(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

aiyo, my boy wake up after i type the previous msg. now bfing but he suck unlatch, suck unlatch..faint...

can i check, do we need to burp them after bf?

Usually no need to burp cos BF they take in very little air if the latch is good (ie. no gaps). But that time, first 1-2 months, we still try to burp her lar.

my girl is down with cough n flu, super cranky and wana to be carry non-stop. finally manage to coax her to sleep after carryin her 2 hrs...
v v tired

cheryl,
according to the height chart, at 15 mths 76cm is 25th percentile.
my girl at 15 mths is 75.5cm and on 40th percentile

grumpus and yvonne,
so it's ok for them to eat our food already? I'm afraid that the dishes will be too salty for my gal. Currently, I think my gal doesn't like her food anymore. Takes forever to eat and eats very little. But the moment she tastes our food, she'll be like "vrooom" come to us.
So don't know to let her eat more or not.

mcfluffy!
hello! long time no "see" you
my boy eats our adult dishes liao leh, since 3 months ago at least. bearing that in mind, all the dishes cooked will be very plain i.e. less salt, oil etc...my mom cooks that when i visit her, my mil cooks too. go out we oso order the food less salt/oil....
yah, my boy vrooommmsss when he sees our da-bao lunch/dinner....

pixel,
me extremely busy with work.

anyway, is it healthy for them to start eating our dishes already? my sil boastfully said she had never and will never let her girl (3 month older than mine) touch adult dishes so soon. And I was just beside her feeding my gal some hokkien mee (minus the salty gravy). I felt SUPERBLY guilty.

Oh yes, my gal is currently down with runny nose. It's ok to wait until her runny nose clears before I send her for her MMR jab right?

Mcfluffy,

dont think we need to feel guilty bah...i think it is just personal opinion/preference to feed our bb outside food bah. I brought Javier to Tampines One today and we had dinner at Dian Xiao Er. I brought his porridge along, but when he sees our food arrives, he rejected his porridge and wants to eat our food. I tried to trick him to eating the porridge by placing a piece of toufu on the spoon with porridge, he turned his head way and got angry. but we will only give the portion of food where there is no gravy...or if it is fried stuff, we will dig out the flesh for him.. bb starts to get sick of their daily food le.

mcfluffy,
It's alright for them to start eating our food as long as it's not super salty or sweet stuff and unhealthy food. In fact it's good to introduce them to adult food since they are more "adventurous" now. Most kids tend to become picky eaters and reject new foods when they are around 2-3 years old so if you introduce too late might also be a problem.

mcfluffy
aiyah dun care them lah. today i went to my sis place for dinner, her mil told me my sis's DD can eat 2 bowls of rice. why my boy eat so little, aiyoh, and oso cannot finish his rice etc etc?
i oso heck care her...today my boy ate some ko-lo mee, polar cake etc...all the junk food. i am more accused than you leh haha...

actually can leh. i just feel as long as healthy, and got vege, meat, beancurd, soup, fish, etc, can liao. adult dishes or not, doesnt makes any different. just dont too salty/oily can liao

example:
i got 1 colleague, his boy 1 mth older than ours. she double boil his porridge, wash the vege LEAF by LEAF, dip the meat in water before boiling stock, never intro egg/chicken/pork into his diet as of now...but....his boy is still so sickly
not to say my boy never falls sick or what, but no matter how hard you try, how healthy the food you prepared is, if your gal dont like her food oso bo bian...try a bit of adult food lor...makes our life easier rite?? no need to seperately cook all the time

yes MMR cannot be sick, then u can take the jab

yvonne
yes, i think you are right. now is the time they eat anything and everything so introduce as much healthy stuff as possible, so that they dont be picky eaters in future.

cheryl,
i check from the health booklet leh. the nurse check the girls chart is it? but actually height is ok one lah, they will shoot up at some point. maybe yr boy haven't shoot up yet. my girl at 6 mths weight was 50% but height 25%, when she started walking then can really see she shoot up and catch up in height already lor.

mcfluffy,
it's really yr call lor. my mum told me last time we were abt 2yrs when we started eating adult food, but it's not an immediate switch, it's a gradual switch kinda of like what i'm doing now lor, lunch still specially cooked for her, dinner eat our food, when we eat da bao food or junk food she will tax abit.
of cos bearing in mind that the food i cook for dinner is very simple stir fried and steamed stuff. Not like curry chicken, lor ba lah..
my PD also told me that if i see my girl is eating more when she's eating our food then by all means let her eat our food, no need to force her to eat her no salt bland food.
previously we don't let them have salt and oil and so many other things is cos their digestive systems may not be fully developed.
but by now their kidneys should be able to handle the salt already and a bit of good oil like olive/canola oil is good for them.

pixie,
ooops then i must be a very bad mother man..my girl eat rice one grain drop on the floor i also let her pick up and eat haha

<font color="0000ff">kitsune</font>

Cannot keep talking about the Ipoh food leh..... we are pregnant now, aiyoh, once crave for it, how? Where to get authentic Ipoh food to solve my craving? The authentic Ipoh Hor Fun is soup base. Not only the Hor Fun is nice (like what mylife described), the shredded chicken also very tender and nice, and the soup, oh my god, so far with my so many years living in Singapore, none of the soup noodle can be so nice, it's cooked with lots of chicken and also prawn, the soup is so sweet and thick-ish, sooooooo nice!!!

