(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

when for my A5 scan yesterday..lucky baby blood flow and all look normal..but the doc also commentthat my boy too small size..dunnu gd or bad..

split,
if gynae assured u that bb is healthy, dun worry too much. Perhaps ask gynae/doc how u can improve yr diet to increase bb weight? Are u small built or underweight? Sometimes, bb grow tremendously during 3rd tri.

wow, so many of you show your tummy leh.

i shy....haha

anyway, my tummy around steph's size...but this time round, tummy seems to be bigger than my number 1?

Next Tuesday going to see gynae liao.

My tummy has grown liao....feedback from a colleague who has not seen me for a week...haha

weight wise...still hovering around 4 kg. Today i am 29 weeks liao.
For number one when i was abt 32 weeks, i put on 8 kg. This time round, much less. Mayb cos having a better diet? Last time i seems to be eating non stop...haha

Hope my boy growing well in me. Dunno how heavy is he now.

hi mums, sorry if this is not the appropriate thread to post but i urgently need a response to help my decision.

For those of you who entrust your children to a nanny/babysitter, is your child the only one being taken care of?

I have found a nice lady staying in my block to help me take care. However, she is currently taking care of her own granddaughter who is 2 yo.

People have cautioned me that the 2 yo being young and playful, may climb up the cot or somehow disturb my 2 month-old daughter when the nanny is busy with housework.

Anyone in the same situation? Pls let me know if this is a valid concern or am I being too worried.

Thanks lots.

prata queen,

just to give my two cents' worth to your situation. I understand how you feel becoz my mum used to be a babysitter a few years ago. And the parents who entrust their babies with my mum did not want her to be taking care of other young kids in case she gets distracted. At that time, both me and my sister were already in sec/ JC so it was acceptable for the parents.

Personally, from how I saw my mum took care of the baby, it really takes a lot of time and concentration. Not really wise to be taking care of other young kids at the same time and to me, 2 yo is considered young and sure need a lot of attention. That time, my dad was working night shifts so in the day, he helped to do housework and does some cooking so that my mum can concentrate on the baby.

hence, if i am you, unless the lady is a very experienced nanny or she can really handle her own grand-daughter and your baby at the same time, I would try to search for alternative nanny.

hi jennifera,

at first i was v happy to haf found this nanny cos she is really nice and lives in my block.

So, when i realised that this '1-toddler & 1-infant' arrangement was a potential problem, I was quite disappointed.

actually, come to think of it, my cousins n frens who entrust their infants to a nanny all have solo-attention from the nanny. Seldom does the nanny take care of 1 infant and 1 toddler - another hint that this arrangement may not work out to be in my infant's best interests.

thanks for replying

hi mommies to be,

I have 5 Brand New AVENT No. 1 (for Newborns)teats to sell.
Do PM me if anyone of you are interested.
Bought the AVENT bottles but don't need the
teats as my baby is already 4 months.

Willing to let go at 3 for $5 or 2 for $4.

Usually when we move towards the last trimester, will our stomach become harder?

The whole day today, my stomach feels hard like a ball. Dont wish to be paranoid. Its okay right? As long as I dont feel pain or contractions?

During our last trimester, is our baby supposed to move all the time during the day? Or as long as baby is moving once in a while during the day, its okay already.

gynae said if bb still dont put on weight maybe need to deliver early during dec cuz he suspect bb not absorbing the food mummy take...going for the test again in 2 weeks time..

Chaye,

I personally feel that i feel more comfortable when i am using the belly band. Can ease the heaviness of of tummy. Actually u can just usse a elastic tube to try first b4 buying the actual belly band.

Jacelyn, this belt thing is quite ex izzit? Saw one like $80.

Alamak, got a scratch on my tummy and I going for photoshoot next week. Jacelyn, what clothes u wore for ur shoots?

I feeling so bloated these days and alot of momvement at the lower part of my tummy..wriggle wriggle...

Mcfluffy where u teach? We in same biz wor..heehee....

Anyone here got Icy sg contact? Need to contact her...dunno where i left her no...pls pm me...thks..

Hi, Mcfluffy. Haha, I always think mummies who are teachers have got very good 'tai jiao' for their babies since mummy teaching all the time. My hubby is a teacher too. Never mind, you just tell your baby before you start your lessons that Mummy is scolding the naughty children because you are a teacher, nothing against him or her. Hee.

