby very fast. Already in position. =) I think anytime is a good time to give birth (be it 07 or 08), as long as you have your gynae's guidance/ advice. Don't worry too much ya. *Hugs*

Hi Mom2nat,

Your french friend reminds me of my parents. My dad was very strict when I was young. 9pm was my bedtime. No argument. 8pm was my cousin's bedtime! Anyway, I will try to do the same for my baby too.

I have heard of colleague whose son won't sleep till after midnight. He was soo tired after work already, but no choice, still have to "entertain" his son. I really pity him. =( Will try my best to make sure my baby follow my footsteps lor. Or else my hubby and I will suffer for sure.

Hi kitsune & Joyce,

Be extra careful when doing housework. I fell down the other day not knowing that my floor was wet with water. Thank goodness I landed on my elbow and not on my tummy. Scared my hubby!

I have long ago passed the baton (of mopping + vacuuming the floor) to my hubby. I will do the iron (while sitting down of course), and wash the toilet. Of course sometimes I still hang out the laundry out to try on bamboo poles. I know I shouldn't but I am too patient to wait for my hubby to do it for me ;)

ahcapp, GD = gestational diabetes

Mom2nat
Cultural differences lo. I have EXACTLY wat u said from a couple fren of mine who has a sister that married an ang moh and stayed in the west. The husband was telling me, the kids there sleeps VERY early, thus our dinner time is actually their supper, rite? And couples (esp the mommies) can still have their own "me" time, go paktor, movie, read a book, have a decent bath, etc. But of cos, he said when the kids came to Spore to visit, they woke up so early like 6-ish and jumped into their beds waking them up...hahaha....come to think of it, it's really a very healthy lifestyle hor....ours here always like to sleep late and wake up late...

Kitsune!
Aiyoh! So glad to hear u managed to break the fall with your hand! *shiver* Pls pls take care mommies!

violetice
200gms a week! Whoa...they sure grow fast hor! But i 2nd the mommies here too....jus monitor and at the end of the day, listen to your gynae's advice. Like u said, altho we very much wan to have our babies in 2008, dat is jus our preferences only...ultimately, as long as our babies come out healthy, dats all dat matters, yah!

morning everyone.

Aiyo.... QQ and Kitsune, both of u must be careful.... kitsune r u ok now? QQ u still climb up the chair arh... my hubby stop me from climbing with or without him ard....

thanks lynn, ahcapp and mylife, i will be extra careful the next time... i have no choice not to do sweep and mop the floor...

Yes yes, ang moh has this habit to put bb to bed at 8pm, latest 9pm. Heeheee...I am also doing that coz I need some time after that and also for me to rest early if nothing to do. But I think I not so power yet as them for the baby to cry to sleep and self-soothe coz my gal will wail the house down. So fast all of us going to delivery liao!!!!!

Seriously unless the gynae advise, otherwise dun induce. Heard more painful and labour can be longer. My gal came out 40 weeks and 5 days weighing 3.2kg. So no worries lahz. My hb even better, got a colleague naturally delivered a 3.8kg bb.

<font color="aa00aa">zhao mummies!

<font color="ff0000">Beansprout Pillow</font>
Good news!! My friend just told me that sample pillow is ready for collection. so she will send me the pic tmr. Will post here as soon as I've!</font>

babe
*hi5* Heee... my girl was 40 wks 6 days! So close.

mylife
Actually their kids take dinner at 5pm or so. And the parents take dinner after the kids sleep. They will go out part tor, kopi... but sg parents, will be on standby for their kids!! hahaha... There is a couple I know, marry british, staying ard my place, her kids oso sleep and wake v early. It is common for them cos a lot of the wives not working. But in sg, working parents reach home 7+, bu sher de let their kids sleep 8+ lor. But my hb more than happy ah. Cos my girl drains our energy away. So he rather she sleep and wake up early. But siong for me, cos I like to sleep pass mid night.

AhCapp
Same, I wonder how can pple tahan to entertain their kids until midnight. V siong ah.
My girl got "wu ying jiao" so no one likes to sleep with her on the same bed. But it is dangerous. When she was v young, she slept with me, then i put a fleece blanket for her, she likes to kick and lift her head, so I heard her making noise, I tot as per normal, fussy. Then I open my eyes, got a shock, the fleece blanket was cover her face. cos she lifted up her legs and prob the blanket fell over her head. V dangerous leh, cos the blanket is fleece, not breathable!! So I dun let her have blanket when she was young. I just dress her up warmer.

deerdeer
i was told that it's best to use disposable diapers ie pampers, mammy poko for the 1st 2 weeks cos of the meconium that the baby poo...not a pretty sight and very hard to wash away if u're using cloth diaper...thereafter, can use cloth diaper la.

joyce
any chance of u getting a PT helper to help? Those that charge maybe around $9-$10 per hour jus for these few weeks? If not, try not to mop the floor, cos after mopping, the floor's wet and u'll be like bending forward...not very stable.

QQ
dont climb up and down la...very dangerous!

I just got a call from the doctor that I failed my OGTT, have to see the diabetes doctor soon.. *sigh* So low morale, hb going overseas today and I have lots of conflicting ideas with mil.. and I am staying with her... Feel so depressed.. sob..

<font color="0077aa">morning all (",)

Re: beansprout pillow

Last Friday, i bought the buckwheat hulls pillow from kiddy palace at $17.90 NETT

1067052.jpg

kitsune & Joyce,
Do be cautious when handling hsework wor.
For me, i always wear my URS slipper & my hubby hates it. He say the slipper makes me fell down twice during preggy cos it has no anti-slip sole & ask me to throw away my still NEW slipper
otherwise if i fall again & hurt myself/baby, he will blame me for not taking care/make a gd choice of my footwear wor! So, now whenever i walk or do anything, i will be EXTRA careful lol...walk like an elephant to balance my steps!!;p</font>

<font color="aa00aa">steph, wow cute pillow leh...hee..

mummies, if ur still want the customised pillow, my friend is sending me the pic tmr. will post when receive...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">any mummies attended the Avent seminar last sat? Goodie bag got any freebies!?? hee....

btw, i'm looking for a Baby Monitor, if u've lobang, let me know. tks!</font>