(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font color="aa00aa">mcfluffy, but hor buy fridge, the freezer is that big nia. i thinking of buying a freezer...but hb asked me, DO I REALLY NEED?
then I ask him, do you really need those car accessories!?? haha...

hammies, me been using pigeon....so far ok ok.</font>

Hi, Steph. Wa, your wall tiles look good. Must show to my hubby to pressure him to put up ours soon. Hee, your hubby make me very happy. Me and hubby older than you two leh.

Does anyone have any idea what will Mount E give (any items or samples if any) us if we delivered there? I hope to get the list so that I know what I don't have to buy.

icy...ok will go and get for u if i am there. Sure go one cos hubby always like to go and eat at one of the restaurants nearby. Anyway, any particular cartoon u like ie Hello Kitty, My Melody etc? Think got Pooh also.

Wendy/Michelle - questions on BM again..
If chilled can keep for 3 days, does dat mean, if after 3rd day my baby still hasnt consume the milk (assuming i'm lucky to have more milk), can i actually put the milk up into the freezer compartment, hence can last THAT particular pack of milk for 3 mths? Or must straight away put into freezer? Sorry ah very blur.

Err...wats a VIA cup? how does it look like and where to buy?

wendyg,
haha i was thinking abt those gifts after we deliver.. like Mt A, will give away Bath Tub. :p Dunno Mt E have or not.

Mylife,
Okie thanks, I love twinstars and garfield.. general sanrio characters are fined with me. :D

VIA cup is over at this page, http://www.avent.com/uk/en/bottlefeeding_via_feeding_system.php The plastic cup with the blue cap. I should be buying avent manual breast pump, just wondering should buy with VIA storage system or milk bottle.. cos just $10 diff.

hammies03,
I like the pigeon breast pad. But, quite costly cos the usage quite a lot. So what I did is at home use TollyJoy and go out use Pigeon. Hehe...Damn cheapo

mylife,
If not wrong, cannot freeze EBM like that. If you intend to freeze it, then freeze it. Not chilled for 3 days then freeze it. Anyway, I dont give the EBM if its more than 48 hrs. Btw, for the PJ, do they have pants & sleeveeles top (like what steph77 had posted)?

michelle, how did u managed to pump till so much supply? Each time pump u manage to fill 1 milkbag or u accumulate till enough for 1 bag then freeze?

Milk bags really ex. Anyone use double layer avent milk liners instead to freeze ebm?

thanks valencia and icy

Can the VIA cup be frozen in the freezer as well or can only chilled?

Valencia, i'm not so sure of sleeveless, will go and chk, prob this weekend. Dunno if they have or not. The pants u wan long or knee level one? And if have, do u wan me to buy there and then? Wat cartoon u like?

Icy..,e also BIG fans of twin stars....collected soooo many merchandise here...hehe

hi ladies..oh..so tollyjoy is cheaper ah? Ok..im thinking of buying pigeon disposable, plus also some washable....
thanks for some feedback mummies!!

hi all, my gal fren who gave birth in september is using lansinoh & i saw the bags during her baby shower.. not bad leh... quite a big zip lock bag & thick too... didn't spill when she do the transfer(using avent pump & btl).. she bought from one of the BP too.. which cost abt S$0.48 per pc after adding the shipping charges. i think price is probably slight cheaper now since the exchange rate is favourable now. i m trying to ask my fren who will be travelling to US to buy there instead cos wanna save shipping charges... :p other than that, if u have frens travelling to US, u can also ask them to buy Desitin nappy cream cos heard it's cheaper to buy there.

besides lansinoh, i found via website(local) - http://www.freewebs.com/mybreastmilkstoragebags/.this brand is call blue egg, popular in korea. 10 boxes(25packs each box) @$9.90 with free delivery in Singapore. u can email or call jennifer. i havent seen this bag myself but may consider this if my fren didnt buy the lansinoh for me from US... ;)

Hammies,

Attended Mrs Wong's class, she mentioned it's better to buy disposable breasts pads as it's more convenient and hygenic. Used already just throw. Washable ones sometimes can get contaminated easily and thus not very good. Just want to let you know.

<font color="ff6000">hammies</font>
i tried both washable and disposable breast pads. the problem with washable ones is that when u r BFing, the other boob may leak so much that the pad cannot contain the milk n it will soak thro to your bra/clothes, then end up gotta change those too. very troublesome. this was my experience lah. so i stuck with the pigeon disposables which i find very comfy! they definitely wont leak cos got some kind of special gel inside that soaks up watever leaks

<font color="0000ff">milkbags</font>
i'm a big fan of lansinoh. seriously, after trying avent liners and gerber bags, i think lansinoh is THE BEST! (i dont get commission fr them ah! just wanna share how gd it is hee hee). and its true that these bags reduce spillage when transferring, cos of the design (there's like an arc at the sides of the opening that helps make it like a pouring spout when u pour the milk out)

<font color="119911">babe</font>
after my supply was established, i was able to express about 250-300ml per session, so can fill up one milk bag lor (which can contain about 200ml or 300ml sorry cant really remember). anyway u dont want to fill up too much in 1 bag - it shd be enough for 1 feed otherwise u end up throwing away the milk cos thaw oredi cannot refreeze.

and even if u dont have enuf from 1 pump, just accumlate first in the fridge then later trf to the bag to freeze. remember never to mix freshly expressed BM with chilled ones ok? they must be at the same temp b4 u mix them together, so put everything in the fridge 1st to chill it b4 u freeze.

