(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

2nd time mummy,
During/at which week will gynae check us for cervix dilation?
I heard from my preggy colleague that we shld start wearing a sanitary pad during wk 37 onwards, in case of preterm labor symptoms, discharge, bleeding, burst of waterbag etc...is this a MUST?

This is what i found from the net, general guidelines:
Early Labor: 0-3 centimeters
Active Labor: 4-7 centimeters
Transition: 8-10 centimeters
Complete: 10 centimeters. Expulsion of the fetus takes place shortly after this stage is reached (although the mother does not always push right away.)

Re:Early Pregnancy and Preterm Labor
http://www.pregnancy-info.net/pregnancycomp_8.html

<font color="aa00aa">zhao mummies!
just to inform that sample for the <font color="ff0000">beansprout pillow with personalised name</font> will reach me in end-Oct.

been feeling my bottom quite and pain. wonder why. steph, when is ur next checkup?</font>

steph
i think my gynae checked me when i was 37 weeks. I was 1cm dilated for a week. Could still go about my regular activities, eg swim. I didn't wear any pad until after i gave birth.

hi mei
i'm interested in the beansprout pillow with name. How much is it?

<font color="0077aa">mei,
my next checkup on 5th Nov. I can meet u TBPlaza at 1pm? I standby my old tupplewares for exchange anytime wor
keke

Re: beansprout pillow
Is the sample pillow material same as http://www.beansproutpillow.net/rc_call.html
We can get better price for bulk order?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">cheryl, not realli ard the V area. it's most of the time around the tummy naval area, or just bellow the naval area. wanna explode like that.

steph,
haha. standby ah. haha. i better get myself prepare for the "surprise"! hahaa. 5-Nov shld be ok. Lunchtime hor. K, hopefully this time I no nid take urgent leave. Sorry abt last min change. My ma took 2 days to recover. Luckily my pa can take leave to look after #1.

<font color="ff0000">beansprout pillow</font> that I'm getting is made by my friend's aunt. I waiting for it before I can comment but based on my friend, the material used is soft and suitable for baby. Not to worry. price mah, I waiting for the item to finish first then i ask my friend. hee...shld be reasonable.

VioletIce, yap, I got ur name in my <font color="ff0000">beansprout pillow</font> liao. haha. u dun run away hor. oh btw, i got the name book liao. tks for the reco!

Wendy, u want?

<font color="ff0000">gathering #2</font>, so when ur wan ah? dec or nov?</font>

babe
Dun worry.. You are not alone... we are in this forum to share and support... I also feel that the romance between my hb and myelf is diminishing too ! Have talked to him but he assured me that everyting is alrite but occasionally I still feel inadequate and start to self-pity and cry for no reason lor...
I blamed it on hormones that cause me so emotional and sensitive. I try not to think too much but sometime it juz overwhelmed me... Yes thank god that we are working and abt 12 hours of time we are distracted with work and colleagues ! I cant imagine that I'm a SAHM too !
eh you hb is gd la enjoy being with your gal.. my hb sometimes v lazy one leh juz know how to watch tv and play games !!!

Steph
My gynae didnt chk the dilation of my cervix leh. Was told by my colleague that her gynae put his hand into her to chk the bb and dilation. But when I ask gynae abt he said "eeee, y ? I wont put my hand in la, dun worry" :p:p hahaha

can i check with you did your gynae schedule you for any gestational diabetics test around 28 weeks? Is it a must?

Reason being I read from books and magazines that mostly, we will be having that test in 28 weeks. and sometimes Strep B test. However, when I called my gynae, he said unless there is any abnormity detected from the usual urine test for sugar and protein (done every visit) then we need to go for the gestational diabetics test.

Anyone has such experiences to share?

mei,
I'm interested in the beansprout pillow. But forget how much already... Got design to choose & can put name? Thks.

Hi goodbbb,

I got excited what you said & called Metro. The customer service agent said the Metro sales is only starting on 19 Oct for this entire weekend. sigh..... Was told to refer to the Straits Times (sometime this wk) to find out more info.

mei..i also wan the beansprout pillow. When can it be ready?

