(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kitsune,
I will try my best to childproof the house soon. just that my house got quite a lot of fragile display stuff and wallpaperd rooms.. so thats what I am worried about.. Perhaps will ask my designer to put up glass cabinets on those areaas. lor

Ah Capp/Kitsune,
Taling abtt bb clothes. I got 20 plus set.. really overbought men! alamak.. faint.. But mostly I got is 3-6 months and only a few its 0-3 months lor... HOpefully next time can sell them as second hand items when my darling overgrow them lor..

Hi, goodbb. You can buy Jingle shirts from John Little or BHG (old Seiyu).

Fern, don't worry, you can always keep for no. 2. Wear at home, doesn't really matter whther boy's or girl's clothes. ;)

hammies03: I can latch in public cos most of the time will wear nursing bra & tops. If done discreetly, will not be exposed. Paiseh to "reveal" in front of my own mum, let alone MIL.

Diapers, used pampers at 1st, but a bit exp cos got to change very often like every 2-3 hrs. so switch to drypers, then pet pet now fav brand is huggies. For nxt bb will most porb b buying pet pet or huggies.

Ah Capp: My DS doesnt like Avent Teats too. So i bght the Pigeon Wide Neck Teats. Been on it since 3 mths old till now coming 2 yrs.

Fern: That time bght a cupboard from Brighton cost me close to $500/- but end up threw it away. cos keep hving mould inside. REGRET getting it. Do get fr reputated source!

Growing up: MY hse is quite childproof but still "accidents" happen. That day DS opened the fridge on his own & took out the cod liver oil & dropped it. Gosh, lots of glass frag, oily cod oil & strong smell. GGing to latch up the fridge soon ..

BB clothes: only bght abt 3-4 sets for no 2.. the rest will are leftover fr no 1. But some tends to turn yellow after keeping for 2 yrs.. : )

1. Anyone knows if the topics covered by Joyful Parenting Forum organised by Philips would be what is covered in Mdm Wong Parentcraft Course?

2. Where can we go for Pre-natal Massages? How much is it?

hi mei/ janbb

paiseh mia for quite sometime. me a bit kiasu and attended all my atenatal classes oredi. according to the doc/nurses, the breastfeeding session is extended to non-sgh patients cos they are launching the sgh breastfeeding book. and on top of that, they will be giving away 1 free book either on women wellness or pregnancy guide. i am not sure whether they will do the same for the next run of the antenatal classes.

btw, me expecting a boy and edd changed to 26 jan. not sure whether there will be any changes cos the bb might be a bit big as both hubby and i are tall.

AhCapp
Thanks for the comprehensive list!

Fern
Does Liza do the massage @ home? She has her own table or lie on the floor?
Mrs Wong from TMC once commented that should not rub the tummy too much, does Liza do that? So tempted to try coz my body had been aching quite a bit.
Quite good rate coz my facial place is charging $100 per hour.

<font color="ff0000">Something went wrong with my MSN, just can't login, or retrieve my password. So I gotta create a new account. Those of you who were on my MSN or wan to add me in, please add this account [email protected]</font>

Hi Mei,

I also feel the pain and uncomfortableness below my breasts, above tunmmy area. Don't know if it's the ribcage as we're getting heavy maybe the ribs are also tired.

hi jennifera,

These are some of the few brands i heard is good (tried & tested by my preggy frds) BUT still subject to individual preference & budget.

- Avent Manual Pump@$89
- Avent ISIS iQ UNO Electronic Breast Pump@$289
- Medela Mini Electric@$179 & Medela PIS@$700
- Ameda Lactaline@$320

For me, i got myself a new medela mini electric at $130 from S'pore motherhood forum

fishia
ah ha! here's where the twist is.. i chucked the ameda & tried Avent ISIS - wow wonderful!! I determine how fast and hard i can pump, and the petal prevents backflow onto my tummy. FANTASTIC. In the end i used 2 ISIS simultaneously when i'm expressing at work. Cuts my expressing time to half... yippee i love avent.

jennifera
LC = lactation consultant
PD = pediatrician
my advise is: dun buy pump first... borrow & try out diffrnt brands, then decide if u want to invest in one. After all, some mums give up bfg within weeks.

hammies
my boobies hv become public property ever since i gave birth, starting from the nurse who manhandled my boobies & nipples to squeeze out milk when there's NO MILK to begin with. She was a meanie - i wanted to murder her.
At home i got used to bfg in front of my mum, MIL, aunties etc. Then i bf'd in public. wow liberation!

