(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

tongtong
x recovered from fever on friday liao...sat n sun chut this pattern

kam
no leh, not teething. he had some stomach discomfort but the way he's throwing a fit at everything and anything, seems more like a psychological one

i observed him while he cried on sat. he was very very frustrated. when his crying tapered off liao, and as though he remembered it again, started a new bout of legs kicking, screaming. exactly as though he is very furious about something.

haiz really dunno what he's angry about.

but i can understand his feelings; i had these "meltdowns" during childhood that i still remember how it feels.....super super angry, frustrated...all the anger inside me

hahaha inherited from me ah?

tongtong
got
i tried every trick i know liao. the thing is, a small thing will blow his fuse off and he would be screaming, kicking legs, crying....instantly!

aiyah hope this will pass quickly. i know my boy's "ben3 xing4" is not like that kind.

Mandy cos we not creative enough to think of 2 casement window n fixed panels. My handyman who I hired for some odd jobs in the house, told me that only after I installed the grilles so I am passing his wisdom though too late for me. Hiaz...

abt kindy:
i've decided to enroll my boy in PCF (now changed name to little wings??!) for N1, and if the quality is not that good in N1, will then move him to another kindy (perhaps the one at the church)...

i thought that since PCF allows my boy to enroll starting from 30mths, then i can enroll him half yr earlier (as compared to the church kindy), hopefully can improve his speech. rather than wait till he is 3 then enroll him; maybe by then a bit late for him to pick up speech (if he really got no improvements at home)

pixie
me too. i also decide to continue my boy at PCF for N1. then monitor to see his progress. if not so ideal, then will find alternatives like the church kindy.

so... X will be starting in 3 months time... !!

jess
errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
i told my mil lah, she is keen
but she havent "talked" to my hb leh....
and i havent checked with her if she has changed her mind or not. if start at 36mths, then no difference choosing church kindy or PCF liao coz i wanted x to enroll early than 36mths...thats my goal...

so, right now, still hanging in limbo lor...
maybe got time tok to my mil...yest she say will take form for me to fill in for PCF but i scared she say "no wat, i tot fill in for next yr enrollment, not this yr one?"

geesh

pauline,

For wrought iron, must make the opening kind issit? Cannot do sliding right? You meaning of fixed meant that it cannot be opened?
You can opt for a casement at each side and 2 at the centre instead??

pixie,
I also enrol Z in Little Wings at blk 553, he is starting on 5th July
Which branch outlet u enrol X? Little Wings is now under NTUC first campus! So u opt for full day or half day cc? if only 2hr a day class, how much they charge u?

Hey Kam,
Last Sat, we visted The Playhouse @ 7 Rochester Park. Guess what we found? 2 Ikea kitchen set! Z loves playing with it woh...later i post pic

pixie
nvm.. gd start liao.. i believe shld be can start early. its just 2 hours mah. ur MIL is still the one taking care.

tell ur hubby tat at least she can rest 2 hours a day. gd mah

steph,

Have u decided to go for the ipoh convoy?
My husband was just telling me about the Playhouse at Rochester. how was it? Tell me more...

mandy,
ipoh convoy me & hb very keen (we almost sign up last wk) BUT gotta give it a miss
I am so disappointed
no choice cos my MIL couldn't help babysit Z & R for us over the wkends. Reason being MIL's youngest sister suffered a relapse from her cancer, she is in her 4th stage...final stage so now no one in their family can help her except my MIL to care for her during the wkends as she stay alone.

Re: The Playhouse
Me & hubby love the playhse, is children friendly & the toys (including story books, thomas train track, fisher-price home playset, quality ELC toys, play pretend costume, lego, slide with pool of balls, complete Ikea kitchen play set etc & more) are pretty new & clean enviroment..maybe is a newly set up place. The 2nd floor house private rooms for older children & open for booking for private party etc. But the downside, we hate the restaurant...food was good (but ex, our bfast set cost $40+) but lousy service. There is no indoor dining, all outdoor which was ok for us but lousy service...the restaurant lack cutlery for the kids...and only provide adult ones when ask for. Don't go there on a hot sunny day...u'll get toasted under the sun although with shades...no gd for the kids lah...better for late evening though.

tongtong,
Yes kids need to pay $6 for 1st hour on wkends. The playhse & restaurant charge separately meaning u can go there for play, not necessary to dine there

Kam,

Forgot to answer you question. I did mine at GP. Do not bring J to the PD anymore "TOuchWood".