Anyone else heard of used Baby Wedges? Saw this in HK...seems it's used to prevent baby from turning and suffocating themselves...but from the pics, i tot the baby look a bit uncomfortable, like being locked up.

Wendyg
No my coll was telling me during her last mth she went for her routine chk up and her gynae did tis to her lor not during the delivery suite.

Ya Cheryl
Doc Adrian can be quite funny at times ! :p

steph,
My colleague who is an experienced mum of two told me to bring a small towel with me from 35-36 weeks onwards in case waterbag burst. At least the towel can help to absorb some of the water if you are in the office or out shopping somewhere...can sit on it while waiting for hubby to come and fetch you....hehe.

I always have the horrible thought that my waterbag will burst while I'm in the MRT...haha...but my colleague say no need to worry becos there are many mothers around who knows what to do!

chaye
yes, my gynae checked me in her clinic when i was 37 wks using her fingers. In the labour ward she & the midwives also checked me using fingers. No HAND has gone up my vagina yet

jennifera
my gynae referred me to take GD test when my urine sugar was slightly high. Otherwise no need.

cheryl & chaye,
my niece was delivered by Dr. Adrian on 10Oct05, she just turned 2yrs old last week

wendyg & chaye,
my coll say gynae will check cervix towards last stage of pregnancy during routine chk up to monitor dilation so that they can advise when is the due date wor? My sis say nurse will check cervix using her fingers la but hor still the hand must go in the vagina canal inorder to reach & chk cervix?

Babe,
I think i can understand how you feel. My hubby is a very busy man. Every nite, after spending half an hour with our son, he will switch on this laptop and work till almost mid-nite. I always have to remind him, God is no. 1, wife is no. 2, children no. 3... Guess what, God really works in an amazing way. All my naggings/complaints never get into his brain. But God always send someone to tell him the same message! Now he finally understand the importance of strong marriage after few rounds of "talk" from different people. I can see that he's trying to improve the situation now... Pray, babe. God will do the job

<font color="aa00aa">wendy, mylife, and Janbb, i dun have the price now. will let ur know once i've it.

any mummies try cupcakes from CupCake Momma?</font>

cheryl
He also seldom joke wif me la. jus tat mayb he find it a bit ridiculous to put hand lor :p

I've confirmed with my coll again and yes leh. her gynae put hand in leh... er xin ah !

steph
i still don't think they put their hand in me... i thought they just inserted their gloved fingers all the way in until they felt the cervix. But lying down, i couldn't see anything, so even if they did i wouldn't know.

Hey mommies, thanks so much for ur encouragement. Feeling that I am such a cry baby now and working somemore. Trying to hide from colleagues to see my red eyes and running nose. Geee....yeah he's good hb...do housework take care of bb. Yeah used to have those short outings while my gal at my mum's but that is getting less and less coz got not much leave. My hb not pro travel overseas though I am. Maybe also this triggered me off. Coz I am dying to get out of town. But to him it's like a lot of logistics, bb not easy to take coach ride even to msia coz no car, take hotel break in sg also the same. Issue also is the fact that my hb dun feel safe leaving my gal wif IL coz he says they no good with baby. There were cases we left her with them for few hrs and they didn't even changed her soiled diapers. Eventhough my gal sleeps at 8.30-9pm, he also dun feel safe or too lazy to go out after for quick supper that to have his parents juz jaga by listening to the monitor for her. Btw, we stay wif IL. Actually this is not the first time I like that but seriously one of the times I feel super upset. So sorry we shld be all happy now welcoming the birth of no. 2 and I here griping...

