(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Agree with you ladies, communications is the key. Hubby knew that but just that he's overwhelmed by his work. Cos it's his own biz I can't just ask him to cut down / take an easier route / take a break now. I can see that he's always trying to fulfil whatever he needs to. Just sad that after a days' work, he really has no energy to talk to me on a more personal basis....boo but he does calls in whenever he needs to rant.

morning mummies

i do agree that communication is the keyword. however, some mummies here have hubbies who are more typically male (aka less talk, is a problem solver than soother etc)...

you all know that in a man-woman relationship, women wants to talk about "problems" to feel better but all men wants to do is to talk less, think more on how to solve the problem.

we mummies will all agree that communication is the keyword. BUT but but from a man's perspective, this may not be the most important part of our spousal relationship.
to them, perhaps providing for the family (aka solving problems) or another way is more important than yakking

some men choose to walk away and cool off when in arguement; some men choose to talk it out else cannot sleep....

im not saying all men dont talk; but from my own experience, i can see that my hb is more willing to communicate (compared to previously when just married) only because there is a need to resolve problems, settle issues, come to agreement etc
else, my hb is typically (male) someone who thinks action = louder than words

but of course, married liao, have kids liao = cannot turn back time. so it is our combined hard work to make each marriage work. but hor i got seen cases where the hb is super silent and wife is typically woman. in the end marriage cant work out (even with kids) coz the wife is frustrated at hb even after "training/coaching" him for the past 5-10yrs to open up but hb stubbornly refuse to change n communicate more

yo mummies, lighten up the mood a bit

some info from ST today:-

Toy'r'us shows/meet and greet
1. Go Diego go! The Iguana sing-along meet and greet
Date: 9-20 dec
showtime: mon-sun; 12pm, 4.30pm & 7pm (no shows on Tuesdays)

2. Spongebob Squarepants meet and greet
Date: 9-20 dec
Showtime: mon-sun; 2.30pm (no shows on Tuesdays)

3. Barney "Live" Musical Show/Meet & Greet
Date: 24nov-6dec
showtime: mon-fri; 2pm & 7pm.....sat & sun; 1pm, 4pm & 7pm (no shows on Tuesdays)

Takashimaya:

1. Mr Men & Little Miss Christmas Musical
Date: 3dec-11dec
Showtime: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm daily
*Fri 3 dec 1pm exclusive meet and greet for takashimaya credit/debit cardmembers only

2. Yo Gabba Gabba! Musical
Date: 22nov-1dec
Showtime: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm daily
*Mon 22 nov 1pm exclusive meet and greet for takashimaya credit/debit cardmembers only

3. Bandai Characters meet and greet
Date: 12nov-21nov
Showtime:
Masked Rider Den-O: 1pm & 5pm
Tamagotchi: 2pm & 6pm
Power Rangers: 3pm & 7pm
(no shows on 15nov)

pixie,
But hor, communication is not about talking only. Communication is about how to let your partner knows about what you think/want and you know what he thinks/wants. One do the talking, the other listens. If only talking and no one listens, talk for what? It's definitely 2 ways.

It's very common that men usually don't like to talk much, and you can't change them to become talkative. He should let you have a channel to voice out what you have in your mind, and at the same time, he has a channel to voice out his. Don't have to be like you tell him 10 things, then he has to tell you 10 things. Usually in our household, the ratio is about 20:1 as in I talk 20 sentences, then he talks 1 sentence only. That's okay, as long as he feels that he has told me what he wants to say in that sentence and I understand him with that sentence. But when I don't catch what he want to say, I will prompt further.

Besides, don't forget we have e-mail, SMS, MMS, Whatsapp, Facebook, so many way to communicate, not necessarily just talking. Use the best or many different ways to work out the best communication mode for you.

Pixie, afternoon already la, u still in lala land...lolz..

You are right on! Men are more of action speaks louder then words. But silent in marriage are big no-no in long run, unhealthy for the r/s.It's normally women make the most effort in communicating cos don't we all dream of a everlasting r/s with hubby? Most men i believe will tell their women " who knows the future?" :p

Kam,
yes so many channels..haha..when i gets really fed up with hubby, i'll email him (normally cos i can't sleep cos of the problem and he's already in lala land). abt the ratio, i agree with you also but i'm very greedy, hope he will talk to me about feelings and more concern about my feelings.

kam
precisely. tak for what? if wifey does all the talking and hb never say anything

btw, your ratio is so high! and i thought mine (ard 1:10 or 1:15) very high liao hurhur...

and yes, i've really seen cases where marriage breaks down coz only wife yakking and yet hb never open his golden mouth to communicate. 1 way traffic, sure die..........