Mylife,

Yes,老王牙菜鸡 is also something we sure eat when we go home. We are still in KK, but when we are back, we go to Ipoh almost everyday, like our second home :)

Mandy,

My boy already using XL diaper for many months.

cheryl,
from my health booklet i estimate 50% is closer to 78cm leh. but anyway it's only estimation and only a difference of 1-2 cm. yr boy should be ok lah....
short also never mind wat..his weight is good

hehe, Kam I forgot you no MS one, sure everything nice will trigger your craving. Me ah, in my mind think certain food should taste good, but once food in front of me, I take 1 bite and taste not right, I dun want to eat liao. :p

Googled ipoh hor fun for you http://www.ipohhorfun.com/specialty.html, tried this before? Looks authentic, got chicken and prawns and it's soupy like you said. I think they sell the 牙菜鸡 too. ;)

kitsune,

Thanks for the link. But no, won't try that, cos I am sure 100% will be dissappointed. Ipoh people has got very difficult to please taste bud :) Just came back from KL yesterday night, have been eating a lot, so no more craving for anything now.

Hoho, for the 牙菜鸡, we are even more particular about it. Cos the 牙菜 must be grown in Ipoh one then nice, else, can't make it. You will know the different once you try it.

Thanks ladies. I feel less guilty reading all your posts! I don't want to be an over protective mum who doesn't let my child eat this and that. So poor thing. Shall just see that she eats healthily and she's growing well.

`

Kam, haha, it's like that lar, comfort food so sure very particular cos must have 'jia de wei dao'.

Mcfluffy, hehe, no need to feel guilty bah. I still control my gal's diet but getting more lax liao. That day, let her try Macdonalds hot cake, a bit of scrambled egg and the muffin bread. Today, she tried grapes. Mine even more deprived so far. :p

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Mummies,

Super duper upset with Ian last weekend. We came back from Granny's birthday celebration and while I was about to change him into pj and his pampers, he made such a howling noise aka crying and refused to let us change him. He laid on my foyer, refusing to budge! We off the lights, hoping he will followed us into the room but he didn't! Then when I went out to peek at him, I saw him taking one of his sandal and biting on it! Siao right???!!!! I immediately ran to stop him and smacked his cheek and while putting the sandals away from his reached, he went to take the shoe box and bit on it too! Wah lau! I buay tahan leh! So upset with him! He has been so bad tempered lately. Sighz.</font>

Morning, mummies.

Issyen was down with flu since Fri (caught from my MIL) and was super cranky! Whole night cannot sleep well as she got breathing difficulties. So "ke lian" to see her like that. Then saw spots on her legs and nearly scared me that could be HFMD. Then no clinic is operating on Fri (Labour Day), so very worried. In the end only managed to see doc on Sat and luckily she is just having flu and the spots disappeared too. Now she has recovered.

Talking for giving adult food to our kids, I have been doing that for some time liao. Also know that outside food maybe be that clear but I am the traditional type that believe "Dirty eat, dirty grow up" saying. Think this will help to build their internal immunity system slowly lah.

So far, I have been feeding Issyen with Mac's hotcakes, ice cream, Swensen's baked rice etc... But avoiding too oily food and also seafood at this moment. If talking about guilty, then I am too.

morning mummies

jess
today is your new job, wondering how you faring now?

i had a super eventful long weekend. love every minute. yesterday night didnt sleep a wink. insomnia leh...super high now from lack of sleep

i have been feeding vernon with hotcakes, bits of ice cream, scramble egg, chawamushi, inner of hushbrown. inner of fries, zhu chang fen. alot of adult food. lol

cheryl
^5
yesterday go eat mac bfast, xandall had hotcakes too.
even the chap chye png i dabao for lunch oso not spared. he wants bits of rice, bits of vege etc etc...sometime got curry "chap" on the rice, he oso take...i scared it gets too spicy on him but he seems to take it well leh

RE: Adult food

None of us should be guilty. As there is no right and wrong. Make your own choice. No one else understands your toddler better, it's us, parents, who made the choice for our child.

For me, my thinking is that this is a crucial time to let the toddler try/explore and accept food of different tastes. My believe is that if his taste bud is not "opened up" at early age, he might turn out to be a super picky eater at a later stage, which could be more problematic.

