2007 sahm n bf mom

re: bottle feeding

during my boy's first month, he is ok with the bottle. so much that he doesn't like to latch on long enough. Panic, i started latching him more.

Now, its impossible to get him to take the bottle. Another reason being he doesn't nap long hours, i didn't have time to pump in the beginning.

sleek,

how old and heavy is your boy? mine is definitely too heavy, no joke when he loves playing the "jumping" game...

Hey jung,
jayden sooooooo cute!!!!
im oso co-sleepin wif my gal..we use to co-sleep wif my son til b4 i gav birth to my gal we 'kicked' him to the flr as he was kickin us alot plus hub was worried he might kick my tummy.
He was 2 at dat time..n when my gal was 3mth old,she moved into our rm dan up to my bed as it was easier for me to bf her at nite..We dun hav maid or mil to help so i hav to do nite feed n look after son in the day..walkin in n out of rm every 3hrs was makin me a zombie so hub ask me to nurse gal on our bed..she's been there since..
its quite nice actually..i like to smell her while she's sleepin..look like angel

Like many tbf mom,my gal oso comfort suck all the time..even now at 1yr she still does dat for aftern nap..if i take out my nipple,she stir..if im lucky she goes back to sleep if not she'll start crying..so i try to finish up wif wat i hav to do b4 i nap wif them or i'll surf the net since im or my nipple is stuck to the bed..
when she turns 8mth,it was soooo obvious dat she only comfort suck at nite as sometimes she falls asleep b4 i even had a let down!! dan she happily sleepin n me super annoyed wif a wet singlet..so one day while hub was away i decided to let her cio..it was actually much easier dan i thot..1st nite she cried for 5mins rollin here n there dan got tired n went back to sleep.It happened for 3times,each time i juz pretend to sleep.2nd nite same thing but crying got shorter..3rd nite voila she slept thru!!!
I gav her last feed at 10ish n she'll wake up at 7...now at 1yr,she takes last feed at 8ish n wakes at 5ish to feed,goes back to sleep n wakes at 7 to play n feed again at 8..
I did the cio was bcos it was very obvious she wasnt drinkin at nite n purely comfort suck..n i need to look after my son esp wif hub travellin every other week..im almost a single mom!!

db,
i think mem quite same same regardless wat size or nationality..hub has no patience wif gal so will throw her to me whenever she's difficult..
I think for us sahm wif 2 or more kids,routine is a must..wif my gal in bed by 830,i can get my son ready for bed by 930..
sometimes i oso think it;ll be so nice to go salon n get hair done like hw i use to or a massage..now....i hav to bath n wash hair in under 10mins!! can condition my hair is a blessing..but dan when they all sleep,u tell yrself,actually not so bad lah..

babydoll,welcome to our world

most hubs are partime dad at their convenience(roll eyeballs)..mine always grumble when he cant read his paper or watch tv when son wans to play..i always tell him off dat son will grow up n wont wan to spend time wif him next time..

fiona, yup miss those times when we can go to saloon, go facial without thinking of what the kids are doing, or are they alright or hungry... but actually, now every sunday i took up cardioyoga at the cc near my place. so i ask hb to take care of the kids for that one hr... he keep telling me, he is counting down the number of session i have left... hehehhee...

jang, if you wanna intro bottle, really need someone else to feed... if not very difficult... my first one, nvr drink from bottle till now... i intro sippy cup to her when she was 8 mths but if i put my ebm, she will refuse to drink it because she knows that milk get from breast not sippy cup. sippy cup only for water... so i gave up... my boy now i nvr try to give bottle... i think too late liao... i think if wanna give bottle start from 5 weeks old... mine alr 10 mths plus... kekekeke

