(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

mummies...
need to ask...

For our babies at this age, how often should they be pooping in a day? Louisa poops 3 to 5 times a day. Is that normal? Today, hb was free so he brought Louisa down to MIL's place for the whole day. When I went there after work, the first thing she came to ask me (sort of like marched right up to me to ask me) was "how come Louisa poop 3 times? Heard from the maid even at your mum's she poops 3 or 4 times also. How come like that?" I was like....WTH. Normal mah. Not normal meh, 3 times? Her digestive system good lorh. If not, how? Eat so much, only poop 1 time? Basket.

Just came back from cruise. Eat n eat n eat! :p

slimz, I only know their temp will be higher when they zzz during fever. Wake up already temp will be lower... from my exp with jr's fever last time. Hope sr is ok now.

csi_fan, jr poos from 1-3 times a day. But if poo too many times.. his poo will not be alot.. more like din poo finish at 1 shot. Guess it's ok if Louisa is eating n growing well ba.

csi, susu poops 3 times a day also. normal la... unless the poop is really runny ba. but it depends from baby to baby and i think you know yours best!

CSI Fan,

Yah, i think u just have to check if Lousia's poop is runny or not. There was a period when dylan also poop 3-5 times a day (slightly watery), I thought it was normal but after I consulted the PD, he said its not normal.. mentioned something abt the intestine health and prescribed pre-biotics for dylan. After taking those, he started going once or maximum 2 times a day.
But if louisa's poop is not runny, i think u don't have anything to worry about.

jr's poo is nuah nuah all along leh. If he got hard poo means he's heaty already.. give him barley water the poo will turn to his normal pastey form.

Anyone heard of any reviews on Learning Vision at Gentle Rd (behind IRAS)? I am planning of enrolling Kyrell sometimes end Jul or next mth. Would appreciate if you can comment. Thanks!

Also, if you know of any good cc around Novena area (not too ex), please let me know too...

mine now poo 1-2times aday. Sometimes skip then a day and poo alternate day (then it's massive business!)

btw anyone of your kid had goey yellow discharge from the eye before and runny nose at the same time? Just today he woke up with eye discharge and runny nose (AGAIN!). Damn sian... i called the school just now and they told me it's greenish. Another round of cold.. it's damn sian. He's been on medic for a month or so already.

Jeelomeelo,
Yah Kim is sending Mal there in Jan next year. Actually I went to the centre on sat to check the environment and the schedules etc. Kyrell seems to like the place (cos got toys) even when we walked away...
I wanted to find out more abt the principal and the teachers there...

Jeelo,

dylan got the eye discharge and running nose now. on oral medication for 3 weeks but didn't see improvement so PD said to switch to nebuliser. So far, got some improvement lah, but not well yet. he said our kids that go to cc sure to kenna this type of common cold very frequently.

YR kena throat inflammation. Last night kept coughing nonstop. went to see PD and she said it's going to get worse, so said we should be prepared for more coughing.

jeelo,
yah i know how u feel, our kids seem to be down with bugs very often.
really sad cos keep having to take medicine. the common one seems to be running nose/cough or hfmd. after all, these are the ones there is no vacines for.

bluelily,
o dear... u better take care oso. does he has any runny nose that is why he is congested and can't breath properly and that's why cannot sleep? if that's the case, prop him on a pillow/bolster to sleep. shawn would cough badly coz of the backdrip of the phelgm is he sleeps flat without pillow.

Thks jeelo! Ya hor.. din think of that. Will prop him up on pillow tonite. Ya, can hear his congested nose and whole nite make noise.. poor thing.

bluelily
my boi also kena flu - running nose and cough from jie jie and daddy last nite...sian, he is supposed to go for his last jab next week,..now dunno if wan to postpone or not

steffi, better to postphone ba? If not jab then fever again.. so poor thing. Seems like alot of our bbs sick hor.. the virus is making its rounds again.. sianz...

bluelily
but hor, mine a bit troublesome to reschedule...the polyclinic already called a no of times to change due to H1N1...

steffi, what jab? the DPT booster and MMR? my PD told me that DPT booster and MMR can wait. Just make sure you take b4 2yrs old can liao

steffi, I brought jr to polyclinic last mth for his last jab.. for 5-in-1. No need to postphone leh. They so good still call u ah?

