2007 sahm n bf mom

can i join ? am a SAHM with 2 boys ... last time, with my elder boy, i still hv time to chat online n nap. Now with #2, no time for anything, esp my precious nap. keke ..

RE: SAHM,
gals i agree to some pt we kinda feel ' lost' as in feeling detached from the world as our world only revolves ard our kids. I was really a SAHM for 3 mths aft i delivered in Nov 07. only recently i really got bk to workin from home helping hub with his biz. initially i enjoyed being a SAHM, can spend time with my new baby and when my 5yrs old son comes bk from sch i whip up a nice dinner for him...but this feeling didnt stay with me long. i guess i m not the kind who can really be a 100% SAHM.

For me being able to work from home helped me strike a balance between having my kids ard and having some 'me' time doing my favourite sprees, BPs and hobbies.

I have seen frens are are very decicated SAHMs too and they are enjoyng them selves. Maybe its jus that some of us still have the urge to work inside us.

I'm a SAHM since last year, 1 more month to my 1st anniversary!!!
I have 3 kids, 9B 5G and baby B coming to 4th month.

Hi teng hi sue

welcome to our sanity thread

of cos u are welcome to join!!!

teng,i can totally understand wat u mean..i hav to cook for the family n my 1yr gal's quite fussy when it comes to food..i still take my precious nap wif kids when im really tired

Sue,here i am complaining happily abt hw much work wif 2kids n u hav 3!!!!It muz be nice to hav another bb after the kids are alittle older or issit....

did all of u went to the fair?Was it any good?

Fiona, whether it's good or bad to have older kids around depends on their character too.

When my baby cries, my eldest boy will go "mummy, Joshua is crying again", but he is the one that can comfort the baby when I'm driving. Whereas my younger daughter will run to the baby when he's crying but will panic when he doesn't settle down with her effort.

Having another kid after so long also strain my energy as am older. The pregnancy also problematic.

hi, have not been reading on this thread for quite sometime..

fiona, so u will be leaving for munich in few mths time?? wow...so exciting. I like germany, must explore the rhine river areas, scenary is superb and wine is just so affordable and great.

i have started staying at home since end dec 07..seriously, i do feel like going back to work but nynke is very 'sticky' to me. just chose an indon maid and she'll arrive mid april..see how things go lor..meanwhile, I'm also like s@l, doing some spree stuff in forum..learning and enjoying the process so far. the liasing with supplier is easy..it's dealing with customers queries- that's the difficult part.

wow sue, 3 kids, my idol..was telling HB the other day that maybe we'll go for no 3 2-3 yrs later..i'll be 34/35 then..hope not too late.

Amy, 34/35 is still early, my view.
We married late and hence #1 only when I'm 30, #2 @ 34, so #3 already 38. When having #1, I can still run after bus with the belly... as compared to #3 last year, many time has to rest on bed, so luckily I had quit then, else my boss will be thinking so un-productive with pregnant lady.

sue, wow 3 kids, i wish i hv the time to have bigger gaps between the children... i think i hv number 3 i will faint because the age gap will be close... dun wanna get preggy too late also... like you said very tiring when u are carrying the 3rd child... but it is always nice to take care of newborn... hehehehe

fiona, i went to the fair, nothing much one lor... anyway every year i go there just to go to the pureen booth that is all... :)

hi jang, welcome welcome

Hi jang
welcome to our stress relieve thread..where we ask for help,gossip,advice etc etc

hey sue,my 3yr3mth son's oso joshua!!!
My 1yr gal's charlotte..she's the tyrant at hm..
yell the loudest too when she doesnt get her toy r food or if josh snatch watever she's holding..
She oso very adorable(when not cryin) n gets alot of attention fr ppl esp when we were in perth..Every few step i get ppl cooing abt her n touchin her.
I oso wan another but hub's quite firm abt not havin another..maybe when charlotte gets alittle older i can get him to change his mind,ijuz turn 33 so got 1 more yr to bribe him hehe..He's not keen to go thru the delivery suite drama n plus we dun hav maid so very tiring for him esp after work..My kids luv to stay in my tummy n refuse to come out eventho induce..I had to push for more dan 2hr n always wait fr mornin til nite..
Josh didnt pop til almost midnite n charlotte was after 7pm n for both i was in TMC at 7am..