Hi all, few days not chatting here but has been reading the thread.
I guess I have a great man at home, not to complain as he will help in teaching the 2 elder kids, put them to sleep, bring them to playground etc when I'm nursing the baby. He will even vacuum and mop the floor when he really got time.
He has his busy schedule and tired after a whole day of work but yet to hear him complaining...
When I jus started staying at home last year, I can see a slight diff in his attitude as he think that since I'm staying at home, everything I should be able to take care but think he eventually realised that there's just too much thing and he did see that I did not skive, hahahaha

Seeing those mummies who are still bf the baby every hour or so in the night, guess I'm again lucky as my baby will take his last feed about 10-12 time frame, then will normally wake up once around 3-4, then will stretch till 7-9. Of course once in a while, he will still wake up more then that.

wow so many new frens.
re- hubby helping out
mine wants to help with the girls but both dun want him..he's so sad abt it. when he's overseas, the elder one will be super sweet to him and will tell him things like i'll miss u daddy etc. but when he's at home, she does not want him. baby only wants me to put her to sleep. i'll nurse her normally. alst bf at 9-10pm period. nowadays she'll wake up at 4am or 6 am..depending..teething period so i'm crossing my fingers.

this is nynke saying hi!
1337630.jpg

teng, abt self feeding. my elder one started at 1 yr old. we gave her spoon and bowl during meal times . put some food inside for her to scoop to let her learn. it's messy but i think it's worth it. part of development. your kid is 2 yr reight? can still start with letting him chose the cutlery he'll like to use for his meals and place some food on it. let him self feed and in between you also feed him with another portion, just to make sure he's eating adequately.

Hi Babydoll, Sleek

Yes, I always let either my husband or my MIL feed him, still doesnt work. In fact, once I was upstairs pumping, and they were downstairs trying to coax him to drink, still no avail. The last few times I tried, I was quite near him...maybe will try again to 'hide' somewhere in the house ..haha. Tough!

Jang, your boy is really big - 13kg at 7months?!! What percentile is that?? Did you PD comment on his weight?

Erika,

PD commented that he is on the big side, but no cause for concern, just maintain the amount he is drinking and not to increase. but i don't even know how much he drinks since he is latching on! anyway, he is on the tall side, shld be 80cm now. so i guess should be ok..

Jang

Wow! 80 cm...thats tall. Ya, for breastfed babies, no need to worry, once they start to crawl and walk, they will start to shed off their weight. I know what you mean, cos my boy also latching on all the time, no idea how much he drinks too although I feel he is somewhat drinking less these days...(maybe on a diet..haha cos alot of people say he is fat).

wah jang your boy is tall so his weight is appropriate, is either your husband or you that way? my boy is only 66cm and approx 9kg (havent weighed him in ages since never go to the doc *touch wood*) at 8 1/2 mths old. he was stagnant at 8kg from about 4-5mths till 7mths plus

amy, nynke is so cuteeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

erika: go hide outside the house! go downstairs walk walk if you must, haha really bo pian if you want him to take the bottle lo.

BENA dear, is everything ok? Haven't heard from you in awhile!

So nice my bb has fallen asleep... he's so tired after a long day outside yest, so cranky that I decided to bring him to look for my mum at People Park & ve dinner outside. I was out since noon & came back around 10.30pm. He was really tired that he didn't wake up for comfort nursing, sleep thru till 8am, drink & sleep again until 10plus
if everyday like that so nice hor.

It was my first time taking him out, other than bringing him downstairs in the evening. First MRT ride with him, haha... I was so panic initially tt I couldn't manage him. I used the sling as he doesn't want to be on stroller. It turned out much easier than I thought. Guess there's a lot of things for him to see, he keeps looking at the banner ads in train & happily playing w an auntie next to me, so it kind of distract him a bit...

My son also drinks from bottle the first 2mths, after I latch him on to increase my ss, he doesn't want bottles any more. Really choosy lor.

