(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

luca,

Pai seh, I never cooked porridge for my boy till now. Cos it's the infant care who gives my boy porridge. According to the teacher, when first introduce, the texture should be very smooth, like the cereal texture so baby can accept and swallow. If it's not smooth enough, they will blend it with blender so it's suitable for baby. Now, don't need to blend anymore, can give baby the not-so-smooth porridge already. As long as already turns soft then it's okay. Started can be a bit watery, later thicker.

hammies,
todat, there are 60 adults, with 30 babies and 6 children, i dun think condo function rm can hold so many at one time!?! haha.

plus i no stay in condo. perhaps mummies who stay in condo can list down if u can help book??

mei,
I replied your email.

I volunteer to do (2)!

Yeterday, my boy called me "ma ma"
. He has been calling "Maaaaaa" when he cries sometimes but yesterday was the first time he said mama and he was asking me to carry him when he said it. But he didn't repeat it when I asked me to. But anyway, we went to my mum's place later in the afternoon and I was playing mahjong...hehe...he was being carried by my aunt and was looking for me so he said mama...mama...mama...until he finally saw me at the mahjong table...haha.

But seems like he will only call me when he's looking for me. If I ask him to call me "mama", he will just laugh and smile at me?? Dunno whether is it coincidence or he really knows how to call "mama"...

Porridge...

I have been giving my son 2 meals of porridge daily for the past 2 to 3 weeks. Rice ceral + fruit puree is for breakfast. I put in ngor he fish + 1 to 2 kinds of veg (pumpkin, brocoli, chinese cabbage, carrot, yellow pepper or sweet potato). I have also tried salmon fish.

For the texture of the porridge, I will cook until still have broken pieces of grains, but soften already. I read in the japanese baby cookery book that by doing so, the baby can learn to bite. Of course the grains in the porridge are quite soft, not hard kind.

Btw, I told my mum repeatedly no seasoning of any kind. I told her if give salt, baby will have kidney problems. Sugar will have tooth decay. Of course she doesn't understand why am I so fussy, but once I explained to her, she understands better.

I intro minced chicken yesterday. So far, so good. =)

Mei, I can keep my Aquaducks trial slot on 11 Oct. Boss said I'm not needed on Sat & Sun, heng ah. Was so worried about how to pump and keep my milk, even thinking of stopping BF somemore. ;P

Lyn, how much is the Friso if we order in bulk? Friso 2 right?

RaeAnne is 8 months old today and hubby weighed her and she's 8kg.

Been busy and haven't logged in for so long.

Any mummies going to the Isetan private sale this thu? I'm thinking of buying my son his first swimsuit at the Sale but dunno whether to buy the thermal suit (Liferacer) or the normal kind (watercolors) Any recommendations?

Is it better to buy a swim nappy (Konfidence? or any other brand?) or the huggies swim diaper?

Please let me know what is good or what you get for your darlings. Tks a lot!

BabyG,
I just bought a Watercolors top for my boy today. I'm bringing him for a swim next week and was hesitating whether I should just let him wear the Huggies swim diapers or get him a top in case he catches a cold. I didn't buy the suit, was thinking if he grows tall/too long then cannot fit into the suit. Would rather get separates which I think will last longer??

Porriage.

Xavier have it 2x everyday. His schedule more or less like this:

5am - milk 180ml
9.30am - milk 150ml
12pm - Porriage w/heng chai & carrot/pumpkin and ngor he. small pc of pork added for taste. No other seasoning. 2 tablespoon of rice cooked with water, cooked for like 1 hr. Beat with egg whisk for smoth texture. Roughly 1 rice bowl of porriage.
3pm - milk 180ml
4.30pm - fruit puree. Can be apple or pear or avocado.. 1/4 pc or sometimes papaya
6.30pm - Porriage with potatoes and ngor he, small pc of pork added for taste. No other seasoning.
10pm - milk of 180ml.

I am introducing pork to him today, scrape with spoon and mix into porriage, previously pork is just added for taste.

BTW, LUvv and mylife
Can I have the photos taken at mylife's hse? I did'nt bring my camera tt day.

Porridge

Hmmm.. think I should try to intro porridge soon.
My boy is such a fussy eater. Dun like fish and if bad mood everything also dun want
Headache

icy,
just emailed you the photos!

QQ,
what event?

MomMe,
you're not the only one, my girl also rejects everything when she's in bad mood, even milk.

now my girl doesn't take her night milk since her 6.30pm dinner (cereals). Should there be a cause for concern? IN fact, after reading through, i find that my girl is quite a small eater.

Luca,

Haha.... I sound like a very good cook ah :) I make lotsa puree but not porridge. Save me a lot of time not to cook porridge since the infant care already give him that.

QQ,

What event? More detail please......

Luvv,

Sometime my boy also refused to bring his night feed (before bed), sometimes drink 60-90ml and that it is until midnight. I am not concern at all, since he eats whole throughout the day. Shouldn't be a concern if your gal is gaining weight steadily every month.

