(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

tong tong,

Huh?? white radish got seed?? I dont know leh.....thought it is like carrot. Just deskin then chop and put into soup.....:p

Mandy: normally i put 1 radish, 1 carrot,1 sweet corn,1 scallop, some barley,some wolfberries, pork ribs.. dont hav to add salt or anything turns out to b sweet.. hahahaa! but is not radish soup is ABC soup.

cheryl: heheee! actually i also wanna go zoo but remembered i juz went 2mths ago so we went farms.. Poison Ivy farm, hay dairy farm then last destination is Farmart. my boy enjoyed himself v happy and we too..

bitter??? mine is a very strong carrot taste. but not bitter. i put green, white and red carrots with chicken bones tats all.

last time my mum cook, she add in the dried cuttlefish... but i dun think suitable for our little ones though.

fern,

yea you can put whatever ingredient you like for your meesuah, and you can try giving chye sim liao leh, my boy also takes it happily liao

Oops Mandy, sorry sorry i made a mistake. I mistook your radish soup as old cucumber. me blur lor in monday morning hahaha!

i think for white radish, it shouldnt be bitter one leh..so far i cook ok wor? did you put ginger?

jess,

What is green carrot??

RE: Radish SOup

Also dont know why it turns out bitter. Not very bitter but the aftertaste is bitter. Hmm...wonder what is wrong.:p

Cheryl nice meeting you heeeheee .... is really fun .. we all enjoyed ourselves my last stop is the elephant show ... and i we got wet cos the elephant splash us wet! LOL ... TT was a bit in shock LOL but she enjoy it very much...... after the show ... it rains so heavily ... you caught in the rain anot?

Re:Radish soup

Try out in one big onion to boil with it I will add in dry cuttlefish oso ... is good to help relieve heat.

babyling,

I know which blog you mean, but I didn't save the blog link. Previously shared by WENDYG. Can ask her.....

RE: Radish soup

My version 1 - white radish (1) + carrot (1 or 2) + pork rib (few pieces) + red dates (~15-20) = very sweet and nice. Don't need to add salt

My version 2 - white raddish + green raddish + carrot + pork rib + red dates - this one taught by the auntie at the wet market, they called this "green-red-white-soup".

I never used dry cuttlefish as I think the process of making dry cuttlefish is a bit like making the salted fish = unhealhty.

Mandy, it shouldn't turn bitter. Best not to drink if it's bitter? how much raddish you use and how long you cook it for?

wendy
wah! good abt your hb! but my hb sure dont like to watch soapy romantic movies so can forget that he will be automatic liao

good morning mummies!

babyling,

when I shared the news that I tested positive and looking for gynae. Back in Jan this year, but couldn't remember the date.

QQ,

Yes I know the dry cuttlefish gives you the sweet taste when use the boil soup, as my grandma used to use this a lot. I was saying the process of making it could be similar with the salted fish (minus the making it salty part). Anyway, personal choice lah..... smoking is proven to be causing lots of problems, but people still smoke what!

actually the list hor... only good comments? My colleague had bad experience with Lawrence Ang but on his page all good comments wor.

Kam,

THanks i will try your recipes. How long did u cook it for??
I boiled for 10 mins and put inside the Thermal cooker. I did not realise my mom has mom. So i borrowed hers to try.

mandy,

Bring the water to boil, add red dates (have to de-seed), boil for 5-10 min, add pork rib, boil for another 10-15min, then add raddish and carrot, boil at medium to high heat for about 30min, then bring to the lowest heat (enough heat that soup still boiling but not releasing too much steam), and I boil for another 3 hours. Don't add salt, we found adding salt spoilt the sweetness of the soup.