re: newborn diapers
buy cheap ones coz newborn poo all the time.. immed after change fresh diaper he poo again, very xim tia to throw away $0.50 diaper. So i only buy $0.20 diaper. hahaha

ahcapp
-sm towels also good for mopping bm...
-cream/ lotion: be sure bb dun hv eczema b4 applying o'wise might worsen.
-brush: until now my boy 2YO doesn't own a comb. He was born with little hair then we kept shaving him botak for the hair to grow out.
-bubble bath?! For first month, dun even need to put soap in the tub. just wash with water can liao. Some soap can irritate bb's delicate skin.

Fern
yes, wait for all those bb gift sets u'll rcv as presents. Sure to include booties & mittens also.

goldenpig & fishia,

what is this "FENU" you all mentioned PD prescribed Fenu ? What is that? I can't find this meaning under google search?!?

Re: newborn diapers

will cheap diapers cause nappy rash? no brand one oso can use right as long as it is gd enuff, no leakage, bb feel comfy can liao? Any cheap & gd brand in the market? like u mentioned 20cents/pc? thks.

oh ok i see...i thot jingle shirts special one, never hear b4...the pic u attached, i have alot hands me-down so can save $$ no nid buy new clothes for newborn cos they outgrow very fast! thks goldenpig

Steph/Ah Capp. I bought Jingle cos it was recommended by my cousin because the sizing is small (similar to premies at mothercare) and fit newborns better. The other brands she bought were too big and make her 'baby look like a scarecrow'. If you have hand me down clothes for NB or can buy similar stuff at HDB, by all means, do so and save $. I'm the lazy type, don't like to go around hunting for stuff. If tried and tested by friends/colleagues, I'll just get it as long as not too expensive.

steph
fenugreek. can buy fr GNC, no need doc prescribe

cheap diapers
eg Petpet, drypers etc. but they dun come in Newborn size. smallest is "S"

<font color="0077aa">heheh QQ, i went for Sakae Sushi dinner last nite! to satisfy my craving...ate spicy salmon handroll, salmon avocado sushi, chawamushi, chasoba, Unagi, tobiko sushi, fried tofu, tako yaki etc...i ate with a big grin on my face & my hubby say i looked as if i gunna TOTO??...hahaha
if only i could oso eat Sashimi i would feel even happier!</font>

what is the feeling like for heartburn?

I am having very bad sore throat and having cough leh but havent see doc yet

hey goldenpig, but if the diapers dun come in newborn size, then can babies still wear S?? Perhaps it all depends on the size of the baby, but to be safe, what should I get prepared with?

Also, do you still have the cloth napkins available on standby?? Coz saw in AhCapp's confinement list like need it...

hammies
i bought only 10pcs cloth napkins but didn't buy the safety pins.. haha. i was quite half-hearted to use cloth napkins coz i dun hv CL to help me wash. In the end used the cloth napkins to swaddle bb.

"S" diapers: is for bbs 3-8kg. The diapers may seem a bit big, but tape properly lor. U can buy a pack of Newborn & a pack of "S", and decide which to stock up after u tried for your bb. Skali your bb born small, eg 2kg+, then u may prefer Newborn size. My #1 emerged at 3.5kg

violetlce: mi too, been having pain on off at my ribs area.. sometimes quite uncomfortable, i juz stand up and do some stretchin..

Mom2nat: i hav added u to my msn.

ah capp: why do we need?:
5) Cotton balls or square facial wool
9) Sterile gauze swaps (5 x 5 cm) comes in individual package

hammies
another of my experience with NB diapers: get those with back gathers. Coz the other time Drypers old design no back gathers, the poo leaked fr the back. When i switched to Petpet, no prob. NB poo v watery..

lynn
my guess:
5) wipe bb's eyes & face
9) wipe inside bb's mouth

or to wipe bb's belly button b4 umbilical cord drops off.

