(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

<font color="aa00aa">steph, think it's the inner different bah. i no came across buckwheat. most mummies i came across uses beansprout.

30wks...hmm...will u be tired? air? airline still allow u to travel?? got to seek clearance first.</font>

jacelyn

i m interested to see the pics. can let me see??
tempting to go take oso.

mei, my maid potty trained my #1 leh and we waited until she is abt 24mths then we start to train her :p

jacelyn pm me your pix leh

<font color="0077aa">mei,
gynae say can travel but depends on which airline whether still allow travel by 30weeks...Mm...anyway, my boss say up to me, if cannot make it, nvm cos this trip kind of incentive trip (go there 4days, 1day at seminar onli). By then, i think tummy big big oso not convenient to walk alot...

Re: fotoU maternity shots
I am interested but hor the price abit ex...can gather BP for better price?haha

Re: Impressions of a newborn infant's feet and hands at KK?
Anyone considering this? 2nd time mummy done this b4?

wow so many postings after lunch...

Yvonne, angelsky - My mum dun allow me to drink grassjelly leh cos too liang. Also cun drink watermelon juice which shld be very soothing for such hot weather hor... Since 7mths onwards can start drinking coconut which is so liang, then the rest shld be fine is it? haha..saliva drooling already..

Steph, thks for the tips on cramps. Will try & hope it will improve ;)

Bet, I also found many green vains (quite obvious) from my leg.. not sure is it to do with the cramps.

<font color="aa00aa">steph, yeh! i did the impressions. hee. will consider to do this again. i'm thinking of asking for some discount coupons from the shop that I did for next gathering...hee...IF i can.</font>

steph,
I had been to KK, my fil, a msian stayed there for biz. People mostly go there to climb the KK mountain or go to the small islands there for swim and sun. But my fil never like us to go to these small island becos he said the pirates like to go there and kidnap foreigners. :p

But the seafood there is very fresh and cheap. :D I think nothing much to shop there. I think u better check with ur gynae abt flying, some airlines doesnt allow flying from 32 weeks.

QQ
Enjoy your trip, din mean to scare you when I told you abt the sg lady who gave birth in Prague at 6mth preg. Aiyo, I oso meant go resort must be careful, the floor v slippery, cos pple swim a lot and walk ard. Dun mean to scare you or anything bad. Have fun!!

Mommies travelling
Have fun b4 bb pops. Heee.. I tempted to go Japan, but I guess have to wait until next yr liao.

<font color="0077aa">thanks icy for info on KK! i think i forgo this trip lol since not much to do there except eat..cannot climb mountain or sightseeing...too much walking later dizzy spell

QQ,
have a nice trip! but hor must WATCH what u eat leh after u recover. I really loved the food u post in yr blog le...hungry liao

steph haha I will post KK scenery for u to see ... there not much shopping de .... only eat eat eat heeheehe ....

mom2nat
yes i recall the advice was only to drink once a week & after 9m. Anyway I don't like coconut juice at all so I won't be drinking. At most eat Nata de Coco.

Icy
cos i heard it is to assist smooth and fast delivery. I like to drink leh, but doc say i can't take too much sweet things.

wendyg
Wah piang, improvised. I drank canned ones tat time! hahaha...

Icy
Hmmm... cleaner ah. I hear they say "cheng" the system ah. And last month dun take durians, cos bb might be too big.

Mom2nat - I'm not veri sure too? also scare drink too early & bb pop early.

I juz heard tat my colleague has given birth thru' an emergency C-section cos she cun feel baby movement & went hosp then found out baby's cord being tied around her neck. Hope she & bb are fine. So scary, heard many cases like these already. Thot the cord is soft & will not harm baby?

janbb
my first one was the same as your colleague. I didn't feel my boy move for whole morning, lunchtime went to gynae clinic, ultrasound scan but doc couldn't see cord, she said may be round his neck. She recommended me to admit same night to induce (37.5weeks) . Cervix didn't dilate whole of next day, so c-sect. Seemed like when they pulled him out, the cord was indeed getting in the way, but i couldn't see & my husband didn't dare to look.

the baby can get strangled by the umbilical cord. It's very sad, but these accidents do happen.

