(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

re pampers.

mamy poko / pet pet / pamper all are good to me. cos my girl use them very good.. **recommened**

kitsune_sg,
My placentas still low leh, sian.. never even move up.. so my doc recommened me not to go walk fast.

Hi Fern, Verene Ting,
I am using Kodomo bottle of laundry wash for bb ..since my #1 . I feel it quite good...

- Now very stress with work, ppl resign n i do their job scope until every day got scolding from manager, cant cope now.. very stress.. dunno when can they employ some1 to take over some of my job scope.. SiaN

morning ladies,

ernMum & violetice,

how did you get tested for GD? Was it because you did not pass the normal urine test at the gynae visit? Or because gynae measured the size of the bb? Coz my dad have diabeties too.. i mentioned to my gynae but he said only if I fail the urine test then need to take the GD test

But violetice, dont worry too much. My cousin also had GD when she was pregnant but after she gave birth, then no more already.

itok, a few of us had gone thru the OGTT liao...some of them had normal urine test but need to go due to family history.

My number 1, my urine test turn out badly at 32 weeks.

For number 2, supposed to go for OGTT at 28 weeks...but i went at week 26 and 6 days cos my urine test also change colour

Mrspiggy, you mean walking fast will prevent placenta from moving up ah?

Re: Diapers
For my #1, I used Pampers Premium all the way. She used to have such loose stools, everytime she poo and she's lying down, the poo flows out from the back! I gotta paste "extension" using those big cotton pads, otherwise her back will gana all the poo. I tried so many brands, either leak side or cna't sustain as much urine. So I stuck with PP. But ah... I pay so much can't solve my poo prob. so I wrote to them, and v funny, they start giving me vouchers to buy diapers! Well, prob bcos not in sg, companies more sincere. So every month I receive avg of S$10 to S$20 to buy Pampers diapers.
So hor, when bb out then trial and error, then can find the right diapers for bb. And oso depends on out own budget lor.

Thanks everyone.
I've heard of baby only engage at 35th wk.. maybe im just too gan chiong abt it and start to anyhow think. My dh always say i anyhow think make myself more stressful and scared only.. I remember somebody said can actually "tok" to the placenta, ask the placenta to move up. Now I think I have to use this method to "hypotise" my placenta to move up ler. lol

itok, OGTT is oral glucose tolerance test.

you need to fast the previous night.

morning go to lab, draw a tube of blood...drink a super sweet drink....then 2hrs later, draw blood again. This is to see how your body tolerate and digest the glucose.

Usually mummies with history of Gestational Diabetes (GD) will need to get tested at 28 weeks.

No history ppl, doctor will order if you fail your normal urine test lor

this pregnancy i will go hypo count (finger prick) to test whether my body can digest certain food that i eat....

i had OGTT at 9 weeks cos that time, i suspect my body like not coping well from result of the finger prick...and at abt 27 weeks, i retook the test again

hi all..am back...now in Hk and have settled in my new apartment...been keeping myself busy with chores and slowly turning the house into a home.

Re: Diapers
Jus realised that HK probably dont carry Mammy poko! I only see Huggies, Pampers, etc but no Mammy Poko. Bummer!

When is the #2 gathering? Would love to join in as well if i'm back in town by then.

01) Meihua + Hubby x2
02) Kitsune
03) JanBB
04) violetIce
05) icy
06) chaye
07) fishia
08) Jacelyn
09) Lynn
10) Yen
11) QQ
12) Valencia
13) Mom2nat
14) Steph
15) babe
16) Mrs Piggy
17) Babyshannon
18) mylife

angelsky,
I also din get the olive oil, becos here all the japanese characters, hard to ask ard. I think I coming back to sg to find.. I heard there are some olive oil that is suitable to be apply to the skin.

spilt,
I don't mind meeting in November, but I cant make it on 8th Nov.. cos public holiday. :p

mei: i intend to signed up wif them redg e maternity portrait..

Aiyo! i hav bought e refill of e Pigeon bottle wash and now lookin for e bottle and pump but everywhr seems to b out of stock...

split: i'm avail for lunch on 8 Nov.. who else is meeting?

re: Avent nipple cream
wat is it for? is it necessary to get it?

re: dresses for wedding

I recommend Modern Mum @ United Sq. They have nice dresses to be worn to weddings, etc.

I've personally bought some chic work wear from there and find that the quality is very good and comfortable. Of course, the price could be higher. Eg. My work pants coz $80+ ;) But I can wear it almost everyday (!) because it's just sooooo comfy!