Fishia, thanks for the words...really to remember God is in control...now learning contentment with godliness is great gain coz hb says I always compare with others. True true but I think ppl can do it why can't we?

wendyg
aiya not all gynae will do that la. most important thing is mine and yours dun put their hands in !!
Yesterday my male coll was telling me that 20 yrs ago his wife's gynae put her hand into her wife too ! Lucky she did that cos when she pull out her hands were green meaning that bb has poo poo inside ! then the wife went for immediate c-section. Wonder was he pulling my leg or not !
kao_confused.gif

babe
eh your hb is gd man leh. does housework and worry for your child also ! Not even willing to leave your gal at home with IL ! I think he is taking a very huge responsibility as a dad and he wants to do it well and maybe becos of this he neglected that he has a role of a husband as well.

Yaman like wendyg mention : date your hb for lunch if dinner doesnt permit ! Do the initiation..

Babe/Fisha,
Being a first time MTB, I think I got loads to learn from you mummies who are christians and already a mummy.
Being a christian mummy to be too.. I also struggle with many areas.. esp my hubby is very active at church a a youth chairman.. his reponsibilities are great and many meetings. I also do feel neglected at time.. I really hope that we will be able to cope well with our first bb when he is born...How can I cope with bb alone then?? etc..

I have always reminded hubby that GOd is prioity, then me, bb, then only ministry. You know that when your hubby is so active with ministry at church, we really need to give him support as much as we can as a wife.. coupled with pregnancy emotions arent that easy too..

Babe/ Fisha, Guess we gotta look onto God for strength when we feel weary and tired and also neglected by our hubbies at times.

I think only God can be in control of all situations

Press on

I totally agree. Although I am only in 29wks, I always tell my husband that God (Guang Yin) is priority, baby is 2nd, wife is 3rd, other relatives 4th & lastly his work. He too travels a lot & only spend 12 days per month in S'pore. I hope that he will prioritise his work when the baby is out in early Jan 08.

Hi Wendy,
He is in the youth ministry. THats what I used to think too previously.. But my pastor told us before that.. its God, Family (Wife and Kids) then ministry. Yupz

How abtt yourself and hubby? heh

we used to be active in Music ministry, then stepped down when my boy arrived. I stopped earlier than him because i couldn't really jump around with a large stomach... sang until 2nd trimester then 'retired'. Were toying with idea of rejoining the ministry, then i got pregnant again. So maybe after we send the boys off to NS then we'll join again.

<font color="ff0000">mei</font>
my kaypoh friend wants to order a beansprout pillow for her newborn. He's 1m+ already. Hope to get soon otherwise he may outgrow?

Fern
can't bring our kids up on stage with us. Have to consider this kind of logistics when we have young kids to take care of.

Wendy,
you can send your kids to toddlers or children ministry.. like sunday school... then you guys can still serve.. thats what my church mummies and daddies does when they are serving in the various ministry.. heh
what church are you at?

FCBC
My boy has been attending the children's min since Feb, but he needs either of us with him. Have tried leaving him with a volunteer, but ended up he didn't even want to attend the session coz he knows he'll be 'left behind'. So i'd rather he enjoy & look forward to his session, than for me to have a good time praising the Lord while he's miserable & crying. Anyway the volunteers are always shorthanded and will call the parent the moment the child cries.

Considered alternating between husband and i, but means we have to reach church at 7am every Sunday. Dat's our boy's wake up time.

We'll wait la... pray that somehow God will still use us.

wendyg, yeah he goes wif me but we usually go on fri late afternoon or sat morn. Well I tried suggesting such as dinner out coz not much leave to take or supper after gal go to bed but he not keen...

Christian mommies...thks for the reminder. Really not easy. Dunno wat got me so emotional. Muz get focus back...My hb also in the kids ministry at church but think we have slacken alot after no.1.

Re: New Lifestyle
With all the discussion about lifestyle changes. I also worried abt mine. I left sg, quiting my job and only had the experience of staying with mil for like 6 mths. After that we had been having this 2 person world out there for 2 years. In 2 weeks time, I am going back to Singapore with a total changed lifestyle, stayed with mil and be a SAHM. My mum had been encouraging me to go and work, but problem is my fil works in msia so mil would go and stayed with him when my very young sil had no school. That means for 1 yr, ard 2-3mths, she is not in sg. So far, staying with mil had being pleasant and I pray hard it would be the same when BB is out.