Sue & sleek, so lucky of u, no problem w bottle. I gave up on bottle liao, now training him on magic cup, but he only bite the spout. He would rather drink fr spoon or direct fr cup, then he will happily blow bubbles in the cup when he doesn't want water anymore. Every time his clothes will get wet... *headache man*

hi every1, thread is moving fast fast leow.

db & amy, have bot his favourite spoon n tried scooping for him n feeding him at the same time, but hor, he just refused leh .. i dun mind messy lo .. but this fellow just dun wan leh ... *faint* .. v tempted to put him in childcare and let him learn .. after ok, then bring back again .. kekeke ...

realised that so many of u hv bbs refusing bottle feed ... mine oso leh .. hi-5 .. i diligently bottle feed everyday for 1 feed, tortured by his crying & wailing until i just given up recently coz too time consuming n tiring for me n my mum ... my mum has got more patience than me, oso put up her white flag !!!

as for spout mug, my bb oso dun like (just like his korkor).. he prefers to drink fr spoon ...i guess i will use straw mug when he is a little older like his brother last time ..

teng, oh i see... how abt letting him feed himself during snack time, give him cut up fruits and ask him to eat himself, or biscuits etc... then slowly progress to lunch time...

Welcome all new mummies

Jang, your baby is huge!! Zac's almost half his weight at 7 months now. Only 8.6kg!

Sleek, I'm around! But super bz. Today brought zac for his 1st swimming lesson. Very fun
What's up with you and your baby these days? I've been so busy with preparing Zac's solids, reading and researching parenting stuff and courses for zac, and all the housechores I'm beginning to feel like a supermom (a lousy one)!!

Teng,
How old is your babe? Wow u expect him to feed himself?

Erika,
My baby also refuses the bottle but I think one day abt a month ago, he miraculously took it without any protest. I think if we try offering him the bottle everyday (without coercing), one day they will relent.

Fiona,
How have you been? How's preparation for the big move? I'm still envious

HI Bena

Hopefully, tried the last 3-4 times in the last week, and still doesnt work. Will try in a couple of days again then. Dont know if its becos he may be teething thats why he is refusing the bottle (though I already tried changing the teat to the latex one which is softer). Thanks anyway for the encouragement...will let you know the good news if I finally succeed

bena, gingerleaf,

yeah.. i think my boy can go for the heaviest baby contest? i was rather worried that his weight is due to the constant night time latching. But it doesn't seem to be the case as there are many mummies here that latch through the night also..

His birth weight was 4.025kg. gained 9kg in 7 months. scary hor..

Erika,

your baby is fat? i want to see photos.. maybe mummies here post before... but i lazy to read through the previous threads le.. hehe...

Mummies, do share your babies' recent photos?

Hi bena
yes im still in spore

hub is in munich enjoyin the snow while im here wif my 2'monsters' arrrggghhh..tiring man..
everyday hav to wake up at 6am to bf charlotte n 645 has to wake joshua up..Charlotte is on strike
She hasnt eaten her solid since sat..no matter wat i giv her she juz wont eat..sigh..think more teeth comin out..her fren oso same..didnt eat for 1wk..only snack n bm..dan realize 4 teeth was out..
im not really doin much except buyin winter clothes for all of us esp kids..My dutch fren told me kids clothes there quite expensive n u wear thick clothes 4 more dan 6mths in a yr..I bought a Zara black winter coat fr church for only $5!!!!!Even God is helpin me hehe, goin to send for dryclean..mostly now chkin on movers rate,writin down dry goods to buy to ship there,gettin kids vaccinated when dates draw nearer,gettin my godma 2 order fm for my son to ship there etc n clearin things at hm..either sellin to ppl or bringin to church thrift shop.
In a way im pretty excited

comin mon ive booked dental appt at a ped dentist for joshua at camden med ctr..his 1st visit n it'll cost us a bomb
told hub his munich travel allowance juz nice to pay for it hehe...

