(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

yes mandy i did
their rates are a bit steep as compared to others; but then again, i stay so near them so i rather choose kidsclinic over other places. dont want to spend time and $$ travelling to other places for jabs. and i also took their pneumococcal jab, the bill came up to....drum roll....$479 *faint*

yah, i heard. but seems like curriculum not that bad leh. and the supposedly "new to come" PCF will be quite near my place...my place got quite a number of ccc, but all branded. MMI, and some others i cannot recall. everytime pass by them.

jess, funny ley, so many branches in north east but not even 1 near my home!

wendy
dey r playin on de wrds lah
muahahahahha

<font size="+1">paging for mei</font>
email replied u liao but u havent tell me how
quick leh, i wanna post letters liao. if cfm yours by post, i'll post out today...

qq, aqua, blackbatz
Thanks for the birthday wish too! Sorry if I missed out any other, was jus scanning thru the posting.

Mei
What's ur confirmed travel date?

Kam
Don't worry so much and don't cry. I've got a friend who did the oscar AND amnio test. Both gave very high risk cos of her age. But she decided to keep the baby, and her gal was born healthy and normal. She told me she dare not think if she had decided to abort the bb based on the figure given. Have strong faith!

Angelsky
I agree lo...u very slim n petite leh. If YOU are fat, then people like me can go jump down from my 70th storey apartment liao! LOL

bebe
no leh
my hb dont like dogs, specifically my dog. last time got him to stay with me for 2 days, my hb face black black liao. that time wasnt even preggy yet...
hardly got time for my dog, so must treasure tonite

kam: dont worry about the test result ok! my friend also encountered once. her blood test result not good but her amniotic test turned out fine! and now she has a healthy pretty baby.

bebe
yes of course i got my dog b4 i know my hb. my dog is a jack russell, but he dont look like one...too black for a JR...my hb got no lurrvvvee for pets. hes not scared of dogs lah.

who else got dogs?
what is your dog's name?
how old liao?
male/female?
living with you now?
eat what kind of food?

Yvonne, mylife, tongtong,

Thanks. Made me wonder what's the point of doing OSCAR at the first place? The test is inconclusive, only makes parents worry, and waste $$$. If I ever plan for #3, surely will skip OSCAR.

Ya, start to think more positive now. Doing amnio means we can know baby gender earlier too, don't have to wait till 20 weeks! Don't know if doc will give us a copy of the karyotype (the 23 pairs of chromosome) to keep, if he does, then it will be really cool, can show baby next time, see, this is YOUR chromosomes! I used to have 1 when in uni, but lost it, such a pity. On a down site, gonna spend lots of $$$$$, but no choice, cos we have to know that baby has no DS.

pixie

i see, shouldn't he got used to ur dog when ur dating??

what is your dog's name? YANYAN
how old liao? 7Yrs
male/female? FEMALE
living with you now? YES
eat what kind of food? SCIENCE DIET Z/D

kam, in msia the amniotic test is not very popular one lei, cuz many will still not for go it as they will not abort although the test result says the baby is a ds one. is the test 100% accurate?

bebe
not used leh. he dont like my dog sob sob
sometimes think about it oso gek sim. but cannot force ppl to love something/someone...
some ppl just basically dont like pets u know? as though the heart doesnt allow space for a pet's love...

bebe
harnar, i seldom got to see my dog. bring my boy to visit my parents, my hb say my dog jump onto my boy lah blah blah. of course lah! excited what! ask him get off can liao lor, so kan cheong!
arrggg
my dog is 8yo old...male...

tongtong,

No one will promise 100% accuracy. In actual fact, the amnio test is >99% accurate. The technician will culture the fetus cells, once have grown enough cells, they will extract the DNA from the cells and look at the chromosomes. Each normal person should have 23 pairs of chromosome, while DS person will have 23 pairs + 1 extra chromosome (chromosome 21). It should be accurate. Having said that, karyotyping only checks on gross chromosomal abnormalities, and cannot detect minor chromosomal changes. Only those diseases, eg, Down's (a lot more, but Down's is the most common) linked with gross chromosomal ab can be detected.

wendyg,

I should have done amnio directly as what my gynae advised. Depending on your view on abortion. Will you still keep the baby if he/she is a Down's? We know for sure, we won't, cos we don't have the resources to look after a Down's.

aiya Kam, think about it... so many people (eg celebrities) give birth in their 30s &amp; 40s.. only heard of Faye Wong's daughter is cleft baby. And that has nothing to do with maternal age as well, i suppose?
In my circle of frens, colleagues etc, i dunno anyone who aborted baby due to poor test results.