Hep A jab, will u be giving?? MY GP advised me too cos he says can transmit thru water so he says if he is going school soon. Should get it done!

Steph,
Wow, sounds like a nice place. All the toys are pretty branded ones. As compared to the SOL playground, I felt the toys there are those unwanted/spare toys and I actually don't feel easy letting HR play with the toys, the indoor one. The playhouse is also outdoor? Breakfast $40 per pax? Rochester park is so near my workplace but I didn't know about this place. Steph, you very on is trying out places like this hor :)

Mandy,
HR has already been vaccinated with HepA, cos it's part of the packages. HR rarely falls sick (**touchwood**). We still bring him back to Dr Keoy cos we only trust him, and since XY still goes to him. Probably until both of them are older than 3 yo or something.

steph
i enrol X in yuhua blk 108.
we are different, yours is JW while mine is JE. 5th july....hmmm..very fast liao hor?? dunno what i should prepare LOL

hey your timing of the 2 hours is from when to when? mine is 1-3pm, super sianz, nap time for x wor

Kam,

J's PD was also Dr Keoy. :p
My GP's medicine same as those given by PD but much cheaper. So even though i stay at Punggol, we travel all the way to Alexandra to see him. And even with prior appt, we also have to wait. He is that popular.

Kam,

Oh ya SOL indoor playarea, the toys are pretty old & unwanted like u mentioned. The playhouse is totally different. Is indoor with air-con & fully cushioned (they used the normal foam mat like puzzle type) for the whole area...about the size of 3 hdb bedroom together? u know rochester is old colonial bungalow type so the area is big. The bfast is $40+ for 2 pax. Me & hubby enjoyed bringing both kids to such places rather than shopping mall cos it's crowded over wkends. I love the nature & outdoor but with such hot weather nowadays, hb felt more comfortable to stay indoor for the kids unless swimming

hi mummies. ;-)

Kam: i was thinking if you bought the kitchen set for HR. Maybe boy doesn't like cooking or he waits for his wife to cook for him in the future. LOL

I want to buy the Doctor pretend play set but my hubby says he doesn't want any of his kids to become dr, so he doesn't like the idea to buy this toy. But lucky for him that I haven't found any nice set, otherwise I will still buy coz I know my DDs would love to play with it.

Tongtong: did you venture your weekend with your S? ;-) I am buying the portable potty for her coz she refuses to sit on public toilet (maybe becuse it is big for her

Just now I cook the vegie soup for lunch for Jo. The soup tastes and smells so good. She ate one big bowl again. ;_))

When I just finished cooking, she come in and sniff sniff in the kitchen and says: good and yummy. hahahha. Make me so happy.

steph,
Should ask my hub if he wants to try out. $40+ for 2 is not that bad lah, English breakfast? Yes, I remember your hub not really keen on outdoor though you are okay with outdoor. Mummies who doesn't like outdoor are JanBB and krystle :)

You know there is a restaurant at HorseCity, where staccato is. We went to have breakfast there everytime HR went for his music class. That place is also ex, but food are good, and the service are good. The staff can remember us already and they can call our kids' name, and get the table ready for us with the same setting that we want :) Hubby is so glued to Staccato that he doesn't want to try other option (seimpi for example).

Blessedbaby, mission successful on Saturday but failed on Sunday. Saturday I brought him to splash park, he wore the Konfide thermal wear ( wah super tight!!), so I told him that the suit is so tight that he couldnt fit the diaper in already. Told him to signal me when he wanted to pee. So off we went, he din wet the car seat, yeah!! And din pee during the play. On Sunday, I told him not to wear diaper anymore when we go to the gym class but he protested and bring me the diaper and insists on putting it on. I din have time to preach him yesterday cuz we were running late to the gym class, and hubby said din want “accident”, scared he peed in the class. Nevertheless, this weekend I’m trying again. I think he is too lazy to go pee in public toilet n prefer peeing in the diaper.