Hi Jang

Yeah, think he is quite fat...now 9.5kg at 4 months 1 week. He also latches on frequently at night, every 3-4 hours 1st time when I put him down, then every 2-3 hours after. But the past month, he seems to be drinking much less in the day...funny, not sure if its his teething.
Attached quite a recent photo of his

1344114.jpg

Erika,

so cuteeee!!! super cute..i want to pinch his cheeks.. his hair abit messy.. hehe.. do u realise that when he clenched his fists, looks like doraemon's hand? jaeden's fist looks like doraemen.. hehe..

Jang

Haha, thanks...yeah his hair is a result of dropping hair on his sides, left his top only, so quite weird...hehe. haha, doraemon, didnt think of that, but now looking at it,...ya looks like it.hahahhaha.

bena: good to hear from you! thought you drowned in the myriad of SAHM responsibilities.

wah Jang, did you have your baby naturally? are you very tall!? 4kg is big for asian baby right???!!!

erika, your boy is so adorable, another chubby bubby! your milk must be very rich too!

My 8mo naughty pumpkin boy last month.
1344330.jpg

Hi, juz a curious question. How old were u when u decided to stay home and how many kids u had then? Seriously I didn't know there's so many young SAHM around... anybody stay around Boon Keng?

erika,
my gal's hair oso stand up one! On good days the hair will fall flat.

1344522.jpg

Taken at 2mths+ Normal hair day.

1344523.jpg

Taken at 3mths+ Normal hair day. All poofy one.

1344524.jpg

Taken at 5mths+(last mth) Good hair day!

sleek,

yeap! i had a natural delivery with epidural of course, after inserting the pill, its long hours of dilation and another 1hr 45mins of pushing. i had to be induced as this little guy is too comfortable in the tummy! lucky that i'm standing at 1.68m.. else might have a hard time with him..

your boy looks so comfy in the basket! hehe.. cute cute..

gingerleaf,

oh my!! look at the hair!! she looks soo sweet... have u tried combing her hair down everyday after shower? it might help to keep the hair from standing..

Sleek, Erika, Gingerleaf,
Wow your babes are all so cute!

Erika, your baby is heavy! Wa how come the babies on this thread all so well fed? You really did a good job. I think your baby has potential to compete with Jang's baby liao.

Fiona,
Sounds like you are really gonna be getting busy with all the buying, selling, packing and vaccinations! I would certainly be excited if I'm you!

jang, heehee my fella was too eager to come out but the door didn't want to open. my water bag burst but I didnt dilate after more than 24 hours (i didnt go in hospital immed) so had to have augmentation with oxytocin once in hospital, luckily after that only took 5 hours of intense contractions w/ no epidural and less than 45mins of pushing.

bena: we're all a good 'advertisement' for the power for total bfed babies! heehee

ginger: your princess is so beautiful! can 'chop' for my son? haha, i'm a terrible mummy. oh btw her hair should naturally settle down by itself, my boy's hair at his crown stood up for the longest time but in the past 1-2 mths, it started to flatten.

fiona: did you check the prices of the children's dentist at forum? not sure of the name. I think the camden 1 should be very exp cos my gynae is there and his consult is already $30-40 more than others! can peng san lo, my hb said if we ever have a 2nd one, he wont allow me to go back to the same gynae.

sue: are you asking all of us? for me, I have not worked fulltime in many years, so naturally once I had my son, there is no reason for me to suddenly work f/t. of course all along this means that finances are always extremely tight and my hb and I dont get to travel frequently, we only indulge in makan.

Sleek, thanks for replying. After a year of SAH, I realised that a network of friends is very important as throughout the day, it's juz kids and kids and kids, u can go crazy after a while. hb is only back in the nite and sometimes not even home for few days and I wouldn;t want to bother him with nitty-gritty...
the matter juz not so nice for me as i started out stay home with THREE kids... 1 stubborn school-going, 1 ever attention needed princess, & 1 ever suckling piggy (4 month).
hahahaha

sleek, wanna chop oreadi? Hehehe. Can can can, pay deposit 1st. AHHHA.
Cant wait for her hair to all fall down.