Whether baby comes out clean or dirty, can't we request the nurses to clean him up before letting us carry? What i heard about the coconut juice is for smoother delivery... to make our bodies not so heaty.

Mom2Nat
i don't even like canned coconut juice. I don't really like coconut, unless it's in laksa

janbb

http://findlaw.doereport.com/generateexhibit.php?ID=12844&ExhibitKeywordsRaw=Abnormal+Umbilical+Cord+-+Nuchal+Cord&TL=1889&A=42409

"Sometimes the cord can become a life threat, particularly if the developing child gets entangled in an out-of-place umbilical cord (prolapsed) and it either threatens to strangle the fetus or its nutrition, blood supply and waste removal are cut off. In these cases, artificial birth via Cesarean section is often the only realistic option for the survival of both mother and child. Using advances in modern medicine, the flows and functions of the umbilical cord may be monitored during a pregnant woman's term."

"A prolapsed (out of place) umbilical cord may result in a number of problems for an unborn fetus. Most commonly the fetus may become strangled by the umbilical cord and die in utero, or the umbilical cord may become knotted or twisted to such a degree that blood flow is severely limited resulting in heavy brain damage or death. In cases of prolapsed umbilical cords, Cesarean sections are often the only realistic option to save the fetus' life."

http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?sec=health&res=9F01E0DE1138F936A25755C0A96F958260

yup, worried about the umbilical cord man. coz i read from books that the cord is very elastic.. wont harm the baby. but on the other hand, the neck can get entangled.

my gynae told me that from 32 weeks onwards, baby will be very active then we have to keep track of movements. so if like whole morning don't move, then have to go and see doc.

i read that coconut juice is good coz the baby will come out "clean" as in, will not have bloody patches.. skin will be very nice. I love coconut juice so i think i will definitely drink that if I could (since now it is too "liang" to drink)

towards the end of 3rd trimester, gynae may ask you to monitor baby's kicks. That's the reassurance that baby is well. My gynae gave me option to wait until 38 weeks to deliver, but she frightened me by telling me a story of her patient whose baby died in-utero because she decided to wait instead of induce. So i decided to take her suggestion to admit and induce same night.

jennifera
the night i was admitted, a pressary (medicine in the form of a bullet) was inserted to soften the cervix. Next morning, they checked that there was no dilation, so inserted another (all these pressaries cost money! I think $80 each). By 11am, gynae came to burst my waterbag. 1pm stick a needle into my wrist to administer inducing drugs. 3pm i asked for epidural because the contractions too close and intense. Then i slept...
Every few hours nurses will do cervix check to see how's the dilation.
10pm gynae suggested C-sect as no dilation and baby can't stay in womb 24hr after waterbag burst.
12midnight C-section & baby was born.

what was painful:
- artificial bursting of waterbag
- cervix check before epidural. After epidural i couldn't feel anything and asked them to check as often as they wanted

Contractions not painful - it's like very severe menses cramps. Remember to breathe....

current gynae shared with me that babies too large or too small have higher chance of cord incident due to too little/ too much space in the womb.

Steph, loud noise can cos bb to deaf? oh dear i went to listen to live band when i'm abt 4mths plus and i sit very close to the speaker.

Joyce
i think at 16m baby's hearing not yet developed?

jennifera
u're welcome. But don't get too worried because i don't know any other moms with such cord issues.

Wendyg
Mine the opposite, the worse for me was the epidural. I had a whole string of jabs and they cant' get it in, imagine the pain, then finally after 1/2 hour, got it in. I even took photos of the "holes" after tat.
Every birth story is diff, I tried to read and watch many videos... end up I din expect mine was the epidural tat sucks!!!

goodness gracious. This thread is moving so fast!

Re: maternity shots
I heard from a photogragher friend that we should wait till too late to take photos coz by then we'll be swollen (water retention) and won't look that pretty anymore.

