(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Janbb,
for initial stage, it's best to latch on directly. milk supply increase faster too. you'll get disheartened if you pump cos milk very little and people may question. bb drink so little? you don't have enough.. give FM! That's what my PD did to me when my bb was not putting on weight for first week or so. I find him not supportive of bf so I only see him twice and change PD. Most of the time i consult LC.

I'm naturally low on supply and it was really hard work. Like Golden pig, I was determined to TBF and never standby FM at all. When back home i feed round the clock. I told my mum to shut up when comes to feeding and lock myself in room so MIL cannot come in.

Another thing to take note. If breast lumpy, massage hard to get rid of lumps else milk cannot flow. Best massage before and after each feed. mine was extremely lumpy. Even bb's suckle and my own massage cannot remove it. I went to see LC and was badly brusied. She massaged so hard until my tears dropped and gotta beg her to stop. And she said, "How do you expect bb to drink from an uncut melon?"

<font color="aa00aa">fishia, i also thinkin session 1. hee...

btw, i feel pain at the around just below breasts and above tummy. any mummy experienced it?</font>

steph hehehe wont make you drool liao tonite cos dunno what to eat hahaha .... and that things is hard boiled egg!!! I shelled it wanted to make egg mayo but in the end forget and is left in fridge ... till frozen and out shape muhahaha

QQ,
huh??eggs? dun look like at all. Cannot make egg mayo else LS later...kekeke

Mei, u wont want to eat the egg when u see QQ's blog!

fishia,
Re: how to delete double post
Right hand corner of your posted message, there are two icons, 1 for Edit post & 1 for Print post. You point cursor(mouse) to the icon & click on Edit post to edit message manually lol.

Fern,
What kind of bb cupboard do you have in mind? i bought a chest of drawers, quite a big one but still not enough.. and my son keeps opening the drawers until i have to put those ugly looking locks on each drawer. Now he had already pulled out all the locks and left ugly marks behind. Had i known earlier, I will get a 2 or 3-door tall cupboard with drawers inside..

hahah steph ya I have it shelled 1 week agO wanna make egg mayo one ... then sakali put in fridge only i forget everything gahahaha .... Now the egg shrink liaoz ....

btw I have very bad sore throat and my throat like YANG YANG one ..... think falling sick liaoz .....

Fern, Mei & Steph
I attended abt 2 or 3 weeks ago..not sure whether is a on-going free classes.. Cos my fnd's gynae is fr SGH & she juz signed me up to attend wif her. Best part was when we were there, they didn't even check which hospi or gynae was mine..heehee.. still got free dinner somemore.. Anyone here is from SGH?? Maybe they can help to find out. If got somemore class, u all can sign up together with her help ; )

fishia, babe & goldenpig
Hmm, will try to latch on directly. One gd adv is dun nid sterlise, haha.. lazy me ;p I really hope I'm able to "tahan" for at least 6 mths.

<font color="aa00aa">steph, eee....i dun like that egg...heehee...oh btw, i mtg u on monday hor. 1pm right? sun got tupperware warehouse sale. need me to get anything for u?

any mummies looking for anything? i can see if i can get it at discount from tupperware office this sun.

janbb,
a..who is from sgh....let me check the list...coconutz is but she seldom come here. she due in 30-jan. </font>

fishia
yeah those days of miserable 30ml... sickening. The worst is that i used the Ameda double electric which doesn't hv any funnel guard & the bm keep flowing backwards onto my tummy, gets me sticky & upset abt wasting bm. arrrrrghhhhh

I pray 2nd time round will hv MORE.

that time hubby massaged for me, coz Mrs Wong showed him how to do it on the morning of my discharge (thank God). So painful as tho he's digging into a fresh blue black. But success lor. O'wise gotto waste more time & $$ to go LC.

