(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

QQ: they havnt call mi yet.. so we wont b gg today.

mom2nat: OMG! medical fee in sin not cheap especially for kids..

Angela: huh? dirty towel? i didnt get to see their towel becos we used my own..

anybody gg down harbourfront tomoro?

Angela,
My gal also cried leh though she loves bathing at home. Was barely in the water for 15mins then come up liao. Cry + Hiccup. Massage also cry. Heh. But we still paid $50 for both swim + massage. Bleah.

Mom2Nat,
that's very expensive!! OMG, sorry no offence, the PD's vaccine has super immunity power??

the weather so hot recently that my girl kept sweating and intake of milk is even lesser, she make up now by taking milk more frequently at night when we're sleeping in the air con room....no choice i have to on the air con earlier else she drinks even lesser..anyone faces the same problem?

I think for hygiene purpose and to make myself at ease, i will bring my own bb towel....
So far all my bb jabs are taken at the polyclinic, though they dun have 6 in 1, 5 in 1 is good enuf already. The last 5 in 1 jab she took i only paid $80 plus, cos i got 1 ointment for nappy rash (really good), and 1 ointment for rash on face, and 1 panadol solution (just in case she got fever). Think i will stick to Polyclinic, unless emergency but then again my place got a GP quite good also.
No wonder my SIL told me never to bring bb to PD unless bo pian.

This is what my mom says, she said when the bb is heaty, it will cause a drop in appetite and hence milk intake is not as much as usual.
And my bb has been taking "leng yang" mix with milk like once every week. And barley water is like every other day. Barley is to make her urine clear, and leng yang to lessen her heatiness due to the FM intake.
So far my bb has been doing fine under my mom's care, but under mil...jialat...kana fever twice.
I read from other forums and they said children cannot take too much leng yang cos it will make bb "asthma" heh gu, but then again...my nephews and niece (altogether got 7) oldest is 16 and youngest is 2yrs, so far none of them got it and all are brought up by my mom.

Christie,

That's what i thought so too, i give her more water instead to keep her hydrated however, i'm also scare that's gg to make her drink even lesser. Can infant of such young age take barley water?

Luvv, my mom has been giving my bb barley water since she is like...a month old. We buy the "Chicken" brand barley from NTUC (its a red colour tin), each time my mom will boil 2 tablespoon of barley with water and in between milk feeds my mom gives bb barley water (dun add any sugar or anything, just plain barley will do). Now my bb drinks her usual 6oz milk (each feed every 4 hrs), on top of that she drinks like 10oz to 12oz of barley/plain water everyday.
And she sure pees alot and so far no constipation, everyday she will poo 2 times. You can try it. Drinking barley water is no harm, sometimes i also drink when my mom make more.

If you want to mix leng yang to the milk, buy a $5 dollar leng yang pack and "double boil" is good enuf already. (when i was young my dad bought the whole leng yang horn and scrape himself...and i always pretend to sleep when its time to drink...cos its so thick...but $5 not that thick. Good to let children start young also, at least they wont resist it when they grow older. My SIL son seldom drink...now 1yr old, he hates drinking these liang teh....and now he always gets sick...everytime is either got sore throat else cough then running nose.

Christie,
thanks for the detail illustration of how to do it. :) Barley is it also for cooling purposes? don't dare to try leng yang leh..i'll see how 1st. Thanks!

Barley is more for clearing the urine, like when we pee very yellowish right, so to make it clearer, we drink barley. And it makes bb pee alot. I think barley is milder than leng yang. In my own opinion. But when i ask my mom, she said leng yang is better to clear heatiness and faster also. Thats why we only give bb drink one day a week.
No problem, u try barley first.

Christie
Wah, you give your bb so many kinds of drink. I only give breastmilk, even if take med I oso dun give water, cos PD say not nec.

Here is how my son will react when I sing to him or try to get him to poo poo. Look at his "bian chui" (flatten mouth)... He HATES my singing! *LOL*

1395726.jpg

www.babystudio.com.sg

I was down at Tiny Love's local distributor today to repair my musical mobile. I was surpised to find that they have a very comprehensive products showroom. Actully, the sign on the door said that the showroom is not opened to the public. But I was able to go in to take a look while waiting for their staff.

I saw a lot of stuff from Tiny Love, Nurby, Sassy, Lucky Baby, Capella etc. Much more than from the departmental stores. I have not even seen some of the items in the departmental stores yet. It's like seeing the FULL ranage of stuff from Lucky Baby, Tiny Love and Sassy like that. But since they are the local distributor, I shouldn't be so amazed right? ;P

Anyway, my musical mobile was repaired and I was told that I can actually go to their website to see/ order all their baby stuff.