Re: cheap swim suits.
I'm still wearing my tankini top that I wore before I was expecting. It's getting tighter so sometimes I roll it up instead a little. I bought a little skirt to pair with it coz thighs look too fat now to wear normal v-shaped bottoms. Anyway, I find that OG Chinatown sells rather affordable swim suit separates. Can check it out there!

Do you mummies chat on msn? If you do, pls add me: [email protected] I can hardly catch up with the thread here sometimes. Can only check net after work. :s

re: green veins on the legs
I understand that varicose veins usually appear on the calf or lower part of the leg. What about thighs? I noticed some running on my side of the thighs. My SIL noticed it too. Is it the beginning of varicose veins? *horrified*

Hi, neighbour, thanks for the tip on the Anakku napkins. Isetan Tampines still under partial renovation leh, Tampines Metro closed down, and BHG not here yet. Alamak! just when I need to buy BB stuff from department stores. Think need to go shopping at SengKang liao, next nearest to us. ;)

Mei, I'm ok for 12 Dec. Chinese food sounds good. Hubby and I will probably be spending wedding anniversary in a local hotel too since will be too big to travel by then. Why did you choose Merchant Court?

Anyone know of any good hotel weekend deal? Prefer somewhere central, best if there is a good hotel restuarant or gd restaurant nearby then can settle wedding anniversary dinner too.

For those who are online shopping, Kidz cottage organising BP on rompers, books, bibs, toys, height charts etc. Can go take a look.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/1011286.html?1191972372

Steph: Kota Kinnabalu is a nice and rustic place. Food is cheap. Must go to those chinese coffee shop (They call them "resturant") and eat dim sum. eat till you drop... very cheap. Nice scenery IF you're trekking. Otherwise, it's like old chinatown in singapore.

Re: online shopping

*faint* i just saw even more cute carter bibs from the webby kitsune_sg introduced. Reached my quota.. cannot buy anymore! Argghhhh

Kitsune, fullerton has some nice package for two with in-room dining included. You may like to surf their site.

Maternity shots
I've just signed up during STudioloft BP. Waiting to take shots in Nov. Heehee.....think I shld be big enough coz no. 2 liao...

Valencia, how were your boy's shots? Btw, don't think I have you on msn. Do add me [email protected]

Jacelyn, send us the link ya!

Joyce, should ask ur hb do the cleaning. You should rest more now. Especially first one, don't overexert. MIL will never be the same as our own mums.

Gals, remember u were discussing about BPA in milkbottles some time back and mentioned that avent is one such brand to watch out. So what milkbottles u use that do not havee BPA?

kitsune
There is a kiddy palace in Century sq. I have 10% off if you need to borrow the card. Otherwise you can oso look out for baby sale from Taka. Or 20% storewide from OG.

Anakku brand is a Malaysia brand. Heard it is much cheaper in Malaysia. If popping by Johor...can buy from there. They have a variety of bb items too. like towels and so on. I saw them at that Taka bb fair last time. My hubby was in KL during my early stage of pregnancy, he bought the mittens -Tollyjoy, also like half the price.

Hi, Mcfluffy. I also have 6 bibs already, cannot buy liao. Understand how you feel. Never mind lar, the Carter bibs we bought also very cute, slightly cheaper too since that one got 30% off.

Babe, thanks for the recommendation. Looks good but 1 night costs $388++ or $428++ but it includes dinner after all so still quite worth it. Must let hubby decide. hee.

Thanks, mom2nat. My cousin has the kiddy palace card and she can lend me. But problem is Tampines Kiddy palace does not have Anakku napkin so still need to buy from somewhere else. Received the taka flyer you all were talking about. Maybe can check out Taka too. By the way, saw the Graco playpen on promotion, how come there is no additional 'changing tray'. Thought usually NB sleep on it. Or am I wrong? :p

When do you think it's a good dauge to take the maternity photoshoots? Hubby and I are considering but I also think I'm quite fat leh.

chaye,
Took around 200 over shots. You know lah, kids full of expression. Many poses to be captured. Hehe... If not becos my hb face "black black" cos waited sooooo lonnngg (2 hrs+), think I will go on and on. LOL~