Amy..yah its quite excitin to think abt it..
but at the moment im not really doing anythin except clearin some stuff over garage sale..
Hub has to go up to Munich to get all details b4 i can do anything..so cant do anythin now except get excited n dream

wow, Fiona, u r really experiencing life all over the world...
when the time comes and it will be there, Joshua was conceived accidentally, we were not ready and never thot of having, it has been a struggle to continue the pregnancy at that point of time as I'd juz quit as a SAHM.
Charlotte sounds like my Sheryl, and I was always telling others that luckily my 2nd was not a boy... but now I got a even louder Joshua!!!

wow, really peifu those mummies with 3 kids leh .. me 2 already, gng crazy leow ... my kids age gap is exactly 22 mths apart lo ..

now getting busier coz started my #2 on porridge .. now hv to wake up super early to cook his porridge ..

fiona, is a great experience to be able to live abroad for a while. We were in hk for a while when my #1 was just a few mths old.

Try to know more friends there then u w not be lonely lo .. I went to internet to search for friends there .. quite fun to have outings together and see the kids play together ...

Hey sue,
ya..im definately lookin fwd to the move..im sure its not goin to be a bed of roses everyday but it'll be a nice learnin lesson for us..esp the language n the nearby trvellin..We had a ez start to parentin,josh was a super ez bb to look after now thinkin back.He seldom cry n not fussy n a very cuddly bb..even til today he's still pretty good,still not fussy or difficult.. sometimes i feel so guilty dat bcos charlotte's so fussy,it takes away time dat i can teach or play wif him..he never complains or act up.. dan ppl hav to tell me dat 2nd bb is opposite of 1st
n we were not convince til we were at the hospital..

fiona, mine is opposite. my gal is super cranky, fussy and difficult baby and even now in her toddler time still very difficult to handle, fussy eater. sometimes i wonder what i have done wrong... sigh... my boy on the other hand is much easier... nvr really fuss unless he is hungry or sleepy... he will play on his own... sometimes i forgot that he is ard... hee hee...

juz my experience, my eldest boy is exactly like Fiona's Joshua, but be careful, mine turn out to be a too stubborn boy... that's why when my gal turns out opposite of gor-gor, I'm not worried but happy... now the 3rd is like a monster, and I'd actually asked for it when he was still in my tummy!!! well, maybe few years down the road if we r still in this thread, I'll tell u if the theory is true.

db
haha u so funny
actually our boys are the same other dan age..josh oso can play on his own n will sit quietly n watch playhse disney,when i put him for nap,he can ko within 5min n didnt fuss..the other day we went shoppin at PP n he was so quiet,we totally forgotten abt him when goin up the escalator.. We went up w/o him til we heard him crying n a guy help him up hehe first time hub n i forgot our son!!! We kept laughing when thinkin back..laughing at situation not at my son ok..
my gal...hmmmm....fr birth..high need bb..cried the loudest at nursery in TMC(nurse told me)..
refuse to eat wat she had for lunch durin dinner..insist on eatin yr food if it takes her fancy n dan refuse her food..n her crying can be heard a mile away even fr young..n she'll throw her body on my bed if korkor snatch away watever she's holdin n cry..sigh..told hub this one muz discipline early else sure die..

sue, i also heard that if young time difficult next time big easier to take care... dunno how true lah... hee hee keeping my finger crossed...

fiona, ya man our boys are the same... ur gal also fussy eater huh... mine too... she become fussy eater when she turns 8 mts and the nitemare starts... i headache leh... lucky she was my first child, i will bring her downstairs to look at birds and people and coax her to eat her lunch. i was so stressed plus she is a small size baby... and relatives keep on insisting that i should supplement her with formula and instead of just breastfeeding her... lucky hb is supportive so I continue to breastfeed... i still remember i need to walk about and move myself up and down when breastfeeding her... if not she will struggle and cry and refuse to latch on... sigh... now another headache lor... she can be really stubborn and insistent geez...