The showroom is at Chai Chee Lane, Black 514, #06-06. Not sure if it's opened to public. But if it does, it's very nice to drop by to see all the stuff they have there. =) I was told to go there only Sat (10am to 1pm) to repair my musical mobile so I guess they will only entertain public during this time.

Thought of sharing with all of u here. =)

Mom2nat, yup, cos my bb now is almost 100% on FM. Hence giving her plain water/barley and the occasional leng yang will actually make her less getting heaty easily.
I understand alot of PD will tell mommies that giving plain water is unneccesary for breastfed babies. But its more to letting bb "getting used" to plain water by giving them rather than having a hard time introducing plain water in the later stage.
At first i also did not give plain water when she was breastfed, then when mom gave her 1oz of plain water, she spit everything out, that is when i decided that giving her plain water earlier is better than waiting for her to grow older.
Its actually all up to individual.

mom2nat
my jaw dropped, i picked it up & it dropped again. do u hv any idea on e breakdown? which PD did u go to?

fyi, e profit margin for jabs r ridiculously high. after i learned fr my GF how much e PDs in tis very famous clinic earns, i bring my kids to a GP for jabs.

i not surprised if e 2jabs + 1 oral dose for elliot set u back by $400+

does nat take singulair? tat one also expensive. if i not wrong, $2 per tablet (tis is GP's price). not sure abt PD's price

The breakdown for my bill
Elliot
Consultation $60
INjections 6 in 1 $150
Prevenar $170
Rotarix $95
Medicine Motilium $50 (to last 6 weeks)

Total incl GST <font color="ff0000">$561.75</font>
Medicine to get from pharmacy cos clinic dun have <font color="ff0000">$117</font> ($5.20 per tablet)

Nathalie (having cough)
Consultation $80
Medicine Rhinathol $12.50
Flixotide evohaler $40
Ketotifen 5 bot $50 (to last 6 weeks)
Visual Acuity $10

Total incl GST <font color="ff0000">$205.98</font>

Grand total <font color="ff0000">$884.73</font>

Christie
My #1 oso fully bf, now loves water. Hee... I think their appetite changes. She din drink much milk last time, gimme so much headache, like 350ml a day can survive liao. But now loves milk. Each stage have new challenges for us, just when we tot we tackle 1 issue, comes another.

Kelly
Nat took singular last time, not this time. Elliot's med 2 times the price of singular. I buy from pharmacy, even the guardian pharmacy's pharmacist told me this med exp. Now we go to Kinder clinc. WEll... cos another PD and GP told me Nat cough a lot, if dun treat, might get asthma. The GP ask me to give this inhaler for 3 months then review, but when I ask this PD, he say for this med to work, usually to use for 6 months... you tell me lah, will you trust the PD or the GP? BTW, the GP not cheap hor, Nat see tat day cost, $108.

mom2nat

I thought usually for 6-in-1 dose is about $150 which is inclusive of consultation fee? =( But I must agree docs nowadays are really expensive.

Btw, any idea if the 2nd dose is going to be more expensive than the first one? or the same?

I will be bringing my son for his 2nd dose coming Fri. Not sure how much will it cost. Hope not too much. =(

Actually some people told me can bring to polyclinic for jabs. But I am a bit reluctant at this stage as I hate to Q and I will like to look for the same doc for my son's physical assessment each time.

But when my son hits 1, I intend to bring him to GP for normal cough and cold (touch wood) if required. Every time go PD, very expensive =(

Nowadays everything also expensive. Rice, oil, petrol, flour.. n the list just goes on n on...

Mom2nat,
The medicine which your gal took and my #1, sama, sama..His former PD also recommended Singulair to prevent asthma. Took for almost a year till last September. recently asked his new GP to give the prescirption, just bought from Guardian yesterday. 2 weeks supply = $48..

I brought my boy to see a specialist at KKH for his small size. He was prescibed with Keitotifen to imrpove his appetite (althought the medicine is mainly used to treat cough, lung etc). KKH charged me $3 for each bottle. Not sure if size is the same as yours.

Actually, your consultation and injection is quite normal. Your medicine is expensive.

Some PD does prescribe medicine which GPs would not normally carry. Hence they can charge a "premium", like my previous PD

Which Kinderclinic do you go to?