<font color="0077aa">mei,
yup, 1pm at TB Plaza. If i late, i will sms u then maybe u go have lunch first. For the sales, can help me look out for the pitcher & snack cup lol. Thanks
see ya</font>

Golden pig,
Yeah. those miserable days.. hahaha. I get only 20ml in hospital. every drop is like so precious! Eventually I took fenugreek which really helps in boosting supply... And I feel so proud when i look at my son's healthy, chubby baby photo.. hahahaha!

my hubby tried massaging but it was too painful for me to endure. I scolded him most of the time. End up i pay $$ to see Mrs Wong lor... painful also must shut up...

You got mastitis or not? I kena during confinement. total 4 times in a year.

<font color="aa00aa">steph, ok. i see what i can dig....IF my tummy is can take it. haha. think i eat lunch first then meet u at TBP 1pm then i dabao MAC back..haha...

me hungry now...wanna eat popiah</font>

<font color="0077aa">QQ,
heheh...yes of course! i just finished one bottle of fish oil this morning! Altogether, finished 4 bottles...another 11 bot to go. BB Zander say thank u to aunty QQ for giving mummy the free sample & help me save $$..keke

Re: Mid-Dec Gathering

Me got 1 gd idea, why not we mummies can have a gift exchange thingy since is near x'mas. Fun?? We can set a theme & budget for the gift, perhaps something for our bb? heehee, dun u tink is so sweet that our bb to receive x'mas gift ;p

steph pls dun mention ok then i mail u 2nd batch ..... hehehe ....

mei no mine is the blue one ....

JanBB the pink one only can get from clinic or hospital thats what I heard from unity Phamarcy cos I try to buy they say they dun carry it ... so have to buy from my gynae loh

Fishia
thank God i din hv mastisis... i was quite afraid i'd get it actually, read up so much i frightened myself. Only the initial days la. After supply established, not scared liao.

i took Fenu the moment i reached home from hosp. Like not much help for me ley. I only took 1 capsule a day, ate fish for both lunch & dinner for abt 6m. What abt u?

QQ, ok the more the merrier
...hehe..actually my gynae say can continue to eat fish oil & calcium even when we r breast feeding wor...anyway, i hate to be popping pills everyday
no choice!

janBB this morning I just chatted with wildcherry abt this pink fish oil hehe she say she oso cant get it outside

Steph hmmm to me i dun care as long she gave me and good for baby i just eat loh kekeke ..... i oso dun like pop pills hehhehe cos I have to eat my thyroid pills everyday .... so use to it already

Golden pig,
Mrs Wong told me to take payaya fish head soup consecutively for 5 days then twice a week to build supply.

PD prescribed Fenu to be taken 3 times a day after each meal. So i ended up with plenty of milk and first time feeling like a woman! hahaha! Think you didn't take enough Fenu lah.

i ate fish frequently but not for every meal..

fishia
maybe dat's how u ended up with blocked ducts & mastisis.. i forever not enuf bm, so no chance to get mastisis.. haha. This time will try to increase Fenu. How i wish there was some gadget that i can hook up on to express my bm while i sleep. Like cow getting milked. So sian when i think of expressing...

goldenpig: Don need machine la."latch" yr bb to yr nipple when u sleep. Mine treated me like a pacifier.. So end up latch so often till nipple sore. I hate to pump too..

golden pig,
my friend got even more bm (enough to throw away fore milk) also never get mastitis wor. Think i tend to have blocked ducts hence lumpy breast. hmmm. let me check how to prevent block ducts. oh, my friend always empty breast while i don't. maybe that's why i got mastitis..

you use Ameda double electric i use avent manual leh. pump until my hands numb and sick and tired when i saw the pump! dunno should i invest in an electric one... thought i saw someone posted on our thread on a strap that holds pump to your body so can be handsfree.... i hate to pump too!

what does LC and PD stand for?

I am worried I might not have enough milk coz my cousin insist on breastfeeding and she kept latching her bb until her nipples are very sore and still no milk.

But some people tell me definitely will have milk one.. so I also donno which is true.

Hence, I am also confused whether I should buy the pump now- scarli buy already no milk then wasted? What brands are u all looking at?

