2007 sahm n bf mom

Sleek, I expressed out and never see any buttery yellow residue so far...I've seen that in my friend's ebm before, she said if you take a lot of fish, it will produced that, not sure though. I am waiting for my beco butterfly carrier..you using any?
Hi db, how old is your boy? He has such 'smiley' eyes...so cute.

Hi Babydoll, my boy's hair only looks long at the top now, all his sides fallen off, so looks kinda weird if you ask me..hehehe. Sorry to ask, is your baby a girl or boy? Your baby looks so sweet

Jang, wanted to ask you, did you ever shaved your boy's hair? His hair is so thick and nice. People have been asking me to shave my boy's hair, but my hubby doesnt want, wants to see how it turns out naturally.

erika: i want to buy beco too!!! but not sure if I should just order from america now or wait till ashley is back from maternity leave. I currently use a pouch, pram or arms, haha think all our backs are broken already. you think your boy is short? my boy is only 66cm at 8mth 3wk, hahaha!!!

erika,
my bbjorn killed my back! juz lay my hands on a 4th gen beco n its good!!!!
baby feels like half she is supposed to be!

sleek, i nvr shave his hair, because he come out no hair so nvr shave. my gal laswt time shave also take forever to grow... i think it is in the genes lah... we got little hair...

erika, my boy not 10 months old...

Hi Erika, my bb is a boy, another photo of him here
this one can definitely know it's a boy. My boy still v little hair, shave him when he's a mth old.

wat sort of carrier u all talking abt. How much is it? thinking of buying also, cos my boy doesn't like to be in stroller.

Hi Fiona, so excited for u, must be counting down every day. I also want to go overseas, so nice to ve a change in the environmenet. U r a super mum, can look after 2 kids by urself.

1347545.jpg

HI Babydoll, yes, now can tell its a boy
He looks very sweet
We are talking about the Beco carrier. Very good reviews on it. You can check out on the internet. Thing is you have to wait some time for it if you want to get from the supplier here (Ashley), at least till May I think.

Ya, gingerleaf, where did you getyour Beco 4th Gen?
Sleek, think if you talking about the Beco Butterfly, think if you order from America, will take maybe3-4 weeks also, unless you pay more for the air shipment. Not sure when Ashley will have supplies ready to be ordered, though she mentioned sometime in May. I managed to get from one of the mums in the forum here who bought 2 beco butterfly, and able to sell me one...will be here in probably 1-2 weeks I hope.

Erika,

i never shave his hair before. now already very thick and coarse. imagine if i shave, will become even coarser?

re: carriers

bjorn really sucks for carrying heavy baby. sold mine away. now i'm currently using Ergo. it has the same functions as Beco nut the designs are boring.

Now, i'm waiting for my Beco butterfly to come back from US. hehe... asked my MIL to bring back while visiting my BIL there. hehe..

Erika,

definitely can manage the weight. I'm still using a carrier to bring him out. sad to say, he doesnt have the habit of staying in a stroller.

Hi Sleek

Think depends on the weight. My baby is 9.5kg at 66cm, dont know if its short and fat next time...cos his weight dont seem to accelerate as fast as his weight, hence I said short and fat..hehehe.

Jang, you know that there was a retrofitting of the Beco Butterfly? Thats why everything is delayed. Which design did you get? How is Ergo for your big guy? He likes it?

hi erika, it's tough esp when my hubby not around. my other 2 are 9 n 5, old enough but yet not able to take care of the baby, so i have to shower within 5 mins... housework mostly done in the early morning after sending eldest son off to school.

66cm for 4 month old is consider tall, based on my eldest record.

HI Sue, really admire you, I can envisage how tough it is with 3 kids, what more with a young infant...kludos to you
Furthermore, you even do housework...really super mum and housewife! 66cm is tall? Well, hopefully his weight don't accelerate way faster than his height then. Is your little piggy a Dec baby? Post some pics?

db: yeah, just like some adults have fine while others have thick hair.