RE: Minced meat

How to process the minced meat for them? How fine the texture should be? I have yet to intro any minced meat for Javin. So far only put in pork with veg stems (Leaves keep for shopping into fine pieces add into the porriage for him to eat)and potato, carrots, corn and onions etc... Usually i will prepare soup stock for the porriage and when eating i will let him drink the soup. I alo put in black beans or yellow bean to the soup.

my bb prefer cod fish than threadfin.. he can finished 3/4 of e cod fish. a piece of cod fish costs mi $7.. i only giv him cod fish during e wkend. Need to giv bb fish daily? my frz giv her bb fish daily.

kitsune: according to steph, she mentioned dat e friso is currently oos. is ur bb taking friso 2 also?

Sassy: can i hav ur email add? wanna send u e pix taken at Globetrotters.

Re: Pork / Minced Meat
I will buy fresh pork cut into pieces and freeze. When cooking the porridge, I will take out a piece, slice some of it thinly and cut into small pieces then put in all the small bits of pork together with the remaining bigger piece to cook. It's much easier to cut the meat thinly when it's still frozen. Fresh pork will be too difficult to handle.

Re: Heng Cai
Usually we have to buy it in a bunch from supermarkets right? Since only use a few leaves for the porridge, how do you store the remaining without it turing yellow?? I still have not given my boy any heng cai becos still trying to figure out how not to waste the veg...any tips to share?

Meat in porridge/soup

Unlike what we thought, the soup stock actually has very little nutritional value, if at all. If you don't let your kid eat the meat itself, and only put it into the porridge or soup, it's more for the taste and almost nothing for it's nutrition.

Can steam the meat and blend it with blender then add into cereal/porridge.

Fish riched in Omega is very good for baby. Give daily is good, if not, try to give 2-3 times a week.

Baby's Day Out
Date: Sunday 5 Oct 08
Time 9am - 1pm
Venue: HortPark The Gardening Hub
33 Hyderabad Road off Alexandra Rd
Admission is Free

is by Mother & Baby .....

QQ,
simi event???

Kitsune,
so u confirm going ah? good. ur hubby going too? can ask him to volunteer for (1) as mentioned in my email?

mcfluffy,
tks to u to ur hb to volunteer for (2)!

<font color="aa00aa">AquaDucks Trial - 11th Oct Sat @ The Pines Club non-heated pool
- infant swim trial
- photo contest with prize to be won!

<u>Slot #1. 10am - 10.30am </u>
1. VioletIce
2. janbb
3. pm_babe
4. blessed serene
5. elmo_78
6. superbee

<u>Slot #2. 10.30am - 11am </u>
1. QQ
2. lu_meihua
3. lyn78
4. shorty_gal
5. Godsent
6. mcfluffy <font color="0000ff">(volunteered Photographer. Tks!)</font>

<u>Slot #3. 11am - 11.30am </u>
1. mandygoh
2. tracy_lazy
3. kitsune_sg
4. Tansy x1
5. Tansy x2
6. vereneting

<u>Slot #4. 11.30am - 12pm </u> <font color="0000ff">- 3 more empty slots for Slot #4. Anyone else?</font>
1. manuka_chan
2. babynikkiong
3. grumpus

<u>Slot #5. 2.00pm - 2.30pm </u>
1. babyship

kam,
ya. back-dated blogs. i very late. that's why i always put a date at the top cos' i cannot change multiply default date. can i??
which slot for the aquaducks u want? slot #4? yes u can also contribute to the photos. i nid photos taken for the event.

qq,
what time u gg? sun. jn has class at 130pm.

QQ,
Was it you who gave TT the Wang Wang biscuits?? Heard it's been removed from the shelves. Better play safe don't let our bb eat any of those biscuits/tidbits anymore. My sis bought my boy a packet of those rice crackers, supposedly made in Japan but I also don't dare to give liao since Japan also having the tainted rice scandal.

Aiyo, I ban all biscuits from now on...although also never give my boy much. Better stick to home-cooked/self-prepared food for them and give fruits/yogurt as snacks lor.

Yvonne,

For fruits and vege, I am also very careful, from the very beginning, not to buy those imported from China, esp those looking very nice vege/fruit, must have a lot of pesticide if not other chemical.

Kam,
At least for fruits/veg, we can still wash/clean properly then cook, so not so bad. But we really don't know what goes into those processed food anymore...sigh!

Those people really got no conscience...they themselves no kids meh??? I thought chinese believe in retribution? They not scared all the retribution will fall on their kids huh??

Yvonne I only give TT once hehehe ... then no more liao

Mei, me gg early in the morning loh hahhaa I have email and reserved the goodie bag.

Yvonne,

Haiz..... it's really very sad, feel very sorry for the kids and their parents, this shows nowadays people only want to make money and no longer has moral. So very very sad.

True, processed food is more dangerous as they can put in literally anything without the users knowing. For furit and veg also, try to avoid as much as possible, as if they add some sort of chemical to the water, for example, it will be absorbed by the plant and couldn't be easily wash away. Wash/clean only wash away those pesticide spray on top of the leaves/fruit.

I've read some things about adding pork to porridge for taste..Ok..so if it's just for taste, what type of pork meat should be added? LIke a piece of minced pork ball? Or lean meat? Or pork rib?