Mom2nat, I have the same problem. Keep waking up around 6am to pee. At first, I thought it's because hubby's alarm go off at that time. But even when he wakes up earlier so that he can deactivate the alarm before it rings, I still wake up. :/

Hi neighbour, you changed your nick to itok? Haven't heard from you in a while.

hee, babe, I'll PM you.. when is your EDD?

kitsune,
acutally i'm very worried my bb will have mood swing like me.. coz sometimes really get very frustrated with the children over trival things. i'm sure bb feels it too... luckily, school is ending!

mcflurry, dun worry too much. your baby will be ok.

Me now also always fed up with my staff and colleagues...cant help it one la

my number 1 that day, i more bad tempered...but my boy very cheerful boy

HI!
Can I check what is a gd nappy cream to invest in? Is one tube sufficient for a start? How abt this brand Drapolone? Heard not bad and also realise not cheap huh these nappy cream. What other better brands that is gd for bb sensitive skin in the market?

Re maid furniture.
For those of you who have maids, is it neceesary to get a bed frame.. or will a foldable thick mattress do just fine. Reason being cos her room is super small.. so can either accomodate a bed frame or a cupboard.. either something has to be small.. Any advises? and also any good lobangs arouund? TOt sofa bed not bad...does not take up too much space too but cant any cheap ones aroud as most sofa beds quite ex.. ya

Advises please?
Fern

KEki,
I think this depends on individual... Advises from my mum and confinement lady.. is no washing hair and bathing for at least first three weeks... just sponge self with the herbal water on the necessary areas. everypart of the body should only use boiled water/herbal water... think washing hair is a nono for one month... Even air con and fan is not advisable.. unless bobian.. maybe fan but not direct... anyway Feb is not a hot month so hopefully we can tahan lor.

I think since old pple says that.. just listen for our own well being lor.

for my #1, i started off with mustela, then he kena persistent nappy rash, but it went away with 1 application of desitin. So until now i'm still buying desitin for him. From what i heard fr other frens, drapolene, J&J etc all no use. Desitin most powerful. but then again, my fren's girl didn't even need to use any nappy rash cream.

Fern
why do u keep asking the same qstn abt nappy rash cream. i remember answering your qstn last wk. i said to start off with 1 tube, perhaps a sample. See how your bb's skin reacts to it before u buy sommore.

keki
my husband's grandma encouraged me to wash hair during confinement. She said hv to keep clean. So i used cool water boiled with herbs & washed hair daily. My aircon was also turned on all the time, i only emerged fr my room to hv meals, where i would sweat like a horse coz hv to avoid fan. then i ran back into the room again.

OMG, I cannot imagine myself not bathing or shampoo my hair for one month. The thought of it is really yucky. Hehe.... During my #1 confinement, I had been very "good" already as I had restricted myself to shampoo my hair on alternate day as I was staying at my mum's place. It was already killing me. "Ang Moh" got no confinement, they are still very fit & healthy also.

Chaye,

Elastic tube is the tube top which ladies can wear one!!!! My belly band cost me $55. U can check out at Maternity Exchange and Mothercare at marina square.

Babe,

I wore a white tube and white capris for the photo shoot.

Hi, I think I will try my best to endure the first week. After that, think will wash hair using the herbal solution. For the two weeks when I had chickenpox, my mum also didn't allow me to wash hair, can only shower using boiled lemongrass solution so I had some experience. One thing good is it's my CL who will prepare everything for me, my mum and MIL not staying with me so at least they won't nag hopefully.

Hi, another 2 months and some of us with earlier EDDs will be delivering. Anyone packed their hospital bag yet? I don't know what to pack. Found a list on an old thread but not sure if it's complete. Anyone has any comments, please share. I'll be delivering at KKH, A Class. Thanks.

1) Outfit for baby + cap
2) Swaddle Blanket
3) Mittens & Botties
4) Nipple sore cream
5) Wet Wipes
6) Baby handkerchief / Bib for feeding
7) Cordblood collection kit

Mummy
1) PJs with front opening (how many sets?)
2) Go home clothes
3) Sweater
4) Breast Pump (Optional)
5) Nursing Bras
6) Disposable panties and sanitary pads
7) Slippers (not sure if KKH provide toiletries & slippers?)
8) Original marriage certificate

wendyg

Wahhhh...your hubby's grandma so modern one ah...tot normally old people from dat generation will insist on traditional way.

Itok, my baby weighs 1.4kg at 28wks 4days. Doc said "slightly" above average...i hope it's jus cos she's tall (her daddy very tall) hehe..