<font color="aa00aa">mylife</font>
yup valencia's right. if u wanna freeze the EBM, dont wait until it's gonna expire in the fridge b4 freezing. best is to freeze as soon as possible after u express, otherwise, personally, i will not freeze anything after 2 days in the fridge, so i make sure i trf it up to the freezer b4 that. i guess it just depends on how comfy u are lah
i know some people freeze for 1 mth only then throw away liao

Hi Michelle, I am from the feb08 thread. Understand from this thread that you are giving birth in Australia! I am also giving birth in Australia in Feb and would like to check with you some stuff!

- Where will you be getting those herbs for shower in Summer?

- Which part of Australia are you living at?

And do you have msn account to chat? =D

hammies03,
Yeah. Dont bother to get those washable. When you hv your "let down" the padding all soaked. Cannot hold the milk at all and yet still gotta waste time to wash.

mylife,
I am looking at those knee length pants. If have, juz get two sets for me. Hello kitty, little twins star, my melody, winnie the pooh or whatsoever is fine with me. I trust your taste. Hehe... Juz not transformer or power ranger. LOL~

michelle and mummies of #2,
Juz wondering did you hv any prob introducing bottle to your #1? For my #1, I only intro bottle to him when he was ard 1 mth old. And he rejected it. Did not intro earlier cos milk will take ard 4 weeks to establish. And my gynae told me not to give bottle too early as the bb will get lazy to suckle fm breast. Anyway, subsequently I realised that he will only take bottle when I am out from the house. But, the moment I got home he will "dive" to my boobs. Like some kinda "opium addict". So with my #2, I absoluately hv no idea when to intro bottle.

mei...if i wan to buy a freezer...where do i get it from in SG?

Valencia, noted your "orders". Will u be going for the #2 gathering? Will pass it to u then.

To sum up...so far, orders for HK PJs are:
1) icy - 2 sets of long pants PJs (1 long sleeve and 1 short sleeve)
2) Valencia - 2 sets of sleeveless knee length pants PJs. (if dont have sleeveless, do u wan short sleeve?)

Anyone else interested jus add in.

<font color="ff0000">Where can we buy lansinoh milk bags in Singapore retail? Kiddy palace? must buy from overseas web ah?</font>

valencia
my experience with #1 was totally opposite fr u! intro bottle too early n true enuf, he doesnt want to suckle any more cos flow from breast is slower than bottle. this time around, i really want to establish 100% latch on first b4 i intro bottle. i know i might face different set of problems, just like your bb refusing the bottle, but trust me, it's better than the bb rejecting your breast! u cannot imagine how tiring it is to have to express then feed the bb thro bottle, then u still hv to wash all the bottles and pump accessories. really double or triple the work!

mylife
VIA Cups can be frozen

valencia
my #1 was intro'd to bottle abt 2+m... as i was preparing to return to offc after my 3m ML. In order not to confuse him, my folks handled the bottle feeds from the start. He still associated me with latch on, but he wasn't the type who would try to lift my blouse when i got home.

re: strong let down
this is what i'm gonna do this time: baby on 1 boob, and Avent ISIS on the other. So as not to waste the 2nd boob letdown. I only tried this with my #1 when he was quite big, maybe 5m+. By then he was quite curious about the pump, & i had to do it discreetly - scared distract him.

wendy, is VIA cups only from Avent? I'll be using the Medela Pump-in-style. Do i have to buy the VIA cups from medela then?

VIA is by Avent. U can transfer your ebm fr your medela bottles into VIA Cups. But if u want to pump directly into VIA Cups, u gotto get Avent pumps.

hmm...so i guess for convenience purpose...i shud use medela storage bottles lo....how are the bottles ah? Can freeze?

mylife
medela bottles for freezing are super expensive! go take a look at the price n u will know wat i mean ;) i also used medela PIS - but what i do is trf the milk after i pump into glass bottles (free fr hospital), chill it and then put into the milk bags for freezing if needed.

wendyg
how u juggle bb in 1 hand n pump in the other?? can meh? i sure spill everything one :p

heard that freezing the milk for too long will decrease the minerals. I got a friend who freeze her milk when she got to go overseas for work for 1 week. Her care taker mentioned that her infant gal reject the milk when it got freeze for too long. She told me that once the milk is frozen for quite sometime, it changes color but it is not spoilt though.