db,
think maybe gals r like dat..my nephew's gal oso same except she's greedy n will eat anythin n everthing..they hav to control her eatin else becomes fat kid..but character wise all same same..mine started bcome fusssy eater a week b4 our perth trip..dun wan to eat at all eventho i didnt nurse her b4 dat..now alittle better..
we all eat porridge for lunch n she eats rice for dinner..i steam fish for dinner n b4 i put salt into my soup,i set aside a portion for her n she hav it for dinner.Charcoal cook soup very tasty even w/o salt so she luvs it..but can only give after her rice else she'll refuse rice n only wan soup..tried puttin rice into soup but she spit rice out..
Hub say lucky we had son 1st else kana gal so difficult,he might not hav another..
sometimes i feel so guilty towards son as gal takes up so much of my time,i cant really spend quality time wif him.I even hav hard time readin him a bk at nite as had to put gal to bed n by the time she ko,its time for him to go to bed.
Its worse when hub not in town..he has to do drawin himself n cannot make noise when i put gal to sleep.sigh...times like this i really wish i hav a maid,not bcos i cant manage but more so dat my son wont feel alone n i can teach him more.Last wk i saw on tv on kids dat attent shichida class...my god..they seems like genius to me..spoke to my neighbour who had attend the class n she said good for kids dat can sit still(her gal cant,so giv up)n dats my son..if i had more time im sure my son oso can be genius hor (winkwink)..keep my fingers cross dat we can bring a maid to munich wif us so dan i can nurture n teach him more..i bought a few flash cards n some in chinese so i can teach them while in there..

fiona, i guess all gals are like that now huh... and they say gals easier to take care... my gal is super active climb here and there... faint... i saw a neighbour grandson, abt the same age as my gal, will sit quietly in his pram when he was younger but my gal will scream and try to force herself out... even now, he will walk beside his parents and hold their hands when go out... my gal wants to walk by herself and jump abt... and screaming to my hb and ask him to carry... i guess nowadays the gals are more active than the boys... become opposite liao... hahahaha... i saw the shichida show... i got a fren who went for the class, she was so stressed out... because the parents need to do revise with the kids daily... then if she dun revise it will be waste of money since it is expensive. so in the end she is the one stressed out... but i dunno what is the outcome then. i think ur boy will be suitable to go for shicida since he is focused and able to keep still... but hor since we are sahm, we can teach our own kids here and there lah, of course with your guidance ur boy will be genius, dun hv to go for shicida... once a child is keen to learn, you can teach him anything in the world no need to go for special training...:) i am also teaching my gal too daily... for half an hr... then here and there throughout the day... but her attention span is very short so gotta keep calling her to focus and pay attention...

hey fiona and bena, we must meet up b4 fiona leveas leh...

me also losing mind sometimes..think of going abck to work. guess what, i received performance bonus yesterday. was shock when saw there's money in bank a/c..vvv gd money lor..but then, nynke does not want anyone nowadays. she sticks to me like glue. i must be within her vision at all times..hahaa

maybe we should go out and meet up somewhere central for everyone before fiona leaves... but dunno where is a good place...

what about meet up at vivocity or plaza sing, since most of the mummies are on the NEL? if really cannot then at fiona's hse?

welcome teng, sue and jang!

Wah amy nice bonus for u right
even nicer when u didnt expect it

I agree,sometimes its sure nice to be financially independent...no matter hw generous hub is,cant help feelin like kid askin for pkt money..n plus quite strange usin his money to buy his bday present..but i enjoy my time wif my kids too..i use my energy wif my kids instead of dealin wif difficult clients..told my fren im grooming spore future leaders(winkwink)

waaaaaa u guys so nice...of cos i will meet u guys b4 i leave..still got few mmths to go.. db n me got 2kids hw? can come my hse lah..got kitchen can make tea/coffee,got bb rm to change diapers etc..outside oso can if most wans outdr..

hi fiona n mummies,
i m a sahm. i hv a 3yrs+ old boy and a girl turning 1 yr old coming end april. i m still bfg my girl. i stay at bt batok.