My PD recommended to give my boy "table food" when he went for the 1 year old assessment and jab. When I started to give my boy "adult food" once he turned 1 year old, I started with home cook food first. Once he accepted that well, gradually gave him outside food also. Main thing is to avoid food that is too salty or too sweet. And when offered him outside food, also have to make sure the basic hygeine of the foodstall is there (oh yes, been given him hawker food also).

Now my boy eats everything and anything! He likes veg and fruits especially, which is a good thing, cos not many kids like veg. Have let him try almost ALL type of fruits that we can get hold of. He also takes many different type of nuts, no problem. Also let him try prawn and crab, luckily for him, also no allergic problem. Like some mummies, I usually don't cook separately for my boy, he eats what we eat.

If you are the opposite type that believe in not giving adult food to young toddler, it's okay. Main thing is to make sure he would have enough nutrients and then introduce more food slowely at a later stage.

pixel
ya hahaa. basically whatever we can give him to eat we give.. cos if we dun give, he will throw temper lol.. he is very greedy 1

cheryl
same....yesterday gave him the fork to stab the bits of hotcakes that i have cut for him nicely, throw tantrum coz i took back the fork everytime to stab a new pc for him to eat. in the end, gave up. gave him the whole plate of hotcakes + fork for him to stab himself. he couldnt be bothered with the fork and used his fingers, and put like 6 pcs of hotcakes in his mouth...stuffed until like hamster...hahhhaaaaaaa super greedy

pixel
same
even his biscuit also like tat. mouth is still chewing 1, and he will take 1 or 2 more to put inside his mouth. piangz...

morning all.

anyone selling playpen or small cot? thinking of buying a 2nd one to put in the room where CL sleeps cos my current one cannot move there (cos of angle prob).

gd morning everyone...

hi pixie
i am not starting work today. i requested to start on thurs cos wed is my wedding anniversary. haha....
so i am still at home for these few days...

RE: adult food
wah... i have not really let my boy start on adult food lei. keke.. always insist on him eating his porridge, noodles etc. maybe i shld start adventuring him out. heehee

yest i bought my boy to swim...it was so damn painful:-
i bought him into the ladies toilet for the shower after the swim. got into a cubicle, my boy got squirmish and started grabbing me for support. i supposed he was frightened of the cubicle...wasnt like that most of the time...dont know why...
coz i oredi stripped myself and himself down, he grabbed whatever was near him....my pubic hair
i scream in pain *hurhur* and when i looked down at him, he had a ballful of hairs(!!) in his fist....he literally did an impromptu brazillian wax on me........
sobzzzzzzzzzzzz

so damn pain. even after shower and bfast, the pain was still lingering there

jess
she say after 10may leh
she havent reply my email about the delivery dates, choice of time etc etc

oei, got time for lunch or not??

mylvera
it was a hand me down. i gave it to my sis. she having her #2 in june mah...
when #2 arrives, i just take it back from my sis. or if cannot, i take from another sis lor...we all rotate big items within ourselves

mylvera
my hb was hooting with laughter all da way even till home...
tell me about that....stupid cubicle, the water stream so weak, couldnt even wash the shampoo off my boy. and i was afraid he got cold from the shower, so i hurriedly wash my hair &amp; body while he play with the bottles. put diapers on him standing up coz no room for him to lie down, etc etc
lousy experience

pixie,

mine no better.. i brot him, #1, to toilet for him to urine. after that my turn mah .. u know wat he did? he open the door! lucky thing i can reach the door n quickly shut it haha.

pixie / mylvera,

That's really funny reading your stories, haha...

My mom is so worried about the swine flu, and so told me firmly cannot bring my boy for swimming cos she knew we bring my boy for swimming very often. So now l less activity for the weekend. Will stick to the park bah, else, stay at home, which my boy actually likes a lot.

mylvera
haha!
all the funny things our kids do right
so paiseh one leh...

talking about toilet doors
got 1 time, my classmate went to toilet in a shopping centre. she did her #2 in the squating bowl...she was singing to herself, playing with her hair etc. when she was done, she stood up and realised that the door was not closed at all coz her back was facing the door. hence, she did a full monty without knowing it
hahahah!!

well well well...

yday my #1 rushed to the common toilet cos he nids to urine urgently... he open the door n my MIL was showering inside.. i laff n laff .. who ask her shower dun close the door properly? haha she, on the other hand, keep scolding my #1!

hey qq
tmr, me and my ex colleagues visiting your uncle's restaurant again...we got at least 15pax...got discount bo?????????????thats a lot of ppl leh heehee

Jess hahaha ya loh so qiao leh .... mine not too good loh .... cos is election

pixel UOB have 25% for lunch... dineer only ala carte have discount. I go oso no have leh ... kekekek ....

Pixie
Hahahaha... I LOL at your "ballfull of hair"!!!

mylvera
My #1 rushed to toilet, plonked herself down and POO... my maid was showering!!! Then my maid squat down, paisey, so end up she finished her bath squatting down, then my #1 still ask "auntie, how come you squat down and bathe??"
Hahahahahhaha....