MomMe,
Re- Liza prenatal massage

She goes to your houses and still charges at $50 per hour. She will not touch your foot and tummy at all as Its not advisable at pregancy.. Other parts are fine and she uses only pure essential oil. Highly recommended and very reasonable $. Also friendly and able to advise you

For post natal
Its $480 for 7 days and comes with Jambu wrap. I dun know if its market rate or cheaper.. Can somebody share the rate for this one?

kitsune,

Re: Mid Dec gathering#2

gift exchange is JanBB's idea and i think it's a lovely idea too
Mala hotpot is just suggestion, we can go for normal herbal chicken soup hotpot ya!
Sometimes i oso kena mild heartburn & still eat my favourite hot & spicy stuff lol
Heartburn, have to avoid acidic foods like citrus fruits and juices, tomatoes, mustard, and vinegar; processed meats; mint products; and spicy, highly seasoned, fried, or fatty foods.

Kitsune,
Ya men... most of the clothes I got for my bb now are really cute! Also cant bear to give away.. maybe can leave for #2 ... haha. no need buy so much then already lor. yupz

For cupboard,
You got yours from Ikea huh? Do not want to get too ex kinds... It will be good to be able to cutomise to what I need for bb.. That will be ideal men! haha

Steph, Herbal chicken hotpot sounds yummy (wonder what herbs they use though and whether ok for preggies). Mid Dec is also my wedding anniversary. Wondering where to go and celebrate. Hee.

Near lunch time. Feeling hungry but having heart burn now. Sian. Think got to start taking antacid again soon.

eRnMum,

u discharge already? Are u feeling better now?

yup goldenpig has advised, FENU is fenugreek.

we don't have to buy ourselves right? only if low milk supply then PD will advise to buy right?

Hi steph,

i was discharged the sat the week before last...then on hospitalisation leave to rest at work

tue went to measure cervix length...thank goodness no shortening and it lengthen

for placenta location....can only measure again in 8 months...hopefully it will shift up

btw, those with low placenta, advise from books etc is there should not be sexual intercourse.

then i say i seems to have frequent braxton hicks...gynae wants me to monitor and see whether needs injection to relax uterus

today i am back at work liao

sit down and dun really walk around....cos gynae still want me to rest more

Aiya, me also...took this goat's rue also din help increase milk supply but if I latch bb ok. Will get hungry only every 3 hrs but if I pump, 1 session won't be enough to feed her. Think her appetite was big. When I went back work when she was about 3+ almost 4 mths, she was taking like 140-160ml each time and I only get about 120ml each pump session of 20-30min.

3rascals
i dun dare to latch bb when i'm sleeping coz i may roll over & crush him hahaha. And bad habit for bb also - latch on to fall asleep.

HI all,

Can somebody explain to me wats this fenugreek for?

RE- baby GP/pedectric consultation.
Any good ones at Sembawang or Yishun areas? HOw abbt specialist kind? Any of you plan to get insurance for your bb medical coverage. WHats recommened huh?

golden pig,
I tried the ISIS Duo at Mrs Wong's place and I love it! but abt $700 leh... think this round I'll get ISIS UNO during Robinson sales... then when i need to pump both side, one side use manual pump lor...

Fern,
my house also wallpaper hence I really have to monitor when giving my son crayons or color pencil. Or i'll confine him on high chair to prevent accident. Then again, he may throw. so higher chair also a distant away from walls.

Re: Baby bath
I use lytacid (blue color) recommended by Mrs Wong. Just a few drops inside tub and no need to rinse.

Re: Diapers
I'll rotate between good ones and cheap ones. I scared nappy rash. and also the cheap ones comes with plastic side tapes which may cut into bb's flesh due to prolong use.

Babe,
then your supply quite good leh.. i got to feed 2 hourly.

btw, do you all sterilize the pump funnel and bottle after each use?

fishia
i used to sterilise religiously, then some nights i got lazy & just dumped the pump into the fridge.
My fren commented that moms are the most unhygenic people she's met... i agree with her to some extent. hahahaha.

rE: ISIS Duo
a bit ex hor.. sommore must consider if we want to STOP AT 2, then lagi not worth. I think i stick to my avent manual first & see how. Hey was the DUO silent? I didn't like the Ameda also coz the motor noisy. Frens commented that Medela lagi noisy, like grasscutter.

Golden pig,
BF until 2yo to make its worth! hahaha.. Yeah Duo is really comfortable, quiet and efficient. I was very tempted then but afterall it is $700!! I tried Medela before. True. I didn't like the noise. I got to go another room cos it will wake my hubby and bb up! ISIS Manual is cheap and good lor. just that hands will get really tired when you're pumping more!

found the thread on gear that attach pump to body:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/961265.html?1189486085

dunno how good it is....