HI All mummies,

Just saw this thread...I am from the Nov07 thread.
I am a SAHM & have a 4 month plus son, my first...hope to chat more and share my experiences here

want to join this thread too. I'm also a SAHM & my son turning 7mths tmr... time flies, being bfeeding my boy till now & taking care of him by myself. Thought can only bf my son for 3 mths coz my ss v little but who knows can go more than that... I should feel happy but meanwhile, kind of wanting he can self-wean soon cos he's rejecting bottle and food, only like to drink direct fr me. My mum told me once bb tastes solid food, they will like the flavour and slowly dislike mother's milk coz it's bland. But it seems not to my boy leh, he still dun take cereals & porridge well, I even cook the stock w pork, potato & carrot. But he will only take a few spoonfuls, so waste to throw away the porridge everyday.

Hi Gacc, i stay at bt batok too.

Anyone here nursing to sleep and co-sleeping with baby? i can't get him to sleep through the night without nursing and i don't have the heart for him to CIO.

Can someone please tell me that he'll eventually self-wean and sleep through the night?

jang, i nurse to sleep and co-sleeping with my baby... my first child only sleep through the nite when she is ard 2 yrs old, by then i alr wean her off... my boy (second child), now will wake up once at nite to nurse... but if he is teething, will be more times just for comfort. i believe one day they will self wean... but it may take longer than u expected... :)

db,

when and how did you manage to wean her off? i know that my boy is definitely nursing for comfort at night. With his size, i doubt he needs the extra nursings at night. actually i'm also worried about him being overweight with the night nursings. He is already 13 kg at 7months. :x

jang, wow you got a big baby... i will not worry too much abt bf-ing bb getting overweight, once they can walk and become toddler, they will lose the bb fats quite fast...

actually i wean my gal when she was 22 months, it took me abt 2 weeks to wean her off from my breast because at that time she just nurse for comfort at nite and i was preggy with my boy, so got contractions so i decided to wean her off... when you wean off, you will need ur hb to help out to console ur child... they will protest and cry but you need to endure lah... i think she was also big alr and she seems to understand when i told her she big gal alr and need to stop 'snuggling' (my term for nursing with her)

db,

thanks for sharing.. i feel comforted that i'm not alone. i need someone to assure me that there is definitely a light at the end of the tunnel :p

i guess i'll just have to endure until he reaches a certain age whereby i can "reason" with him.

Not sure if you have this problem in the early days. but my boy can wake up every 2 hours at night just for comfort nursing. i wonder if the comfort nursing hours will gradually extend.. like maybe every 3 hours wake up once... den 4 hours wake up once...

jang, do you nurse lying down since you co sleep with bb? if you do, it will be better for you. you catch on your sleep and bb nurses. sometimes i also cannot remember how many times my boy wake up when my hb ask me because i was not really awake when i am nursing him lying down...

the time will stretch as they grow older... that time my gal every hr for 3 mths, then 2-3 hrs till ard 6 mths, and once she was on solid she wakes up abt twice at nite... then once and finally sleep throughout when she is 2 yrs plus... as for my boy, 2hrly for 3 mths, then 2-3hrly till 6 months. now at 10 mths ard 1-2 times at night but when he is teething or growth spurt he will wake up quite frequently.

some people say can train from young, that is when bb wants to nurse you give water instead and eventually they will stop waking up to nurse... but my gal keep on waking up to drink water instead... so that plan backfire... kekekeke... so depends on you and ur bb character... some after training they can sleep throughout as early as 6 mths, as for me i too lazy to train... i let them 'train' on their own...

db,

yup. i'm co-slping and nursing. its really much easier. but don't u ever feel "tied down"? nobody can help u put her to slp etc..

jang, once in a blue moon, i will feel fed up especially when i am tired and hubby come home, do his own things etc... i wish someone can help me put the kids to sleep... but i guess it is just a wishful thinking and i have to shake myself up to reality... most of the time i really enjoy putting my boy to sleep just nurse and he is asleep... no need to pat, no need to put in sarong to shake and shake, no need to hear crying, need to sing... nursing is the only way i know that can calm and make my boy to sleep... even though need the mum to sacrifice... like my gal now, she just doze off on her own, no need to pat etc... so i always tell myself, the time will come when my boy will be able to sleep on his own like his sister...

db,

hugz... hubby is also the same.. sometimes i want to wean him off due to the sleep stuff... hearing your story, made me so motivated to continue..