Ahhcapp
I tried Mdm Koriah, and shes really good. My blockages are almost gone. ;o))) Pumping is so much easier for me now.. hahahahaha.
Thanks for the contact. ;o)

My gal is going to ahve her 2nd dose on this coming Fri at KKH. I like there as Dr and nurses are quite helpful. Charges are cheaper than private clinic anyway.
I am back to work tomorrow after 6 months ML. Feel lazy and reluctant to go back!!!!!!!!! ;o(((

blessedbaby

Good to know. =) Oh yes, once blockage is gone, pumping will be smooth sailing. ;)

KKH too far for me. =( I stay in the west so my PD is only 5 bus stops away, just next to my mum's house.

Take things easy when u first go back to work. I was quite blur for the first 2 weeks, but things slowly get back on track. Pumping is quite a mad rush every day. I only managed to pump twice at work. But supply is ok so far. So u don't worry ya.

I am there at harbourfront yesterday ... dun really like there think will go back punggol haha at least the assistant there will attend to my baby hahaha ..... at harbourfront nobody attend to TT kekeke ... so TT tired liao i oso dunno

Normally babies are young is better to give china barely will do. Leng yang is too cooling. I only start barely when he is 6 months old.

heat rash

Can I ask how does heat rash looks like? Noticed that my son has small patches on redness on his cheeks, neck and back today. Don't know if it's because of the heat or the milk (EBM) bath I gave him this morning.

EBM bath

Anyone gave their darlings milk bath using EBM? I tried it today. Goosh, smelled fishy. =S So I rinsed my son after the bath. After the bath, I also noticed some red patches on his cheek, neck and back. Could it be he is allegic to my EBM??

Blackbatz
I go to Paragon. The ketotifen this time is Asumalife $10 a bottle. The previous she took was Dhatifen. Yours v cheap leh, only $3. Tat time Nat took Singular but this PD din recommend yet. Faint leh, so costly your boy took for 1 yr??
Yah, I oso tot the consultation and injection quite standard leh. I used to go to Rivervale mall's PD. COnsultation $55, queue so long! Then PD like rushing. My hb oso say wait until fedup, and so hard to get appt, need to book way in advance or walk in. If walk in, wait v v long. And cough see her 3 times, cost me $400 in total, oso not cheap.

Ahcapp
I think the 2nd jab shold be the same price. The poly clinic is outside my house only leh. But I heard the vaccine is not tat "pure"... anyway I prefer to have a PD access my baby oso.

Mom2nat,
Ya lor..Took Singulair for 1 year cos PD claims can prevent my son from asthma and my son is always having running nose. I don't know how I "dong" this PD for so long. Everytime, my boy falls ill, must see him at least twice ($120 each time). He always gives his patients medicine filled in small plastic bottles. At least at Kinderclinic, they give you medicine in original packaging.

I told my hubby about your bill. His eyes also popped out and even asked if doc did any testing.

My #2 sees Dr Kumar. What about yours? I also standby another PD at Bishan (not fantastic but better than the previous one).

My Ketotifen is actually Dhatifen (just went to check).

QQ,

i was there at harbourfront outlet yesterday too! We reached there ard 5pm to c c look look. We didn't book appoint...walk in &amp; hubby say no harm give it a try since Zander seem to be in a gd mood. When put him in water/tub, he looked abit scare but after awhile ok, no cry...seem to enjoy himself, kicking/playing in the water

We signed up 4+1 package too for $108nett.
Here's a pix of him...
1397650.jpg

AhCapp,

i intend to bring Zander to see PD for his 2nd 6in1 jab this friday too! Will book appointment at 2pm. What time is yours? Cost for 2nd dose will be the same as 1st dose. This time, i will let my son take rotavirus. Hopefully aft jab wont trigger fever otherwise jialat...cos these few weekends, he fuss &amp; cry before bedtime! This can battle for few hours (from 9PM...until 12.30PM!!!) Me &amp; hubby so damn exhausted &amp; stress

re: heat rash
i also not sure how heat rash look like. I also noticed some red patches on Zander's cheeks &amp; neck too. For his cheeks, we suspect is milk rash cos he likes to rub his mittens against his cheeks/face &amp; when without mittens, he suck his fingers...full of saliva &amp; then rub his cheeks! We have to keep wiping his hands &amp; face frequently with a wet towel.Sighz*

Blackbatz
My PD is Dr Kenny Ee. Dr Kumar is v popular. I find Dr Ee patient, doesn't rush. Din realise my sil oso went to him, she say he v good, but she dare not take vaccine at his clinic, cos the bill will make bil faint. Hee...
There was once in the nursing room, I chatted with a mommy, she sees another PD, can't rem isit Dr Kumar or Dr Siva, but happen her PD not ard so she saw Dr Ee. She said he v good, diagnosed a symptom of her girl, tat no other doc has ever told her abt, and his suggested treatment worked v well. I keep my fingers crossed tat he is good lor...