Jeelo
the last 5-in-1.

Bluelily
mine was supposed to be last mth, on sat. They called and said becos of H1N1, they got to reschedule Sat's appt..dun wan too many bbs on sat...so postponed to a mth later....my gal's 3yr assessment also cancelled..they said just go for 4 yr one, next yr

Hmm,
Think can postphone 18month jabs. I just took Ryan to have his booster jab + chicken pox jab last Sat morning. Didn't go to PD this time. Just went to a GP near my house.

Scheduled him to have the Pneumococcal jabs 6 weeks later.

Vicks for cold/running nose

Hmm, we bought some from OZ, for babies 3 months and above. But some reports state that it has adverse effects on the kids' airways... Hubby says it's ok so we use it when Ryan has running nose. So far it works.

phy, i've finally printed the cards =P
gg to send dem for lamination tonite .. hee.. lazy mum took so long .. haaa
so r u gg to promo ryan to the tots class?

bluelily,

i think the flu jab is only abt 70% effective (according to my PD). I can't say whether its really effective lah, but on the safe side, I still give. Since I got dylan on the flu jab last September, he only kenna flu once. Unfortunately it does not protect against common cold, so he keeps getting cough/running nose.

Guess if jr not in cc, its not critical to take flu jab? After all it does not protect against H1N1 as well....

Jeelo,
Yeap, just chest and back. Really find it effective in treating cold. But the one I got is not sold in Singapore...

Slimz,
Not lah, you're not lazy lah. Your girl is so attentive in class so you need not worry much
Not sure if we'll continue with GUG after this term ends coz I'm going to register Ryan for Apple tree playgroup. Hope he can start soon so he can socialise more.

Botanist and Jeelo,

Hope both your kiddos recover soon. Always heartpain to see them suffering when they're still so young.

bluelily,

hmm if you planning to send jr next year, then taking flu jab is a good idea. guess it just reduces the chances of him falling ill cos cc's are like breeding ground for virus etc.

phy,

botanist, shall keep a look out for the package =D
phy, u wont b continuing .. oh sr would ve one lesser fren in class le.. i oso wan sign her for appletree but my mum's area no appletree.. boooo..
my colleague asking me to sign sr for SM, says its great (her 2 boys are there since 6mths) ..

bluelily, u sending jr to cc at 24mths huh? ur mum dun wan to look aft him le or u wan let jr go cc socialise? my mum says if i wan sr go cc, i've to teach her to feed herself first.. else go cc the teachers no time to feed everyone den will let the kids self feed and if kids duno how to feed demselves, will end up eating veri little .. mummies who send ur kids to cc, how true is this huh?
sr is still far frm feeding herself and she dun even drink her milk frm bottle lor.. jialat.. urgh

slimz ya.. should be putting him in next yr Jan or Mar latest. Both reasons lah.. to reduce my mum's load and to let him socialize. I also tell the cc jr dun wanna hold his own bottle.. they say it's ok. They can train him. Dunno how true lah.. guess will only know when we put him in?

slimz, i saw ur blog. That video with sr playing with the cooking utensils.. she holds the spoon pretty well leh. Jr cant pick up things with spoon yet.. he can only poke with his fork then use 2 hands to transfer the food on the fork to his mouth. hehehe.

slimz,

err actually i think the school teachers will help feed sr even if she doesn't feed herself. they might even have more success teaching her to self-feed as she will see other kids self-feed.

dylan still does not self feed... teacher will feed him and encourage him to play with the spoon to feed himself. i'm not worried cos he abit slow in the eating department so i think he will take more time before he can self feed... :p

slimz, sr can drink from straw? maybe she can take milk or other drinks from cup/straw.. shld not be a problem at cc as they will cater to her needs lor.

dylan also had a lot of issues before he go into cc, then after some time, i realise he pick up those skills that he refuse to learn at home.
so i guess the teachers are doing a good job of getting him to hold his own bottle etc. I think peer pressure also lah, cos once they see other kids doing it, they also want to do.

bluelily,

hehe you also start thinking of 2nd birthday already? Me too! Been cracking my head for past few weeks on something that dylan will love. I also having it for immediate family only, and maybe order some cupcakes for his school so they can have a mini party there.

