(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mcflurry, juz to cfm to open the bag to fill milk muz tear off the top part along the dotted line hor? or I sotong can't see the opening.

mei, I can't seem to open the bag as the top part seal. Instructions say tear off seal to open bag. Hope I tear the right thing.

violetice, u haf to add a counter. Juz google and add the html code to your blog template.

My blog: babyship.blogspot.com

qq

hi... u looking for me??? i was in hk last weekend, jus got back last night.

itok

i tried to PM u my contact but u dun accept PM.

mylife

saw ur posting on KAO merries diapers. dun think i wanna order now. im trying to finish the Kao Merries Newborn (5pcs), Pampers NB (10pcs), a brand new Mamypoko NB (28pcs + 2pcs) then sitting there unopen NEPIA S size and KAO Merries S size. u check with them if can mix the sizes? then u can order more.

icy - quite amazing that can potty train ur bb so young..i didn't know that! I wonder now when I should do so. But my bb sometimes a bit cranky leh..some days he poo a few times a day, then after that, it's only once a day. But fortunately, he usually do not poo in the middle of the night.

AhCapp - ok, thanks for your info. I guess I do try to burp him as much as I can. Sometimes it comes fast, sometimes take forever. I guess I will have to observe more and see how. But my bb sometimes very naughty..after drinking like to struggle a lot, as if dun like to be burped. That will most likely result in a bit of milk puking.

Facial rash - any of your babies have that? Mine has on his cheek because my bb keep rubbing his face with his mittens!! Quite sad to see his baby face like a bit red red and rash...do you all suggest seeing Doc to get any cream? Or let it naturally go away??

This story was printed from TODAYonline

Mums, go soft on baby

Don't introduce your baby to solid foods too soon

Tuesday • March 18, 2008

Eveline Gan

YOU may be eager to introduce your baby to the fascinating world of tastes and textures, or perhaps your friends and relatives have been pressuring you to wean your baby early.

Nutrition experts, however, say it is best to hold that first spoonful of cereal until your baby is over six months old.

The Health Promotion Board (HPB) recommends that babies start eating solids from seven months, with breast milk as the sole source of nutrition from birth.

Said Gleneagles Hospital dietitian Rehana A Wahid: "Early introduction of solids could result in digestive disorders, due to an immature digestive system which is unable to digest certain substances like complex proteins."

Even if you do begin weaning your baby, solid foods should be introduced one at a time — over a period of three to four days — to detect any food allergies, advised nutrition experts.

"For babies with a family history of food allergy, dairy products should be delayed until after they are one year old and eggs should only be introduced after two years of age," said chief dietitian at KK Women's and Children's Hospital Christine Ong.

The best foods to start with are simple grains like white or brown rice, which are less allergenic. These are usually sold as iron-fortified rice cereal or milled rice.

"Rice cereal can be mixed to a smooth consistency by adding breast milk or formula. The cereal also usually contains iron which is important to prevent iron-deficiency anaemia in growing babies," said Ms Ong.

When rice is well-accepted, starchy vegetables such as potato, carrots and pumpkin can then be introduced before including fruits such as mashed papaya, banana, apple or pear.

"First foods are usually smooth purees, progressing to soft mashed foods and then roughly mashed or chopped foods by the time baby is 10 or 12 months old," added Ms Ong.

Copyright MediaCorp Press Ltd. All rights reserved.

Hammies,

Ian had it in first few weeks, I cannot tahan the rash and seeing it so red, thus brought him to a doc, was given Zaricort, he got well by 2nd day. Quite amazing.

mei, here are their photos: haha, their names quite like ur #2 (jiayu) too, JiaJie (younger,boy) and Jia Qi (elder girl)when they were 6weeks old

1305718.jpg

re: potty train
my mum also said last time she potty trained me
from 2nd month onwards....she said b4 she leaves 4 work , will make those "ngerng" sound to make me poo.....which i did every morning. ;) maybe i should try this too....

re: blogs
where u all find time to blog one? i really enjoy reading those blogs....want to do one too but simply too busy liow, sometimes dun even have time to log in to read these threads...

violetice, thanks for the article, really have no time to read newspapers nowadays. so we should oni introduce those soft food from 6 months onwards? i v kia su, jus bought a philips blender last weekend.

alicia
hi, welcome. Try pump 3 hourly instead of twice a day.

QQ
ROCK ON!! heh heh.. fwah, v hard for people not to rock when they're carrying a baby.. seems like natural instinct. My aunts were carrying my boy, i told them to keep him awake. But they keep swaying their bodies etc.. unconsciously!
but if u persist, i'm sure in the long run TT will be easier to manage during sleeping times.