Actually where I live, there are a few PDs ard this area. But I oso dunno they good or not. Got one I heard low EQ kind. Hee...

mom2nat
wow! u were whacked 2x for consultation.

edward also coughing 4 almost 3mths liao. i bringing him 2 c tis chinese sinseh at whampoa, recommended by medusa (u know who).

who ur kid c, depends on ur comfort level. i bring my kids 2 whoever can get them well betta. i realised tat after seeing so many GPs &amp; PDs, some med fr a PD dun work 4 either kid but some med fr a GP works. some med fr another PD works for another kid while some med dun. my mum says it's e touch of e doc. i kinda agree wif her.

now i bring all 3kids to healthmark at west plaza, juz opp my plc. tis dr wong very gd.

blackbatz
may i ask how old is ur son? my son is 3.5yrs old now. he's also considered small size (2 me lah). barely 14kg. he eats a lot but juz dun put on weight. i've checked wif his PD &amp; 2 GPs. all 3 said he's growing fine, he juz has a high metabolic rate.

does dhatifen work? i dun mind trying on him

When I brought Zach for his 1st injection, my first choice PD at Bishan was not around. Since I'm there, thought let the partner do the injection. The partner really made my blood boil. Not excited about babies, briefed me about the injection like principal. My mum was with me and she didn't understand English, she so asked some questions. PD gave me that "Oh my god! Must I repeat myself! look" I did the translation and prayed for everything to go smoothly in the room. After I stepped out, I told myself I will never see her again.

In SK, see any GP/PD must queue like mad. You should see the queue at the polyclinic. Even if I go in very early, my queue number is also very far.

Hi, steph.

I also just took my girl to GP for 2nd jab of 6-in-1. Also worried about fever as my girl nowadays will fuss from 7pm onwards. It seems like she refuses to sleep &amp; wants people to play with her (even though she is tired). Then my mum asked me to feed her with the fever medicine immed after the jab to prevent fever (not wait until her fever hits 37.5 degrees then feed her). I did &amp; she did not have fever like the 1st time. Easier this way too. Don't need to monitor her temperature that much.

Hi krystle,

thanks for the recommendation
2 or 3days before the jab, MIL will give some pao shen 泡参 to my boy to prevent/reduce body heatiness. My PD don't encourage baby taking fever medicine unless really bo bian.

Blackbatz
Eee... I dun like PDs like tat, I call them no EQ, I dun lke pple like tat. I prefer those who can patiently listen to me and analyse and explain.
I heard the poly clinic queues are all v bad lah. I can actually ask my maid go take number then I go down later, but I prefer not to go there. The good thing is consultation is v cheap.

Mom2nat,
Ya la..dun how she ended up as PD in the first place. No EQ one.

Kelly
My son is a premmie, now K1. Until today, his weight and height is still on the 3rd percentile. I got a bit worried when I saw his peers in school, scared it might affect his self esteem. Premmies got to go for annual development checkup at SGH / KKH, so I got the PD to refer me to the endrinocologist at KKH. When I got to KKH, the specialist worked out a complicated growth chart and said that my son is doing fine, except his weight. That's why he recommended Keitotifen, mainly used to treat cough/ lung infection. However, studies show kids reported improvement in appetite after taking it. Specialist assured us that it is safe to take.

For your son, you really need to consult your PD.

blackbatz
my son is considered a premmie too, according 2 e midwife &amp; PD i saw at MAH. he's born at 35wks. his height &amp; weight forever at 3rd percentile, since he turned 2yrs old. he's now in nursery.

hmmm, should i bring my boy 2 c an endrinocologist too huh? mayb i try keitotifen 1st?

blackbatz
i consulted my PD. he said my son's growing well. she used e simple weight &amp; height chart fr abbott n measured him at 3rd percentile lor. didnt advise me further.

how much did u pay 2 c e endrinocologist in KKH?

Kelly,
Can't remember cos he was referred from SGH, so considered as C class.

I brought him to the endrinocologist cos I was wondering he needs hormones injection to booster his growth. If need to, got to start monitoring his growth now.