luvv
opps...yah man, today bz with work so only got time to pop in now...

luvv, i used to sms hubby when i am feeling frustrated but he is already oblivious n fast asleep too. :p

pixie, what's her name? starts with x too? I remember u were considering Xena long time ago right? ;)

hi, anyone had brought their kiddo to PEEKABOO at leisure park? any comments?

tinkin of bring my girl ther tomorrow for play.

pixie, what ur no.2 name?

kitsune
wahhahahaha xena? that was a joke larrrrrr

yes mummies, start with "xan" too
xandria

background story:
hb's name is alex, so he say if i call both of them (hb + son), i dont have to call both names. just say "alexander"! will do

now, if i call hb + daughter, i only need to call "alexandria"!

super lame but true

aqua,
me! brought my boys there last fri. find it rather small compared to Polliwogs, but its good that they dun have time limit. However, maybe due to smaller area, i find it quite messy especially when there are older kids who are rough, knocking each other down. To them, maybe its fun, but not for younger kids, so really gotta look out for our kids, but we cant follow them all the way as certain places are too cramped for adult to walk about or even be there, which in turn makes it harder to see and control where u want ur kids to go.
so i still prefer Polliwogs, feel safer for young kids.

luca, thks for feedback. we hav been to polliwogs a few times, so tot of tryin peekaboo as we were ther for dinner las week, but kinda of late liao, so we dint go in.
i tink ther is another playground at houg/kovan called bouncing kids. but abit out of way from my plc.

pixie...hmm, i tot xandrea shld be this spelling? is it another variation -xandria?
very unique

aqua
i like xandrea but my hb is quite firm on xandria...but anyway, both names sound the same so im actually ok with either one

oooooooooo got such place at hougang/kovan? should try 1 day before i shift away from sk lo!

kitsune
i kept thinking it was such a lame thing to name our son like that. since hb insisted, i ok lor. but i dont want to make it looked simple like Xander (sorry steph!!) so we changed the spelling a bit lah

but hor, my neighbour kept calling my boy xandol (like chendol)....faintz rite

so now this time round we also change the spelling a bit. to be fair to both kids

Kam,
yeah, u should take a look if u can.
They have trampoline, maybe HR will like it? but i dun like, coz dat day some kiddo vomitted outside after bouncing with a few rough n hyper ang moh kids. eeks!!

who has been to MBS ? What's there to see/do/eat ? Can bring kids ? or just go there pator kind har ?

Chaye,
The only exciting thing abt MBS is the infinity pool. But only guests can use so unless you stay.

For the sky garden, you can save your $20 and not go there coz overpriced liao. It is not bad just that I won't pay $20 loh (BTW I went up FOC coz friend stayed at MBS).

As for the shopping mall, there were alot of shops not opened when I went in Jun.. Nothing to see/shop/eat... Can also forget about the sampang boat ride which is $10 and see nothing.

However, I am thinking of going at night to see the lightings at Helix Bridge and take some nice pics of the Marina Bay skylight, with my kids.

Chaye,
Absolutely agree with Krystle. Don't pay $20 to go up to the Sky Garden, you will regret (I did!). Shops are those branded one. Nothing to eat, the only eateries are overpriced.

Chaye
MBS v boring for kids. No playground. Not much food selections, mostly exp. Carpark exp, if valet, wait so long oso. Skypark, v hot. Look see only lor, unless you stay, or else can't swim. Helix bridge, look see oso, oso hot. Basically, I find outside of MBS v hot! Haha... Where i walk oso hot, not much shelter. If you go cloudy day, prob more enjoyable.

re:sahm
have been one for 4 months already and it has been really enjoyable n fulfilling to be with s although it's a tiring job. how i wish money is not a concern because if i ever go back to workforce, it must be due to $ and never other reasons. Pros outweigh cons definitely although s has been exhibiting weird behaviour which drives me up the wall. anyway, it seems like he is back to normal now, maybe because we are back to KL?

Chaye
I went up free cos my friend stay there free(hb gamble there, gain pts for hotel stay). Guests there can actually bring friends go up, the security kind of close 1 eye.

The pool there is quite cold when I went there, Xavier had a great time but he is shivering!

Kid nothing much to do, food also nothing, everything almost renovating. End up go marina square and settle meals.

wa Tongtong, 4 months already? time flies. glad u r at kl with family support for Shawn.