For all who are interested in prenatal or postnatal massages you can try this lady, Liza. She is trained in doing massages and also a trainer to all massagers too.. I tried her pre natal massage once today and she is able to give valuable advises and also really friendly.

Her charages are as follows:

Pre natal- $50 per hour
Post natal- $480 for 7 days and comes with the Jambu slimming wrap.

I do not know the market rate... But she is a nice lady to me personally.

Its Liza @ 94342836(HP)

Fern

on the topic of breastfeeding, for those experienced mums, did you do it in front of your CL or MIL?? Or did you privately close door to feed baby on your own? I'm wondering how I might feel with my MIL seeing my breasts!! haahhaa.... a bit paiseh leh. Don't know by that time comes how ah....what I should be doing.

also another question - what brand of newborn diapers do you all recommend to buy? Esp those who have experience, can feedback? Thank you!

Verene,
She is good and experienced. I feel comfortable with her and she is gentle too.

Most importantly she gives us advises which are benefical. Do give her a call for more details.
Fern

Anyone will be getting CL for 40 days? My CL is quoting me just $500 for additional 10 days. Seems quite worth it since she is charging me $2.4k for CNY, her normal rate is $1800. So, she's actually quoting me less than 1 third of normal price for 10 more days ($600).

Hi, Mei. I have the same pain as you. Mon night, I can't even sleep because of that. Don't know why. Heartburn is also back and worse than before. Sigh.

Steph, love the idea of gift exchange and another gathering in Dec but no ma la hotpot can? I think of it also scared, especially with heartburn. :p

Ah Capp, I received the bibs, blanket and receiving towel today. Very cute.

Fern, what kind of cupboard are you looking for? I bought a wardrobe from ikea 1-2 months ago. I decided not to buy a chest of drawers though it's cheaper because like Fishia said, I've seen my cousin's kid open and close and abuse the drawers and they are so afraid that his fingers will get caught in between that they tied up all the drawers. I like it cos I can customise the contents. I don't want wardrobe with exposed drawers because I'll end up with the same problem. My wardrobe's about $250 altogether. Maybe you can consider and add more drawers and shelves if you don't need 2 clothes rail?

999785.jpg

Hi Kitsune,

I have already asked Baby Closet when will the next delivery of the Gap blanket arrving. They said in about 2-3 weeks. I want to get 1 ah. Yes, the bibs are really lovely =) I ordered them after seeing your nick at the thread. ;)

Hi Golden pig,

Thank you for your feedback. =) I really didn't know there could be so much to take note if I want to go into total breast feeding. Will check with my CL soon, as I think i will most likely try to skip formula.

Here is the list of items which I need to get before my confinement starts. It was given by my CL. She think it will be easier if I can prepare these items so that when she arrives, it will be more convienent. For a newbie like me, I think the list is very useful. =)

Anyway, every one has different opinions when it comes to what is essential or which brand is good. So pls feel free to use this for reference.

1) Napkin x 10 pc from Pigeon or Anakku brand(Found out it's those muslim cloth kind) Will be used as diaper or swaddling.
Swaddling = wrap the baby so that he/she can feel cozy during sleep

2) Small towels for wiping x 12pc
(I was told by a colleague that I need lots to clean the baby's face, mouth or during bathing)

3) Bath towels (medium size) x 4 pc
To wrap the baby after bathing if I remember correctly.

4) Changing mat
My CL recommends the long rectangular kind, which a "kerb" edge. I got mine from mothercare, but I know other places sell it too.

5) Cotton balls or square facial wool
I was told that it doesn't have to any special brands. Good for me as those from Pigeon are not cheap too.

6) Cotton buds (Johnson & Johnson brand; small buds size) x 1 box
She said Johnson & Johnson brand's buds are smaller. I bought those from Pigeon, which she said is a bit big for babies.

7) Cream or lotion
Any brand will do. She said the baby's skin is dry after a few days (or it a few weeks?). So we need to apply body lotion for the baby.

8)Hair brush (Pigeon brand)
I saw it, it's a few bucks. She said it's soft.