Well, I think he is not confused at all, he knows to pee inside the diaper if he is on one. But he will go to the toilet if he is not wearing one. Just need to psycho him not to wear diaper when we go out now.

Envy you !! how I wish to cook so much good food for S now too hee. But yeah, last day coming soon! Will have more time with him already. The lentil soup is really nice. I just wonder whether I can make the same pot of lentil soup without putting in garlic or onions.

pixie,

The centre asked me to prepare:
A school bag with
- 2 sets of clothing (no school uniform yet, will buy on 1st day of school)
- a towel if we need him to shower & plastic bags to put the dirty clothes in
- one milk bottle & FM sufficient for our child to have
- about 4pcs of diapers

i enrol Z for full day cc leh, not 2 hourly. That's why i wanna find out how much yr cc charge for 2hourly since he wont be there for full day unless my ILs out of town etc.

blessedbaby,
It really amazed me how can you handle 2 kids ALL DAY and still cook almost every meal??!!! Do you have 4 hands or what? You are really a supermom! I also wish I could cook more for HR, I reckon even a simple pasta dish with veg and egg is still so much more healthier than the outside food, and he loves my cooking! I should really put more effort, I have to change my mindset!!!

Steph,
That's exactly what HR brings to school everyday. Plus a water bottle. The only different is cos he goes full day, so every Monday gonna bring the clean bedsheet and blanket to school, and every Friday, bring back home to wash, so these two days his school bags is bursting :)

tongtong: Glad to hear that S is doing well. Hey, it was his first adventure right? Should praise him!! Well done well done.
On Sun, we went to church and Jo told me she wanted to poo. I quickly bring her to toilet, and she sat there for few seconds with me holding on her coz the toilet seat is big. If I didnt hold on her, I think she can fall inside there. Poor girl, no support for her to do business, she asked me to let her down. So I saw her struggled, I have to let go coz I also don't want her to be stress abt this, (it was her first try too). So in the end, I had to clear the mess.
This afternoon, we are out and about again, let see how. ;-)))

After this, how to train them to go diaperness at night huh??

Do you want the recipe for this healthy vegetable soup? I can PM you. It's very yummy and healthy. ;-))))

Why can't you use onion and garlic in the soup?

Pixel: hope your by get better soon. I wish I could help you.

Kam,

Can tell me what is nice to eat at Ipoh and which stall is it?? ehhehe....May be asking Hubby to go Ipoh instead:p and along the way up to Ipoh, are there any interesting sights that we can see or stop or nice food:p

mandy,
What's the speed your hub will normally go on Malaysian highway? If we go 130-140kmph, will reach Ipoh in about 5-6 hours, with 1-2 short (10min) breaks. Last CNY, we left our house at 3.30am and reached Ipoh just before 9am for our delicous dim sum breakfast, and the kids were sleeping soundly during the entire car ride :)

Kam,
I took the Amercian breakfast. I've forgotton what hb had but also breakfast set with toast while mine is pancakes
The food is good but for almost same variety of food, u can get it from Swenson for perhaps less than $25! Once in a while ok lah
The scramble egg is good for the kids...Z & R ate alot!

Yea i know the restaurant at HorseCity when we were there for the Staccato trial. Maybe one day we will try there too but the con is no playarea for the kids cos Z cannot sit still for his meal one

Blessedbaby, yea first adventure if we din count his trip to ah ma’s house? Hehe. Yea we always praised him la. He managed to say my name yesterday , very happy hehe. But after a few hours when I asked him again what is my name, he said his daddy’s name instead, really funny and always made us laugh haha.

As for pooing, in fact at home, last time I asked him to stand and squat on the toilet bowl because I haven’t bot the kids’ one yet. But he seemed to be a bit scared so he couldn’t poo in the end, so ended up pooing on the toilet floor instead.

Hey good luck!! Will share with u again after this weekend haha.