Bena, so long never see u online! You must have been really bz!

Jung, GOt! Comb her hair down when wet, but when it dries, become poofy again.

jang, we're quite near each other, I stay in clementi!

sue yeah, can go abit siao esp since for you, you only did it recently and already have 3 to handle. I am lucky that I am close to my mum and she helps me out abit or we go out together. I also got into scrapbooking cos of my son, so at least can go out and do something for a few hours even if it's for him, hah. I think being a sahm is partly the reason why I have become more active in this forum even though it is only on 2 threads.

gingerleaf, deposit? you're even worst than me, ahahhah! it will flatten 1 la, dont worry so much
I sorta miss the days when my son's hair was standing up and can laugh at him then.

wow jang, that's young to be a mum and of course a sahm.

sleek, i do wish to have the luxury of bringing little piggy josh out but schedule of 3 kids are no joke man... i'm really a stay-at-home-mum that occassionally can go downstair for a walk... :-(

erika, how long/tall is ur boy, my piggy is also about 9.5kg and he is 4 month old yesterday... going for 4th months's jab this friday...

Sleek

thanks...haaha, not sure if my milk is rich...dont particularly eat 'rich' foods actually. Your 8 month old boy has one front tooth? so cute..from the pic looks like one tooth

Gingerleaf, your girl is so cute...she has quite alot of hair? My boy had a lot of hair when he was born, but from the 2nd month, most of them (the sides mainly) dropped. At 5months, your girl's hair looks very nice and neat..she looks so happy and sweet

Sue, I only became a SAHM last Nov when I delivered my 1st son. Mainly no one to really look after him full time. MIL stays w me, but her back and legs are not strong to look after my baby full time. My mum doesnt really know how to look after a baby properly, so I would rather look after him myself, atleast for the 1st year, then see how.

Bena, ha, dont know if can compete w Jang's baby...now already have backache carrying him..dont know if I can take it if he reached Jang's sons weight. Waiting for my carrier to arrived so can get some relief when I bring him out shopping

sue, actually i am a temporary SAHM, i took no pay leave to take care of my kids...

wow, all the babies her so heavy and chubby and got lots of hair, my boy until now still got little hair... here is his pic

1347253.jpg

erika: heehee, I guess it just depends on your body naturally producing 'richer' milk. if you ever feed your boy ebm, do you find that your milk is quite buttery yellow or it leaves an oily residue behind in the teats? he actually has 2 bottom teeth, but I have never managed to capture them in photos. btw, what carrier did you buy for your boy?

sue, yeah can understand as I have a friend who has 3 kids (no maid) and most of the time she is just super busy with the day to day responsibilities of being a SAHM.

db, your boy is so cute! did you ever shave his hair?

wah, few days didn't log in, c so many photos here... all bb soooooo cute. Erika, ur bb v heavy leh, like his chin, so baba. Hair v long leh.

I follow Jang's photo, here's my bb pic to enjoy. BB quite small size, only 8.2kg at 7mths, also latch on quite frequently at night also dun gain weight lor.

1347287.jpg

Hi Amy,
Thanks...Yes, exactly, my back is really achy...thats why I mentioned cant wait for my carrier to arrived, hope it will help provide some relief when I put him in it.

Sue, admire you, how you managed to handle 3 kids? With one, I am already complaining some times...want to ask all SAHM, how do you handle alone with your kids? At least for me, my MIL stays with me, so I can go for a quicky shower/do my business whilst she sees to my baby, if not I dont know how to manage also. Oh, your boy about same as mine then. Haha, last we measured him at 4 months, he was only 66cm (75-90percentile)...hope he doesnt become short and fat..hehehe.

jang, i wish i'm like ur age, so young at 25, got energy to look after bb and can go for one more soon. i'm in my mid 30 and bb is only 7mths...