>> Hey, TT is a beauty.. dun shave her hair!!

maureen
aiyoz, so sianz to pump & throw. I would be terribly upset if i were u. Borrow neighbour's fridge?

violet
could u post that article again when our babies reaching 4 months? That's the time when most elders will pressure us into introducing porridge/ cereal/ Nestum, just like how they pressure us into giving FM, water etc during the initial bfg days.

<font color="aa00aa">mei</font>
i dun think i can make it for outings after i resume work liaoz.. already now half-crazed woman. When ML ends will be full crazy woman. Full time job, rush home to start 2nd shift. I scared i so stressed my migraine will return. So dun think abt it better.

envy those of u who hv babies who can sleep thru night at this point in time. That was my original plan.. to hv bb sleep thru by 6-8 wks, so that can move his cot into #1's room and husband can move back into the MBR. We've been sleeping apart since #2 was born.. sad to say, we're used to it liao! Maybe to celebrate the day that he returns to the MBR, we should buy a King sized bed.

wendy My husband and I insist tat we do not wanna shave ... gotta tell ah ma ... she insist which we both dun like it!

Mcfluffy,
I'm using the Lanshinoh milk bags. Initially, I stored them upright and they took up a lot of space. One of the mummies whom I bought the bags from told me to lay it flat. She would fold along the Lanshinoh logo, then lay. If lay completely flat, milk might slowly seep through the ziplock. Also before zipping, squeeze out all the air. Now, my fridge looked neater.

Wendyg,
With 2 kids, mummies sure behaved like half crazy, deranged and paranoid. I'm not much better. Got to face 40 kids at work, come home face another 2 more. Die!! Tried Pigeon perialistic nipple, M size but too fast flow.

blackbatz
stopping at 2 ?
i betta write all the reasons for me to stop at 2 &amp; review the list from time to time. I tend to forget the hardship after a while..

blackbatz
stopping at 2 ?
i betta write all the reasons for me to stop at 2 &amp; review the list from time to time. I tend to forget the hardship after a while..

QQ
in your blog u seem to be buying things non stop! Have a child spend lots $$ huh

qq

hehe... never MIA la. only went for a short trip to HK, did some shopping, visited disneyland and met up with mylife. and YES, me n dh did all these without danelle...

I was askg if u all wash ur bb cot bumpers as well as the quilt...were there any replies? Sorry if I missed it...anyone?

similac infant FM for sale

i was given 2 tins of Similac Infant FM by a friend but my girls are supp on Nan Nestle. looking at selling these two tins off at $60. anyone keen do sms me at 94770974

mylife,
so far, we (mil &amp; myself) have not wash the cot bumpers &amp; quilt b4. We only wash the bedsheet cover. Most of the time, Zander sleep in yaolan. Nite time in cot/playpen, we placed a niao bu = diaper cloth underneath him (in case he vomit milk/wet diaper) so wont directly kena the bedsheet/mattress. We used blanket to cover him warm not quilt cos too thick. Err..I don't think it's necessary to wash cot bumpers &amp; quilt so frequently unless kena urine/faeces cos most of the time my son sleep in air-con room during the nite.

mylife
i haven't tied the cot bumper yet. i'll only use it when bb starts moving about in his sleep. Coz it blocks the wind fr the fan la. And we dun turn on the aircon all the time.

Mommies, here are some events that you might be interested in...

Toys &amp; Children Fair
07 - 19 March 2008
Takashimaya Talking Hall B1

Baby Fair
06 - 23 March 2008 Takashimaya Square B2

BabyCare Festival
21 - 23 March 2008
1100hrs - 2000hrs
Singapore Expo Hall 6B

HARRIS Book Fair
22 - 23 March 2008 Suntec City, Tropics Atrium

Book Fair by Harris
17 - 30 March 2008 Great World City, Level 1 Atrium

Tangs Bed &amp; Liner Fair
17 - 30 March 2008 Vivo City, North Court

Ladies’ Wear Fair
21 - 02 April 2008 Takashimaya Talking Hall B1

Little Tots Fair
13 - 05 April 2008 Isetan Scotts, 350 Orchard Road

sassy
Thanks. I managed to retrieve your contact from my old hp.

hammies03
Re: Facial rash
My baby has that too. Same habit as your baby, like to keep rubbing his face with his mittens like a kitten. He licks his mittens then rubs his face. I tried washing with water and cotton wool but no use. It has been a few days already so I’ll be bringing him to see PD later to check and see if there is any cream to apply.

dawn
Your twins are SUPER cute!

mylife
Re: washing cot bumper
My baby don’t sleep in cot now as he sleeps with me on the bed. However, during his first month, he sleeps in the cot and I see my confinement aunty washing the bumper as well as the quilt every 3 days. Coz my boy will “shoot” his pee sometimes when changing diapers then kenna the bumper. But confinement aunty told me for hygiene
Purpose, should wash bumper and quilt.

blackbatz,
how to fold along the lansinoh logo? Can explain? I'm also afraid that it'll leak. But tried 2 packets lying flat. So far so good though.