Still have no idea how to celebrate with immediate family though... not sure if shld eat out or have it at home. Guess home is better then more space for our kids to run around and eat food that they enjoy. The priority is them after all? their birthday right. :p

bluelily.. sr can use the fork, poke n feed herself. spoon tink she still far leh ... we'r teaching her to scoop food wif her spoon now..
botanist, really huh? tink cc teachers ve uprgaded.. my mum's views was based on one of the little boys she used to bbsit abt 6yrs ago..dat time the boy turned 2 and the parents sent him to cc. They asked my mum to help oversee the transition period and these were wat she noted dat's y she says b4 sr goes cc mux learn to feed herself & toilet train..

2nd BD:
i'm planning someting big.. haa.. bigger than her #1 BD. hee.. her #1 was oni an immediate family tingy at merchant court hotel for buffet dinner coz we tot she's still small dun understand BD and the celeb..
so wanna make up for it at her #2. prob ve it at my sis's condo function room..

phy, gug jux called me say teacher russell says sr is ready for tots class.
But the 1130 slot for tots no space le =( dey offer 930 (a new slot) which is not by teacher wei or russell and its oso not billingual.
they oso offer 4pm slot wich is teacher wei n russell but not billingual or sat 1130 billingual but no wei or russell.
we told dem we oni wan the 1130 sun slot wich has wei n is billingual. 9am slot veri early and 430 too late . sat no wei n russell we dun wan. I told dem dey shld ve left space for children due for promo frm their baby's class into tots otherwise y make us pay the deposit? i would tink that the purpose of making us pay the dep n confirming 2 weeks b4 the current term ends is to ensure that dey leave priority slots to existing children and wont take in too many new students n compromise with existing ones..

really hope got slot .. boooo .. else ve to go research new classes and ve to disrupt sr's zoophonics learning process .. urgh

dylan's_mom, ya. His 2nd birthday is always on my mind.. just that dun have a solid plan yet. Just know I wanna keep it real small.. Toying with the idea of booking a hotel room.. but my family and ILs will find it troublesome to come leh. Or have it at home.. but sooooo boring and dunno order what food. Or.... rent a ktv room at my uncle's condo... but then gotta trouble them again. Paiseh to let them buy presents for jr everytime. :p

slimz, ya my aunt told my mum the same thing abt cc too. Need to self feed and toilet train.. but that was... 10 yrs ago! ahahah. Cos my cousin got rejected at cc when he was ard 18mths cos cant self feed n potty train yet.But cc told me it's ok.

slimz,

yah, nowadays i think teachers are better. But when u look around for the cc, you can ask them again lor. At first when I shop around, pat's also told me that they follow strict routine etc but later on, i find that they will still cater to dylan's needs. He is very fussy in school, he only eats his own breakfast in his own bowl and till now, he rejects their lunch food. So i am thinking of providing lunch for him from home. And so far, they are still doing an ok job managing him and dont mind letting him have all his home comforts in school.

bluelily,
hmm yah, booking a hotel room or function room is good in the sense that you dont have to clean up after the party is over! heehe.

hi thanks for your wishes. brot shawn to dr today. Cold become sinus. Sinus and the nose structure (from my hb!) is hereditary and plus the recent cold he has it becomes bacterial cold = sinus lor. i'm staying home with him tomolo n may be friday also. hope he'll be nice to me since hb can't take leave and i am planning to cook simple meals at home (since i need eat healthy rather than order mcD!)

oooo i was thinking of full month and 2nd birthday together.... all in one but it also depends when #2 decides to come out... got ppl celebrate like that one or not ar? hehehe

Hi slimz

when u sending sr to cc? Cayenne had been attending sch for past 1 month. Before she joined cc, she still dont know how to self-feed but now, she can eat watermelon using fork all due to peer pressure.

mummies, anyone brot ur kiddos to sentosa? any idea wat activities are fun for us there? am plannng bring sr there tis sat for the underwater world .. but duno other than that wat else can we do le ...