As for going diaperless at night, I don’t wanna train him in fact. I will wait till the day when he can wake up dry.. hehe.

Yea, pm me the veg soup recipe! Or message me in FB, thanks!!

Oh, because my hubby is sensitive with onion and we haven’t been eating garlic for very long time too. But we do take garlic when we eat Indian food.

Kam: have to bring bedsheet and blanket to school for him to take nap during the day? I didn't know that.. I guess if yes, I have to buy 1 set for Jo too coz next year, she will go to school too. ;-))))

I am not super mom. I also don't know how could I do all this for sure. Maybe because I have 2 good and cooperative kids (Jo can entertain her sister every well. Both of them are getting along well). The only time I feel everything is in rush is early evening when I have to bathe #2 and send her to bed early and cooking at the same time. But luckily, hubby is home at that time, so he will handle Jo for me while I am busy with #2. Other than that, it is a smooth sailing.
I love cooking (because I DISLIKE outside food). I will make every effort to cook at home. Even on weekend, hubby would always suggest us to eat outside but I know we wouldn't enjoy it coz we don't like putting salts in our food. Plus we don't know what they put in so for health purpose, we prefer to eat at home.
Once in a while we also have junk food too.
Jo also prefers home-cooked food. She can eat alot. She is now 15kgs already. Very chubby girl.

tongtong: Send you message on FB later or maybe in afternoon, coz we are going to pottery class soon.
Just no, I managed to ask Jo to wee before her nap time. yeah. She is really a good girl. I really want her to "forget" her nappy asap. ;-))) So my diaper bag can be lighter a bit. ;-))

tongtong,
For me, yes we left Z at the playhse alone while me, hb & R continue our meal. Is indoor so u can't really watch him from outside as colonial bungalow not much big windows for you to peep into. The wooden doors also make it unaccessible for u to look into the playhse clearly. Maybe gotta walk over (the dining area is just outside/beside the playhse) & check on them once in a while (every 10mins or so) bah.

mandy,
hiyo dun tempt me...Ipoh alot of nice yummy food...but the thing that attract us to this convoy is the water rafting...gonna miss this

kam,
Z also go full day so i think the bedsheet & blanket will come later. The funny thingy about PCF is they don't allow us to bring water bottle for the kids. The CC will provide them with a cup to drink. Hmm...i gonna find out why..

talking about food for our tods
who cooks jap (pearl) rice for your kiddos? i maybe will buy a packet later and perhaps cook some jap food for my boy, eg simple don or what

errr but dunno the water added to cook rice should be lesser or more than the norm??

blessedbaby
no worries, i believe this is just a passing phase, and hope it will be over very soon

Twinkystar: there is no min order. But the flat rate for international shipping is AUD10. So its better that we can gather more orders so the shipping cost can be cheaper. You can join spree, unless you intend to order alot, then 10% is worth. ;_)))

pixel: on the rice packaging, there should be instruction, just follow. I tried last year once, Jo loves it. The rest I use to cook porridge.

pixie,
my MIL used jap pearl rice to cook porridge for Z & R, both love it
but i dunno how much water she put..

Z suffered a deep cut last Friday...damaged done by R!
3872069.jpg

mandy,
yea my hb did the class 3 water rafting in Bali too & he said very shiok ah! he is looking for class 4 to try while me, class 2 first...beginners lah:p

pixie,
ya, my MIL apply de. She said to stop the blood flowing. I wonder if will leave any scar? The result of throwing forcefully by R & poor Z kena just by resting on the sofa to watch TV & from no where, a flying saucer landed on him!

luca: she eats what we eats. ;-)) I don't cook separate food for her coz no time and strength. Hahaha. Normally I grill a chicken (put alot potatoes, pumpkin, carrots and sweet potatoes), Jamie Oliver beef stew, chicken rice, mince pork and tofu, pork, fish, couscous, etc... Whatever I can cook, I will cook for the whole family. But must say, Jo eats a lot of vegies. She simply loves food. If I run out of time, I will cook really really simple lunch, just steam 1 bowl of green peas and 2 eggs for her. She will finish them up.