So I suppose the dresses/gowns there are equally good though I've not tried them on.

hi mei, pls add me in for the gathering!

hi Jacelyn, i went for the MT A class last sat @ 1.30pm but dunno how u look like leh... anyway i was late.. last to come in... :p

I agree with Mom2nat. Really must trial and error to find the most suitable one for your child. I used Pampers Premium for a while, especially at night. As he got older, day time use Drypers, night time use Pampers. About 3 years old, he didn't pee so much at night, use Drypers and toilet train him.

mcfluffy, modern mum - united square is at novena? I was planning on taking a trip down to novena today to check out the baby and maternity stores there.

Which shopping centre is good there? Are they within walking distance to each other? Not very familiar with that area.

<font color="0077aa">
kena sore throat suddenly & heartburn trigger...very uncomfortable, gotta see doctor later
yesterday dinner went Sushi Teh, took 4 slices of sashimi & alot of wasabi (my favourite)...dunno izit bcos of that then trigger heartburn
This is the 2nd time i kena heartburn!</font>

Steph
May I ask how is heartburn like ?

I feel very uncomfortable now after having a chicken pie this morning... really feel very bloated and nausea.

Just got an appointment to see the specialist on Friday. See how it goes. Since yesterday, don't know what I should eat or shouldn't eat. Guessed yong tau foo is the best choice for me now.... Is it true that I've to prick my fingers 7 times a day? My god, that's scary!

Hi itok,
My urine test which is tested for protein and sugar are always normal. Never once they have to take note of any abnormalities. However, due to family history, thus was advised to take OGTT. Like what eRnMum said, the procedure is the same, fasting, urine and blood test, glucose drink of 295ml, then after 2 hours, urine and blood test again.

Hi violetice, you can follow my menu lor...

now is nothing too oily or too salty.

eat soupy things....more protein...can eat slice fish bee hoon too.

Can take za cai fan...but no gravy....eat half portion rice

to make your stomach fuller, you can eat a slice of papaya with your meal

but no fruit juice....but one can of coke light or sprite can....those with no calories cos they use different sugar....if you have craving for sweet things

Hi violetice
Ya follow eRnMum's menu ! I find it's kinda healthy ! For us who are MTBs can also follow that menu

eRnMum
wat growth scan is that. No leh. Never done before for #1

i also dunno leh

i had a detailed scanning....maybe growth scan is to check whether the baby is growing accordingly?

I can only ask my gynae when i see her two weeks later leh

mom2nat
i'm considering to use the new improved MP Newborn with the 'poo pocket'.. there's a depression to catch bb's poo to minimise back leakage. I'm just holding back when buying NB diapers, hoping that someone will sponsor me a few packs, then i can just buy "S" diapers straightaway.. my colleague sponsored me 1.5packs of "S" diapers liao!

ernmum
re: menu for GD mum
wow *salute* to u for being so disciplined. well done.

babe
re: BSP-A
i'm so lax... if anyone sees my Avent bottles that my #1 is still using, i'll sure get hanged. Coz i bought a used set from a forum mummy, it's all faded, but in my mind, as long as i can see the markings, can use la. So nxt time if he gets cancer, i guess he can blame me la.... *hiak*

re: shoes
for both pregnancies, i chose Scholls. Looks auntie, but comfort is priority for me. I'm not those "ai swee mai mia" type. Better cushioning to prevent backaches. I'm also alternating with Crocs.

<font color="ff0000">mei</font>
8 Nov Deepavali Tupperware party @ your home?

mei
no la, i'm more of a window shopper... i've got some tupperware items but they last forever so no need to buy sommore

if at your home, i bring my #1 and he will play drums with all your stocks.

<font color="aa00aa">wendy, pm or email me ur mailing address. i mail the latest catalogue to u.

Lynn, me also signing up for the <font color="ff0000">Foto-U BP Maternity photoshoot</font>. Any other mummies??</font>

eRnMum,
Yeah, will be doing the growth scan at wk 32. My last appt was when I was almost wk 28. Then the next appt suppose to be in 3 wks time. Which, will be in wk 31 and growth scan suppose to be wk 32. So ma fan. So, we agree to stick everything to wk 32. Hehe....