MBS, wish I got free hotel stay too but we hardly gamble. ;p

pauline, yea, time flies hor! when i'[m back he sticks to others and not me hehe:p so you confirm going back to work next year>?? hai, think i will be very sad if i were to to back to work. at most i wanna work half day only - called by my boss to go back next year.

mylvera
do you mean the one inside the sports complex?
i heard very good reviews specifically for this branch lah. if can get in, then good for u

on the whole (as a brand), i dunno wor

tongtong, I will try and go for property agent exam next year. If I pass the exam, then will try property line cos my contact said if don't mind earning less, can do it part time basis. If I don't pass, then may look for relief teaching cos I was preggie when I taught once only. But only work on flexible time basis first until RL reaches 18 mths cos I want to spend some time with RL. I neglected her this year cos of Cheh Cheh. Now that she is more aware, I want to spend some time reading and singing and bringing her to playground/park and library like what I did with RaeAnne while cheh cheh is in CC. haha.

mylvera, yup, agree with pixie. Heard it's a franchise so not all are good. I don't like the CH near my house, though it's non air con environment. Simply cos the teachers are really young and the facilities are too bare for my liking. :p

Morning, mummies!
Yes, TGIF but busy weekend ahead. Need to bring my boy for vaccination and attend friend's baby full mth.

Kitsune,
Good for you! Wish you all the luck. Hope you can pass and embark on a new career.
I am also thinking if you can also take up tutoring which is flexible too.

Anyone knows where I can get a reasonably priced christmas tree? The ones I saw in taka yest, not so cheap. Today gg to check out Vivo.

thanks mummies for the feedback.

pixie,

not referring to the sports complex one. the cc that my kids are attending will be taken over by cherie hearts next yr .. so wondering if i shd still continue to stick to the cc or change?

haiz mummies
x started coughing i think on monday, it was just a slight one, no phlegm....machiam itchy throat...
yesterday night it got very bad following by difficulties in breathing so he vomitted out his bedtime snack + milk...
today my mil brought him to see a GP. doc says its a viral infection in the chest/lungs. airway blocked and lots of phlegm
he gave us ard 4-5 kinds of medicine, including antibiotics

*heartpain* first time x gets such problem

hey can i ask mummies, r antibiotics is really necessary in this scenario?

Thanks, krystle, I did think of tutoring too. But cos I'm not a trained teacher, rates are quite low esp if teach languages only so I'm not very keen to spend 2-3 hrs (incl travelling time) for $50 or less. :p

Kam, because I'm Teochew and we always pronounce it as Cheh Cheh in dialect (and not Jie Jie in mandarin) with emphasis on the 'ch' sound. ;)

Pixie, normally my GP and PD give antibiotics as second line ie. 2nd round of medications after the first round of medication (w/o antibiotics) don't work.

pixie,
Infection in the chest/lung is usually cos by bacteria, not virus. I would recommend giving him the antibiotics to avoid any possible complication.

kitsune,
Oh teochew, I don't know teochew at all. I know a bit of hokkien but it's not pronouced like teochew hor.

krystle,
We are thinking of bringing the kids to watch the Pinocchio this weekend. And maybe go to Pulau Ubin also.

Kam, hokkien and teochew sound similar. For teochew, by right should be 'Ah1 Cheh4' but 'Cheh2 Cheh2' is less formal and sounds more like teochew 轻声。

kam
thanks thank i always knew i could count on you for qns like these
u could be our jan08 GP consultant liao leh heehee

Mom2nat,
Thanks! That's good to know. We are bringing the 2 kids (not that we have a choice). HR can definitely sit through. And I think XY would be able to too.

Pixie,
Don't mention. I cannot lah, not medically trained leh.

morning mummies !

thanks to the MBS feedback.. think in this case no need to go there for now.

Pixie
my boy also not well. yellow mucus and cough. Brot him to see GP last nite and was given antibiotic for 7 days.

Kam !!!
can you tell me your experience to Pulau Ubin after you come back ?? I've wanting to go there with the kids ! I've not been there at all leh :p

Pinnochio ? Is it a movie in cinema now ?

Kam,
Oh you are going to the Pinocchio Musical?
I was tempted too but worried if my kids are too young to understand musicals...

Kitsune,
Ya hoh, tutoring rates are low for us non-teachers. I tried 1/2 yr and gave up coz not earning.

Pixie,
Oh no! Hopes X recover soon. My boy's voice is slightly hoarse for a few days liao. Also not sure why and never fed med since he is not coughing at all... Monitoring again and see how.

oh ya.. pinnochio is a musical ! I did a search on google

anyone going for Walking with Dinosaurs ? Tickets not cheap though.

Peak - Fri Night, Sat and Sun shows:
Standard - S$148, S$108, S$78, S$48

Off Peak - Wed, Thurs and Fri Matinee shows :
Standard - S$138, S$98, S$68, S$38