JTS not only is bjorn bad for our backs with heavier babies, it is bad for babies backs too!!! since they are being dangled by their spine and not sitting in the carrier like with ergo and beco.

erika: yes talking about the beco butterfly, it is currently not available for sale on the US websites I've visited cos of the retrofitting and OOS for the prints, also I am hesitant to get a butterfly till I can read confirmed reviews of being able to nurse on the go in it. and your boy at 4mths is 9.5kg at 66cm, is ok lo. Mine is now 8mths and same height as yours, so my boy is the short and fat one.. hahah!

sue: you are really a supermum!!! jia you

ginger: so lucky that you got hold of a 4th gen.

dear all... i nvr believe there's supermum in this world, if i can be, i wouldn't have quit my job. that's why whenever news article talk abt how this mum can juggle corporate ladder and guide the kids, i say bullshit unless she do not hv a maid and do not send kids to any enrichment courses... hahaha

as of me, wow wee, u shld see my image at home... messy hair... grouchy face... hahahahaha

erika, juz let him be... as he grows and started eating solids plus... touch wood, getting some sickness here and there... he will slim down. my eldest never seems able to put on any more weight since 1.5years, he was a michelin baby.

1348336.jpg

Erika,

yeap. i checked with the store to make sure that the stock i'm getting had already been retro-fitted. actually they've arrived my BIL's place 2 weeks ago. but MIL is only coming back on 21st. so eagar to get my Beco. i've got a Carnival print.

My big guy loves Ergo. he always lie comfortably on the chest like pillows. I think he had already associated Ergo with going out. he gets rather excited when i put on the Ergo. i regretted not getting one earlier. i actually Bjorn him till 10kg.. *pain*

sue: your boy has such a sweet smile & pretty eyelashes! even if you dont believe you are a supermom and you say you are a grumpy ah soh at home, you are still doing the best you can for your kids. Like you, I never believe that a WM (w/o help) can truly successfully juggle both family and kids, 1 will surely lose out and it's very sad if it's the kids. no offense meant to anyone, just my personal view

jang: Which store did you order from? i am getting more and more 'itchy' to order a beco and currently there is some1 in the states who can bring it back for me if there's stock now! will you sell off your ergo once you get the beco?

sleek/sue, yup i also dun believe that a working mum can juggle everything without help and still excel in her career + taking care of kids... this is nonsense lor... if they dun hv maid, they will hv parents to do everything for them... they either need to compromise on their career or their kids... they can nvr hv both... :)

Sleek,

Think I saw some websites recently that was still selling the 4th gen Beco if that is what you prefer to the Butterfly. About nursing on the go, not so sure, though I know you can nurse in both. One thing I was hesitant about getting the Beco is that it cant do front-facing, but then after a while its not safe anymore for the baby to face front after a certain weight (think 12 kg), I decided to just get it. If you are interested in the Beco Butterfly, I know of 2 websites who have stocks now for sale or pre-order. Not sure if I can put the website add here? If not, I can pm you.

Jang, the carnival print is really nice

Sue, your baby is so cute, he really looks big

sleek,

i got it from here.. http://xpectingmaternity.com/
but seems like they don't have the Carnival print anymore.. i won't be selling the Ergo, keep it as a backup or for hubby to use.. as Beco is too fanciful for him

i ordered 1 more extra for a friend.. so have free domestic shipping..

gingerleaf,

i saw u posting in Sep.. ur Beco print also nice!! ar... i still have to wait 11 days for my Beco... countdown...

u like carnival ar? i shall pose for u when i receive it.. hehe..

jang, thanks for the website! haha very tempting for me to get, I wont get carnival print la cos I want to convince my hb to use it too!

erika: can I have the websites?

If any mummies want to buy the Beco, let me know asap here or pm me, I have some1 who can carry it back to SG in the 2nd wk of May.

hahaha, ordered my beco butterfly to be sent here!!!! hope to rcv it in 1 1/2 weeks time, cant wait to have a weight off my shoulders when carrying my son.

erika: Thanks for your links! I ordered from the 1st one you gave me, cos they have stock and their price is US$9 less than the 2nd one. They also upgraded my shipping from 1st class int (cheapest and no particular time frame) to priority int (supposedly 5-7 working days). However I hope it wont delay my package, cos normally I ship by 1st class and get my items in 1 1/2 weeks. Finally decided on Olivia cos was scared of having problems with matching outfits.