You can always ask your PD whether your child can take Keitotifen and see what she says. Even the PD at SGH says my son is growing well at 3rd percentile.

kelly / blackbatz
My girl took ketotifen for many months, I can see better appetite. The PD did tell me abt it oso. Then hor, a GP told me can stop, so I stopped abruptly. And dunno isit coincidence, so hard to feed her for tat few weeks following!!

AhCapp,

<font color="aa00aa">Your boy "bian chui" until very "ke lian!" But cute nonetheless.</font>

QQ,
<font color="aa00aa">What camcorder model did you buy and how much?</font>

Mom2nat,
i seen that No EQ PD before, cannot stand him.. so just 1x then I decided to stick to the PD that checked Xavier during my delivery.

violetice,
i bought a canon camcorder at $899, not the harddisk kind cos I heard harddisk crash means change whole thing. I buy the ones with mini DVD.

brought rylee for her 4th month chkup and 2nd 5in1 jab...am getting quite confused over this 5in1 and 6in1 jabs. The PD said for next visit shud be 6in1 liao...really don't understand...but thank god no fever for rylee.

Today my new maid is here...abit funny to hv a 3rd party in our home (first time gettg one) sigh...hope this can make my mom less stress. But I told the maid I will be in charge of bb, she jus need to do housekeeping well can oredi...

My back ache so badly lately. Been breastfeeding rylee to sleep every night on my bed...pillow as support but still very painful..anyone hvg the same? They said epidural is not to be blamed but strangely its he exact spot I was poked tats damn painful now...lately keep hvg cold feeling then got pins n needles some more at my spine..

hi mylife,

the 6in1 jab includes the hep b jab. if i m not wrong, the 3rd dose dose must be the 6in1 cos the 3rd dose of hep b is during the child's 6th mth. ur gal's next jab is during her 6th mth rite?

u understand wad i mean rite?

oh ya, forgot to tell u, me also same with u, employ a maid to help my mum reduce stress. we also told her to only do hsework n my mum will take care of my baby. ya, its kinda funny to have a 3rd party in the hse...

lucky u, still can breastfeed... me not enuf milk eventhou i wanna breastfeed my boy fm the start, my back is still aching (it aches all the time) but i dun think its epidural rite? no matter what, it helped us to have a pain-free delivery rite?

Steph

Hi, long tim no hear from u here. How are u ah? =)

I have booked for this Fri 9:15am. We want to go there first time in the morning to avoid the crowd. Also, if take jab in the morning and have fever later on, still have time to react.

Like krystle, I also gave my son 1 feed of the fever med after his first dose of 6-in-1. That was when I noticed my son seem to be a bit warm, but not exactly having fever. My hb was concern about the med, but I want to play safe though.

Aiya, my son is a dirty baby. Like yours, will suck his fingers. Saliva all over the mouth and then he will wipe his eyes and face. Really horrible. =S If he is in nursery or kindergarden now, he will the first one to get hand foot mouth disease! *LOL*

blackbatz &amp; mom2nat

Aiya, I HATE docs like that. Pay so much still have to bear with their 'attitude'! I also prefer doc who is patient and will answer my questions without making too much fuss.

Lucky the PD, Dr Heng, which Steph recommends me is nice and patient. He is the only doc I know so far who greets me and my mum in mandarin! ;) When I ask him questions, he will answer patiently. I know some docs hate to answer questions as they think we SHOULD know it. These are the kind of docs I will avoid too. =(

maydaryl
yah i think i got wat u mean....but my next visit is baby's 5th month leh. According to my baby's health booklet by TMC and the initial vaccine card given by SBCC in TMC, the 3rd dosage of Hep B is given on 6th month on its own. So confusing.

wahhhh i see people in the BP thread selling the Pantene Clinicare series for total of SGD86 for all 4 - shampoo, conditioner, leave on and treatment. Tat's HKD about HK$491 (based on exg rate of 5.71)..here in HK i buy whole set only HKD210 ah! Anyone wans to buy?? hehe...really very nice wor...

Mylife,
About this Pantene thingy..I read from another thread that it was selling for HK250 for the whole set at Hannings.

That BP organiser was very unhappy about the bad publicity.

Where can we buy this in HK? Colourmix/Sasa? Are staying at this place called Elements cos there was a writeup about this place on last Saturday LianHeZaoBAo.

Happy training your new maid. It's weird but it will free up the time for you and your mum to spend more time with BB.