Re : Confinement.
My plan is just to not wash hair for maybe 3-7days. See how long i can tahan. After dat, dont care liao. But will definitely on aircon, but not fan though cos cannot blow direct wind ma...on aircon shud be ok bah...jus make sure we cover ourselves up. Ask me to "no aircon, no fan" can die! :p

Kitsune
I think i save the bag packing list somewhere...wait i go chk it out and maybe post it here. Off-hand, can only add:

1) maybe your gynae's hospital admission letter to u (think everyone has this, rite?)
2) Skincare for mummy
3) Digital cam or videocam
4) Cotton pads (for cleaning wounds)
5) Charger for mobile phone

Anything else?

Gleneagles

What to BringPack your suitcase after your 34th week. Prepare two days' clothing for a normal delivery and four days' for a caesarean section.

Bring:
Brassieres
Nightgowns with front openings
Baby mittens and booties
Maternity towels with loops
Slippers
Disposable diapers/wet wipes
Toiletries for yourself
One baby suit for the day of discharge
A warm jacket for your husband

During your stay, the hospital provides a basic toiletries pack for you, as well as vests, wrapping blankets and a box of tissues for your baby.

Thomson Medical

What to Bring For Your Stay For maternity patients, please bring along your:
personal nightgowns (front-open types for easier breastfeeding)
maternity brassieres
cardigan or dressing gown
bedroom slippers
sanitary belt (optional)
sanitary towels (optional)
polythene bags (for your soiled linen)

Note: It is advisable to have a bag ready with these necessary items packed 2 to 4 weeks befoe estimated delivery date.We will provide the following for your newborn baby:
baby vests
disposable diapers
toiletries
a baby bag
wrapping blanket
a pair of mittens
Basic toiletries throughout your stay with us will be provided. However, you may also like to bring along your personal clothing, cosmetics and toiletries for a more comfortable stay. You are advised against bringing large sums of cash or valuables.

Mount Alvernia

What To Bring - Original Documents
Identity Card or Birth Certificate (if under 15 years old) or Passport (for foreigners), Spouse's / Parent Identity Card
Doctors Admission Letter
Previous medical health report eg. X-Ray, Laboratory Reports, Blood Results Form etc
Letter of guarantee from your employer / insurance company if part or all of your medical expenses are to be borne by your company / insurance company.
A listing of medication, which you are presently taking, and the dosage.

Personal Items
Pyjamas or night dress
Non-slip slippers
Toiletries

For the Mother-To-Be: (It is advisable to pack what you need 1 month before your expected delivery)
Night dress with front opening for breastfeeding
Bras (Larger than normal size)
Socks (to be used in delivery suite)

For New Born
2 pairs of mittens
A set of baby's clothing to be used during discharge
For Father-To-Be
Bring along a sweater, as the Delivery Suite may be too cold for some.
Valuables
Please do not bring along excessive cash and valuables. Please leave your valuables at home as the hospital will not be able to accept responsibility for losses.
Deposit
You will need to make a deposit on admission. You can pay your hospital deposit by cash, credit card or NETS. The amount of deposit varies with your room type and also whether you are using your Medisave.
If total bill exceeds $1000, a notice will be given to you informaing you to top up your deposit during your Hospital stay. If your company is registered with our hospital for credit facilities or if you are covered by medical insurance, please present a letter of guarantee from your employer or insurance company. This letter exempts you from paying a deposit on admission.
Use of Medisave Account
You can use Medisave to cover hospitalization and day surgery expenses. However, it does not cover outpatient expenses except those treatment approved by Ministry of Health.
There is a limit on the amount claimable. Medisave withdrawal limit per day for inpatients is $450 and $300 for day surgery with effect from 1st May 2007.
In addition, surgery fees of between $150 and $5,000 is claimable depending on the type of surgery.

Mount Elizabeth

What to pack

Pack your suitcase two weeks in advance. Bring along:

Two bras
Two nightgowns with front openings
Two pairs of baby mittens and booties
A set of baby's clothing and wrapping blanket to bring your baby home
The hospital provides all vests, blankets and disposable diapers for your baby while in the hospital. It also provides you with a toiletries pack for your convenience.