Kam,
You sound like a CSI...hahaha...if anyone's watches the series will know what I'm talking about.
So sad my favourites, Gil Grissom and Sarah Siddle are leaving....sob sob.

kam
another qstn food for thought
then what would u do if child is autistic? or has heart problems? or hi-fever then become slow development? looking after downs is more taxing than any of the abv?

the question is... when is a life, a life?

what is your dog's name? MUFFIN
how old liao? 2 Yrs
male/female? MALE
living with you now? YES
eat what kind of food? ACTIVE CARE LAMB &amp; BROWN RICE

Yvonne,

Haha, cos I am a geneticist :) My main interest back then when I was in uni was to become a forensic investigator, ya like those CSI investigator :)

Wendyg,

The different is you cannot detect autistic/heart problem/etc before birth (heart problem maybe, but too late for abortion). Only Down's and some others genetically link diseases could be detected early enough. If I were to be given a child with autism/heart problem, I will stand strong and care for him/her for as long as I live, though I know it'll very difficult. Yes, true, baby with Down's is still a life, and to terminate a life is a tuff decision. But given the fact that if already know the baby will carry the disease for his/her lifetime, I won't bring him/her to this world.

what is your dog's name? JUNIOR
how old liao? 8 Yrs
male/female? MALE
living with you now? NO
eat what kind of food? RICE, SALMON, CHICKEN, BROCOLLI

mylife, you know some pple can be fleshy but the poportion right and somehow looks good. I dont think you look fat lo, pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeee. But when I was looking at the mirror the other day, the chest strunk and the backside grew bigger.

One of my hubbie's nonsense relative sms me this morning, the sms read :#2 boy?. I replied "dont know yet"....... this full stop. Irritating.

I seriously think my girl can act very well, last night she pulled my dad's glasses and she knows my dad hates it, ok rather everyone knows he hates it, coz hes blind as a bat without them, he smack her hands and immediately she pout and her eyes teary, then off coz he quickly sayang her, then turn back and gave us the smug look. PENGS.

wendyg,
But for the circumstances you mentioned, it's all "after-birth defects" which is not within anybody's control.
For DS, it's a very personal decision whether parents choose to keep or abort.
Of course it's still a life and a DS child deserve the same quality of life as any other child. But in reality, not all people can provide their DS child with the same quality of life as circumstances may not allow it…so do you bring the child into this world to go through the suffering or end it prematurely?

Blessedbaby, managed to sign up for LNT trial this sat at 3:30pm too. Hope to see you there.

Playgroup.
Went to check out the RC which is opposite block from my house and they have it. Mon - Fri, 9-11, 11-1, 1-3 or 3-5, $130 per month excl course materials, uniform, deposit etc. They even have class on Sat/Sun, only $50 per month. Rates sounds quite reasonable. Will check out the curriculum of this one versus the one at Tampines Central CC.

that's a diffrnt reason from what u said jussnow.. that u hv no resources to care for Downs child.

yvonne
downs... who's suffering, the parents or the child. I think the child dunno what's going on ley.
who controls that the baby is a downs baby? as far as i know it, everything is out of my control.. my life is in the hands of my loving Father.
personal dcsn, no doubt.

I am so lag behind the posts. :p, ever since I install the landline under starhub, my network went crazy.. then ended up it was my router which is spolit! Cant even wait 1 more week until IT fair.

found smthg.... blog post written by mom of a downs baby.

http://nina.downsyndrome.com/2009/03/03/a-happy-heart/

A Happy Heart
March 3, 2009 by wardnl

Yesterday I was holding Micah, and singing to him. Now, my voice isn’t American Idol quality, and I’m totally off key, but Micah didn’t seem to notice or care. He stared at me with his almond shaped blue eyes in awe and amazement! Before I started to sing to him, my heart was heavy and a little sad. I was wondering what his life would be like as he grew older, I wondered when would he walk, talk, give me kisses. These were all things I never had to think about with my other 3 children. Maybe I should have thought about those things with the others, because I can barley remember them and that is sad. So as those thoughts swirled in my mind, my heart was clouded with a little sadness, as I realized that this child would bring something different to my life, something I don’t have any experience with. Then like a rainbow that comes after a storm, as I was singing to Micah, he smiled and cooed, as if to say Mom, its going to be okay. It made him happy as I sang to him, and it made me happy to sing to him. I had a revelation in my heart! As a Christian, we praise God with songs. It says in the bible He delights in our praises. Just like Micah, God doesn’t care if we are off key, tone deaf, or down right terrible singers. He looks at us like Micah looked at me, and is delighted, pleased, in awe and in love with who we are, and the sweet aroma of our voices. We don’t always have to have all the directions, and that’s okay. It is amazing how this child who has down syndrome has been used by God to touch my life and others. I say this with full confidence that the face and heart of God is reflected in the face of children with Down Syndrome and other disabilities. When you don’t feel like singing, sing anyway, and ask God to but a new song in your heart. My life and Micah’s life is in God’s hands.. and those are the best hands to be in. A simple song sang to my child, cleared the clouds around my heart, and now my heart is happy….