9) Sterile gauze swaps (5 x 5 cm) comes in individual package
Can find this at those medical halls or guardian pharmacy. When your dentist removes your teeth, he will put a piece of such stuff onto your gum. Same item.

10) Booties & Mittens
I was told that need to change twice/ day. So all in all I might need about 12 pairs each! =O Oh dear me, quite scary.

11) Rompus (or overalls) (0 to 3 months)
I bought the much bigger ones. My CL said the neckline will be too big for the baby. I also bought some "vest"-like tops which u need to tie with a ribbon. She said the overlap area will make the baby hot. No need long sleeves or long pants, as she will wrap the baby anyway.

12) Wet wipes (Pigeon brand)

13) Pampers for newborn

14) 1 pail
Sorry but didn't know what was it for.

15) 1 baby bath tub
I was told that even cheap cheap one also can.

16) 1 round plastic wash basin (about 1 & 1/2 foot in diameter)
For item 15) & 16), 1 is used for bubble bath, the other is used for rinsing the baby. I totally forgot that I will not have an extra pair of hands to change the bath water if I don't have an extra basin with clean water ready.

17) Milk bottles
She actually prefer NUK. I bought Avent bottles and teats already. =( She said Avent teats are too hard for babies, but she did said that I can change the Avent teats to those from Mothercare.

18) Milk bottle sterilizer
She prefers Avent but I actually bought one from Pigeon already. to me, no difference as long as can use ok already. =)

For chinese herbs and stuff, she will help me buy from Malaysia. I totally know nuts about such stuff. But I will pay her back though.

Hi Hammies03,

I was told by my colleague that Pampers newborn is good, but expensive.

Good question about the breastfeeding part. I hope I can do it alone with my baby. Most likely will need help from my CL, but I wish to have some privacy with my baby too.

Kitsune,
I got a small space left in my study room where I intend to put the bb stuff in. I need more drawers then hanging kind. I just need half of your cupboard cos I already have a chest of drawers for my bb stuff. Is it that serious that children will start opening and close our drawers and hope they dun start drawing on walls etc cos my rooms are all wall paperd kind and I will get really mad if he does that lor. lol

Hi, Fern. My cupboard is actually made up of 2 separate cupboards. The deliveryman wanted to help me to drill through and lock it but he warned me that next time if I want to use them separately, I won't be able to do it cos the drill hole will be ugly. So, if you don't mind the height, you can actually just buy one cupboard and customise it.

Kitsune,
Yah, I just need one cupboard as i already have chest of drawers.. hope my bb will not anyhow open.. cos i dun want tie them as can look really awful one lor.
Fern

Ah Capp, also got a list from my CL today. Quite similar to yours but she didn't ask me to buy baby hankies. According to my cousin who used the same CL, she uses the clean Anakku napkins to wipe baby face/mouth as well. As for BB clothes, she said just need 4 sets cos she will wash often. I have more than 4 sets already. No excuse to buy anymore. :p You can try the Jingle brand shirts that I recommended earlier for NB, they got buttons down the front and not ex ($3-4 per piece).

Fern, maybe I'm pessimistic I think kids will be kids lar. The more you don't want them to do it, the more they will test the boundaries by doing what you don't want them to do. The only time when they learn is when they have a very bad experience. My cousin's kid love playing with the hot water dispenser (and his grandma pamper him so much that she didn't stop him). Only when he got scalded by the hot water, then he learnt how dangerous it is. I won't want my kid to learn it in such a painful way so I rather remove temptations and childproof the house where possible. :p

Ahcapp,
Wow, thats quite a detailed list men!
Think high time I also check with my CL on my list. Guess each has their own list. The only thing I preapred is 2 bottles of DOM and got someone to help make me the rice wine! haha.

For what i require for bb, think I gota ask the CL specifically lor. yah.

Also, dun think you need so many botties and mittens lah. they outgrow very fast leh. Can wash them rite? so small very fast can dry liao.
ME got only 6 or 7 sets plus socks too.. wondering if its enough lor... anyway, can wash one rite... if not can also get them later hor?