Good Sunday morning ladies,

Went for my checkup yesterday and did another scan. The blood flow to my baby is healthy. He is about 1.35kg at 29weeks. Doc is happy with his growth, but said he might not be one of those BIG 3.5kg baby after all. Think no matter how much I eat, he is still growing steadily. Guess will let him take his own course. =)

Noticed that my baby is very active at night. I was woken up by his kicks on Fri morning. I was not able to go back to sleep, so I noticed that he was actually busy moving about and kicking about. =) He is a bit naughty. Wait till I am asleep before he comes out to play. *LOL*

Mrs Wong BB's book....
Can I ask those who have been to Mrs Wong's pre-natal class at TMC, where can I get her books? She kinda mentioned the books in her class.

Her class was very a hands-on class yesterday. It was really funny seeing my hubby changing diaper/ holding the plastic baby yesterday =)

Re: confinement food
for 2nd time mummies, what kind of confinement food did the CL/MIL/mum cook for you to eat during confinement? Can share?

were any of the dishes cooked in ginger coz I heard ginger may cause the baby to turn yellow?! is that true?

Ah Capp, if u want, I have one brand new spare set to sell off consisting of 3 books (childcare, childbirth and pregnancy)...pls pm me if u interested...Retailing at $18/book at tmc but I wanna just get rid of it at $10 each...no point of me keeping..

Thanks, VioletIce and MyLife. Think I'll be more kiasu and include everything cos I don't know what KK provides. Went to the website but it's too brief so not useful. Since they advise us not to bring the bag during delivery, think I better ask hubby to put it in the car first, after I deliver than bring everything up.

Anyone bought or thinking of buying a videocam for baby? I'm looking for one within the budget of $1k, saw a Panasonic one at Best Denki around that price range. Sony is also supposed to be good, but prices generally higher. Those HD ones cost over $2k, heart pain to pay so much. :p

kitsune,
I also considering buying videocam for Baby.. Prefer sony one too, because seemed likr it is better and easy to navigate. My budget around yours, thinking of waiting for Sitex fair at end of this mth then buy. :p

itok,
I heard that during confinement, don't eat TOO MUCH of ginger. Meaning, not every dish need to have ginger as ginger might cause bb to have jaundice.

hi mcfluffy,

yup that was what i heard too.. so im not sure and hence wanna ask. thanks for your reply- will wait to hear more views

Can't keep my eyes open, have not been sleeping weel for the past few nights...keep waking up...tossing & turning...baby keeps kicking...sian. Is this the beginning of more sleepless nights to come??

Yvonne
Hee... I hardly have good night sleep ever since #1 hor. So now can sleep try to, or else take naps. I had to pee a few times at night, then when #1 arrived, she is a light sleeper, dun really sleep thru kind. Even if she does, I gotta wake up and pump milk. As she got older, at night still wake up "mommy mommy"... end up became a habit I will wake up a few times at night. Even when I go tour without my girl, I oso will wake up. Only once in a blue moon I can sleep thru from 12mn to 7am!! And I will wake up "WOW"... Heee...

Mom2nat,
Really "pei fu" you. I'm those kind who can sleep like a log once my head touches the pillow...haha. I NEED my uninterrupted sleep every night...seems like it is all history now...sob sob...really struggling to keep my eyes open now.

mom2nat
same here..

yvonne
i was like u.. if i woke in middle of the night, i would get migraine next day. But once i became a mom, my body gradually got used to it. I was amazed at the transformation. Same for my friend, who used to wake near noon during hostel days. When she was bfg, she diligently got up 3am everyday to pump so that her girl gets enuf ebm while she's at work.

split hmm ya i think the weight is slightly below average leh ..... hmmmm ..... i oso abit worried abt the weight of my baby too ....

So ZZZzzzz...Went for my friend's wedding dinner at JB last nite. Came back already 1.30am...only slept for 5 hrs...so tired.

Split, are u working? Try to take leave n rest more. Some say eat "durian" mayb help baby's weight gain...Have u try?

I think its good that the baby is kicking, that means baby is healthy. I wish my baby will kick me more, sometimes her movements are so gentle, I would wonder why her kicks are so soft and subtle, makes me worry a bit. I thought supposedly the movements will become more obvious as they grow.

So when we are admitted in, we don't bring up our bags?

Are your visits to the doctor becoming more frequently now?

angelsky,
gal gal is more gentle one...dun worry. Or mayb yr skin is a bit thick, so u dun feel her kick so obvious.
My appointment now is 3 wks interval..after 34th week will be 2 wks ba...

mine also like that leh... for a few days his kick is so powerful, den for the next few days, it become lesser and less powerful.. make me so worry