Any one got such experience?

mylife,
Yes, will be joining the #2 gathering. If dont have, then dont buy for me. I dont want short sleeves. Thanks in advance.

Verene,
Yeah, the color will change. My boy rejected frozen milk. The longer it has been freeze, the lesser his intake. So, I believe the taste may be diff also.

the taste of frozen milk is definitely different from chilled ones. i know cos i tried it! hee hee. but the colour shdnt change leh. at least mine didnt lah. just taste different only. lucky i had a greedy boy... so long as milk he will drink liao haha :D

anyway the worst thing abt freezing is that it kills all the antibodies, that's y chilled is still preferred.

michelle, me too...this time really hope to have bm supply cm in fast.. my #1 seem hungry n crying after born but my supply haben cm in so feed him fm.. then he like to drink frm bottle and dun really wanna drink frm breast..will get impatient n fuss..

deerdeer, me.. i looking at ameda's one. it's dual electric pump and SILENT unlike Medela. Think it's a better choice. Medela PIS is toooo expensive. Think Ameda more worth it!

michelle
You are amazing, can freeze so much. My girl din wanna drink much, at first I freeze then later can't be bothered, if in the fridge a few days, I throw, and I was pumping abt 1 litre a day. Quite wasted.

wendyg
Hey, I used to feed 1 side then pump the other, while watching Sex & the city. Cos just nice 20 min a chapter. finish bf and pumping! Hahaha...

valencia, i started intro bottle to feed bm abt 3 wks old coz pressured by my mum and mil. Used with pigeon peristalic teats. Only once a day. Thank God she didn't reject my breast after that. Heehee...u might wanna try slow flow teats. My gal didn't like avent teats though think coz it's too hard.

superbee, can tong bang ur fren to buy milk bag from usa or not? if fren go usa, where can get those milkbags from?

michelle, how did u establish ur milk supply with full expressing? u pump every 3 hrs?

Mom2nat, can ask what pump u use while feeding the other side? if use electric pump then quite noisy for bb?

accumulating bm for freezing
Hi gals, when I chill my bm in bottles, the fats tend to stick at the side. So when transfer to accumulate for freezing like lose alot of fatty stuff even when i swirled. If we use glass bottles, any better? Do we have to sterilise the glass bottles as well?

babe
I use manual Avent Isis, or Ameda electric, depends. I think Ameda's is not noisy leh. My fren who has medela one, not the PIS, but the normal range, she went Genting with parents. Then she pump when everyone sleeping, next day her parents say how come last night got cutting grass sound!!! Haha...

Val
I tried all kinds of bottles and teats cos I was having prob making Nat drink. ENd up stuck to NUK premium bottles, the normal NUK one oso ok. But Avnet is hard.

hi michelle,
will let u know if i buy the blue eggs in the end... the lady jennifer say she use it herself & her clients all say blue egg is good... well, i'm now waiting to c if my fren can buy for me lansinoh from US first..will know by end nov when she come back from her trip... :p

hi babe,
unfortunately my fren say she will try to buy for me but no promise from her... so i cant offer to take extra orders as my own order she also cannot promise me....
if u got fren travelling to US, they can get from target(it's a hypermart like giant) or any hypermart there shd have... this is the website that i saw : http://www.target.com/Milk-Storage-Feeding-Baby/b/602-4275836-7695834?ie=UTF8&node=16011231
similarly for the Desitin cream, another fren told me that u can get from any supermarket there & regardless how the price is still cheaper to get in Sg...

Need some advise from you folks. Remembered some of you have already bought play pans. Am wondering where can we get the Gracco brand at a good price?

mcfluffy
no way ameda is silent.. compared to Avent ISIS
but from what i heard, Ameda is much quieter than Medela

michelle
i'll be using Avent ISIS - can la - baby on 1 boob, ISIS on the other. Need me to take picture to show u?

babe
my ebm "oil" floated.. very obvious 3 layers - bottom layer was hind milk, middle was sort of like diluted milk and the top was oil. I tink no matter what containers u use, it's the same - there'll be some left on the sides of the bottle/ cup unless u let it drip overnight?!
Yes pls sterilise the glass bottles. They come out much hotter than plastic ones, so be extra careful when handling them immed after sterilising cycle ends.

All-

I have these hands me down Gerber milkbags & Avent liners, are u gals referring to the same?
1062989.jpg

Left 17bags
1062990.jpg

Left 40bags
<font color="ff0000">2nd time mummy, do u think i need to standby/buy more milkbags? thks for yr advice!</font>

wildcherry,
I'm also looking for Graco Playpens but don't seem to really see them around?

wendyg,
not getting Avent coz can only use Avent bottles right? Not so friendly, so I think I'll still go with Ameda! I tried it out at Isetan Scotts yesterday and it's was so much silent (almost no noise) as compared to Medela which my SIL is using. Medela's noise is like my OTO Tummy Trimmer sound. Haha..

Talking about OTO tummy trimmer, can we use that after we give birth?