I didn't want to wait anymore la, that time when the BP first started I refused to buy cos thought it was expensive, then later read more about it and was so tempted but too late and OOS. So excited, haha, can't wait!

Sleek, happy for you then
Olivia is actually a very nice design too and you are right, you will not have a problem matching outfits with that pattern, also you wont notice when it gets dirty or stained..hhehehe.
I also can't wait for my Beco to arrive..waiting eagerly for one of the mums in the forum to revert on the arrival of my Beco...by right should be sometime this coming week.

Hi S@L,

How are you? No, not you...I remembered you mentioned you wanted to order only when the new designs come in from one of the websites? You already ordered? I happened to chance upon the Dec mothers forum where one of them is selling off one of her 2 becos which she bought. That was sometime in March and its being delayed cos of the retrofiting.

Hi all SAHM! been a long time since i came in to chat.
Me same still tied down with work and running afte my 43mths and 28mths old.. taking some "off" from work and chores so stayingup late to read forum.. heeheee.

All the baby pics are so cute! My baby also chubby... 10.5kg, and my hubby always call her "fatty".... think we can set a "chubby babies" club..

Sleek: hihihihi!!! hehehe...

Fiona: Congrats! *hugs hugs* so excited for you to be on your way to munich! I will be opver the moon if i ever get a chance to get there too! don't forget us hoh.. mus come back to this thread and "see" us k? ;)

Bena: yeah.. i totally agree with you. I felt super detached ever since made the decision to give up full time work outside. but yet everyday i have to tire myself with the endless... really endless washing, cleaning, tidying. and the fact that i have certain time table for the children, plus home schooling my elder, there's simply no lax-ing.... sometimes feel so.... argh... arghh.... frustrated and tired and "cooped" up...

But then I tell myself, it's for the better of the children, they only have these few years... before they start to run outside, no need mummy liao... so at least i am here now to lay down some "foundations", so that they will grow strong and "right". i believe to put in effort to lay down the foundations, and the right values, goes a long way and definitely beats having to correct them when they are bigger, then it'll be much more difficult and complicated.

What's more they ar only especially "needy" and "clingy" to us for these initial years, afterthat they are going to the movies with their frens and drinking coffee with their frens and stuff, so i putting fulltime work on hold for now. It's never too late to start working, nowthat with government policy to make all of us work till even older. :T But it'll be too late when the children out grow their total reliancy on us.

I try to think that SAHM too can lead a very fulfiling and engaging live too.. thou it's not always easy to do. As for now, making full use of the time to enrich myself with things i want to explore, like web designing, knitting and reading, thou so far only baby steps, but hey, at least i started.. yeah, and go shoppin leuisurely on a weekday afternoon, no squeezing with working crowd. :p

Have a good sunday everyone! God bless!

Hi Coolmama,
happy to read ur post, give me encouragement for being a SAHM. I quitted my job to look after my darling son ever since I gave birth. A tough choice for me cos now is totally no income, a lot of my friends even my mum find it a waste to give up career to stay at home. My mum asked me to let my MIL to look after since he is her grandson. I'm so tempted at times when he's cranky & with all that crying, I'm desperate to throw him to somebody else to look after. But like u, want to give my son the best, what Chinese says, first 3 years are impt to build their foundation. If I were to let my MIL look after, I can't imagie what my son will turn out, cos my PIL always talk abt 4Ds & will buy everyweek. They r TV fans & my FIl is a heavy smoker too. I dun want my son to grow up in such environment... My mum said bb too young to know all these but i think otherwise lor.