Diaper
Still think Pampers is the BEST. But since now I am not working, thinking to cut cost a bit. Perhaps, in the day time will use cheaper diaper and only use Pampers in the nite/going out. Juz pray my girl's backside not as "ex" as my son as my son can only use Pampers. Other brand all kanna rash.

valencia, did the gynae say what it is for...the growth scan...cos i dun have this scan for my number 1 and that time i forgot to ask gynae what's that for.

eRnMum,
Frankly speaking, I also dont really know what is it. Haha... Cant even remember if I had that for my #1. Guess, basically juz taking some measurement to ensure the bb is growing well.

chaye
not spoilt, didn't change. I only change when upgrading to faster flow teats. Current ones he was using for 1yr+ already.

wow ! how old is your #1 huh?
I think I'm ks mum leh. I change quite frequently the bottle n teats when my #1 still young.

my #1 is 27m now. Stopped sterilising bottles when he hit 1YO. for teats, nowadays occasionally soak in hot water.

<font color="0077aa">Chaye,

I went to c doctor ard 2pm & was given 2days MC wor...My heartburn felt like burning sensation near the chest area, very uncomfortable, no appetite & i felt feverish just now. Doctor took my temp at 37.5, he say still ok unless hit 38oC then consider high fever!! Anyway, got sore throat..was given Loz & gave me a solution to ease my heartburn. So as not to trigger heartburn, i must avoid eating too spicy & sour stuff lol

Steph,
Take good care of yrself, hope u'll recover soon =)

Anyone using Pigeon 3 in 1 sterilizer?:
Can check with you all if Avent bottles can fit into the Pigeon Sterilizer mah?

<font color="0077aa">gerger66 & QQ,
but hor i very stubborn, first time i kena heartburn, i still hackcare & eat all i want cos my appetite very good & i liked spicy & fried food! Maybe recently eat too much fast food & buffet stuff so kena 2nd time lol..i must be guai & monitor what i take else heartburn will be more jialiat during 3rd tri :p</font>

Hi everyone.
Sorry for late reply. Dun get to access the net coz am staying with my aunt.

Thanks for concern and encouragement. Am now taking 1 day @ a time. Just went to see doc yester and she said that I am better. But I still have to be careful and to be on bedrest. As am still in my 27th week. Its still a very long time till my due date. Doc said that 36 weeks is when baby is fully developed so am now praying that I can hold on till end Decemeber.

Symptoms of preterm labour for me was brown discharge and tighhtening of the tummy. I had a bit of discharge @ first, thot nothing but still went to see Doc and given 3 days MC. Had brown discharge for 2 days and then I panicked when I bled a bit the day after. Rushed to TMC admitted to labour ward. Then they realised that I was having contractions. And it was really regular and quite intense. Put on drip and given steriods to dev baby's lungs in case he came. Nurses were asking me stuff like whether I wanna breastfeed, whether I have signed up fr cordbank. I was really devasted, kept crying coz I just not ready for baby to come so soon.

The med that they give to stop contractions is quite terrible, get heart palpitations and breathlessness. Heart pump so hard that can hear it in my ears that I just couldn't sleep.

Its just such a horrible experience feeling so horrible and sick and worrying for baby. Kept crying and its so much harder coz I just lost my mum 3 mths back and my husband is away for training. But thank god that the TMC nurses were fantastic they found out abt my family situation and were so kind and nice. They also kept telling me to pray.

I really don't know why I have to go through so much. But I guess God just wants to make me stronger. In a way, I have nothing to do now so spend a lot of time talking to baby, praying, reading Christian books. And ironically, after so much happening, I now know that my focus and thoughts should be on baby and not the loss of my mum.

wendyg
Dun buy too many NB diapers, cos you dunno how big is your baby. My girl used NB diapers for 1 month or so only, cos by 2nd month, she was already 5kg. So ah, buy 1 packet then see how, not enough then buy more. V fast move to S liao.

Today I went for my gyane checkup, I am in my 28th week. Baby is 1.5kg. I was like "huh so big", then gynae say... all these are estimates only lah. But he say nearer to EDD, the estimates not so accurate liao. Hmmm... I put on 0.7kg since last month, seems like all went to bb. Luckily today the urine test ok, or else I faint if have to take the glucose test ah.

Mrs Piggy, I see, still got some time, maybe yours will move up.

MomMe, poor thing. Glad doctor said you are better. Do rest well and don't worry too much.

Wow, Mom2nat, your baby so big liao. Still got another 9-12 weeks to go leh. Was your no. 1 big when she was born too?

angelsky,
basically i think united sq is suitable for us. lotsa kiddy stuff and maternity shops. other than that.. novena got no other shoppping centre (novena square, Square 2, Velocity) suitable for us?