I told hb, I hoped we can go out for a date once every 2 weeks while leaving bb with mil. Else, there would be no life for me, just facing bb 24/7 and be a milk cow. :p Sometimes I see my wedding pix 2 yrs ago and my current pix, I feel so sad.

Wendyg,
No. The priority is always God, wife, children, then ministry. Devil always attack the marriage first cos once marriage is down, ministry is affected too. That's why we were advised to invest in marriage for the first 5 years to ensure the foundation is strong, then go ahead to serve ministries.

Babe/Fern,
There was a period of time my hubby served 3 ministries concurrently on top of his tied work schedule. I didn't have a maid then and I have to do housechore and take care of my son all on my own. I was all drained up and frustrated at the way he's dealing with family. I fought with him frequently and many times I cried myself to sleep.. Some friends said it's good that he's serving God and I should support him. And some think that I'm too dependent and possessive. I was in a dilemma and ask God to take charge. And God never foresake me! People will just suddenly appear and talk to my hubby regarding ministry and family. PTL!

Yes, God is always in control

Icy,
I undertsnd how you feel. Perhaps, when bb is out things might be a bit diffrent with mil.
My mil also stays with me.and also my full time maid. THats the reason why I wana go back to work full time. I heard many stories on mil issues too.. SO i think best that we return to workfoce if there is someone at home to care for bb right?

Re- dates with hubby.
I also told hubby on this. THat I really hope to continue having my yearly vacation with him alone. I also need couple time with him. Kids can come on sch hol. But I wana make a pt that he still values couple moments with me. And it will be gd to go on weekday dates once a week since weekends is mostly meant for time with kids. Can always leave bb with mil and maid to take care.. A strong foundation is based on couple time spent tog too.. I am sure most of you would agree. It doesnt mean that once bb comes along.... all couple time will be lost too... need to really balance our time for both kids and ourselves too

talking about dates with hubby and new lifestyle changes, I guess I will also have to learn to adapt. I do wonder what will happen once baby born..whether life with hubby will change a lot or not, since we are first time parents. What's more, in my hubby's new job scope, he has to travel like maybe once a month, or once every 2 to 3 months. I do feel a bit sad that would mean missing out on our child's growth and development.

Like soon my hubby be gg for 2 weeks biz trip too..sad....

Fisha,
I understand how you feel. Cos I felt the same that he places his ministry before me. And I was really frastrated then.. He was doing too many things with the youth- chairman, age group leader, etc. AT one point of time... I almost break down and also cried myself to sleep. Luckily, he was supportive and took a break and also had nice pple aorund to help and encourage us. esp leaders, pastors and ya.... so took a short break and got to identify more leaders to assist him cos he cant handle everything himself. We were married just last year.. and i also had to adjust to marriage life.. I am thankful that we had a good mentor and nice pple around and most impty, he was suppotive towards me.. hope things will get better now or even the years to come too

I agree that GOd is in control of all things cos pple just popp by to encourage me when I needed them most... without me even asking!

Fern,
Think overall our husbands are nice guy. At least they are God fearing and willing/happy to serve ministries. Somehow this give me the assurance that he won't do anything funny outside.. hee...

Does anyone noes if we have to bring our original marriage cert upon admission if we want to register our baby's name at the hospital? Must it be original? can bring photocopied?

Babe,
I also always compare. My hb complains abt it too.. hahaha. Think now he's accepted that it's women's nature to compare cos this happen to his female colleagues and friends too...

But i'm learning to speak positively, encouragingly, and control my temper towards him (and family). Somehow he's the closest and I tend to take advantage... He always say my "fruits of Spirit" not there and very far away... I'm actually a young Christian and still a lot more to learn.

steph
I get calf cramps easily. B4 preg and during oso. I dun think it will cause swollen legs. For #1, I din get swollen legs, but got leg cramps.

Wendyg / Steph
I dilated 1cm for 2 whole weeks!!! End up gave birth 40 weeks 6 days ah. How to gauge when bb coming out?? Heee...