jang, i oso co-slping w my boys .. ya .. now with 2 boys coz my #1 refused to zz alone. Just to share, my #1 sleep thru when he was 8 mths .. now me hoping my #2 w sleep thru asap leh but i guess i w let nature take its course bah.. he's 6 mths old 2day..

as for hb, my hb oso the sama sama lo .. cannot help to put both to sleep. Sometimes wkends, wanna to take a break, ask him to pom for kids, he oso will e-e-o-o lo ... like db, i always have to shake myself up to reality ..

anyone got any tips on how to teach a 2 yr old boy to self feed? I wan my #1 to start eating himself but he just dun wan leh .. he will scoop peanuts / corn to eat if I cook them but w/o rice ..

I didn't start the habit of nursing my boy to sleep so my hb, mum or I can carry/ pat him to sleep but I do co-sleep and nurse him for the night nursings. I noticed that he has lessened the night nursings himself just like how he has stretched out hours between the day nursings. I tried the giving water method but he drank some and a short while later wailed for milk. A friend told me that some babies never stop their nursing in the night even up to the time they are weaned off, so I guess it's how long we as mums can tahan. I guess most latch-on TBF babies like the closeness and comfort of being nursed, plus it helps to delay our periods. 1 friend's son stopped night nursing at 3 mths old and her period came back then!

heehee, I guess I never offered any concrete suggestions but it's really different babies have different temperaments and I think we mummies will miss the night nursings too

And jang, your son is really heavy! I thought mine is heavy, carry till arms and back want to break already! But he will slim down once he starts crawling and walking!

teng i think teaching ur boy to self feed need alot of patience and cleaning up... my gal wanna eat on her own but i refuse... because she will make a mess of the hse and will take hrs to complete and in the end how much food went in, i also dunno... if u dun mind the waiting and cleaning up, you can scoop the food for him and let him take the spoon and feed himself initially then slowly encourage him to try scooping the food himself... :)

HI Jang,

My boy is 4 months, and though he is not co-sleeping with me, he also wakes up very often in the night for feeds. I also think its not that he is hungry, but for comfort nursing. He can wake every 3-4 hours the 1st time, then about 2 hours intervals after. Really tiring. He is already over 9kg at 4 months. Somehow he doesnt drink so much already compared to the 1st 2 months.
Furthermore he now he doesnt want to take the bottle. I believed the main reason was that he wasnt fed the bottle often enough. We introduced the bottle when he was 3 weeks old, but rarely fed him, thats why now he rejects the bottle. Tried to change bottle and teat, but he still stubbornly refused.
Any mothers with the same problem?

Jang,
Good to see you here too
Jayden is sooooooo cute, he's a heavy bb, ur milk must be v rich keke...

Thanks db & sleek for answering Jang's questions. I ve the same problem as Jang, also nursing for comfort at nite, esp he's teething, v cranky, only managed to pat him to sleep now. *sigh* His teeth is erupting, can feel the sharp edge at the centre bottom.

My hubby will help me to look after so that I can bathe or do some washing in the kitchen. When he's in good mood, he'll play w him and pat him but if son makes him sweat over all, he will say like "boy, go mummy there to drink milk milk ... then he will walk out of the room & watch TV outside, sometime really angry at him lor.

Hi Erika,
My boy refused to take bottle when he's also abt 3 mths plus. Tried to change teats also refused. Consulted lactation consulatant, she said must let someone else (other than mummy) to give bb bottle or got to go for hunger strike. I tried once & my bb refused to drink bottle for the whole day until 2am at night, he has no choice but drink fr bottle, but he only drinks enuff just to satisfy his hunger. The next morning, refused again. I ve no choice but to latch him on cos I'm the only care giver at home.

erika: guess you have tried letting others bottle feed your baby instead of you? you must not be in the room and sometimes the same house as your baby when letting the other person bottle feed cos if your baby can 'sense' your presence he may reject the bottle.

baby doll: you cannot be the one who bottle feed him lo. he knows you are right there with the fresh milk and you want to force him to drink ebm of course he will refuse, he's a smart boy

I know I am lucky that my boy will drink ebm even if I were to give it to him.