I do ve moody days w sweaty body & messy housework, & household chores awaiting for me to do... but I'm rewarded w his smile & able to witness his every development & milestone. Everything is worth it. Maybe I should also learn to bring my bb out more often on weekdays to shop

I'm new to this thread. Glad to find some 'support' being a SAHM. Like Baby_doll a lot of ppl says i'm crazy to stay at home with my now 6mth old son. My mum even complain that I 'waste' my degree. Haha. "moody days w sweaty body & messy housework, & household chores awaiting for me to do" really strike a chord! Plus now that my boy is starting solids really messy during feeding times = more cleaning. Not as convenient as BFing liao

I'm here to look for more SAHMs to go 'jalan jalan' together with our BBs to de-stress & let BB make new friends. Keen mummies pls PM me ok?

BTW, want to ask the more experienced mummies here.... my boy starting to 'bite' me during BFing. how do i stop that??? really painful sometimes.

hi mincin,

welcome to the club. where do you stay? me stay in woodlands area.

if ur bb bite you, you can push his face towards ur breast, once he cannot breathe he will let go. then tell him sternly not to bite you and said that it is painful. another way if he bites, tap on his face and said sternly not to bite... do this a few times, and he will get the message..

Hi db. Thanks for the tip. will try it & hopefully it works before his teeth comes out.

I'm at Sembawang! So we're kinda near!

mincin, oh yes... we are nearby... maybe we can next time jalan jalan together yea... i hope the tip will work for you... good luck

Welcome CiN. If your baby bites, you can unlatch baby and say 'No' in a stern voice. Keep doing it for 3x, if baby still persists in biting, stop nursing and let baby drink from bottle (if bb can).

Welcome CiN.

Coolmama, its good to have someone like you share your views about being a SAHM. Its a big sacrifice, but I believe its really worth it when you back down the road
. I also turned a SAHM when I delivered my 1st baby last Nov. Its really very different staying home and looking after a baby, vs working. For me, I think I will use this time to learn cooking. I have never really cooked in my life (except maggi mee, eggs ..hahaha), so its time I learn how to. My husband is the one who knows how to cook...embarassing right? So I better learn something, as my boy will start solids in 2 months and i will have to start learning little by little then.

Hi CiN, welcome to this thread.

can go gai gai tog. I stay at Bt Batok
I think when second one comes, it'll be difficult to go out liao, so take this opportunity to go out, can enjoy free air-con & ve noon tea, Heehee...

Hi Erika,
I enjoy cooking for my hubby & family. I used to cook when I'm still unmarried. Now no time to cook a lot of dishes, sometimes simple dish like hor fun, fried rice also can for my hubby. He's not a picky eater & he appreciates me cooking for his family when they r coming here. Can share cooking tips tog

Coolmama,
I just want to say thank u for your positive note about being a SAHM. It really makes me feel better being one.

HI Baby Doll,

Thanks...appreciate it if you could share some cooking tips with me, think I need to learn those simple quick dishes, like fried rice etc. I think for cooking, the most time consuming part is the preparation, rather than the cooking, dont you think?
Anyway, my friend is sending me a recipe on cooking white chicken rice, she claims is very easy and fast preparation...will share with you once she sends to me

Erika,
I think, the tedious part of cooking is the washing up. I love the preparations and the act itself, but not the washing! bleh.

HI Gingerleaf,

Yes, the washing up can be quite time consuming, I have always been the one doing it..haha cos my MIL does the cooking. I know most people dont like the washing up, but no choice cos I dont cook so can't expect my MIL to do everything.
Btw, you girls buying any playmat? Just bought one from one of the mummies in the forum who is doing a BP. Need to redo the playroom/sleeproom very soon to accomodate the playmat and get a mattress too.

hello all. I'm new here and never thought of checking out a Singapore board. So, I guess a sort intro would suffice.

When I had my 1st kid, I was constantly on babycentre and fed my kid all the ang moh food ;) I made all the babyfood during the weekend and freeze them. Gosh... that was ages ago.
I have 2 boys and my last, a girl. She was a "bonus" baby and just the cutest... if I may say so myself... lol. I am currently not working although I want to join the workforce soon. I do not like having no income