Kam
do u cover the pot totally or partially?
i always scared to cover totally in case boil over. Sometimes i cover partially also will boil over!! I think it's bcoz i'm using lousy pot!?!?!

wendy,

how's yr friday? keep forgetting to ask you.

if u scare water boil over, use 2 chopstick to lift the cover from the pot.

mylvera
my friday.. actually planned to go out for some "me" time in the afternoon, in the end PD advised elder boy don't attend sch that day, so just nice i'm on full day leave and accompany him at home lor. My "me" time spent with him! Not too bad actually, i cooked dinner and he polished off everything!

But hor, i'm so BLUR ley.... doc prescribed antibiotics (he's got bronchitis!) 5ml, twice a day. I gave 10ml twice a day for the first 2 days!!! <font color="0000ff">Kam</font> any scientific side effect i shld be aware of? i'm considering whether i shld confess to the PD when bring my boy back for review on thurs.

tmr is my yr end. yet to finish lots of things cos currently jz got full manpower in. next mon-tues, i will be on compulsory course when my auditors here and I have to answer for my section queries. Next wed-thurs i have another new set of auditors for another area i am handling. new as in really 1st time audit in that area and really don't know what they will expect from us and that it is my 1st time handling this area too (cos i delivered in jan 08 and my ex-boss passed me this bomb to penalise me for going ML).

wendy,

MC? I applied half day for wednesday oso kena rejected cos 1 of my colleague is on long leave this week. but i managed to find my way out n insist I must take the 1/2 day but promised i will leave office at 230pm

Kam,
Thank you!!

RE:cough
My son had been eating medicine for like 1 week, not much improvement - So i had to bring him to see doc again right? COs i think cough take long to recover.

I don't want to be sound like a "gan jiong" spider.. cos I already bring Xavier to the PD 3x last week.. (mon-cough, wed-fever, thurs-LS) SIGH!

wendyg,

can't advise you if there is any side effect or not for giving too much antibiotics. Ya, better "confess" with the PD.

For boiling the soup, I cover the cover totally. I think not so much to do with the pot, but it's the heat. It's actually difficult to turn to the just-nice heat, so try and error, go back to see every 10 min or so, if too low, turn a bit higher, too high then turn a bit lower, until you know what level of heat to use, just to the point of boiling but not overcook. If partially cover the pot, afraid that the soup won't taste as nice already lor.

Icy,

My PD said if cough without phlemg and no fever, don't have to bring him in, just monitor and give med if neccessary (I have cough med to stand by).

For fever, if it's mild fever, <38.5c,>38.5C, then I will make a visit to PD.

For LS - depending on how you see it. My son's record is pooped 7 times a day!!!!! On those not-so-much-pooped day, it's 4-5 times, and his normal day is 2-3 times. You have to know what food he takes (some food, esp fruits, "promotes" poo-poo) and make sure he drinks enough fluids. As long as the LS doesn't last longer than 1 day (i.e, the frequency of pooing should reduce the next day), then it's okay, to me.

But having said these, of course, for a peace of mind, you are always recommmended to bring your son to see PD, esp if time and $$ permits. You are not "gan jiong" spider, but a caring mum :)

wendy,
I also had to give my boy antibiotics for his fever and cough last week, the dosage was 3ml once everyday for 5 days. PD said it was ok cos the dosage is consider very little.

Kam,
I had see doc for all these.. his LS was also like 6 times for the whole day so I bring him to PD.

Now cough already 1 week, he still cough until vomit.. i think I bringing him to GP.. Cut cost.

wendyg,
ur bb gt bronchitis? hw is ur bb nw? better?
my bb also kanna bronchitis...so heartache to see the way she cough....so xinku

mylvera
you job sounds so scaryyyy

wendy
winner leh heehee you gave double dose

icy
my boy whenevery cough/runny nose take PD/GP prescribed medication, also take 1 or 2 weeks and never seemed to make any improvement at all; so yes, you are not alone

sighs, i have a churning stomach on and off for the past week, especially after the food poisoning episode last weekend (not the weekend that just past). i am so afraid that im preggy again coz i had the same symptoms when i had xandall. dont tell me tio again~ my legs weak liao
but then hor, my hb never shoot leh for the longest time ever haha