Re: Period
how long does ur 1st period after delivery ends huh?
I had mine for like more than 2 weeks. still got brownish red staining...so sian

verene, so long ah? mine that time was like my regular but prob stain 2-3days more..first period after delivery can be quite chaos..

Wendyg

I've also been eyeing for King Size bed since last few months of pregnancy...but hubby says no no...
Although my #1 can sleep independently at bedtime, but he still gets up in middle of night or very early morning, so hubby got to go his room n zz with him, else he would just snuggle in betw us in our bed.

Hee, actually I tot I'm crazy, b'coz I oredi start to think abt having #3 after #2 just come home after delivery. But I very scared tat I undergo c-sec for 3 times like tat, cant imagine the much harm done to my body leh. U consider that?

my boy drinks 60ml fr bottle... sianz.. now trying to get my folks to handle him b4 i go back to work.
If he continues to eat so little, he's gonna lose weight.

terrier
if your doc is good, then not so scared la. But c-sect must leave large enuf age gap hor.. seek your doc's advice

<font color="aa00aa">hello mummies!!

Wendy
me too. back to work busy. off work back home also busy. wanna spend some time at home do own stuff also cannot. everytime after patting them sleeping, i also kun. very tired.

Jan-08 Mummies Gathering #4
ah-ha! maybe we can have a gathering by organising a trial class for mummies+babies at kindermusik? Hee...

Rashes
my girl also have rashes at one side of face, back of neck. just like the url wendy posted. hmm. maybe i tell my ma dun put soap in bath. just use clear water and monitor. poor baby.

dawn
sweet picture! a...which is JJ and which is JQ?

Baby Care Festival
anyone gg?? when gg?</font>

verene,
my first period after delivery came immediately after my lochia ended. It went on for about 1 week then had spotting (brownish staining) for 3 days. However, the blood flow during the period wasn't as heavy as my usual menses before I got pregnant- donno why.

verene, yes double baby bonus...haha but only 3 mths maternity leave...they should double to 6 months 4 us. ;)

itok, thanks, it is double joy but also double tiring.... btw, how u know lochia ended and that is menses that has started? i tot my lochia has ended but still have brown discharges on and off these 2 weeks leh.

mei, JJ is smaller size, JQ is the bigger sis who always smiles alot.

re baby cot bumper,
i din wash leh....cos the babies have not started rolling, touching the bumper yet. so prob when they start coming in contact will wash more frequent bah. ;)

re baby fair at expo

me going too....but hubby says he wants to come along in case i buy too many things! haha, read that got osh kosh jumper going for 20 odd dollars...originally $58.....hubby says i crazy, so early buy these things. ;)

<font color="0077aa">hi mei,

thks for the tip on how to create blog skin/theme...i am still trying to get familiar with it thou

dawn,

I know lochia ended coz towards the end of the lochia (last few days) it was like reddish brown, then light brown... then after that, the next day, was fresh red blood though not a lot. like moderate flow. so i reckon it was start of menses.

Re: expo baby fair
me thinking of going too... but I wanna get stroller. Donno if got good buys/ discounts there.

<font color="aa00aa">steph, haha. i still wanan ask how u do the pig skin. is it part of the standard template or customised template??

wendy,
my #1 been having frequent constipation. how ah? can share a few tips? prune juice, water, fruits, i all done liao. dun realli help.

re: expo baby fair,
i gg to stock up baby products. haha ... got 2 kids, everything like used up very fast.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">steph,
no wonder. no time to explore. hee ... when i on longgggg leave then. haha ... longer than maternity leave.

tried yakult,vitagen,yogurt,fruit juice. dun work too. haiz...how how how!! see #1 push poo push until cry. always cry over hard stools. who can i consult?</font>

Wendy, no choice, neighbours not everytime is in. Now the new fridge is here. Can pump again. Also got the excuse to latch on cos very tired of pumping.

itok, my 1st menses is also heavy.

itok
Me oso wanna get stroller. Heee...
I'd prob go Fri morning, go times bookfair first then go baby fair.

wendyg / Steph
I just went Karri Clinic yest cos Elliot's rashes v bad, end up was eczema and fungal infection. I go to Karri Clinic cos short queue and not too far from my place. Dr Tay is quite friendly too. But Elliot and Nat goes to PD for more serious matters.